Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jesus cip :)

Is it not true once a cat's performance drops it will be picked up in the nct?
    Therefore being replaced and allowing it to remain better than the diesel.
    Or does it get to an allowable level that is worse than a diesel?

Afaik the cat has to be fairly bad before it would fail an nct and the CO etc limits are quite high so it could still be putting out more NOx then a diesel and pass the nct if you get me. Diesels biggest weakness was the particulate matter which petrols literally don't create at all but with DPF's now you trapping the PM and not releasing it in built up areas plus it's being burnt off instead of being emitted. As I said above either are good but diesels don't deserve the slagging they get except for the odd one that's not been ever serviced and is burning oil and is throwing alot of black smoke out but the same could be said for petrols and I've never had an even slightly smokey diesel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Now look here CIP4, in this forum the earth is flat, revolves around the sun on the back of a turtle, is exactly 6000 years old and ALL petrols are ultra-clean, emit only unicorn farts, sound like Ferrari V12 (even 1 liter Micras by virtue of being petrol) and ALL diesels are slow, ugly poison th planet and murder babies and by that virtue a 530d is automatically beaten by a 1.0 liter Yaris. And we don't want to be told otherwise by your "research" and "facts" of which you speak. Write Petrol is ALWAYS better than Diesel 100 times on the blackboard after class. :p
    I just nod and smile whenever the above sh*te is posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I haven't a clue where this is, it popped up on FB. It seems you still can't buy manners or cop on....

12347689_1644911555761925_6446643573668238352_n.jpg?oh=ed6b16d815d62c9449739cabb72c662e&oe=56EE77CF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Lost for words when I see parking like that ^. You have to be a special kind of person to do that and be okay with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Now look here CIP4, in this forum the earth is flat, revolves around the sun on the back of a turtle, is exactly 6000 years old and ALL petrols are ultra-clean, emit only unicorn farts, sound like Ferrari V12 (even 1 liter Micras by virtue of being petrol) and ALL diesels are slow, ugly poison th planet and murder babies and by that virtue a 530d is automatically beaten by a 1.0 liter Yaris. And we don't want to be told otherwise by your "research" and "facts" of which you speak. Write Petrol is ALWAYS better than Diesel 100 times on the blackboard after class. :p
    I just nod and smile whenever the above sh*te is posted.

Oh those crazy Germans back in the fatherland and their emissions zones in cities, why did they bother at all, why not just make everything diesel, because it's always better than petrol? And the other cities following them. Based on actual science no less. And those extra taxes on diesels in London because they are cleaner than old petrols.. or something something clatter clatter.

Ah f**k it derv boys, ye are right, everything is awesome, polar bear with cone on head. Yay.

;-)

Oh those crazy Germans back in the fatherland and their emissions zones in cities, why did they bother at all, why not just make everything diesel, because it's always better than petrol? And the other cities following them. Based on actual science no less. And those extra taxes on diesels in London because they are cleaner than old petrols.. or something something clatter clatter.

Ah f**k it derv boys, ye are right, everything is awesome, polar bear with cone on head. Yay.

;-)

I think the biggest issue is that they are only looking at brand new cars when putting these taxes on them and they don't consider what they will actually be like after a few years of operation. Plus you have to consider with euro 6 emissions a lot of diesels are getting ad blue (urea) which does significantly reduce NOx hence why it's used on a lot of large scale industrial boilers and combined heat and power plants.

As I said I'm not for one second saying diesels are clean but neither are petrols and if you combine the fact that petrol give of VOC's they are just as likely to give you cancer yet from the way lads go on on here you'd swear you could pipe petrol fumes into your house. So it will be a case that if these diesel taxes come in the petrol taxes will be in in two years time and they will push electric vehicles. There's lads that have this dream in there head that diesels will be phased out and petrols will be everywhere both their days are numbered and one won't go without the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Where are you seeing all this hate for diesels or what sparked it CIP, can't see anything back the way that provoked it.
    You keep saying about lads on here going on?

Where are you seeing all this hate for diesels or what sparked it CIP, can't see anything back the way that provoked it.
    You keep saying about lads on here going on?

Ah I mean in general not on this motor chat thread or Infairness most of the regulars don't go on about it. But over the last year or so there has been a lot of threads and stuff that reference it. I suppose the biggest issue is people buying diesels to head around town in I know petrol can do both equally well maybe being a bit more thirsty but diesels are really only designed for long trips again anyone on this thread knows that anyway. I'll leave it at that sure either way I don't think anyone including myself want to be reading pages of petrol vs. Diesel they both have their place.

How's the polo treating you that one doesn't feature in any of the miniature scenes video does it I'm abit confused as to which polo is which.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ah I mean in general not on this motor chat thread or Infairness most of the regulars don't go on about it. But over the last year or so there has been a lot of threads and stuff that reference it. I suppose the biggest issue is people buying diesels to head around town in I know petrol can do both equally well maybe being a bit more thirsty but diesels are really only designed for long trips again anyone on this thread knows that anyway. I'll leave it at that sure either way I don't think anyone including myself want to be reading pages of petrol vs. Diesel they both have their place.

How's the polo treating you that one doesn't feature in any of the miniature scenes video does it I'm abit confused as to which polo is which.

Yeah well really the diesels were winning the last few years, everyone was like "get yourself a good diesel and save thousands" it's just the countries mindset changing. For the better if you ask me, especially in towns and stuff where people really have the wrong car!

Petrol is coming back I suppose because the wrong people bought them and spread the word they were unreliable! I wish it didnt change cos it means people that want to buy big engined petrol cars will have to pay more again.

All the sheep were keeping the prices down for us for the past few years!

The polo has never featured in any of it no, but we have an idea that brewed today, involving two polo's, a makeshift racetrack and a bit of 90's nostalgia that will allow it to make an appearance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

I haven't a clue where this is, it popped up on FB. It seems you still can't buy manners or cop on....

12347689_1644911555761925_6446643573668238352_n.jpg?oh=ed6b16d815d62c9449739cabb72c662e&oe=56EE77CF
    Love if they towed and crushed it!

Yeah well really the diesels were winning the last few years, everyone was like "get yourself a good diesel and save thousands" it's just the countries mindset changing. For the better if you ask me, especially in towns and stuff where people really have the wrong car!

The polo has never featured in any of it no, but we have an idea that brewed today, involving two polo's, a makeshift racetrack and a bit of 90's nostalgia that will allow it to make an appearance :)

Petrol is definitely coming back your right and if I was buying a brand new car I'd probably go petrol as most are doing mid 40s mpg and are less complex than diesels with no DPF etc and they are cheaper to buy it's a win win. The petrol diesel split should have always been around 50/50 there was something very wrong when new diesel cars were approaching 80% sales.

That polo video sounds like it good be a one. I recently seen the returning the balls series it's so random also very funny just driving around Portloaise at 5am the woman's motorcycle part was also very funny too.

Petrol is definitely coming back your right and if I was buying a brand new car I'd probably go petrol as most are doing mid 40s mpg and are less complex than diesels with no DPF etc and they are cheaper to buy it's a win win. The petrol diesel split should have always been around 50/50 there was something very wrong when new diesel cars were approaching 80% sales.

That polo video sounds like it good be a one. I recently seen the returning the balls series it's so random also very funny just driving around Portloaise at 5am the woman's motorcycle part was also very funny too.

Glad you are getting enjoyment out of them :)
    We have the Kerry ones coming up now for the next two Thursdays!

Glad you are getting enjoyment out of them :)
    We have the Kerry ones coming up now for the next two Thursdays!

Cars and humour what's not to like :)

Well its a weird type of humour that not everyone likes, but we are getting (slowly) bigger :)

Ah Ye I hope it takes of for you all you put a serious amount of effort into getting them right. I look at it as a bit of lighthearted Humour / a bit of craic with the lads if you like. I suppose some are too serious for it but I can see plenty that would enjoy it.

We have great craic doing it, it's my friend that films it that puts in the most time, I usually get to mess about and stuff so its easy for me :)
    He spends hours each week editing it to that quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Had the absolute pleasure of meeting Voodoomelon this evening. He kindly gave up his evening to help a friend of mine diagnose a problem with his problem child of an E39. Nothing concrete but some new leads to follow to fix it. Also learned some interesting things about diagnostic stuff.

Also, his 7 series is just as wonderful close up as it appears in the pictures. Beautiful car.

Anyone seen these videos? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

So sometimes, well most of the time I follow by a policy of not dipping headlights until the opposing driver dips theirs. Tonight I met a similar stubborn minded fcuk like myself who didn't dim their lights. Not a fear was I going to dip mine, so we both passed by each other with full beams on. T'was an audi wnaker I may add!

I just dim the lights when the other car can see me dim mine, which should hopefully remind them dim theirs. I don't wait necessarily for them to dim theirs first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

So sometimes, well most of the time I follow by a policy of not dipping headlights until the opposing driver dips theirs. Tonight I met a similar stubborn minded fcuk like myself who didn't dim their lights. Not a fear was I going to dip mine, so we both passed by each other with full beams on. T'was an audi wnaker I may add!

I gotta ask the question why would you want to do stuff like that? Full lights in your face for a pointless reason? Your thinking on keeping the full lights on is off too - common sense is to turn them off once you know the other car is getting the effect of them. Gvido is right, and if they don't turn off a gentle reminder is all that's normally needed.

Why bother? It seems like a strange policy, maybe he genuinely forgot. I just dip mine when I see oncoming light in the distance. One quick flash to someone who hasn't dipped theirs is usually enough to remind them...
    Cant really call him an Audi wnaker if you're doing the same thing he is?? :o

Sounds like dangerous driving, absolutely mindless, you (and the other moron) could cause an accident with that attitude and behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Terrible attitude there Noccy_Mondy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ah here.

I always dim my full beams when I see aother set of headlights coming, but if the other guy doesn't dim his within a reasonable timeframe mine will go back on and stay on too. Lets not gang up in Noccy here or anything.

Ah here.

I always dim my full beams when I see aother set of headlights coming, but if the other guy doesn't dim his within a reasonable timeframe mine will go back on and stay on too. Lets not gang up in Noccy here or anything.

I wouldnt say its ganging up, its just the general consensus is that life would be easier if you just dim your lights, its a common courtesy and doesnt exactly take much effort! :p I just think your making life more difficult for yourself being too stubborn to dip your lights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Ah here.

It wasn't intended in that way, but to be fair that situation was self inflicted IMO. You'll get plenty of d1cks that won't dim coming against you but I was more questioning why you'd bother bringing it on yourself or deliberately go in blinding people first. Seems pointless is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭Wossack

maybe the audi wanker has the same policy noccy? funny you called him a wanker for it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sorry I opened my mouth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Dipping headlights, changing gears and turning on wipers?? Pffft! That's the work of peasants :P