Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you call this? Regional wordings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Base price wrote: »

I bet it started out as one and ye lot bastardised it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Kovu wrote: »
    What if you can't find a pike, would a perch do? Or a trout? ;)

You would be better off sitting on a perch fishing for trout eating grapes as you'd get feck all done piking silage with a fork or prong
    You'd be better off using nothing but your bare hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

C'mon then and tell us ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Ara we probably have invented something that can do whatever ye use that yoke for a lot faster and more efficiently. We'll leave yerselves and yer stone age equipment up further north! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

10 sod hopper we have instead of that yoke :D

Bullocks wrote: »

With smoke leaving her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    Nah darling once ya pass edgeworthstown your in bandit country :P
    Dual county by birth - I consider that when I pass exit 9 heading North on the M3 then I'm into different territory ;)

Same as by birth to same county :)

Bullocks wrote: »
    Nope not used in the bog :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Nope not used in the bog :D

I think it could have been if you were stuck, but sure every house had a sleain at the time anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

A Loy.
    Sweet Mother of ****.
    Easy knowing yiz grew up on boys land, with yer mould boards and skimmers.

Im going to have a wild guess. It's not something for cutting and shaping butter??

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    A Loy.
    Sweet Mother of ****.

No need to look for hardship when there is no need ;)

Feck, didn't see that.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Have no idea what that yoke is really...

But sure I'll throw in a guess for the craic ;)
    is it like some sort of shovel? Maybe for planting something in behind it?

OK do any of ye know what this is and what is is used for?
    It's a miniature of the real thing, a trophy. My Uncle won several of them over his lifetime.
    Nek, Kovu, Daisy, Farrell and any of ye in Longford, Cavan and Leitrim and in the Northern Counties will know what it is and are not allowed to comment ;)

NOBODY TELL HIM OR I'LL BAN YE!
    A Loy.

this_is_awkward1.jpg

Ban away, I'm too addicted to this intra-net thingy.....
    That's what you get for skimming a thread.....

this_is_awkward1.jpg

Wooohaaaaaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Ah, I only copped nek's post after I had posted...

Why would ye have miniature ones, and why would they be tropheys Base?

Ah, I only copped nek's post after I had posted...

Why would ye have miniature ones, and why would they be tropheys Base?

You sometimes dig them up in a fairy fort.
    It's VERY bad luck.

Ban away, I'm too addicted to this intra-net thingy.....
    That's what you get for skimming a thread.....

Nah, I probably just made it worse, should have just deleted your post. Arse :pac:

Ah I'm sure we can find more things to speculate about.
    You sometimes dig them up in a fairy fort.
    It's VERY bad luck.

Now this I haven't heard? Why? Is it a symbol left to mark something?

@Username John, there's competitions in Vintage shows with them. Still is as far as I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Billhook or Slashhook? Noone from Longford allowed to decide .. disbarred as professionals!

A Loy.
    Sweet Mother of ****.
    Nek :mad::mad:
    You obviously didn't read all the posts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭zetecescort

barnaman wrote: »
    Billhook or Slashhook? Noone from Longford allowed to decide .. disbarred as professionals!

slasher!

barnaman wrote: »

Hedgeknife :D

Sorry, I was just winding. The trophy was pixie sized, that's all.

As my penance, I offer ul this photo. Any of ye from Leinster or Munster tell me what it's for?

Cleaning out river beds or sides of lakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kelslat

Where is this all going? What happened to the sprong?

Ah now nek ya drove over the spud fork and your trying to pull our legs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,677 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kelslat wrote: »
    Where is this all going? What happened to the sprong?
    its all kovu's fault