Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you call this? Regional wordings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Pirate bay! !!!!

Oh that, that's just for decoration.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Feckit the second picture didn't load, apologies :rolleyes:
    Here it is and I rubbed in some oil so I could take the other pic of the stamp on the blade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Base price wrote: »
    Here it is and I rubbed in some oil so I could take the other pic of the stamp on the blade.

I don't have a name but is it for laying hedges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Would have said it's a heavy type of slashers... You can still get a type of em, good for cutting heavy bushes...

Ah I know now!

Bullocks wrote: »
    I don't have a name but is it for laying hedges
    No name for this in your neck of the woods??
    Its was a fairly used implement in Longford and surrounding counties. Having said that when I brought it to NCD neighbours had never seen one like this.

Was also a handy weapon :D Think we have one somewhere too, could be stuck in the hayshed rafters.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Please Miss, please Miss, I know, I know.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gazahayes

It's like a Yorkshire billhook
    http://www.timelesstools.co.uk/yorkshires.htm

gazahayes wrote: »
    It's like a Yorkshire billhook
    http://www.timelesstools.co.uk/yorkshires.htm
    Quite simular and may have been influenced due to geographical location and history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Was used recently in boundary disputes on the Cavan Longford frontier!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Was used recently in boundary disputes on the Cavan Longford frontier!
    Feck recently ;).
    The same bit of kit was used in simular disputes in the last 10 years and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Right I clearly missed the grape/fork party that's been going on for the last week as I avoided the never ending IFA debates :( And also please forgive me if its already been decided (which I'm sure it has, considering the volume of replies) Anyways I've been talking to the most reliable source I know on the matter at hand (a man who worked his whole life with such implements).

The implement in the OP is a "manure fork" They've four sharp prongs and a long straight handle. The handle is long due to the need to fork manure onto carts and also for ensuring and even distribution of said manure when throwing it off carts in the fields and also when scattering it from the small heaps in the field.

Agriculture_0007_4_PMFAPST.jpg
    imgur

A grape or graipe has a shorter handle usually with a Tee at the top and is used primarily for digging, These too have 4 prongs and the prongs can be thin and sharp or fat and blunt. Although the blunt ones are useless at anything other than digging in loose soil.

Raised_Bed_Garden_Fork_by_Sneeboer_z_1_71494_14.jpg
    screenshot windows 7

The three pronged variants are just called "forks" and these are nowadays most commonly used for forking silage. these have long handles too.

rk_pitchfork_sprong_manure_tines_garden_1505_p.jpg
    picture share

And long handled two pronged forks are "hay forks".

Also Turf forks are actually "beet forks".

Finally according to my well seasoned source ;) he reckons the area's which use the term "pike" are largely where the various plantations occurred with the result that these implements were for a time seen more as weapons than tools or implements of work. So the term pike is more common in the south east/east and the north where as the terms forks and grapes are more common in the west and midlands.

selectamatic- IMHO you need to seek out a more reliable source :p

Dunno about that he's not short on the experience front :P and put it this way he may be old but I'd rather you tell him he's wrong than me :D

Don't think I will dip my toes in that pool :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

That my friends is a Graip.
    https://www.fanevalleystores.com/product/1310771/potato-graip-with-wooden-handle

Grapes are a fruit.
    http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/graip

Forks, whilst technically correct is something you bring the spuds to your mouth with.

Lord knows what a sprong is. onomatopoeia maybe?

Pikes a fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Right I clearly missed the grape/fork party that's been going on for the last week as I avoided the never ending IFA debates :( And also please forgive me if its already been decided (which I'm sure it has, considering the volume of replies) Anyways I've been talking to the most reliable source I know on the matter at hand (a man who worked his whole life with such implements).

The implement in the OP is a "manure fork" They've four sharp prongs and a long straight handle. The handle is long due to the need to fork manure onto carts and also for ensuring and even distribution of said manure when throwing it off carts in the fields and also when scattering it from the small heaps in the field.

Agriculture_0007_4_PMFAPST.jpg
    imgur

A grape or graipe has a shorter handle usually with a Tee at the top and is used primarily for digging, These too have 4 prongs and the prongs can be thin and sharp or fat and blunt. Although the blunt ones are useless at anything other than digging in loose soil.

Raised_Bed_Garden_Fork_by_Sneeboer_z_1_71494_14.jpg
    screenshot windows 7

The three pronged variants are just called "forks" and these are nowadays most commonly used for forking silage. these have long handles too.

rk_pitchfork_sprong_manure_tines_garden_1505_p.jpg
    picture share

And long handled two pronged forks are "hay forks".

Also Turf forks are actually "beet forks".

Finally according to my well seasoned source ;) he reckons the area's which use the term "pike" are largely where the various plantations occurred with the result that these implements were for a time seen more as weapons than tools or implements of work. So the term pike is more common in the south east/east and the north where as the terms forks and grapes are more common in the west and midlands.

No it was decided that the three pronged or spronged is a grape! 2 pronged its a pitch fork. Fair play for finding a photo of a grape!

Thats a hedge knife. Have one here too guessing yours is by Pierce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

July 1860 Wexford Independent

Wexford Summer
    Assizes...Redmond Brien...attempt to murder Margaret Brien, the wife of his
    brother, John Brien, at Clone [Clones Kilgorman] in this county...went to mass
    at Castletown...that was about ten yards from a man named Tracy's house...ran
    for a sprong to Tracy's house but James Tracy took it from me [John Brien]; it
    was Tracey's sprong...Tracey is now in Wexford...Tracey took the sprong from
    witness, and said he would allow no murder...he ran down to Rosy Tracy's
    house...James Tracy examined...

Sprong has been used down in wexford here for a long time now.
    Pike comes from the irish word for graipe - p`ice. It's p ifada c e.
    I have an idea sprong came from 5prong as in 5 pronged and people saw it wrote down and called it sprong.

That double edged slash hook/ slasher could be called anything.
    Slash hook with long handle, bill hook with short handle.
    Yous probably call it a pike up there.:D

Graipe is used from the midlands up to north of country and Scotland as well.

barnaman wrote: »
    Thats a hedge knife. Have one here too guessing yours is by Pierce.
    That's what we call it too. Different to a slash hook.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

That's what we call it too. Different to a slash hook.

i call that two sided slash-hook a slash hook,

it's not really good for anything, (maybe knockin nettle and light briars<

but you wouldn't want to be without it at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,408 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ploughs folks - x no. of furrows, sods or a new one to me scrape(https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/ferguson-2-scrape-plough-amp-ferguson-drill-plough/11050286)

furrows for me

Only ever heard furrows or sods used, mainly furrows though. Perhaps the posters on here who grew up with them being pulled by horses may have differing terms.

I'm still to busy admiring the coincidence of two ford enthusiasts posting consecutively in a farming thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

Reggie. wrote: »
    This thread had fallen clean off the tracks

Down our way we would say off the rails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Pike being an Irish word makes since as a lot of old Irish words used in every day English around here people still call a piglet bonhams for example
    I have a question for kovu now that we know a pike is not a fish what exactly is a trout.
    I'd be thinking a perch is a three leg stool for milking cows by hand into a bucket

inthepit wrote: »
    Down our way we would say off the rails.

Still better than the IFA salary thread!

djmc wrote: »
    Pike being an Irish word makes since as a lot of old Irish words used in every day English around here people still call a piglet bonhams for example
    I have a question for kovu now that we know a pike is not a fish what exactly is a trout.
    I'd be thinking a perch is a three leg stool for milking cows by hand into a bucket

Ah I was only jibing ya :P

Isn't a perch an old unit of measurement? We still say bonhams, my mum calls them weaners though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Knew I heard perch before besides a birds perch the trout had me thinking alright :D
    A weaner is a Bonham that is taken away from the sow and weaned off her milk.
    Much like a calf and a weanling
    A fattener is a pig over 12 weeks or 32kgs until slaughter weight.

Not a saying or a word but something I'm wondering.
    Two common customs here are to have a smoke at a wake (similar to passing the pipe in olden days I think) and to not eat meat on Stephans Day. Think the latter is a Northern thing. So do many here know of or do these?

And c'mon grape!! :D