Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

That roof looks like an interesting option. At least you'll not have to be looking through the drivers side window to see where you are going ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

vintagevrs wrote: »
    That roof looks like an interesting option. At least you'll not have to be looking through the drivers side window to see where you are going ☺

With the track we were on it was mostly the passengers window :)

It's mine for a few weeks, runs like a mouse chewing newspaper!
    The father said ye were stone mad for getting in the car with me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I'm so jealous, Yb. :(

GvidoR wrote: »
    I'm so jealous, Yb. :(

The spec includes...

- Leopard skin petrol cap.
    - German flag style roof.
    - Hand painted front grille.
    - Polo sign relocation kit.

Fantastic spec on her!

Yeah, just rub it in. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

YbFocus wrote: »
    The spec includes...

- Leopard skin petrol cap.
    - German flag style roof.
    - Hand painted front grille.
    - Polo sign relocation kit.

Fantastic spec on her!

It was a joint effort to build that mighty beast! Not just 166 man!!!

I hear the red lip is gone now? That was the best bit :P

You also forgot to ad 45BHP to the spec list :pac:

Yer father is a wise man, he is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

Don't forget the springs supplied by 2 boardsies too!

A motors community car :D

Yer father is a wise man, he is spot on.

Feck you, i didn't damage my tyres, how are yours by the way?? :p

So i own the community car, my god what a piece of history!

Should i be afraid to look at this car in detail?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

45bhp my god :)

Very sorry, well after being laid v up for the summer like any good car we are taking it out for the winter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

So i own the community car, my god what a piece of history!

Should i be afraid to look at this car in detail?

We still have the drivers door for it if he's interested in one that can be locked. Not only that the colour matches the rest of the car too!

If it has some NCT and will be available in a week or so, I'd be interested in buying it. That way it would go to another boardsie :)

Feck you, i didn't damage my tyres, how are yours by the way?? :p

I didn't damage anything, just shortened their lifespan :o

A matching, lockable for would be amazing!

GvidoR, the test is out mid jan but i just put the first 5 miles on it since it done home from the test.
    Driving lovely! I'll want it for a few weeks i reckon though :(

I didn't damage anything, just shortened their lifespan :o

No no no you destroyed them :)

Aw, how much could I buy it for, d'ya know?

No idea man I'll talk to Cian :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

That Polo was certainly a joint boardsie effort. Full credit for the roof goes to DZ though, never seen a roof be painted to well with some questionable items!

Some car though, had mighty craic with it, it'd be mad if Gvidor was to buy it!!

I'd take good care of it, and later on some other boardsie could buy it off me. :)

I'm surprised it didnt find its grave with cian, you can only thank god he didnt drive it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I'd take good care of it, and later on some other boardsie could buy it off me. :)

Wait till I get a lock up in the new year and I'll dedicate a space for it

You actually came up in a conversation with a buddy today. He has a 99 focus which is well past its sell by date....for him. The idea of a 17 spanner would go in one ear etc. €150 budget on micks garage and a weekend of DIY would keep the car on the road for 5 more years at least. I was saying that theres a young lad online that I know of up the country that buys cheap cars and treats them like Ferraris. You really do great work with your wagons lad. Its a pity there ain't more like you around. Any plans after the Punto? Did the Vento project go astray?

I appreciate the kind words. :)

Currently looking for a cheap car with a small engine, preferably hatchback or estate for the practicality, so I'm very interested in that Polo because it checks all the boxes what I want from a daily right now, and on top of that it's a Volkswagen.

The Golf and Vento are still here but I kind of overestimated myself a little with it. The Vento is stripped and Golf is declared off the road so I don't need to pay any back tax afterwards. I do want to get the Golf going but getting the engine replaced is a bit overwhelming. I do plan to get around to it though but I do need some money to get it running fine and get it NCT'd. A friend offered to put a GTI engine in it. He knows the ins and outs with all the wiring and everything. Will think about turning into a bit of a sleeper, we'll see. Right now I'm studying and trying to do bits and pieces in the spare time so I don't have much money to spend on anything really.

I appreciate the kind words. :)

Currently looking for a cheap car with a small engine, preferably hatchback or estate for the practicality, so I'm very interested in that Polo because it checks all the boxes what I want from a daily right now, and on top of that it's a Volkswagen.

The Golf and Vento are still here but I kind of overestimated myself a little with it. The Vento is stripped and Golf is declared off the road so I don't need to pay any back tax afterwards. I do want to get the Golf going but getting the engine replaced is a bit overwhelming. I do plan to get around to it though but I do need some money to get it running fine and get it NCT'd. A friend offered to put a GTI engine in it. He knows the ins and outs with all the wiring and everything. Will think about turning into a bit of a sleeper, we'll see. Right now I'm studying and trying to do bits and pieces in the spare time so I don't have much money to spend on anything really.

Thats passion if I've ever seen it. All in good time pal.

We were all there, even this bmw has given up at an awkward point for me.
    It is going off the road for a while, I need to save a few bob for something else first.

Once I'm ready it will be ripped and rebuilt, was even talking to some people about taking it off the road for a good while and building the turbo setup now that its been forced on me!

That would mean that it becomes a track car though and I'm not sure I want that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It is going off the road for a while, I need to save a few bob for something else first.

Once I'm ready it will be ripped and rebuilt, was even talking to some people about taking it off the road for a good while and building the turbo setup now that its been forced on me!

That would mean that it becomes a track car though and I'm not sure I want that!

:(

Do tell more? Hate to hear that man...

As above, sad to hear. Head gasket, if I remember correctly?

I think you've done a lot to make it a nice daily and probably should be kept that way. It's up to you, but I think you can get another/different car to turn into a track car.

I was trying to force it to be both, it wasnt dogged so I assume it was going anyway.
    Problem with a dedicate track car is you need a van and a trailer too, new licences and plenty of money.

I will go again no doubt with a fresh setup. It should be fine and this has been a failure that was going to happen.

Alan,
    After 3 hours yesterday it suddenly went into the red, brought it in and played with it. Bled it and seemed to get air out.
    Temp went back to normal but again, with VintageVRS's friend in the car it rocketed up and this time died.

HG is definitely gone. I am about to price all on micksgarage......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I thought you would try and keep it as a daily for a bit longer just going from the miniature scenes videos and your talk on here you have so much love for the car. It will be difficult to replace with something you like as much. I suppose if you keep it as a track car you'll get to drive it either way.

On a side note I thought the low life video was very good takes a lot of care and attention to drive it when it's lowered. I'd say I'd tear the hole out of it in 5 minutes over the first big speed bump as I wouldn't be used to having a low car :)