Why should drinks finish at 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If the ridiculous 2am curfew wasn't there they wouldn't all be at the taxi rank together in the first place
    Yeah, but they'd something else to fight over, if they're drunken idiots.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

If the ridiculous 2am curfew wasn't there they wouldn't all be at the taxi rank together in the first place

Who forces you to stay drinking untill 2 am ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Is the rest of the world really doing all that? Is that the way the world is going?

24 hr opening hours doesn't mean you need to keep drinking for 24hrs.

In reality it will stagger closing times and stagger the times people leave places at, removing the pressure cooker of the scramble for taxis, chipper ques etc that cause much of the rows.

You also wouldn't have people trying to horse down 8 yaegerbombs at 01:59 or 02:29 or whatever it is before last orders.

La Fenetre wrote: »
    Who forces you to stay drinking untill 2 am ?

What sort of backwards logic is that? I can and do go home before closing frequently.
    Similarly, if I want to stay out and a publican want's to still serve me, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Why, out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs ?

If you can't manage to get drunk in a bar all the other hours of the day, what difference is buying drink and weed at 5am going to make ?

Most counries is eruope have more relxed laws regarding drinking and selling beer. The situation regarding weed is a bit vague because "legal" and "tolerated" are too different attitudes.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Most counries is eruope have more relxed laws regarding drinking and selling beer. The situation regarding weed is a bit vague because "legal" and "tolerated" are too different attitudes.

The actual question was : Out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs? (The OP's demand)

If you can't manage to get drunk in a bar all the other hours of the day, what difference is buying drink and weed at 5am going to make ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

antodeco wrote: »
    I don't know why they don't decide, ok, drinking stops at 2:30am, but the pubs/ub stays open up until 5am. Just means people will leave anywhere from 3am - 5am. Will cause alot less issues.

I'm sure the pubs/clubs wouldn't mind that at all. Open for another 2-3 hours without serving drink (making money) but still have all the costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

You made such a good point here that all the people who were claiming that they couldn't get drunk during the current opening hours have deleted their posts in shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The actual question was : Out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs? (The OP's demand)

Fair point, but badly phrased question. Does anything need to be open 24 hour hours a day? I think the general call is for more realxed and consumer-freindly drinking hours.

As to what difference buying at 5sm makes - well a lot if you happen to finish work at 2am and then want to go for a drink.

Which contradicts
    Does anything need to be open 24 hour hours a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Most of it, yes.

Including the Islamic world, China, India and the Bible Belt?

What is the actual answer to that?

I'm still waiting on one . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

From my experience of muslim countries I've been to & India, cannabis was more prevalent than alcohol.

Which contradicts

No it doesn't.

No one is saying anywhere HAS to stay open 24hrs, or you HAVE to drink after 2am.

The only question is whether alcohol serving businesses need to be regulated to babysit the public, or whether people as adults should be able to decide on their own (like in many other places).

Which contradicts

Not really. Nothing NEEDS to be open 24 for hours a day, other than emergency services. But is this a good argument for banning trade in an entire industry between certain hours.

Alright, most of Western Europe then. Ya happy? My point is: othe contries have more relaxed and open drining laws without converse reactions.

Lads, if the only argumenrts you have are pedantic, then I suggest you do some more research.

I'm still waiting on one . . .

No, you aren't. You just didn;t see them.

Again, n case there's more pedants, I'm saying more relaxed drining laws. If you;re in favour of bars opening when the like but not 24 hours a day, then pelase clarify this, or say why you are against drinking hours shosen by the business.

24 hr opening hours doesn't mean you need to keep drinking for 24hrs.

In reality it will stagger closing times and stagger the times people leave places at, removing the pressure cooker of the scramble for taxis, chipper ques etc that cause much of the rows.

You also wouldn't have people trying to horse down 8 yaegerbombs at 01:59 or 02:29 or whatever it is before last orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Most weekends it's 24 hour drinking in my village, has been for generations. When we did have a guard before the station was shut a few years back, he was the biggest alcoholic in the place. Now that the station is closed I guess the guards in the nearest station are just too busy to drive all the way to see if we are having a few late ones. A few weeks ago I was so late leaving the pub, herself picked me up as I walked home after she was coming home from 11:30 Sunday mass.

I think closing times are far too late as the are. The amount of work hours lost through drunken eejits spaltering about pubs until all hours of the morning is shocking,

Work hours? Boll*cks to that. Work to live not the other way round, work is only a means to make money to fund your life not something for your life to revolve around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Spare a thought for those on night shift, don't they deserve to get their freak-on after a long shift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,564 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

antodeco wrote: »
    I don't know why they don't decide, ok, drinking stops at 2:30am, but the pubs/ub stays open up until 5am. Just means people will leave anywhere from 3am - 5am. Will cause alot less issues.

So the pubs and clubs stop making money at 2:30am yet continue to facilitate patrons for another 2 1/2 hours??
    I can see all the publicans being up for that.

No it doesn't.

No one is saying anywhere HAS to stay open 24hrs, or you HAVE to drink after 2am.

The only question is whether alcohol serving businesses need to be regulated to babysit the public, or whether people as adults should be able to decide on their own (like in many other places).

Where are these many other places?

Work hours? Boll*cks to that. Work to live not the other way round, work is only a means to make money to fund your life not something for your life to revolve around.

A **** attitude for a brain surgeon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Putting life before work, yep, very healthy attitude, something everyone should do.

Putting drink before work, not so much.

Where are these many other places?

Are you lazy, why don't you just Google it if you've never travelled?

Off the top of my head, UK, Germany, Belgium, China, Australia (NSW anyway).
    If you need a full list for some odd reason I'm sure it's out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Leroy Brown

Why do we as Irish people have to finish up drinking at 2am? Can we bring in 24 hour drinking? Can we bring in legalisation of weed? Let's let Ireland progress along with the rest of the world yeah, it'll be a good thing.

Good thinking.

Are you lazy, why don't you just Google it if you've never travelled?

Off the top of my head, UK, Germany, Belgium, China, Australia (NSW anyway).
    If you need a full list for some odd reason I'm sure it's out there.

I was asking a question. Why should I google if the op or other supporters know there are "many" countries with 24 hour licensing laws. You say it, prove it.

( And I've lived 4 countries. In the UK most pubs are not 24 hours, some have the option – mostly hotels. The others just didn't have it. In fact pubs are – believe it or not – not very universal

In the UK most pubs are not 24 hours, some have the option

The option is all we're talking about here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

The big problem everyone is missing here is the fact the only real option most people are left with is that they have to get taxis home if living in the cities,bar one or two nitelinks, if we had some sort or regular,frequent late night transport in this country all these fights over taxis would disappear!

Putting life before work, yep, very healthy attitude, something everyone should do.

Putting drink before work, not so much.

Going on nights out etc is a big part of my life and a part I really enjoy.

Pubs a should be allowed to open whenever they want thankfully there is an odd pub that has an early license still and some clubs wait open much later than two these days.