Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brendan O'Carroll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

AHHHHHHH HAAAAAAA!!! RUMBLED O'CARROLL! !

When he was awarded philanthropist of the year with regards to his charity work he said and I quote:

This is impossible. How can anyone get more out of something than they get. They can't and I know what you're thinking, it was an RTE typo.. but NO, I won't have it. This is evidence, as if it were needed. . that the man quite clearly, and self admittedly. .gets more than he gets. Need I say more? I think not.

Altruism is it's own reward. Just because what he puts in can be measured in monetary terms doesn't mean what he gets out is measurable on the same scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

G'wan Brendan you total legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Jawgap wrote: »
    Altruism is it's own reward. Just because what he puts in can be measured in monetary terms doesn't mean what he gets out is measurable on the same scale.

Sigh.. eh yeah, I know.

I was taking the piss out of the RTE typo as quite obviously he had said "You get more out of it than you*give*" and not what they had reported him as saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Know him personally since I was a child,since back when he owned the castle in Finglas, nice bloke,his act is old.But he's still a hoot in real life. He worked hard for everything he got,and deserves every achievment he has coming to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Its not the first christmas where we've heard about Brendan's donations to charity - always accompanied by comments about how Brendan wanted to keep his donation private etc but it got out somehow and Brendan reluctantly acknowledged it.

It's true - google it!

Commendable but likes to be acknowledged as the hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Its not the first christmas where we've heard about Brendan's donations to charity - always accompanied by comments about how Brendan wanted to keep his donation private etc but it got out somehow and Brendan reluctantly acknowledged it.

It's true - google it!

Commendable but likes to be acknowledged as the hero.

Yes, you only hear about the Christmas ones ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

They are turkey and Ham vouchers, but you're right every priest and nun will have 10 turkeys each this christmas and the CEO will build a new house for themselves made of Turkey and Ham with a gravy motte around it

Sorry, I know you meant this in absolute seriousness and I agree with you completely but it might be the funniest thing I've ever read on here.......EVER!:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

But stuff like that does get out easily with social media amplifying word of mouth to the nth degree. I don't see any evidence that he secretly has a hand in publicising it (other than doing the act itself) and likes to be acknowledged as a hero.

Azalea wrote: »
    As an Irish person, you should not be so hard on yourself. His show is hugely successful in Britain too so the self flagellating is not that fitting.

And also massively huge in Romania, apparently (really, it's supposed to be huge there)!

Azalea wrote: »
    But stuff like that does get out easily with social media amplifying word of mouth to the nth degree. I don't see any evidence that he secretly has a hand in publicising it (other than doing the act itself) and likes to be acknowledged as a hero.

Charities would have plenty of experience of accepting large donations on condition of anonymity - and would stick by it so as not to jeopardise other similar donations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Each to their own, but about as funny as bank bail out day 08.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Fair play Brendan but from what i have observed most of the SVP clients I know deserve and need nothing this Christmas

sort your vetting system out SVP

Well here's one who needed it as a child (sorry if that bursts your bubble).

I remember being brought to a place on Mountjoy Sq were we were clothed one Christmas. Then another time we were given vouchers for Michael Guinneys, Talbot Street.

Another Christmas our electricity was cut off and SVP had it put back on.

I know some people scam them, but you'll find freeloading c*nts everywhere.

I'd love to think if I was in his financial position I'd be just as generous.

I also know from other media sources Brendan is just as generous throughout the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Well here's one who needed it as a child (sorry if that bursts your bubble).

I remember being brought to a place on Mountjoy Sq were we were clothed one Christmas. Then another time we were given vouchers for Michael Guinneys, Talbot Street.

Another Christmas our electricity was cut off and SVP had it put back on.

I know some people scam them, but you'll find freeloading c*nts everywhere.

I'd love to think if I was in his financial position I'd be just as generous.

I also know from other media sources Brendan is just as generous throughout the year.

I don't like the mindset of the thinking behind tarring all the SVP receipients with the one brush.it's really daily mail,dole scrounger type thinking; 'a handful are taking the piss so why bother?'real lazy thinking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭The Bowling Alley

If he was sincere he wouldn't be publicizing the gesture, more ego than good heart on his part.

Fcuk sake. People like you are what's wrong with this country.

Perhaps people are discussing it as a separate issue but what has the dishonesty of other people got to do with Brendan O'Carroll's generosity?

Another example of some people managing to find the negative in every bloody thing. What a miserable existence: why always assume the worst in people?:confused: The man is not a priest, politician or charity worker, he's a comedian and he's under no obligation to help anyone but he does. Is it so hard to say, "fair play to him" and leave it at that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Seriously why do you have a problem with it? Are you jealous, or is it just bare faced begrudgery? Would the donation be worth more if he did it anonymously? Why shouldn't he get credit for doing a good deed? It might encourage others to do something also instead of spending time trawling through the Internet for links trying to make others look bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    PR stunt by a shifty no talent to offset a possible future tax conviction?

Didn't Saint Liam Lawlor also pull stunts like this?

Everybody is a bloody tax expert....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Three times in five years, and none of the links show him talking about his donations.

That's a lot, alright. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

So what if he gets something out of it.. At least people who are struggling are benefiting and thats the main thing.
    People begrudge some getting from charity but if you're okay and dont need help just count your blessings and if these people seem to be scamming the system well thats par for the course really and wont change anytime soon.
    Brenday O Carroll made a nice gesture and fair play to him. If he benefits in some way great. Its a win win situation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

People can criticize his comedy all they want. I'm not a fan of it myself.

But the one thing we can't criticize is where this man's heart is. He's always been outspoken about how SVP helped out his family growing up, it's awesome to see him giving back all that help in spades.

Yeah, I'm not mad on his on-screen work but he seems like a nice decent chap,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Valetta wrote: »
    Three times in five years, and none of the links show him talking about his donations.

That's a lot, alright. :rolleyes:

Bono's head would explode if he got to talk about his charity as little as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

"G'wan...show us yizzer christmas puddins". :P

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

Excuse me but I don't see SVDP in the thread title so in other words the thread is about Brendan O'Carroll. I'm sure he's a nice guy, very generous, but he's all over the telly and since I pay my licence fee, it kind of entitles me to offer an opinion on that.

Satisfied?

All over the telly?!? On what? Two channels at the most, unless you're purposely seeking out reruns of Mrs brown's boys. And it'd still be only two channels. One of which your licence fee doesn't contribute to. You sir/madam, are quite possibly a donkey. Off to the glue factory with you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

He always reminded me of Robbie Walsh the bodhran player.

Nah, more like the cousin, Barney, who mainly played the ukelele, especially around the eyes.

Bono's head would explode if he got to talk about his charity as little as that.

Jaysus that ad... "take a bike ride with, me. in central park" such a punchable face I have never seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Orangebrigade

Who cares, charity will be back next week asking for more money off people who work all week.

Know him personally since I was a child,since back when he owned the castle in Finglas, nice bloke,his act is old.But he's still a hoot in real life. He worked hard for everything he got,and deserves every achievment he has coming to him.

Fcuk, didn't know he owned the castle, was there once or twice just before it closed(very much before I should have been...) was a mad aul shop. I've met him me self a few times down the years, he's a genuine guy and funny as fcuk in person(if ye think "how's yer snowballs" is a little risqué, well...)

Dunno why some here are knocking him for such a nice act of charity, I suspect them types would rather throw their change in the liffey, than in some poor unfortunates cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Follow his example and give a few Euro to St Vincent de Paul.

diomed wrote: »
    Follow his example and give a few Euro to St Vincent de Paul.

Best post of the thread right there. I do and will be in the coming weeks.