Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O'Carroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

People can criticize his comedy all they want. I'm not a fan of it myself.

But the one thing we can't criticize is where this man's heart is. He's always been outspoken about how SVP helped out his family growing up, it's awesome to see him giving back all that help in spades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

It's the least he could do for inflicting us with that show that makes Last of the Summer Wine look funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I wonder will the lads from the Zuckerberg thread be along shortly, asking the vital questions like.. "how many turkeys has he got for himself?", and "sure he's not exactly on the breadline is he"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

At least some good has come from the shows earnings.

Has any interviewer asked him about the glasses on his head thing? I'd say even Chris Eubank with his fake monocle would be thinking "WTF is that eejit at"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

etoughguy wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/brendan-ocarroll-to-feed-2500-families-on-christmas-day-709639.html

Fair fooking play to him. This isn't the first time either has done this either

Brendan has made substantial donations to SVP over the last few years, especially at Christmas which has helped thousands of Irish people who are in need.
    Well done and fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Good on him, now can U2 share too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Hurtbuthealing

If he was sincere he wouldn't be publicizing the gesture, more ego than good heart on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Fair play to him, a lovely gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

If he was sincere he wouldn't be publicizing the gesture, more ego than good heart on his part.

It's SVDP doing the publicising, not him.

Besides, it might inspire others to do similar, so what's the harm in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Very nice of him. Good on the guy. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Not my humour at all.

But

Fair play, making millions and loves what he does. We should all be so lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Not his biggest fan but doesnt bother me either.
    A man on Joe duffy show a year or 2 ago got in trouble with a money lender and was in fear for his life and Brendan O'Carroll paid his loan back in full.
    He didnt come on the show to gloat or wait on the praise
    I think he knows what its like to live in hard times and has not forgotten his roots.
    I admire him for what he's doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

colossus-x wrote: »
    It's the least he could do for inflicting us with that show that makes Last of the Summer Wine look funny.

I wonder how much the makers of Last of the Summer Wine are donating to charity?

I can't stand Mrs Browns Boys, but a good deed is a good deed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

He always reminded me of Robbie Walsh the bodhran player.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fair play Brendan but from what i have observed most of the SVP clients I know deserve and need nothing this Christmas

sort your vetting system out SVP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

PR stunt by a shifty no talent to offset a possible future tax conviction?

Didn't Saint Liam Lawlor also pull stunts like this?

How much of that SVdeP money goes to CEOs, priests and nuns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

ClovenHoof wrote: »

Given how much charitable work he does, he must be a real scumbag... give over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

People amaze me. Someone does a good act and of course there has to be something in it for them. Sometimes people are just nice ...
    Pity a few more werent like him to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Not at all. Do you think he needs the publicity ? What a boneheaded pig ignorant statement to make seriously.

The fact that SDVP have made it public serves to not give publicity to Brendan O'Carroll but to the awful situation facing so many families around Christmas time. Thus encouraging people to help also and take Brendan's lead. Sure he is well off and can do a lot and he is and has done but if we all chipped in as well even a little bit it would help also a great deal. I'd like to think the cynics in this thread wouldn't ever need a dig out at Christmas or any other time.. however if they did I'm sure they would be changing their tune to one of gratefulness rather then the bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Good on him, now can U2 share too

Why do people always bring up U2?

How do you know how much or little they give to charity?

The best way is done silently and anonymously as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

So how many books have you had published, stage shows sold out and TV shows and films have you made then?

murpho999 wrote: »
    So how many books have you had published, stage shows sold out and TV shows and films have you made then?

Irish people have no taste. We are an uncultured nation of simpletons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What about the English people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

murpho999 wrote: »

Less than Jordon.

I think the only simpletons around here are people who cannot distinguish someones comedy career and their liking or disliking thereof, from a genuine decent act on behalf of the person which will HELP a lot of people out at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

PR stunt by a shifty no talent to offset a possible future tax conviction

Do you know something revenue don't?
    How much of that SVdeP money goes to CEOs, priests and nuns?
    They are turkey and Ham vouchers, but you're right every priest and nun will have 10 turkeys each this christmas and the CEO will build a new house for themselves made of Turkey and Ham with a gravy motte around it
    Dunno about simpletons but some are complete arseholes alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Absoutely hate his comedy, but know his family. An absolute gent who hasn't forgot where he came from (Finglas) and what his Ma (Maureen) taught him.

The Labour Party could do a lot worse than resurrect a few of her principles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Good on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

A hard worker and a grafter, who deserves every success that's come his way... although he's not quite sure how he got it! :D
    I'm not a fan of most of his work, although he has the odd stand up gem about Dublin life.

As others has said, he hasn't forgotten his past and he is great to give something back.
    Fair f^*ks to you Brendan!

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2013/jan/29/mrs-browns-boys-worst-comedy-ever-made-smash

"To not be able to get from the check-in to the aeroplane without stopping for 40 photographs is really weird," he says. "I don't even think my mother if she was alive would want a f**king photograph of me." But he's not – at least initially – forthcoming with explanations. "Brian, do me a favour," he says. "Analyse this and tell me what the secret is, 'cos I don't have a ****ing clue."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Fair play Brendan but from what i have observed most of the SVP clients I know deserve and need nothing this Christmas

Yeah I used to think that statements like this were just reactionary bullsh-t until I went back to University and heard mature students who were living a much better lifestyle than I was (and I wasn't hard up) getting stuff from SvP.

Fairplay to him though and not saying that a lot of their clients don't need help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I wonder will the lads from the Zuckerberg thread be along shortly, asking the vital questions like.. "how many turkeys has he got for himself?", and "sure he's not exactly on the breadline is he"

I'm sorry but this donation does not deserve a discussion thread of it's own so ye're just setting yer'selves up for that sort of thing.

This. I met a family who are spending 2000 on gifts for their kids this year, they get a hamper from SVDP every Christmas as well as other things during the year. Its a great charity with its heart in the right place but they need to be stricter about who they give help to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Don't find him funny in the slightest, but this is a great gesture. As usual, some cynics are pouring cold water all over it, but from what I've heard, he seems to be a lovely, genuine person. Fair play to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I suppose it's a coincidence that this comes at a time when ISIS are under attack.

We know your game O'Carroll. Take more than a few turkey and ham sambos to keep us blind to your antics you David Cameron sycophant.

Get the last of the gullible gobstoppers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

O'Carroll .... ham .... Turkey .... ISIS.... David Cameron

Jesus Christ! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Wile lot of hate for Brendan going on. I don't understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Have never liked his comedy and found some of it downright homophobic but he does seem to wear his heart on his sleeve with regards to his politics and, unusually for an Irish socialist, actually lives up to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

People can criticize his comedy all they want. I'm not a fan of it myself.

But the one thing we can't criticize is where this man's heart is. He's always been outspoken about how SVP helped out his family growing up, it's awesome to see him giving back all that help in spades.
    Wasn't his mother a TD? Not for all his childhood though, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Not my humour at all.

But

Fair play, making millions and loves what he does. We should all be so lucky.
    Love how people feel the need to specify that they don't find him funny before they give him a compliment. :pac:

eviltwin wrote: »
    This. I met a family who are spending 2000 on gifts for their kids this year, they get a hamper from SVDP every Christmas as well as other things during the year. Its a great charity with its heart in the right place but they need to be stricter about who they give help to.

If that's the case it is a separate issue and a separate thread. You will get people scamming anywhere and everywhere they can. Social Welfare etc... it doesn't mean that the vast majority are not deserving and should be in no way brought into this thread to do down the effort of Brendan and indeed the people who work to help others. Easier to sit and mouth off behind a ****in keyboard if you are that bothered about it call them up or better still throw them a few quid.. or better again.. volunteer and you and that individual you are quoting may get a better appreciation of what they do and the difference they make. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

What a lovely gesture Brendan to give for Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Nice, I hope they don't just give money that can be used to buy playstations and it a voucher or something to needy family's and not first come first served job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Exactly what I was thinking.

Strumms wrote: »
    If that's the case it is a separate issue and a separate thread. You will get people scamming anywhere and everywhere they can. Social Welfare etc... it doesn't mean that the vast majority are not deserving and should be in no way brought into this thread to do down the effort of Brendan and indeed the people who work to help others. Easier to sit and mouth off behind a ****in keyboard if you are that bothered about it call them up or better still throw them a few quid.. or better again.. volunteer and you and that individual you are quoting may get a better appreciation of what they do and the difference they make. :rolleyes:

What makes you think I don't?

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

As far as I know, they give out food vouchers and parcels, they also help out with gas/ electric bills if in dire straits I think(not sure how that's administered though)

It's actually not a great gesture the,

It's a fcukin great ACT of charity and kindness, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

went to a show in galway many years ago before he was famous,myself and my sister were walking through towards the venue when we saw him walking towards us,out for a stroll as it was early, shur we were like tourists, he took us into a nearby hotel,bought us a drink and had a normal chat with us,signed a napkin for me (i know) called me a bollix and said our goodbyes laughing at each other, he had the pony tail yoke back then...

ive never liked mrs browns but ive remained a fan of the man since,he's just genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Jesus Christ! :eek:

IT'S CLASSIC DEFLECTION!

Wait and see. I bet a penny to a pound each airing of Mrs Brown's Boys coincides with an air strike.

Wearing eyeglasses on tbe head is also a classic iluminati way of signaling.

Game's up, "Brendan".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Exactly what I was thinking.

Brendan has been doing this for the last number of years and not a peep out of him about it then or now. SVP mentioned it and the papers got a hold of it.
    You don't have to like the guy to acknowledge a generous deed well done without an ulterior motive.
    Well done for keeping the notion alive that Ireland is still a nation of begrudgers.