The 'After Hours' Racehorse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

That might make sense if there wasn't a 5/1, 10/1...

Not many races start at those times though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

Not many races start at those times though.
    Two of them today! ;)

It's nothing to do with the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I have a question. Why is it 100/30 and not 10/3?

Old thread asking the same question here. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65808665

Two of them today! ;)

It's nothing to do with the time.

Mist racing doesn't start until 1:30ish. Only a degenerate would gamble before 2. :p

In the brighter months yeah you're spot on. But at this time of the year a six race jumps cards will have to kick off about 1. A seven race card around 12:30 and an eight race card at about 12.

In general, a race is every 40 mins. So it's still rare to have a race at ten to one or 5 to.
    Not saying it doesn't happen though.

In general, a race is every 40 mins. So it's still rare to have a race at ten to one or 5 to.
    Not saying it doesn't happen though.

Every 30 minutes. I don't want to be arguing about it but it happened today, yesterday, tomorrow (1). It's quite regular at this time of the year.

If you're dead set that 100/30 is to do with the time I'm guessing I probably won't change your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Whoosh is running at 4.10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭signostic

After Hours 5th place...
    tracked leaders, ridden before 2 out, weakened last

He will be fitter next time out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

smash wrote: »
    Breaking New: Horse has been removed from the race for kicking other horses in the face!

After receiving a race & course ban after said incident, it is reported the horse re-registered under the name Hours After.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

OldGoat wrote: »
    I thought we were going to buy a horse. :(

I tried to get AH to buy a house once, didn't end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Lets blame the mods. The horse said something that the mod hivemind didnt like so they made it lose the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

MadsL wrote: »
    I tried to get AH to buy a house once, didn't end well.

Something do do with a safe, was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

In honour of the alleged horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭signostic

tracked leaders, ridden before 2 out, weakened last
    Sounds like he has the form of a Boards mod

After Hours "tracked leaders" mod "stayed with thread for a few pages"
    After Hours "ridden before 2 out" mod "handed out a ban or two"
    After Hours "weakened last" mod "got fed up chasing the thread - thread Locked"

And he's back! Just when you had forgotten about your lost fivers the After Hour's horse "After Hours" is back at a racetrack! See first post

It's been 23 days since his last run which is a pretty average break. He'll have been exercised most days since and will have been feeding up on the best of food. Who's paying for all this you might ask?

A man named Richard Whitehead owns After Hours and pays all the bills. He's had a few horses over the years and all run in his silks.
    Everyone will be aware that jockeys wear different coloured silks (tops) during a race. If you buy a racehorse you will be asked to design your own silks. Any horse that runs in your name will then wear your colours. If you ever happen to have two or more in the same race they will wear different colour caps to differentiate them.

So Richard Whitehead has been paying for After Hours to be looked after and trained by Henry Oliver and it can be quite expensive. Training fees average at about €15,000 per year!
    The horse stays in the trainer's stables where owners would go to visit their loss horse in between days out at the races. The trainer will also be in contact with the owner reasonably regularly and updating him/her on the horse's progress and outlining any plans for the future.

Speaking of the future, I've been in contact with Henry Oliver myself recently in a bid to get us the inside word on the horse and to learn a bit more about him. Here's what he had to say:
    After Hours was bought last March after winning a point-to-point. A lovely horse, he is due to run at Newbury on Friday and will then be due a handicap mark. I think he's decent, I'm bringing him back in distance to 2 miles as he has a high cruising speed and travels well. He may well go chasing as he jumps great. He won a heavy ground point-to-point and a bumper on fast ground. He's a well travelled horse - he was once at Coolmore* and then with Nicky Henderson**. Had his problems as a 3yo - he was weak, but he's a big, fine strong horse now.

* the world's largest breeding operation of thoroughbred racehorses. Headquarters is based in Fethard, Tipperary
    ** one of the top National Hunt trainers

Thanks Henry!

SO SHUT UP ALREADY NEVERWAINING, IS HE GOING TO WIN???

Probably not. Not today. He's running in another maiden hurdle but this one looks quite a bit tougher than last time. It's a higher class of a race at a showcase meeting. It might be a beginner's race (of sorts) but this race (like most) is held every year and this has had some pretty high quality winners over the years. It looks too tough for After Hours at this moment in time.

SO WHY IS HE RUNNING???

Well he has to run somewhere. And it was mentioned by Henry that he's due a handicap mark soon. So a little bit about handicaps:
    Handicap races are races in which the official handicappers try to give each horse an equal chance of winning by allocating them different weights to carry.
    The highest rated (or 'best') horse in the race is given the highest weight to carry; and then inferior horses will carry lower weights (the weight is made up of the jockey and the saddle. Lead is also inserted into the saddle if needed).
    For most owners, handicaps offer their best chance of winning a race. Without them, the top horses would almost always win and there would be no point in owning anything other than a top horse.

Now for the official handicapper to allocate a horse a handicap mark he obviously has to see the horse running and get a feel for it's ability. So generally a handicapper will allocate a horse a handicap mark for hurdles after three hurdles races (though if a horse wins one it'll get one straight away).

So that's what I meant in the first post and above by beginner's races (novices, maidens). After Hours has had one run in a Novice Hurdle and this will be his second run in a Maiden Hurdle. He should be allocated a handicap mark after today's run and then he will be eligible to run in handicap races, against horses of similar ability.
    So in many cases, not necessarily with this horse, but in many cases you will not see a great deal of improvement in a horse on his third 'beginners' hurdle race (or sometimes in any of them!). The bad case scenario is that the horse appears better than he actually is and the official handicapper allocates him too high a handicap mark. It can take quite a few further runs for a handicap mark to drop. The good case scenario of course is that the handicapper looks at the horse's three hurdle runs and allocates a winnable handicap mark.

At the time of writing he is currently available at 50/1! Again, he won't be carrying any of my money.

He runs at 3:45pm at Newbury and you can listen to the race here (click the play button in the top right).
    You can view the racecard here.
    For the latest odds see here (pink means prices are increasing, blue means shortening).

Best of luck After Hours!

Any questions just ask.

TLDR: He will be more interesting next time out.

I have a tattered fiver I was going to light the fire with: May as well put it on OUR nag.

Go on AH, go on to fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I wonder if Behind Time is worth a few quid e/w in this race at around 14/1. Unraced but the stable are in good form.

I can't recall Harry Fry training too many for JP McManus before so I'm sure he'd be looking to impress the owner with a view to getting more recruits.

kfallon wrote: »
    I wonder if Behind Time is worth a few quid e/w in this race at around 14/1. Unraced but the stable are in good form.

I can't recall Harry Fry training too many for JP McManus before so I'm sure he'd be looking to impress the owner with a view to getting more recruits.

Behind Time is part of the AH group: all the horses are linked by a name indicating chronological dilatoriness.

1 hour folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Is some randomer not going to post what they think will win, so I can back it ?

Feck ye, I am going to say that BEAVUR DAIR will win, cos I know all about horses and stuff, so I am backing that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

kfallon wrote: »

How big is the field? Morning paper favourites price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How big is the field? Morning paper favourites price?

Fairly big, sure they've a load of horses running on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Come on, Divorce Referendum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

About 6 non runners so his chances are improving.

and they're off in the lucky last.....eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Could be some finish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Wait For Me is a poor jumper at the odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

eamonnq wrote: »
    Is some randomer not going to post what they think will win, so I can back it ?

Feck ye, I am going to say that BEAVUR DAIR will win, cos I know all about horses and stuff, so I am backing that now.

Well done.

After Hours ran as expected, finishing 5th I think. There was a few high quality horses in the race, the winner looked especially good. After Hours should now be qualified for handicap races and will be much more interesting next time out against horses of similar ability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

V-neck won that race.

Great jumper.