Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'After Hours' Racehorse

• 04-11-2015 10:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

So there's a racehorse with the name After Hours and he's running today (1:45pm Chepstow).

He's 6 years old and originated in Ireland and is now stabled in the UK with trainer Henry Oliver and is a jumps (National Hunt) horse (as opposed to a Flat horse).
    Generally jumps horses run in the winter and flat horses in the summer (to remember think of the softer, wetter ground in the winter making for a better surface to be landing on and the hard dry ground in the summer better for the horses sprinting on the flat).
    He's had two runs as a professional racehorse so far. One was in a bumper which he won. The second was in a novice hurdle - his first time over obstacles - in which he came 3rd.
    Jumps horses generally start in a bumper. This is a race without obstacles, designed to provide horses with an introduction to the racecourse experience without the complications of obstacles to overcome.
    They will then generally move to hurdles. These are small obstacles and easily kicked to the ground if a horse doesn't jump them right.
    If a horse shows good jumping ability he/she will then move to chasing (aka steeple-chasing - so called because the earliest form used to race cross country from the steeple of one church to that of another). These Chase races involve higher, fixed obstacles known as fences or ditches.
    So can he win today? He's running in a maiden hurdle. A maiden race is for horses who haven't won before - so a maiden hurdle race is for those who haven't won over hurdles. It's similar to his last race (novice hurdle) in that it's for beginners but this might be slightly easier.

He was after a bit of a break before his last run (he rested up for the summer while the flat racing was on). He won his bumper in April and ran his last race in October (three weeks ago). Some horses are easier to get fit after a break than others. Some need 'race fitness' (known as 'match fitness' in other sports). So there's the possibility that he might be fitter today

Ground conditions today might be more suitable for him than last time. The weather affects the ground and most horses have a preference one way or the other. Every race will have a ground description and today's is 'soft'. Last time he raced it was 'good'. What that means is that today's ground is a bit wetter than last time and there is a bit more give in it. If a horse has been taking a break all summer and reappears for the winter (like this fella) you can usually assume that he likes wetter/softer ground.

However there is also the possibility that he is still learning the game. He's had just one run over obstacles and many trainers are happy to give them plenty of experience before getting serious. After all they've grown up with horses and mind them every day. Although these horses love doing what they're doing, the trainers can tend to be more cautious than the horse itself would care to be. So we may not see the best of him yet.

There is also the possibility that he's not good enough of course. But horses who have won a bumper race generally tend to win a hurdles race somewhere along the way.

While he has his chance, some of the opposition today come from much bigger/more successful stables and will have cost a lot more.

Here's how some of the papers assess his chance today:
    "Irish point winner who showed good attitude to fend off one with more experience in a bumper here on good ground and then beaten 13l into third on switch to hurdling at Worceter (2m4f; good); unless easy ground is the key to him (handled it well in his points) then may have to settle for more place money."

"Irish-point winner who made winning Rules debut in Chepstow bumper in April. Showed aptitude for hurdling (despite sweating up) on return at Worcester (20f) last month, and he's the type to improve."
    (You may be wondering what the "point winner" is about. This indicated that he won a Point-to-Point race before he became a professional racehorse. Point-to-Pointing is an amateur/much smaller scale type of racing, like a nursery for the professional racing. Many jumps horses and even jumps jockeys will start out in Point-to-Pointing.)

It's a guessing game but the speculation is that while he's good there might be better opposition in today's race. He's around 12/1 currently for anyone who likes a flutter.

He runs at 1:45pm and you can listen to the race here (click the play button in the top right).
    You can view the racecard here.
    For the latest odds see here (pink means prices are increasing, blue means shortening).

Best of luck After Hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

So can he win today?

Of course he can win. Will he win? Nobody will know that until the race is over.

(P.S. you haven't provided much information here that would help make a decision regarding his chances)

(P.P.S. you're asking a forum where many have relatively little experience with equines except knowing they have four legs, a tail and some of them run fast)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

sup_dude wrote: »
    Of course he can win. Will he win? Nobody will know that until the race is over.

(P.S. you haven't provided much information here that would help make a decision regarding his chances)

(P.P.S. you're asking a forum where many have relatively little experience with equines except knowing they have four legs, a tail and some of them run fast)

Of course we don't know if he will win. Like any other sporting event, we don't know the result until it is over.

I'm clearly not asking After Hours (the forum) anything. I'm merging the two (horse and forum), providing some information and hopefully somebody who may not have an interest in the sport might learn a thing or two or maybe even gain a bit of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

He's about an 11/1 shot according to the bookmakers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

He's unlikely to get halfway around the course before being derailed.

Haha! That genuinely made me laugh out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Well I'm sticking the kids' college fund on him.

Sod it, I'm sticking a fiver on him to win at 11/1 with a best price guarantee.

Don't fail me now AH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I am going to stick my neck out here and say that he won't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

I'm in for €3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The important thing here is that once the race is over After Hours will think he has won... no matter what the reality is.

Putting a fiver on him too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I thought we were going to buy a horse. :(

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Timeform sez
    Irish-point winner who made winning Rules debut in Chepstow bumper in April. Showed aptitude for hurdling (despite sweating up) on return at Worcester (20f) last month, and he's the type to improve.

Unfortunately you can make a case for about half the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

After Hours?

I'm not raceHORSE-ist but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Pissin like a (after hours) racehorse

Sod it, I'm sticking a fiver on him to win at 11/1 with a best price guarantee.
    Yester wrote: »
    I'm in for €3.
    Menas wrote: »
    Putting a fiver on him too!

What have I done?! :pac:

For the record I'm not putting a penny on him (or anything else in the race).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Breaking New: Horse has been removed from the race for kicking other horses in the face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Wonder how many dole threads it has.

What have I done?! :pac:

For the record I'm not putting a penny on him (or anything else in the race).

Haha. If I go hungry tonight it's all your fault! I'll be in the bookies watching so will give you all a running commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

smash wrote:
    Breaking New: Horse has been removed from the race for kicking other horses in the face!

Horse proceeded to attack officials upon removal from race before being handed a ban from racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Wonder how many dole threads it has.

not enough.

not nearly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

smash wrote: »
    Trent galloped away. 'Kicks in the face are much more effective than shooting them with a gnu', he thought to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

So there's a racehorse with the name After Hours and he's running today (1:45pm Chepstow).

Best of luck After Hours!

Fair play OP for keeping my attention for the length of that post, I thought this was going to be a thread asking if AH were a racehorse... :pac:

Unfortunately for me, sup_dude has it spot on on with this -

sup_dude wrote: »

And sup_dude knows their horse related stuff :D

Education, education, education One Eyed Jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Not without a chance.

The time of the bumper he won was quick enough and the Hurdle he placed in last time out was a Class 4, this is a Class 5, and so should fair somewhat better.

7/2 on Betfair (4.55) to be in the first three seems a decent bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

€10 E/W for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sired by a horse called Glue Factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I hate to piss on everyones parade, but Tapaculo (100/30) will hack up in that race.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've heard the horse may not make the race it's it's still trying to find a link to back up it's claim as being a horse.
    Hooves and using a computer are a nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

If the jockey is a troll, I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The race has been postponed. Apparently someone was messing on the track and it's been closed for review. There's talk that it might be moved to another venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

The market does not have much confidence in him 8/1 -> 10/1 -> 12/1

I hate to piss on everyones parade, but Tapaculo (100/30) will hack up in that race.

That is where my 3euro is going so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

signostic wrote: »
    The market does not have much confidence in him 8/1 -> 10/1 -> 12/1
    And back again,10-9-8s!

Nearly time for his race. Just a reminder that you can listen here: http://news.williamhill.com/radio-fs/ (press play in the top right)

The race is almost 2.5 miles so will take about 5 minutes. They'll all get a position early on in the race and hold it until things begin to start getting serious in the last minute, so don't worry too much if your fancy isn't near the front early on.

After Hours will likely be racing for the next 4/5 years and it's not all about today. So don't make it all about today for you either (€€)!

It's all very exciting. Go on after hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sticky the thread so we can update every time he runs!
    Good luck to all who had a few quid on, I didn't!

No aftertiming please :p

kfallon wrote: »
    Sticky the thread so we can update every time he runs!
    The plan is to update every time he runs with a bit more racing information each time.

Eh..the horse lost. This is not how thing were supposed to be.

Not to be for After Hours today. He ran well for a while but couldn't do enough to trouble the winners. His run today doesn't necessarily equal his ability.

He should be out again in the next few weeks and I'll update if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

No dinner for the kids tonight...thanks for that OP :(

You owe me a fiver!!!!

Thanks for that!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Kerching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i don't bet but if he was the only horse in the race i'd still lose:(

Ah well. I'll just double my bet next time he runs and keep doubling up until he wins. That's how it works right?

Lights On wrote: »
    No dinner for the kids tonight...thanks for that OP :(
    You owe me a fiver!!!!

Runs!
    eamonnq wrote: »
    Thanks for that!! :D

Well done but don't listen to strangers on the internet for money/betting advice(here or anywhere else). The extremely high probability is that you're taking advice from a loser.

Ah well. I'll just double my bet next time he runs and keep doubling up until he wins. That's how it works right?

Its luckier if you fund your bet with money from an unofficial money lender. Guaranteed winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Kerching!

Giz a lend

Menas wrote: »
    Its luckier if you fund your bet with money from an unofficial money lender. Guaranteed winner.

Cheers. I'll see if I can find one online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Cheers. I'll see if I can find one online.

PM me your bank account details, pin code & mothers maiden name and I'll throw a few bob into it for you!