Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardy Bucks - THE TV SERIES

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

"The only drawing you're good at Salmon is drawing the dole"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Paper McShea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

It's a fact , well it's nearly a fact anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

They've been really nailing it this season! Buzz stealing the show again with the courtroom scene. "You writing a book are ya?" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Lights On wrote: »
    They've been really nailing it this season! Buzz stealing the show again with the courtroom scene. "You writing a book are ya?" :pac:

no dont agree here. This episode far surpassed any of its previous ones this season. Too much of that tired ran its course joke with fair city one, not enough Buzz, no interaction with the Viper or group episodes, the new guard is like something out of Killinaskully as well.

they just seemed to be trying to hard in previous episodes not to repeat the same jokes and wanted to change the comedy aspects that are the core of the show and the additions of Eddies girlfriend and the hot red head from Love Hate really deprived us (me!) of proper hardy buck craic..

however tonight was like old school HB and it was great! still life in the boys yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,296 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Great episode.

Great balance of characters, not too much or too little of any of them.

By far the best this season.

Thought Ricky from Babylon 5 was excellent.

Anyone see this guy being interviewed (re IFA payments) on RTE news earlier?!!

has the makings of a great Hardy Buck character! Toastins da, perhaps!

kingpin-400x500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Just watching Episode 3, really funny, especially when Eddie is on the site and his uncle give him a load of cash and he's like I cant take that all while shoving it into his pocket hahaha.

Thought the funniest moment was when Seamus landed up at the site and got out of the car and told one of the lads to turn off the car radio :pac:

Isn't the fella who was calling Eddie soft on the site the same fella from that Bord Bia ad.

No sign of Aloysius yet? him and Salmon are the strongest secondary characters on the show.

Ya that's the guy from the Bord Bia ad, he also played Darragh in Ros na Run.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Aoibheann McCaul being interviewed, I don't know how to link from Twitter
    What's the difference between Fair City and The Hardy Bucks?
    My Parents, Aunties and Uncles, Grandparents, Boyfriend, Boyfriend's Parents....none of them are allowed watch it (The Bucks)

:pac::pac:

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Aoibheann McCaul being interviewed, I don't know how to link from Twitter

:pac::pac:

What's the difference between Fair City and The Hardy Bucks?
    My Parents, Aunties and Uncles, Grandparents, Boyfriend, Boyfriend's Parents....none of them can bring themself to watch it (Fair City....!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Anyone see this guy being interviewed (re IFA payments) on RTE news earlier?!!

has the makings of a great Hardy Buck character! Toastins da, perhaps!

kingpin-400x500.jpg

I wonder does he know he's wearing a weed hat? I bet he thinks it's a nettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Just watching this now. It is funny how? It is to comedy what Jackie Healy-Rae is to politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,118 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,268 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Buzz (paraphrasing): "The granny is gone a year now and I miss her everyday.......but you know work came up in London so what ya meant to do"

Ah yes. I am glad I was wearing my tight belt when he came out with that cracker! I am not sure whether it was the timing, the delivery or the quality of the content which was worse. Would I be correct in believing that the fans of this show would be largely rural?

oh and here is Buzz at his best regarding Ormond!

Is Castletown the real name of the town that they film in? looks like a nice enough town.

oh and here is Buzz at his best regarding Ormond!

What is funny about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,910 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Its Swinford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

funny buzz mentioning brian ormonde this week....

I remember when himself and Brian Kennedy slated hardy bucks a few years ago they got a doing on twitter after.
    Speaking of Brian Kennedy he's on next weeks episode :D

So no one is willing to discuss the comedy merits of this show? Fair enough. Tells me all I need to know really. It won't stand up to any sort of criticism and no one is willing defend it.

I dont think its a really funny show but I really liked episode 3 when they were working on the site and going on about nepotism and cronyism, I just loved that part.

fin12 wrote: »
    I dont think its a really funny show but I really liked episode 3 when they were working on the site and going on about nepotism and cronyism, I just loved that part.

But it is supposed to be a comedy! WTF is funny about this show. Could someone please tell me?

Is it meant to be traditional sit com or obscure Goonish or Pythonesque? Is it modern satire? Where are the parts that we are supposed to laugh or even chuckle? I just don't get it. Someone please, please tell me - how is this funny!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭rtron

I think the comedy stepped up a notch this season, in terms of the story lines its bit like its always sunny...Philadelphia.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It's a mockumentary, previous seasons had a very docu/mocumentary feel about them, this season not as much.

What episodes did you watch?

bajer101 wrote: »
    What is funny about that?

if you enjoy the show you will find it funny. If not, why are you here?! i dont like certain shows so i stay away from discussion threads about them! It makes sense to.

bajer101 wrote: »
    But it is supposed to be a comedy! WTF is funny about this show. Could someone please tell me?

Is it meant to be traditional sit com or obscure Goonish or Pythonesque? Is it modern satire? Where are the parts that we are supposed to laugh or even chuckle? I just don't get it. Someone please, please tell me - how is this funny!!!!

The site scene was funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!