Turkey shoots down Russian fighter plane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Looks like they've upped the ante :

"Russia now plans to implement new measures aimed at strengthening the security of the country’s air base in Syria and in particular to bolster air defense.

Russian missile cruiser Moskva equipped with the Fort air defense system similar to S-300 will be deployed off Latakia province's coast.

"We warn that every target posing a potential threat will be destroyed,” lieutenant general Sergey Rudskoy said during the briefing.

“All military contacts with Turkey will be suspended,” he added."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,818 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Its a minefield..(no pun intended) ..nobody really knows who is an extremist and who is not ..depends on your definition

And people are changing sides ( i mean the big players)

I guess there are no real good guys/bad guys ...except ISIS .(well at least for UK)...sorry

Have to say I am not the greatest fan of Putin but if I were to get behind anyone to get rid of ISIS he be the man

He does possess that streak of ruthlessness that is probably needed to wipe them off the face of the earth, but Russia isn't really known for nation building either, so this mess will still be going on for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

They already did. Warned Russia diplomatically weeks ago and for weeks. One is acting like Russia accidentally flew in for the first time and the Death star de-cloaked and took out an entire Russian fighter wing.

Any link to these warnings please? I still dont see any justification to taking out a Russian jet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Warning them for what. There bombing Isis on the Syrian/Turkish border. Why couldnt they just sort these incursions out politically instead of blowing the jet out of the sky? If anybody is the aggressors here its the Turks. They were the first to draw blood.

Russia caused it's own aircraft to be shot down no one else. All that sabre rattling got them where exactly ? They were warned weeks ago to stop this chose to ignore thinking they can do what they want militarily. That has been proven incorrect, They completely underestimated the Turkish defence systems Radar and interception times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Its a minefield..(no pun intended) ..nobody really knows who is an extremist and who is not ..depends on your definition

And people are changing sides ( i mean the big players)

I guess there are no real good guys/bad guys ...except ISIS .(well at least for UK)...sorry

Have to say I am not the greatest fan of Putin but if I were to get behind anyone to get rid of ISIS he be the man

But I heard today on Matt Cooper that Putin/Russia are not actively targeting ISIS positions. They are going after Syrian Rebel positions to try and win the civil war for Assad. It is estimated that only 1 in every 10 Russian attacks is against ISIS. Putin doesn't seem too concerned with ISIS thus far.

Any link to these warnings please? I still dont see any justification to taking out a Russian jet.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2015/10/turkey-warns-russia-airspace-violation-151005110905695.html

since the 5th of October in conjunction with NATO and diplomatically warning over Airspace violations. But lets pretend not to know about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Gatling wrote: »
    Really come on his topless posing ,bareback riding ,biker gangs ,

He can be cruel and he didn't get rich for no reason .

So his propaganda works on you?

You are damn right he can be cruel, and calculated. He has always been remarked as a cold fish, one who will often say a lot less then what he is thinking and never forgets a slur.

He will make sure to take revenge on Turkey, be it through official lines or just by supplying Assad with even more, and more dangerous weapons.

Turkey will suffer for this, be it tomorrow or 6 months down the line. Putin does not forget or forgive and is about as treacherous/ruthless as they come

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

AH, where everybody is a political/religious/military expert... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Hate to break it to one, But there have always been and always will be Islamic extremism in the area. They were killing each other well before the west got involved and will be well after the west get the hell out.

Ahh there is a lot of bullsh** there.
    Yes there was extremists, but guess what the hard guys like Gaddafi, Mubarak, Assad and Hessein kept them under control.
    They weren't nice and they were fooking awful to their own people.
    But what has their rmeoval shown.
    oh yeah
    1. their people are fooking awful to themsevles and have desended in bickering slaughtering tribal numpties
    2. And the world was actually probably a safer place with these hard men in place.

The thing is the West opened pandora's box and there are no longer the hard men to keep the loonies in check.
    And the Western powers will still pedal it out that they were spreading democracy and if only they had a chance they would spread some more.
    They even claim that when talking about removing Assad.
    And it is plain to see if you remove Assad you will have ISIS and al nusra.

Jaysus fecking hell when are people going to cop on ?
    Jelle1880 wrote: »
    No, I'm just pointing out that while Putin isn't helping out ISIS like the Turks are, the guy he's supporting in this mess is as much of a bastard.

Putin is bastard but Erodgan and the Turks have been up to their necks supporting and protecting ISIS and their nutjobs.
    There was no Isis or Al Quaeda in Iraq pre 2001. That war set the whole region on fire and was the biggest recruiting tool the head choppers and heart eaters could of ever dreamed of.

Exactly.
    Bush and Blair even tried to claim al-qeada got backing from saddam when it was the furthest thing from the truth which was that al-qeada got backing from their own allies the Saudis.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Russia caused it's own aircraft to be shot down no one else. All that sabre rattling got them where exactly ? They were warned weeks ago to stop this chose to ignore thinking they can do what they want militarily. That has been proven incorrect, They completely underestimated the Turkish defence systems Radar and interception times.
    The Americans seem to get away with what they want militarily themselves, there 1000 times worse than the Russians, how many drones are in other countries airspace as we speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

they weren't warned, they hardly even went into turkish airspace at all.

So the Russians went into Turkish airspace and weren't warned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

He does possess that streak of ruthlessness that is probably needed to wipe them off the face of the earth, but Russia isn't really known for nation building either, so this mess will still be going on for a long time.

Russia abjectly failed to defeat the Mujahideen over 10 years in Afghanistan so what makes you think that?

AH, where everybody is a political/religious/military expert... :rolleyes:

Or a hilarious social commentator

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Russia abjectly failed to defeat the Mujahideen over 10 years in Afghanistan so what makes you think that?

That ISIS don't fight like the Mujahideen ?

They see themselves as a proper state with a strict military doctrine etc.
    Sure, they might change tactics when on the backfoot, but they are not similar to the Afghans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The Americans seem to get away with what they want militarily themselves, there 1000 times worse than the Russians, how many drones are in other countries airspace as we speak?

They have roughly 5000 on the books and god only knows how many off the books projects,

How many a firing Hellfire's from Afghanistan to syria and Iraq probably not as many as people think

Yes America can it's the only superpower what's ones point ? I detest this line of America does this so Russia has some kind of automatic right or pointing to the old US of A. I don't like the world police either but at least when they bomb a hospital for example they own up to it and don't deny it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

But I heard today on Matt Cooper that Putin/Russia are not actively targeting ISIS positions. They are going after Syrian Rebel positions to try and win the civil war for Assad. It is estimated that only 1 in every 10 Russian attacks is against ISIS. Putin doesn't seem too concerned with ISIS thus far.

Russia is not trying to hide this, They are openly supporting Assad and are attacking ALL Islamic terrorist groups. There is no mystery or secret to this.

More power to Russia, wipe out all terrorist snack bars and then let the Syrians decide in the next election if they want to keep Assad or not.

All countries should be fighting to rid the planet of the snack bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Putin has said he wants to destroy ISIS and I believe him...also nation building by US/UK/Europe is over estimated ...no real successes there

From a purely selfish reason I want the end of ISIS above all else ....
    If that means Assad stays in power so be it...ISIS are my/our enemy
    I don't think anyone in the region is whiter than white ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Turkmen militia apparently.
    So Turkmen is the buzzword of the day! Yesterday the Turkmen were the inhabitants of a former Soviet Republic in central Asia - today they are an oppressed minority being protected by Turkey from the evil Russians!
    But you lot would believe anything and thats what counts. ;)

Fighting guerilla war where they couldn't use certain weapons and were also fighting the Americans and in particular, John Rambo. ISIS is a different kettle of fish. If there is one leader you would trust to root them out and bury them it is Putin, Obama won't cause of public image.

When you have to get into a guerilla war the indigenous population is always a favourite, when it comes to flattening entire regions the guy with more bombs will normally win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

"We warn that every target posing a potential threat will be destroyed,” lieutenant general Sergey Rudskoy said during the briefing.

Sounds like if a Turkish aircraft comes within range we will blow it outa the sky as a "potential" threat

Russia has a fleet of cloaked starship on standby did one not know this ? They used old inferior aircraft over Turkey to lul them into a false sense of security. If Russia did not want it's planes shot down they could just use the Uri shield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

The Russian pilots getting a "welcome" from the "moderate rebels". Putin should turn that place into glass.
    Religion of peace.

Terrifying.

Isaiah wrote: »
    Russia is not trying to hide this, They are openly supporting Assad and are attacking ALL Islamic terrorist groups. There is no mystery or secret to this.

Assad who is directly supporting Isis ,
    So Russia is also supporting isis ?

Sure, they might change tactics when on the backfoot, but they are not similar to the Afghans.

It is not permitted for the caliphate to use guerilla tactics, it will not be legitimate any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

Gatling wrote: »
    Assad who is directly supporting Isis ,
    So Russia is also supporting isis ?

Assad is not supporting Isis. He is ransoming Syrias oil from them to keep his country going.

Assad is a villian, but better him then the snak bars. Or do you support the Islamic extremists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

And the Mujahideen had the backing of the US

ISIS do not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Looks like they've upped the ante :

"Russia now plans to implement new measures aimed at strengthening the security of the country’s air base in Syria and in particular to bolster air defense.

Russian missile cruiser Moskva equipped with the Fort air defense system similar to S-300 will be deployed off Latakia province's coast.

All the armchair radar analysts and whatabouterists please shut the fcuk up. Now we seem to have the next stage. The first NATO plane shot down by this and....

IS win: international alliance against it fractured.
    Putin win: Turkey isolated from NATO. Bosporous seized from state collapsing into ethnic and religious chaos, Black Sea fleet in Med. Was the Air Force provocation just a means to this?

Isaiah wrote: »
    He is ransoming Syrias oil from them to keep his country going.

Assad is a villian, but better him then the snak bars. Or do you support the Islamic extremists?

So he's directly supporting them by purchasing oil and gas from them ,

That's supporting them no amount of spin can change that