Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Well, I wasn't sure myself about that actually and so that's why I didn't refer to him as such. However, at 3m15s (right after he appears to step up from dealing with the man that was being arrested on the ground) he can be seemingly be seen having a go at those recording, and also, if he wasn't a Garda, surely he would have been arrested himself for daring to interfere and push the Garda away. Not saying he is or isn't, but a lot points to him being one than doesn't.

I didn't think I needed to. As quite clearly, his right hand is constantly in the air while he is behind the Garda.

I know that guy personally he is one of the protestors, not going to name him her but he is not a guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

In all fairness if you extend one index finger and push a Garda on the shoulder with it
    you will be don't for assault.
    But a garda can swing a bat to the back of an old mans head and all is fine in the world.

Correct. And based on this logic, I personally have made a decision not to go around extending my index fingers upon the shoulders of the Gardaí. It has yet to fail me as I have yet to have a bat swung at the back of my head by a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Bambi wrote: »
    I'll tell ye now anyone who thinks that lad was landing a precision blow has never fought with a stick :D

I'll bet it contravened his own ASP training too

Spine, neck and head are to be avoided. Arms and legs are the target. Of course, the rules of self defence always apply so if it was a dangerous enough situation you'd still be legally covered no matter where you hit.
    pablo128 wrote: »
    You probably won't get an answer from that poster. I've asked him why the garda in the video didn't have a crack at the large gentleman shoving him back, just after he lays into the older guy. I'm still waiting on an answer days later.

I didn't see your post. No need to take it personally. I can only guess at which guy you are referring to but I'd imagine it was because there wasn't room to get a proper strike because after he hit the older man there was a push. Personally I think he was stupid to whip out the baton in such a situation because it worked up the crowd and it was very confined but otherwise I have no issue with what he did and if the older fella was wearing a tracksuit and hoodie most people would probably be saying the same thing.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Which is why I said that Gardai are not adequately trained rather than saying not trained at all.

But that is not correct either. The training hasn't changed and change in policy is always communicated to members as it happens.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    You might be able to tell us about the training in the use of a baton- are Gardai trained to draw and strike without warning or is best practice to draw it, warn the person and then react only if completely necessary? In the video the Garda just whips it out with no warning at all. As batons can be lethal weapons i would have thought that a warning before actually using it would be appropriate- anytime I've seen them used in crowd control situations in the UK the police have them drawn ready for use rather than just drawing them and going battering in. I'm doubting that Gardai are trained the way the Garda in the video used it which perhaps suggests that he is one of the 6,000 odd Gardai who need a refresher course in how to use their baton.

It's all situational and depends on the Gardas assessment of what's happening. I wouldn't have drawn it because of what I mentioned above but I wasn't there. I can't see what was happening outside of the cameras eye and I don't know all of what was said or done leading up to the incident because it's been edited. Your comparing apples with oranges. This was more like a melee that a crowd control situation so the same procedure can't be followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

A strike on the shoulder in a crowded room under pressure, on the correct target, well done Garda. Hope the ombudsman have the balls to call it how it is and not drag him through the mud! Scumbags need someone to stand up to them not for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

jimboblep wrote: »
    I know that guy personally he is one of the protestors, not going to name him her but he is not a guard

No bother, as I said though, it begs the question as to why he himself wasn't arrested for assaulting a Garda and interfering with them going about their duties then. The Garda's expression when tackled was not one you might expect a member of a Police force to have if and when another member of the public jumps in front of them and stops them from using their baton. It was the expression of someone who knows that what they were doing was wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 266 ✭✭Clive Bisquette

Spine, neck and head are to be avoided. Arms and legs are the target. Of course, the rules of self defence always apply so if it was a dangerous enough situation you'd still be legally covered no matter where you hit.

I didn't see your post. No need to take it personally. I can only guess at which guy you are referring to but I'd imagine it was because there wasn't room to get a proper strike because after he hit the older man there was a push. Personally I think he was stupid to whip out the baton in such a situation because it worked up the crowd and it was very confined but otherwise I have no issue with what he did and if the older fella was wearing a tracksuit and hoodie most people would probably be saying the same thing.

But that is not correct either. The training hasn't changed and change in policy is always communicated to members as it happens.

It's all situational and depends on the Gardas assessment of what's happening. I wouldn't have drawn it because of what I mentioned above but I wasn't there. I can't see what was happening outside of the cameras eye and I don't know all of what was said or done leading up to the incident because it's been edited. Your comparing apples with oranges. This was more like a melee that a crowd control situation so the same procedure can't be followed.

Excellent post Cu....you are right on the money...spliff smokers, dozy liberals and dole heads who post here probably will not agree !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭kurtainsider

Bumping an old thread here:

What was the outcome of the GSOC investigation into this incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Thanks for bumping, got a good laugh from watching that gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Couldn't find anything mentioning an outcome, which to me means one of two things. 1: No proceedings were brought against the Garda, or 2: It's still under investigation (GSOC not known for their timely files...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

As of the date of publication of their Annual Report (18/7/16) it was still under investigation.

Probably waiting the outcome of the public disorder prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

would restraining the person not be the most humane first option as opposed to whacking someone with a baton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

222233 wrote: »
    would restraining the person not be the most humane first option as opposed to whacking someone with a baton

Lol try poking police in the ribs abroad n see what happens:

222233 wrote: »

If you weren't surrounded it would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Laika123

Only saw that video now for first time, there's no way a smack like that was justified, no garda were being assaulted or anything like it, the protesters were protesting an auction where NAMA were going to sell off peoples homes, because the banks repossessed them, because the country went to sh1te because of the banks and people lost their jobs.

And people justifying a copper smacking an elderly man across the head with that force, arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Laika123 wrote: »

And people justifying a copper smacking an elderly man across the head with that force, arseholes.

Except where the man wasn't hit in the head

Gatling wrote: »

Where was he hit?, and how do you know he wasn't?

Gorey :D

Jawgap wrote: »
    Gorey :D

Haha ye sap, I mean what part of the body.

Not the head that's for sure - a belt like that would've killed him. Guards usually go for the legs or arse.

Of course the easiest ways to avoid getting a clip are to allow people go about their lawful business, and/or do what a Guard tells you instead of crowding him ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Gatling wrote: »

So what, neck, shoulder, arm.. I couldn't give a rats arse, that was a scum thing to do to an unarmed man.

I can only hope karma comes visiting that fat fook.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not the head that's for sure - a belt like that would've killed him. Guards usually go for the legs or arse.

Of course the easiest ways to avoid getting a clip are to allow people go about their lawful business, and/or do what a Guard tells you instead of crowding him ;)

Well nobody can tell exactly where he was hit, the video is 25fps, and going frame by frame it doesn't where he was or wasn't struck, the best I can make out it was just below the ear, top of neck.

And lawful isn't always right.

Well nobody can tell exactly where he was hit, the video is 25fps, and going frame by frame it doesn't where he was or wasn't struck, the best I can make out it was just below the ear, top of neck.

And lawful isn't always right.

If he got a belt in the head he'd have been hospitalised if not dead. Plus, if the Guards wanted to or intended to get physical they'd have gone in heavy in full public order gear. As far as I can see the Guard found himself surrounded in a confined space by a pressing crowd - you get a warning to get back, and if you don't, it can't come as a surprise when you get clipped.

They were on private property, disrupting the hotel and the staff trying to earn an honest day's wage - hotel work isn't the best paid so you don't need to be dealing with that sh1te.

No reason why they couldn't have made their protest from the public road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

So what, neck, shoulder, arm.. I couldn't give a rats arse, that was a scum thing to do to an unarmed man.

Technically you're right. Absolutely a scumbag.
    But it's good the guy was hit. A real pity he wasn't seriously injured. He needs to be injured and to die in pain. As do a whole bunch of the others there.

Bit extreme. It was a shoulder strike. The garda was surrounded by a mob and needed to create space. Never pushed back a crowd of people in your career?

Ted111 wrote: »
    Technically you're right. Absolutely a scumbag.
    But it's good the guy was hit. A real pity he wasn't seriously injured. He needs to be injured and to die in pain. As do a whole bunch of the others there.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Not worth getting banned over some hardman idiot.

Bit extreme. It was a shoulder strike. The garda was surrounded by a mob and needed to create space. Never pushed back a crowd of people in your career?

He said he didn't care, neck, shoulder, arm, it was a scummy thing to do.

Surrounded by a mob?, are you for real, do you really think he thought he was in danger, he was inches away from cracking an old age pensioners skull because of people talking loud at worse.

That's not pushing back a crowd.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Not worth getting banned over some hardman idiot.

roll eyes always has been the way to spot a twat.

I was speaking in the abstact - it is good he was hurt. I didn't say I would hurt him. Read again slowly a few times. I'm not a hard man. I'm a five year old girl.

Ted111 wrote: »
    roll eyes always has been the way to spot a twat.

I was speaking in the abstact - it is good he was hurt. I didn't say I would hurt him. Read again slowly a few times. I'm not a hard man. I'm a five year old girl.

No your a coward and a fool.

All you have is roll eyes and ad hominem.

Like your laughable fifty posts in the 'gaeltacht man leaves job' thread' talking about linguistics from what you just read on wikipedia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

If you weren't surrounded it would be.

Didn't look like any of those people were trying to attack the garda, looked like one guy was helping restrain the guy who got hit.