Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

whelan2 wrote: »
    what is milk fill unit on silage results? mine is 1,24/kg dm, desirable range 0.95-1.05?

In the French feed system voluntary intake is calculated in terms of grass which is 1, meal is about 0.5, on a silage only diet your cows would eat 24% less DM then on grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

just scraped 2 passageways with hand scraper, valve gone on unit and we wont have new one until monday. Switch went on compressor for feeders in parlour this morning and eldest lad fell in the crap in the yard, so all in all a great morning, off to football soon

I never got near the friggin football. Litany of sh1t like that all day long. Topped off by a lazy bitch of a heifer who spent the whole day not having a bb bull calf which had to be dragged out of her dead before we went home this evening. I'd say most of ye know the type. Tried to claim she couldn't get up then. Boot to ass time then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,751 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I never got near the friggin football. Litany of sh1t like that all day long. Topped off by a lazy bitch of a heifer who spent the whole day not having a bb bull calf which had to be dragged out of her dead before we went home this evening. I'd say most of ye know the type. Tried to claim she couldn't get up then. Boot to ass time then.
    to top it off pb aa cow that got tetany died, anyway liverpool bet man city , going out to check cows and will have a few cans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

to top it off pb aa cow that got tetany died, anyway liverpool bet man city , going out to check cows and will have a few cans
    AHHHHH, GAWDDAMMIT, I WAS AVOIDING THE RESULTS UNTIL I COULD SEE THE MATCH LATER:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

IT WAS WORKING SOOOO WELL, NOBODY PUTS THE RESULTS IN THE FARMING THREADS:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

A win you say?:D

Cheers;)

AHHHHH, GAWDDAMMIT, I WAS AVOIDING THE RESULTS UNTIL I COULD SEE THE MATCH LATER:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

IT WAS WORKING SOOOO WELL, NOBODY PUTS THE RESULTS IN THE FARMING THREADS:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

A win you say?:D

Cheers;)
    ah it will put you in a good mood, great game

A thing of beauty is a joy forever.

Klopptastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Klopptastic!

i guess your daffy duck supporters aint that great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »
    While most lads I know who cut towards end of may have only had Dmds in the low 70s or even 60s, The neighbour who cuts light leafy cuts with the wagon early may and 6wks later 2nd cut was telling me his results, 1st cut 83dmd, 26% DM, 16% protein!! 2nd cut 82dmd, 40dm, 13% p. Serious food for thought.

the argument older generation uses here is that it costs twice as much to get the same volume of silage into the pit. two cuts, two spreads of fert. silage of dmd at 70 would be considered wonderful stuff. another reason to give up winter milk!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Klopptastic!

My lads lost 3-0 pares out oh wait!!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    My lads lost 3-0 pares out oh wait!!
    Do you feel that perch shaking yet;)

Did ya see who's top of the table, puts all the top spending teams in their place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Quality of league is poor also injuries to big teams, no excuse for our lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Did ya see who's top of the table, puts all the top spending teams in their place

Touch of the jersey cross about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Thinking of going to national dairy conference until I saw sean gallagher on the ticket or will I be surprised with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

keep going wrote: »
    Thinking of going to national dairy conference until I saw sean gallagher on the ticket or will I be surprised with him

Wha? Didn't spot that. What's his latest incarnation?

I'm thinking of not going but going to meet a few lads that are staying overnight. A few light ales and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Wha? Didn't spot that. What's his latest incarnation?

I'm thinking of not going but going to meet a few lads that are staying overnight. A few light ales and all that

I did a bit a networking last night

Jonny cash this morning and cubicles don't go well

stanflt wrote: »

"Networking" is that what they call getting locked up your way?

I should've done that last night. Day off today and bored to death, still went to yard and then herding :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Yeah
    Went for a quiet one and it got messy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Lads to any of ye have a generator with its own engine, large enough for parlour house the lot. Have ye any issues with them or indeed tractor driven ones? Will go pricing up both tractor driven amd engine ones but if power is out for day and night or longer the dwelling house needs power over night. Also our tractor has a habit of jumping 100 or 2 revs occasionally and don't want to blow anything so part of the reason id consider a standalone one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

stanflt wrote: »

There is no situation or circumstance in this world which can't be improved by a bit of Johnny Cash.

I should've done that last night. Day off today and bored to death, still went to yard and then herding :)
    What you need is a hobby, frazz.

How would you feel about a few ewes......

Do ewe know were he could source some?

I might have a few contacts I could do a small bit of arm twisting on;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Milked out wrote: »
    Lads to any of ye have a generator with its own engine, large enough for parlour house the lot. Have ye any issues with them or indeed tractor driven ones? Will go pricing up both tractor driven amd engine ones but if power is out for day and night or longer the dwelling house needs power over night. Also our tractor has a habit of jumping 100 or 2 revs occasionally and don't want to blow anything so part of the reason id consider a standalone one

Place I'm doing placement has a pto one, seems to be a good job. Place I was working in New Zealand had a stand alone one, aye grand but a lot more to go wrong kind of thing, but if your handy with mechanics of any description you would be fine, personally I'd go tractor as its handier to get the lend of one if needs be.

What's worse I was there at 6 am :)

My hobby is an U10 rugby team 2 training sessions and a match every week.

I've seen a good few good games and have been lucky enough to have travelled to 4 world cups and the match they played yesterday am would rate in the top 5 I've ever seen. Very proud when kids give it all and show their competitive character.

I got the Irish Dairy Farmer winter issue today.

They have an interesting comparison of 5 different parlours and how they operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I got the Irish Dairy Farmer winter issue today.

They have an interesting comparison of 5 different parlours and how they operate.

Well I haven't got it, so u can't just throw up a post like that and stop there, elaborate!!

Only just got a chance to look just now.

I'll start to read it now and fall asleep. They had a rotary, an 8 unit double up, a 16 unit with and without acrs and a 26 unit herring bone. They're rated on comfort speed walking and lots of stuff. They also critique their yards for access and stuff.

I'll read it over the next few days as it seems most of the elderly distant relatives I have left seem to be passing on at a frightening rate.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/only-22-and-plans-to-be-milk-275-cows-in-co-galway/

Great to see a young lad getting off his ass and going for it. No future in farming, his like is the future

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Got qouted 5500 plus vat for automatic scraper foe a single 3 bay shed, madness to get it?