Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Not till the new yr, March maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

any idea how much each farmer is to be paid

1400 maybe? Or that could be the average payment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Just finished herd test, reading on Thursday so not looking forward to that.

Every thing went wrong. A lad that was due to help never turned up, Dept man late, cow slipped in cubicles and is still down, pi**ed rain all day, one scraper not working and ran out of insulin for the first time in 23 years.

Milk now and feed then and maybe get a few minutes of the match before falling asleep on the couch.

What's not to like about this job?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Timmaay wrote: »
    1400 maybe? Or that could be the average payment?
    Was it not 700 per farmer from eu, don't think the government is gona double it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I used to do some weights during the winter, always helped for the springtime. Excess weight around the belly causes a lot of back problems. See a lot of dairy men getting bigger, quads, farm labourers etc. Not a healthy existence in tractors all day for contractors either..
    Started doing the same myself this winter. Gym 3 nights a week and play Astro turf one night aswell. Feck all else to be doing on the long evenings this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Got the all clear for tb here thankfully.

Vet telling us to deal with our deer problem asap
    Says we have alot more lumps than usual amd that can only be a bad thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Just finished herd test, reading on Thursday so not looking forward to that.

Every thing went wrong. A lad that was due to help never turned up, Dept man late, cow slipped in cubicles and is still down, pi**ed rain all day, one scraper not working and ran out of insulin for the first time in 23 years.

Milk now and feed then and maybe get a few minutes of the match before falling asleep on the couch.

What's not to like about this job?:)

Was it dept test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Got the all clear for tb here thankfully.

Vet telling us to deal with our deer problem asap
    Says we have alot more lumps than usual amd that can only be a bad thing

How protected are deer? A domesticated herd gone wild around here. Though I haven't seen them on our ground I'd be fairly certain they're in and out. Starting to become a concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

how do you deal with a deer problem

saw a grey squirrel today havent seen one in years wonder is there many around

Was it dept test?
    Yeah. All day loooooonnnnnnng:(

He made our regular vet look like he didn't give a damn when testing. Every animal clipped regulation distance apart and every injection site felt to make sure the injection was there.

There are a good few going clear here now so hopefully I can join them in 2 months:confused:

How protected are deer? A domesticated herd gone wild around here. Though I haven't seen them on our ground I'd be fairly certain they're in and out. Starting to become a concern.

Already a huge huge concern and decimated whole parishes here in Wicklow. Our only saving grace is we are right beside the sea, and very few forests/hills etc around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,751 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Already a huge huge concern and decimated whole parishes here in Wicklow. Our only saving grace is we are right beside the sea, and very few forests/hills etc around.
    have them here and on outfarm, have been on to park and wildlife crowd but they have to be seen to be doing damage to get a licence to get rid of them.

I'm not sure tbh. But we got a licence last yr for them but never got them.
    Our vet reckons our cows have been exposed to some form of tb.
    Was a baby stag in with the cows one evening last April around dusk.
    Was seeing 3 sets of tracks on the cow roads all last winter. And I'm already seeing a track of a very young deer going around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Would be of a big build and carrying too much weight, retired prop forward with same diet :(

Sounds like a bad dating add in the back of the journal

"Seeks woman with land who can cook, clean and milk cows"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Damo810 wrote: »
    Sounds like a bad dating add in the back of the journal

"Seeks woman with land who can cook, clean and milk cows"

Carry buckets

Heap of us started dance classes recently to learn how to jive etc.
    At first we only did it to pull ;)
    Be god you'd soon see how fit ye are after an hr of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

I'm not sure tbh. But we got a licence last yr for them but never got them.
    Our vet reckons our cows have been exposed to some form of tb.
    Was a baby stag in with the cows one evening last April around dusk.
    Was seeing 3 sets of tracks on the cow roads all last winter. And I'm already seeing a track of a very young deer going around here

were abouts are you

Wexford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Haven't had any rain for weeks, but some drizzle today...

This is for silage next spring and with the mild weather so far, I'm thinking on giving this a graze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Dawggone wrote: »
    Haven't had any rain for weeks, but some drizzle today...

This is for silage next spring and with the mild weather so far, I'm thinking on giving this a graze.

Looks super stuff dawg, if you can afford the chance of silage being cut later next spring if temps drop over wintet grazing would be a good option. How low would average temps be for dec and jan there?

Milked out wrote: »
    Looks super stuff dawg, if you can afford the chance of silage being cut later next spring if temps drop over wintet grazing would be a good option. How low would average temps be for dec and jan there?

That, if it isn't grazed, would be ready for pit by Valentine's Day.
    Temps vary from winter to winter. Last year was very mild with cows on grass 'till new year...

Dawggone wrote: »
    That, if it isn't grazed, would be ready for pit by Valentine's Day.
    Temps vary from winter to winter. Last year was very mild with cows on grass 'till new year...

Off skiing 2nd of Jan to the Alps so it better be nice and cold haha!

Always cold enough in the Alps Tim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

What part u headed for Tim? Didn't go last yr so u have serious withdrawal symptoms now!

Chamonix. I'd happily sacrifice any summer holidays if needs be to go skiing every year if possible! Got use of bargain hunting by now, aim to keep it to 800quid all in for likes of 6.5/7 full days on the slopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Yeah. All day loooooonnnnnnng:(

He made our regular vet look like he didn't give a damn when testing. Every animal clipped regulation distance apart and every injection site felt to make sure the injection was there.

There are a good few going clear here now so hopefully I can join them in 2 months:confused:

Was it DH doing the testing?? When he tested us a month ago...He started at 7am and we were just finished for evening milking the following day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Was it DH doing the testing?? When he tested us a month ago...He started at 7am and we were just finished for evening milking the following day

How many thousand cattle did u test in that much time!

Yeah, that was the man.

Tbf, we found him alright but, as a Dept test, I suppose it has to be precise but it's a long slow day.

At the end of the day, a clear test will have been worth the two days of tearing out the little hair I have left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Yeah, that was the man.

Tbf, we found him alright but, as a Dept test, I suppose it has to be precise but it's a long slow day.

At the end of the day, a clear test will have been worth the two days of tearing out the little hair I have left.

A long slow day it is... But to be fair he is a very very sound man.... And he don't be in any rush!!!! And he does be precise and double checks everything.... But we went clear so all good....