Anonymous deserves an incredible amount of appreciation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Sonics2k wrote: »
    That wasn't Anonymous.

I also think there's a lot of misunderstanding about who and what Anonymous is.

It's not some massive group of aligned people working together, rather it's a grouping of various groups and even singular people who work together to take down or release information on a variety of dangerous groups and exposing corruption.

Release information on groups THEY consider dangerous or entities THEY deem corrupt.

Not the same thing by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Isis or anonymous?

Anon. Isis hasn't affected me one bit.

Anon on the other hand… cancel credit cards, change passwords, and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Canadel wrote: »
    Somebody should reveal the identities of the members of Anonymous.

I have it on good authority that the black bloke from The Chase is one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

vicwatson wrote: »
    Didn't these dudes threaten Irish water and feck all happened - all talk no action

No, that was just some anti-water muppet who put a new voiceover on one of their old videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

mad muffin wrote: »
    Anon. Isis hasn't affected me one bit.

Anon on the other hand… cancel credit cards, change passwords, and so on.

How would they cause you to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Release information on groups THEY consider dangerous or entities THEY deem corrupt.

Not the same thing by a long shot.
    Still though, when they tackle malignant organisations that harm people, I ain't complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

If they ever bring down PSN on Christmas day again,war will be declared in my house.

I had two fairly pissed off young lads last year.
    That wasnt annoymous.....a group called the lizard squad done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Is it not better that these terrorist folks can be monitored, albeit while spreading their hateful message?

Monitoring hasn't done much, considering the Paris ring leaders travelled around with not a care or worry in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

PucaMama wrote: »
    How would they cause you to do that?

How?! YOU ASK HOW?! HOW?!?!?! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

If they ever bring down PSN on Christmas day again,war will be declared in my house.

I had two fairly pissed off young lads last year.

Those DRM worshippers at Sony deserve to be brought down :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

As some of you are aware, the hacking group known as Anonymous recently declared war on Daesh. Many people mocked them for this, but since then they have uncovered Daesh planned to launch attacks on many places worldwide tomorrow (Sunday 23rd), have taken down the main internet forum used by the terrorists, and have identified thousands of Twitter account and relevant sympathisers, forcing Daesh to release information on how to protect themselves online.

They are launching the attacks 24 hours a day without fail and are in the process of crippling the group's online activities, which they relied on fairly heavily.

One set of wannabe terrorists versus another ?

I won't be patting them on the back just yet.

La Fenetre wrote: »

Anonymous don't go around killing people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Monitoring hasn't done much, considering the Paris ring leaders travelled around with not a care or worry in the world.

We don't know how many potential ISIS attacks have been prevented by the proper authorities. Or how much damage might be done to intelligence gathering if Anon start disrupting communication channels.

Anonymous should butt out of this and leave it to the grownups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

Is this a joke? "Anonymous" lol, bunch of clowns, "we took down some twitters".

Phoebas wrote: »
    We don't know how many potential ISIS attacks have been prevented by the proper authorities. Or how much damage might be done to intelligence gathering if Anon start disrupting communication channels.

Anonymous should butt out of this and leave it to the grownups.

The grownups were caught snoozing though. Most of them have a good well paid job but they are a mollified, lazy ould bunch, constantly campaigning for more rights to spy on the likes of us so they can all sit behind their desks and have the craic and talk about how they're going to spend their next payrise on a new Volkswagen or a Mondeo. None of these shaggers want to go out in the field anymore to try and find real ISIS cells at all whereas anonymous don't get paid for it and are just doing it out of principle or 'for teh lulz' as they'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

La Fenetre wrote: »

Ah here, Anonymous are not even remotely comparable to Isis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Azalea wrote: »
    Ah here, Anonymous are not even remotely comparable to Isis.

True, the production qualities of their videos is miles behind that of ISIS.

Custardpi wrote: »
    True, the production qualities of their videos is miles behind that of ISIS.

Not too good at the ould yodeling either

Is this a joke? "Anonymous" lol, bunch of clowns, "we took down some twitters".

You don't really get it, do you?

It's not just taking down the twitter accounts. It's the fact that it is disrupting what Daesh use to communicate with the world the most. You can be guaranteed that some of them didn't protect their activity fully. If even 10% of the 5,000+ accounts they've discovered didn't do this, then that's 500+ sympathizers are now known by the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Anonymous’ #OpParis campaign against ISIS goes horribly awry

Anon mass-reporting of Twitter accounts submits thousands with no ISIS connection.

A group associated with the Anonymous hacktivist movement launched what they claimed was a "total war" against the Islamic State (also known as ISIS or Daesh), encouraging people to join in an effort allegedly targeting social media accounts associated with the terror organization in response to the attacks in Paris a week ago. Multiple "ops" have been launched in an attempt to crowdsource efforts to disrupt ISIS social media and even hack its members. But there has also been a rash of accusations between those associated with different operations, and it's not clear that any of them are achieving anything other than drawing attention to Anonymous again.

Click here for the full article

Looks like while they have gotten some of the right people, they have also targeted innocent people as well. Seems to be that the less technically able Anons are just generating a lot of noise and getting things wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

They'll just get smarter and will become harder to find and detect in future, or they'll stop using the web to plan attacks!

Sometimes it's best to keep quiet on stuff. Bringing to their attention that ISIS could be more private with the "where do we bomb next" stuff doesn't seem long term thinking.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I'm not sure Anonymous can make a dent when people decide to support and/or join ISIS. I read an article yesterday here where a Jihadist done a social media Q&A to explain why he joined IS. I know they've taken down the main messaging forum used by IS (read here) but it just means they'll be harder to track as a result.

When
    Explaining why he decided to join Isis, he said: "Everybody is against war until you see your own people getting slaughtered like cattle.

It's now attack after attack and will be for the foreseeable future. When this is the mindset of someone in IS, then no amount of work by Anonymous will make a dent in this battle and finding out the necessary info required to get the edge on this battle is now becoming more difficult.
    You don't tell someone you've broken their ciphers unless you have to! Taking down a known messaging site that could've been accessed for vital info could prove to have been more damaging than leaving it active.

Time will tell,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I know they've taken down the main messaging forum used by IS (read here) but it just means they'll be harder to track as a result.

This!

If they were able to access the server that the forum was hosted on, then surely mirroring it and giving database access to the authorities was the thing to do. Silently monitoring IP addresses, pms and posts would get them a lot further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

smash wrote: »
    This!

If they were able to access the server that the forum was hosted on, then surely mirroring it and giving database access to the authorities was the thing to do. Silently monitoring IP addresses, pms and posts would get them a lot further.
    And you can be sure that the intelligence services were doing just that.

These kids playing the hero are more than likely causing more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The image portrayed in the media and in television/film is of these hackers being good looking and ethical sorts who just happen to be extremely gifted at IT security.

The reality is much more likely to be a friendless and hugely overweight young man with terrible skin, BO and a penchant for wearing death metal t-shirts. Huddled over his laptop, windows closed, as he acts out his terrible anger and frustration at the world by running software that someone else wrote.

Sounds like most of the IT support people in our company now that I think of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The image portrayed in the media and in television/film is of these hackers being good looking and ethical sorts who just happen to be extremely gifted at IT security.

The reality is much more likely to be a friendless and hugely overweight young man with terrible skin, BO and a penchant for wearing death metal t-shirts. Huddled over his laptop, windows closed, as he acts out his terrible anger and frustration at the world by running software that someone else wrote.

Sounds like most of the IT support people in our company now that I think of it!

You know what they look like how...unless you are one yoursel :confused: :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 FarmersMarket

Long cat is long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

You don't really get it, do you?

It's not just taking down the twitter accounts. It's the fact that it is disrupting what Daesh use to communicate with the world the most. You can be guaranteed that some of them didn't protect their activity fully. If even 10% of the 5,000+ accounts they've discovered didn't do this, then that's 500+ sympathizers are now known by the authorities.

They're already known by the authorities. Every global intelligence agency you can think of is already monitoring IS social media chatter like a hawk and making movements, POAs, raids, arrests and deployments accordingly. They're employing high tech companies to help them with it (I know because I work for one of them.)

Right now, the upside of IS' social media campaign is that these arseholes are astonishingly visible right across Twitter, Telegram and FB. There's realms of chatter on an hourly, minutely basis. Whispers and threats of attacks and key target areas and everything from Arabic ranting about infidels to suicide bombing plans to 'off to Syria tomoz so excited lolz' to Jihadi-bride wannabes exchanging pathetic flirtations with hard-core militants to rumours of hostage-takings to promos for their latest gruesome video du jour.

I like Anon's sentiment and as usual their balls-to-the-wall approach, but the great danger here is that IS' comms will be forced underground, beyond the trained eyes of the CIA and the FBI and MI5 and companies like mine that are using specific intelligence and technologies to hack what's already there to see - and that means losing track of movements, the growing network of sympathizers and leaving more attacks to go unthwarted.