Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anonymous deserves an incredible amount of appreciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I'll drink to that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

And the weather op?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Somebody should reveal the identities of the members of Anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Is it not better that these terrorist folks can be monitored, albeit while spreading their hateful message?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

If they ever bring down PSN on Christmas day again,war will be declared in my house.

I had two fairly pissed off young lads last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Canadel wrote: »
    but...wouldn't that make them...er...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

8 minutes after you posted and your link says not creditable. The trouble with vigilantes in all their forms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I thought I read earlier that the official anonymous Twitter account has denied this and said they know nothing about any planned attacks?

Either way, maybe the intelligence agencies allow the message boards to stay up because they are monitoring them. Im pretty sure that various governments have the capability to take down these sites if they wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

As some of you are aware, the hacking group known as Anonymous recently declared war on Daesh. Many people mocked them for this, but since then they have uncovered Daesh planned to launch attacks on many places worldwide tomorrow (Sunday 23rd), have taken down the main internet forum used by the terrorists, and have identified thousands of Twitter account and relevant sympathisers, forcing Daesh to release information on how to protect themselves online.

They are launching the attacks 24 hours a day without fail and are in the process of crippling the group's online activities, which they relied on fairly heavily.
    Already discounted and withdrawn it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I know they are a bunch of keyboard jockeys but at least they are trying to do something to hinder ISIS.
    The geopolitics of that area is an absolute mess which is hindering the efforts to stop ISIS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Is it not better that these terrorist folks can be monitored, albeit while spreading their hateful message?

Better that they be put down like rabid dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I'm curious about Anonymous. Given what we know about the capacity of the NSA do Anon bring any extra capacity to the table? If you have a govt agency capable of corrupting update channels to install their own versions of software the scratching around of anonymous isn't going to do much. As for anonymity I thought the Israelis got p*ssed off with some of them and hacked their webcams and posted their photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭weisses

Menas wrote: »
    I know they are a bunch of keyboard jockeys but at least they are trying to do something to hinder ISIS.
    The geopolitics of that area is an absolute mess which is hindering the efforts to stop ISIS.

Future wars will be done/decided via keyboards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Great use of the word Daesh OP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Anonymous aren't some wondrous group , Anonymous are a bunch of assholes. They see themselves as some high and mighty moral do-gooders exposing people left, right and centre to suit their own agenda but it's self serving bull****.

The fact they are tackling IS is just 2 assholes fighting each other albeit IS are the much bigger asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

arayess wrote: »
    Anonymous aren't some wondrous group , Anonymous are a bunch of assholes. They see themselves as some high and mighty moral do-gooders exposing people left, right and centre to suit their own agenda but it's self serving bull****.

The fact they are tackling IS is just 2 assholes fighting each other albeit IS are the much bigger asshole.

What is their agenda?

Hacktivists > Slacktivists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

If they ever bring down PSN on Christmas day again,war will be declared in my house.

That was Lizard Squad, Anonymous are not that petty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

What is their agenda?

to do what ever suits themselves. fighting IS is worthy but a lot of the other stuff isn't
    They have set themselves up as a moral guardian that nobody asked for.

Have a read here - plenty incidents of them interfering with local issues they know nothing about. Some worthy some less so.

For example interfering in Ferguson after the shooting of Michael Brown despite most evidence pointing at the cops being justified in that issue.
    But either way it was a very grey area yet they decided to take a side.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_events_associated_with_Anonymous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I'd be very skeptical about any Anonymous efforts to "expose" ISIS given their recent cock-up with the KKK where they named a lot of completely innocent people & had to amend the original list. Given understandably high emotions over Paris the consequences of some law abiding, harmless Muslim being wrongly listed as ISIS recruiter or bomb maker could be pretty serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

And the weather op?

Whats the point of coming in and posting this? Fcuking annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Isis are dealing with a lot more than 72 virgins now lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Didn't these dudes threaten Irish water and feck all happened - all talk no action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

They're just a bunch of muppets causing people grief with their hacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

I know nothing may come of it, but I'm sure there are some people within the group who really do want to help things and who actually have the means/ability to cause some hassle to IS, even if it is in a minor way. Any inconvenience for them is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

That wasn't Anonymous.

I also think there's a lot of misunderstanding about who and what Anonymous is.

It's not some massive group of aligned people working together, rather it's a grouping of various groups and even singular people who work together to take down or release information on a variety of dangerous groups and exposing corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Fair play to Jason Byrne.

mad muffin wrote: »
    They're just a bunch of muppets causing people grief with their hacking.

Isis or anonymous?

Fair play to Jason Byrne.

Why? Has he retired or something?

Sonics2k wrote: »
    That wasn't Anonymous.

I also think there's a lot of misunderstanding about who and what Anonymous is.

It's not some massive group of aligned people working together, rather it's a grouping of various groups and even singular people who work together to take down or release information on a variety of dangerous groups and exposing corruption.

Release information on groups THEY consider dangerous or entities THEY deem corrupt.

Not the same thing by a long shot.

Isis or anonymous?

Anon. Isis hasn't affected me one bit.

Anon on the other hand… cancel credit cards, change passwords, and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Canadel wrote: »

I have it on good authority that the black bloke from The Chase is one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

vicwatson wrote: »
    Didn't these dudes threaten Irish water and feck all happened - all talk no action

No, that was just some anti-water muppet who put a new voiceover on one of their old videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

mad muffin wrote: »
    Anon. Isis hasn't affected me one bit.

Anon on the other hand… cancel credit cards, change passwords, and so on.

How would they cause you to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Release information on groups THEY consider dangerous or entities THEY deem corrupt.

Not the same thing by a long shot.
    Still though, when they tackle malignant organisations that harm people, I ain't complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

That wasnt annoymous.....a group called the lizard squad done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Monitoring hasn't done much, considering the Paris ring leaders travelled around with not a care or worry in the world.

PucaMama wrote: »
    How would they cause you to do that?

How?! YOU ASK HOW?! HOW?!?!?! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Those DRM worshippers at Sony deserve to be brought down :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

As some of you are aware, the hacking group known as Anonymous recently declared war on Daesh. Many people mocked them for this, but since then they have uncovered Daesh planned to launch attacks on many places worldwide tomorrow (Sunday 23rd), have taken down the main internet forum used by the terrorists, and have identified thousands of Twitter account and relevant sympathisers, forcing Daesh to release information on how to protect themselves online.

They are launching the attacks 24 hours a day without fail and are in the process of crippling the group's online activities, which they relied on fairly heavily.

One set of wannabe terrorists versus another ?

I won't be patting them on the back just yet.

La Fenetre wrote: »

Anonymous don't go around killing people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Monitoring hasn't done much, considering the Paris ring leaders travelled around with not a care or worry in the world.

We don't know how many potential ISIS attacks have been prevented by the proper authorities. Or how much damage might be done to intelligence gathering if Anon start disrupting communication channels.

Anonymous should butt out of this and leave it to the grownups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

Is this a joke? "Anonymous" lol, bunch of clowns, "we took down some twitters".

Phoebas wrote: »
    We don't know how many potential ISIS attacks have been prevented by the proper authorities. Or how much damage might be done to intelligence gathering if Anon start disrupting communication channels.

Anonymous should butt out of this and leave it to the grownups.

The grownups were caught snoozing though. Most of them have a good well paid job but they are a mollified, lazy ould bunch, constantly campaigning for more rights to spy on the likes of us so they can all sit behind their desks and have the craic and talk about how they're going to spend their next payrise on a new Volkswagen or a Mondeo. None of these shaggers want to go out in the field anymore to try and find real ISIS cells at all whereas anonymous don't get paid for it and are just doing it out of principle or 'for teh lulz' as they'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

La Fenetre wrote: »

Ah here, Anonymous are not even remotely comparable to Isis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Azalea wrote: »
    Ah here, Anonymous are not even remotely comparable to Isis.

True, the production qualities of their videos is miles behind that of ISIS.

Custardpi wrote: »
    True, the production qualities of their videos is miles behind that of ISIS.

Not too good at the ould yodeling either