Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

It really wouldn't be a big deal if Buttevant was bombed. Been stuck here for ages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

It really wouldn't be a big deal if Buttevant was bombed. Been stuck here for ages!

If you are taking pictures whilst driving at least do it right :pac:

gFTAPjZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Down in Kerry filming The Miniature Scenes Christmas special :)

We needed a beach we could drift on ;)

We got some epic footage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I bet the viewers would love some Punto on beach action. :pac:

GvidoR wrote: »
    I bet the viewers would love some Punto on beach action. :pac:

Get down here, more filming in the morning :)

Wish I could. Tomorrow is already planned out. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,348 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Lads, motors meet soon? 29 Nov, usual spot?

What ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Filming eh, ya that's right gaurd we're doing a documentary :D.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

YbFocus wrote: »
    Down in Kerry filming The Miniature Scenes Christmas special :)

We needed a beach we could drift on ;)

We got some epic footage!

Inch beach fits that requirement.

beertons wrote: »
    Inch beach fits that requirement.

That's where we were :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

joujoujou wrote: »
    Lads, motors meet soon? 29 Nov, usual spot?

What ye think?

I made thread for last one. Go mad I will attend anyway. Love me some midway chicken :p

I heard there's some nice chicken around the Longford area. :P

Unregistered Users

Yeah! :D

369273.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I was in longford last night and I will say that Luigi's chipper is the single best chipper I've ever been to!!!! If any of you find yourselves in longford stop in for a curry chips and a pizza :):):)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I was in longford last night and I will say that Luigi's chipper is the single best chipper I've ever been to!!!! If any of you find yourselves in longford stop in for a curry chips and a pizza :):):)

I'm going to Longford tomorrow so I might stop by. I've walked by and looked in, was interested in getting a kebab there but they didn't have the meat spinning on that stick so I didn't bother. I usually go to one one other side of the main street (Macaris, I think), Supermacs or McD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Over a grand spent on tyres today.

Ouch!

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Over a grand spent on tyres today.

Ouch!

How!

How!

4 X Goodyear Eagles for The Grey Gatsby

2 X Hankook A/Ts for The Gremlin

Easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Think I'll book my NCT tonight for the focus. It's not out until Jan 31, but I want to avoid the mayhem that always is the case in the new year. Plenty of dates left online for mid December.

Easy

Jesus that's tough! Fecking hell :)

Easy

What sizes were they? seems on the expensive side!!

There is such a reassuring feeling to have properly good tyres on a car. :)

Unregistered Users

What sizes were they? seems on the expensive side!!

There is such a reassuring feeling to have properly good tyres on a car. :)

Hankooks are 245 / 70 R16 @ €120 a pop.

Goodyears are 245 / 40 R18 Run Flats @ €210 a corner.

Didn't really need the tyres for the Bimmer for another couple of months but I have the gold at the moment and probably won't in the New Year with Christmas, etc and a wedding down Wesht so decided to pull the chain on the lot.

Very happy with the tyres and good to have it done before it gets icy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Balls I need to buy winter tires. Xmas can fcuk right off this year :)

Hankooks are 245 / 70 R16 @ €120 a pop.

Goodyears are 245 / 40 R18 Run Flats @ €210 a corner.

Didn't really need the tyres for the Bimmer for another couple of months but I have the gold at the moment and probably won't in the New Year with Christmas, etc and a wedding down Wesht so decided to pull the chain on the lot.

Very happy with the tyres and good to have it done before it gets icy. :)

Ah the run flats are expensive!! Did you consider going for non run flats? What are the drawbacks going for normal tyres instead of run flats?

Only drawback is you lose boot space! Can't afford that with a little one though - her stuff takes up a lot of space. ;)

I suppose you lose a bit of convenience too! Just keep driving with the run flats :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

It's been ages since I bought wipers but all of a sudden the ones on the Megane have gone crap they are Renault ones (well you know what I mean Renault symbols on them not sure who makes them). I use to use Bosch aero twins but then bought OE ones for the golf. I think I'll just book it in for a service in December the computer is reading something like 16k km to next service but I think it needs one now I don't need any blocked fuel filter sitting on side of the road incidents again. I assume the main dealer does wipers during service if the car needs them I can say it to them probably wouldn't be much more expensive anyway. Although I think these renaults are expensive to get serviced no 200 euro full service vag deal.

CIP4 wrote: »
    It's been ages since I bought wipers but all of a sudden the ones on the Megane have gone crap they are Renault ones (well you know what I mean Renault symbols on them not sure who makes them). I use to use Bosch aero twins but then bought OE ones for the golf. I think I'll just book it in for a service in December the computer is reading something like 16k km to next service but I think it needs one now I don't need any blocked fuel filter sitting on side of the road incidents again. I assume the main dealer does wipers during service if the car needs them I can say it to them probably wouldn't be much more expensive anyway. Although I think these renaults are expensive to get serviced no 200 euro full service vag deal.

It's like your brain just likes to think stuff out using boards as a medium sometimes cip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

It's like your brain just likes to think stuff out using boards as a medium sometimes cip :)

Haha Ye I was going to buy wipers then halfway through just thought I could get them on during the service :)

Actually a serious question though for a full service in a main dealers you know the way they have a checklist they go by do they generally check timming belt condition during a service ?