Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ignore 166man, his cars never knew what a tax disk looked liked.
    The only time he taxed them they broke on him :pac:

And while I don't actually drive different cars Throughout the year I like to have the option.

Oh and it's a 19 year old alfa with 170k miles on it. I ain't taking that chance

My cars always had a tax disc in the windscreen. It's a nice feeling being legit and not having to worry.
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    My hoop!!!! Don't think I've ever seen you with a taxed car!!! :P

Speaking of, Just taxed the 166 there a few days ago. The disc arrived today. First time it's had a full screen since May. Great to be fully legit again :)

As above, my cars always had a full windscreen of discs. Glad to hear you're no longer illegal anyway. I hope you weren't driving an untaxed car on public roads. :)
    CIP4 wrote: »
    I don't call myself a golf enthusiast :)

Can this be post of the year? One of the funnier moments of 2015 on boards. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

TO SOUHANS (Why am i such a big child :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Go now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

I rarely tax my car tbh, dont see the point. I insure it for the year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

166man wrote: »
    My cars always had a tax disc in the windscreen. It's a nice feeling being legit and not having to worry.

As above, my cars always had a full windscreen of discs. Glad to hear you're no longer illegal anyway. I hope you weren't driving an untaxed car on public roads. :)

Can this be post of the year? One of the funnier moments of 2015 on boards. :)

Ah, my eyes must have not been working right when I saw your tax discs so.

Sure you know my car has been basically broken since may!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Awaits outrage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

...Outrage loading....

...Please wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I rarely tax my car tbh, dont see the point. I insure it for the year though

Ah ya, sure you're great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Nothing surprises me anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Had to drop the brother in town there, on the way home a altezza overtook me going very fast, on the wrong side of the road the whole time. :eek: thing was I seen it pulled over by Gardaí about 15 min previously. Some twats never learn :rolleyes:

How do they overtake you on the wrong side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...Also is it true that it has more difficult to insure 10 year old cars I've heard a lot about this recently not sure if it's true I would like to pay 1k extra for insurance if that is true.

16-year-old canal-boat here too, €495 full comp. But then I'm fierce owld, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

jimgoose wrote: »
    16-year-old canal-boat here too, €495 full comp. But then I'm fierce owld, like.

Ye maybe I'm over thinking it but just over the last Year I've been hearing a lot about it being hard to insure cars over 10 years old seems in reality it's not that difficult which is a good thing. I think I'll keep what I have for at least another year it needs a timming belt in April too so I suppose that will be 400 quid needs a service over Christmas too Infairness I haven't spent a penny on it in 6 months that doesn't make it any easier.

So after doing them bits would be stupid to sell it then straight away I have no reason to get rid of it as its a good car and there is nothing wrong with it. But at the same time once I go much over 160k km it's just going to be harder and harder to sell. End of next years seems to be the most logical time to change it bearing all that in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ye maybe I'm over thinking it but just over the last Year I've been hearing a lot about it being hard to insure cars over 10 years old seems in reality it's not that difficult which is a good thing. I think I'll keep what I have for at least another year it needs a timming belt in April too so I suppose that will be 400 quid needs a service over Christmas too Infairness I haven't spent a penny on it in 6 months that doesn't make it any easier.

So after doing them bits would be stupid to sell it then straight away I have no reason to get rid of it as its a good car and there is nothing wrong with it. But at the same time once I go much over 160k km it's just going to be harder and harder to sell. End of next years seems to be the most logical time to change it bearing all that in mind.

Don't be intimidated into doing stupid things by insurance gowls. Hold your station, soldier! And 100,000 miles is only ran-in as far as I'm concerned - I've 161,000 up, and plan on doing 300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

colm_mcm wrote:

I took it as the altezza overtook him on the right, yet continued to stay on the right hand side after he had passed.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I took it as the altezza overtook him on the right, yet continued to stay on the right hand side after he had passed.

Ya, exactly that. Sometimes I don't really phrase things well..

I just couldn't picture it.

Worst driving I ever saw was up your part of the country. Was coming back from Sligo and there was a car overtaking a car.
    Fair enough
    Then a civic overtook that car (while it was overtaking)
    Then a crx overtook the civic (while it was overtaking)
    Car coming the other way
    Crx drove on the hard shoulder on the other side, to the right of the car coming towards us.
    Normal road. No idea how they all fitted.

Guards were waiting in the next village. Had the two boys stopped. There was an ambulance driving behind me, so maybe they radiod.

There was some big modified car fest on up the north that weekend.
    I was driving the fto that day and was full sure they'd associate me with the muppetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Ye maybe I'm over thinking it.

That wouldn't be like you! :D

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I just couldn't picture it.

Worst driving I ever saw was up your part of the country. Was coming back from Sligo and there was a car overtaking a car.
    Fair enough
    Then a civic overtook that car (while it was overtaking)
    Then a crx overtook the civic (while it was overtaking)
    Car coming the other way
    Crx drove on the hard shoulder on the other side, to the right of the car coming towards us.
    Normal road. No idea how they all fitted.

Guards were waiting in the next village. Had the two boys stopped. There was an ambulance driving behind me, so maybe they radiod.

There was some big modified car fest on up the north that weekend.
    I was driving the fto that day and was full sure they'd associate me with the muppetry.

Jaysus, id have shat myself. :eek: Unreal the chances some people take. It's only when you see first hand the tragedy that can be caused ..it really brings it home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Factory supercharged Corolla anyone? Didnt think any of these would have made it to our shores!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sal...rged-/10637509

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭Wossack

gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Wossack wrote: »
    gone?

Must've ballsed up copying the link, how about now?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-tte-compressor-supercharged-/10637509

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

OK so I filled the Punto fuel tank to the top on Wednesday and 129 miles later I filled it up again so I can finally get an accurate MPG number. Here are the results.

NE7aguU.png

47.87 UK MPG, or 5.9 L/100 KM. Pretty good, imo. :)

GvidoR wrote: »
    OK so I filled the Punto fuel tank to the top on Wednesday and 129 miles later I filled it up again so I can finally get an accurate MPG number. Here are the results.

NE7aguU.png

47.87 UK MPG, or 5.9 L/100 KM. Pretty good, imo. :)

Not bad. What sort of driving is that?

job seeker wrote: »
    Not bad. What sort of driving is that?

Boyle - Castlebar - Boyle (driving at speed limit) and a bit of around the town driving.

Cool cool..

job seeker wrote: »
    Cool cool..

Yeah, it was very exciting. I've never had a full tank or known the accurate MPG of any of my cars. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Yeah, it was very exciting. I've never had a full tank or known the accurate MPG of any of my cars. :)

If you want to drive yourself mad see if it makes any difference whether you fill at Topaz, Tesco, etc.!

Haha, that would be interesting alright. There's just Esso, Topaz, Texaco, Applegreen and Stewarts within a 30 KM radius here though. No fancy Tesco petrol stations. :P

Factory supercharged Corolla anyone? Didnt think any of these would have made it to our shores!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sal...rged-/10637509

Yep, there's a few out there. They're not all imports either.
    Same setup as the lotus exige.
    Had a fake exhaust on one side which made it a bit of a laughing stock at the time.
    Seriously good car to drive, and so unassuming to look at.