Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oneplus X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Cafu82

Ordered mine last Thursday, arrived at my office about 3pm yesterday, very impressed so far. One quick question, is there a quick way to put the phone on silent, I know when I turn the volume all the way down its just in vibrate mode. On my old HTC you could put phone in silent by continuing to press volume down after it goes into vibrate..... No big deal really, just wondering!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

You can use the slider on the side, but this just turns off notification instead of sounds. Same thing I guess.

I don't really like the slider, I had hoped it would work like an iPhone and leave the vibration on but it doesn't :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭coconnellz

Can't make up my mind Would the zuk z1 be better than this at €280 including taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

I had different expectations of the slider also, was hoping the middle would mute the phone and vibrate and the top setting put it on silent, almost like setting 3 profiles.

I'm sure there is an app that will do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

jozi wrote: »
    I had different expectations of the slider also, was hoping the middle would mute the phone and vibrate and the top setting put it on silent, almost like setting 3 profiles.

I'm sure there is an app that will do this?
    I believe there an app called tasker in the play store for 3 bucks that will do it... I leave my phone on vibrate 95% of the time anyway so using the volume button doesnt bother me too much. Seems an odd choice of setup theyve gone with though... :confused:
    I haven't had a chance to link my card to the play store yet though as im coming from iOS for many a year, so cant confirm this works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

opinions on this phone lads? im due an upgrade was considering taking the upgrade and selling it and then buying one of these phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

opinions on this phone lads? im due an upgrade was considering taking the upgrade and selling it and then buying one of these phones.

Battery is average, everything else is decent, design is brilliant. Worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

sebcity wrote: »
    Battery is average, everything else is decent, design is brilliant. Worth the money.

Pretty much exactly what im finding. Definitely worth it for the price, the battery is very average but its a lovely phone besides

• Moderators Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Cafu82 wrote: »
    Ordered mine last Thursday, arrived at my office about 3pm yesterday, very impressed so far. One quick question, is there a quick way to put the phone on silent, I know when I turn the volume all the way down its just in vibrate mode. On my old HTC you could put phone in silent by continuing to press volume down after it goes into vibrate..... No big deal really, just wondering!

This?
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nqk.vibratemodeextended

Think that will just put the phone into vibrate mode? Which is essentially the way I have it now, after I turn the volume off it only vibrates.... thanks anyway! I'm lookin for a quick way to put in on silent but still get notifications, I know I can manually turn vibrate off, anyway as I said no big deal, thanks again for looking.

• Moderators Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Cafu82 wrote: »
    Think that will just put the phone into vibrate mode? Which is essentially the way I have it now, after I turn the volume off it only vibrates.... thanks anyway! I'm lookin for a quick way to put in on silent but still get notifications, I know I can manually turn vibrate off, anyway as I said no big deal, thanks again for looking.

It puts it into silent mode too. There's 3 settings on the button. It reprograms them to be Normal, Vibrate and Silent. You'd still get notifications, but of course... silently.

Does the trick, fair play to ya, that's exactly what I was after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭pedatron

Anyone having any joy with getting the SD card working in any sort of way yet? My phone is not reading my 64gb I got today.

I understand that there are issues with it already and transferring apps to it but does the phone recognise it at all for anyone?

pedatron wrote: »
    Anyone having any joy with getting the SD card working in any sort of way yet? My phone is not reading my 64gb I got today.

I understand that there are issues with it already and transferring apps to it but does the phone recognise it at all for anyone?

I put mine in straight away and it worked fine. It had all my songs and photos from my old phone, I could play and view them with no issues

Can someone check something for me? When you pull down the notification bar does it go straight to the quick settings and you have to swipe back up to see the notifications? Or does it stop on the notifications and takes a second swipe down to get to the quick settings. Mine is doing the former and its annoying me

Seems to show notifications if there are any by pulling down from the left half, otherwise it shows the settings drop down anywhere from the top or from the right if I have a notification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

That's Android, pull down on the left for notifications, on the right for settings. Is yours doing something different?

Ahhh. Got it! Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭eddiem74

Any recommendations for a car windscreen holder for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭pedatron

I put mine in straight away and it worked fine. It had all my songs and photos from my old phone, I could play and view them with no issues

I've a brand new blank one thats not being read at all. Just wondering is this normal or should I format it or something for it to be recognised. I am aware of the SD card problem just wondering is it even possible to get music or anything on it yet from my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

pedatron wrote: »
    I've a brand new blank one thats not being read at all. Just wondering is this normal or should I format it or something for it to be recognised. I am aware of the SD card problem just wondering is it even possible to get music or anything on it yet from my phone.

Some people have had luck formatting it to FAT32 I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Do you have the WiFi Toggle off ?

I know there is an option in the settings that will stop the phone scanning for available WiFi Connections. You need to turn this off. Go to Settings, Wifi, 3 Dots Top Right, Advanced, Scanning always available.

I believe it's something that was implemented in Lolipop.

There's also something on your phone that keeps waking up the device. Usually an app. Go to Settings, App Permissions, and click into your apps and see what ones have keep awake turned on. Any app I don't use that often I'll always Toggle to off.

Also having your GPS off when you don't need it makes the battery last that bit longer.

Just to add incase anyone was unsure as to what the colours mean under mobile data.
    369139.png

Black/transparent: Power off

Red: Phone is trying to find a signal

Yellow: Signal strength 0 (min)

Dirty yellow: Signal strength 1

Even more dirty yellow: Signal strength 2

Somewhat yellowish gray: Signal strength 3

Green: Signal strength 4 (max)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

For dedicated mac/iPhone users like myself who are taking the plunge, this is great: https://blog.oneplus.net/2014/11/making-the-switch-easy-as-one-2-3/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Week into it now and really liking it. As someone not overly mad into phones, really ticking all the boxes for me. After going through a couple of battery charging cycles properly, notice that it's actually not that bad at all.

I get from the morning to night. What more can you want to be honest? And let's be real for a second, for a lot of people, you have access to a charger most of the day. I know for me working in an office, battery life is literally never a concern. I leave the office at 100%, so shrug.

Only problem I'm having is with the alarm. Two mornings in a row, after selecting snooze, it never triggered off and I slept in : / Seeing a few issues online regarding the clock app, so hopefully a fix comes shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭djr15

Got a OPO back in January and felt it was a really nice bit of kit.
    Camera, processor everything about it was really impressive.

Then one day was letting the dog out and got hand caught in the curtain, long story short Phone in bits.

Struggled on for a bit with crap fones and eventually bought a Lenovo K3 Note>
    Again a lovely phone with good specs camera etc.

2 things about it though,
    1. I have found it is just too big for work. Bending lifting etc….
    2. Stupid ads Lenovo insist on having pop up on your home screen every 5 fuc*ing minutes.

Anyway I didn’t fancy rooting the phone so I stuck with it.
    Fast forward to last week I put myself down for a OPX invite and low and behold I get an invite yesterday.
    So being the impulsive impatient eejit I am I ordered one last night.

So will be my third top of the range smart phone in a year which is strange as I am usually good to mind them etc…

Looking forward to getting the OPX hopefully next week and getting to play with it.
    Looks neater than the Lenovo and won’t have the malware.

Will update first impression of the phone when she lands.

Also; May be looking to part ways with the Lenovo when new fone is up and running.
    €175 should buy it- In top top condition and in yellow. (PM if interested)

As I said great fone just a bit too big for me and if your willing to root Lord knows what you could do with it….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

Was well impressed with this for the price when I got it, so managed to order a second one for the missus last week (to replace her S3 mini). When I ordered I got a Karbon case for mine as well. Whole package has been with the courier this morning, i've been giddy all day about the prospect of a new case! I really need to get my priorities right!! :D

I can't find much fault with the phone for the price. One random annoying thing when listening to a podcast, if you pause it and then hit play again from the notification bar, it goes back to the start of the podcast. Not sure if it's the app (BeyondPod) or the phone. I haven't had any other issues with alarms, SD cards etc though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Manzoor14 wrote: »
    Was well impressed with this for the price when I got it, so managed to order a second one for the missus last week (to replace her S3 mini). When I ordered I got a Karbon case for mine as well. Whole package has been with the courier this morning, i've been giddy all day about the prospect of a new case! I really need to get my priorities right!! :D

I can't find much fault with the phone for the price. One random annoying thing when listening to a podcast, if you pause it and then hit play again from the notification bar, it goes back to the start of the podcast. Not sure if it's the app (BeyondPod) or the phone. I haven't had any other issues with alarms, SD cards etc though.

The podcast thing is a known issue on the oneplus forums, looks an oxygen thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Lads, got to play with my one plus x. Serious issue with the screen and how vivid and bright it is. I have turned the brightness down to basically zero, but it is still outrageously vivid and bright. Actually hurts the eyes! Played candy crush earlier and the colours were completely wrong, way too vivid.

Anyone else having these problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭celticsfan

Lads, got to play with my one plus x. Serious issue with the screen and how vivid and bright it is. I have turned the brightness down to basically zero, but it is still outrageously vivid and bright. Actually hurts the eyes! Played candy crush earlier and the colours were completely wrong, way too vivid.

Anyone else having these problems?

Maybe you can try installing Lux Auto Brightness if its too bright for you..Coming from a nexus4 I found it bright,but not to the extent it hurt my eyes..I put it down to the Amoled screen :) but Lux should help you out..

Go into settings and turn off adaptive brightness, it sounds like it's on. I found that or read terrible at adjusting the screen brightness, I use am xposed middle today allowed me to adjust it by dragging across the top bar