Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Yeah. All day loooooonnnnnnng:(

He made our regular vet look like he didn't give a damn when testing. Every animal clipped regulation distance apart and every injection site felt to make sure the injection was there.

There are a good few going clear here now so hopefully I can join them in 2 months:confused:
    that is the norm for most vets around here, they have the electric clippers, they are checked regularly by the dept and everything must be right and rightly so they are being paid enough to do the job

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Yeah, that was the man.

Tbf, we found him alright but, as a Dept test, I suppose it has to be precise but it's a long slow day.

At the end of the day, a clear test will have been worth the two days of tearing out the little hair I have left.

Best of luck tomorrow BTJ
    In fairness to a Dept vet they do a TB test properly.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

blue5000 wrote: »
    Thanks blue.

I don't like not having control of my own time. With diabetes, if I can eat at fairly set times and with fairly set amounts, control is so much easier. With the Dept in the yard, that control goes out the window and it can take a day or two to get the control back again:(

scc of 108 on last test, lowest ever here :) lets hope it stays down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    scc of 108 on last test, lowest ever here :) lets hope it stays down

125 here, the same, lowest ever! Although 2 cows down with mastitis since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

fecking scc is after shooting up here, no visible signs. was running under 100 there for a long time bar the odd blip. have to organise record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Scc was 144 last time which would be good for me.

Couple of 02 cows milking and a few more dolls. All going into tank.

Once it stays under 300 i dont worry as you dont get any extra.

Been using udder mint for the last few months on any that have a biggish quater or even if they look like there getting mastitis. Its super stuff alltogether imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

mf240 wrote: »
    Scc was 144 last time which would be good for me.

Couple of 02 cows milking and a few more dolls. All going into tank.

Once it stays under 300 i dont worry as you dont get any extra.

Been using udder mint for the last few months on any that have a biggish quater or even if they look like there getting mastitis. Its super stuff alltogether imo.

Under 200 for top price here, over 400 for a fine.
    160 here at the moment on OAD, which I'm happy enough with considering cows are now housed and falling in yield.

Have just spent the last 48 hrs on the flat of my back with pretty severe lower back pain, can't walk or even crawl at this stage. First time in my life an ailment has stopped me from getting out to the yard. Have taken Valium, difene and solpadel, all high strengths drugs from the doc, but not much relief yet.
    luckily have good lads with me who can help out and it's prob the best time to be laid low as cows are just housed, and on OAD.
    But a timely reminder to any farmer pushing the numbers game on a one man system, we're not invincible.
    how are you doing now?

Good, incredibly good in comparison to sunday, by monday morning after the difene, Valium and solpodol had cut in I felt much better, still on them though.
    Got a referral from the GP on monday for a scan so waiting for that. Only milking and doing light jobs around the place for now. Thanx for asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Scc gone from 70 to 360 here.
    Treated 8 cows in last 2 wks for mastitis.

I hope this **** storm isn't starting again.
    Recorded 2 wks ago and only had 2 bad cows. Treated thrm amd there A1 now

Scc gone from 70 to 360 here.
    Treated 8 cows in last 2 wks for mastitis.

I hope this **** storm isn't starting again.
    Recorded 2 wks ago and only had 2 bad cows. Treated thrm amd there A1 now
    you can get recorder to do scc only , only takes 1 milking. Do you spray any disenfectant/ lime on straw bed? Also you can send a sample with the milk man for individual cows, results are quick enough

I hadn't started presoraying until yesterday. Reckon I might have caused it with my wiping.
    Started 0utting actisan on the beds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

blue5000 wrote: »
    And in fairness, they can read it brilliantly too!

Clear!

One down, one to go.:)

gifs-for-the-masses

tumblr_mnsvxdrx1H1rqfhi2o1_400.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Best price on dry cow tubes anyone? Either boviclox extra or caprevan

Timmaay wrote: »
    bovaclox extra is like the aldi version of dry cow tubes, cepravin are crazy money but shorter withdrawal. I bought the boviclox and will test their milk after a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Timmaay wrote: »

9 euro cash price orbenin extra and boviseal sealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

i was thinking of investing in a diet feeder maybe in the next yr or so . it defo will be a second hand job , just want to know how other lads and lassies get on with them thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

What would lads consider to be the minimun dry period for spring calvers, in good nick with no scc count troubles. Would 5 weeks be pushing it? I think you can get dc tubes with 28days withdrawel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭degetme

60 days id go for minimum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

i was thinking of investing in a diet feeder maybe in the next yr or so . it defo will be a second hand job , just want to know how other lads and lassies get on with them thanks

Will u be feeding many different types of forage? Are u caught for feed space? They.re fine if feeding different forages but if feeding just silage no need for em. We buy in a lot of winter feed in form of maize and feed space is tight so that's our reason. Spent most of the fcuking day piking 4 tonne of a mix out of ours as chain snapped due to something blocking it. Would be wary of second hand ones unless it was fully relined clock is right and chains replaced. Will have to do some of that to ours now but as may be going all spring in 2 years will try to keep it going till i decide and see what way ill be managing feed requirements in future. Like all things they are fine till they get worn and things like today happen where ya feel like getting the loader and fcuking it into the ditch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

What would lads consider to be the minimun dry period for spring calvers, in good nick with no scc count troubles. Would 5 weeks be pushing it? I think you can get dc tubes with 28days withdrawel?

Had a few autumn calvers at 5 weeks dry but it's a bit tight if they calve the week early, most did fine given the price well be looking at next spring ill be giving moat of mine a bit more to give em a better chance to hit the ground running in spring

In that scenario 5/6 weeks would be enough

mahoney_j wrote: »
    In that scenario 5/6 weeks would be enough
    with alot of the high ebi bulls calving early I would be going for 6 weeks minimum, think yad was calving 10 days early last year

We got caught with that in autumn calvers. Gave them 6 wks and alot cakved 10 days early amd orbenin is 42 day withdrawal.
    Pure mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

After each lactation,cows require a dry period which is sufficiently long to allow the udder tissue to repair and rejuvenate. Many of the cells that produce milk are removed and replaced again before the next calving. A minimum of six weeks (preferably eight weeks) is recommended between drying-off and calving.

5 weeks +'5 days should suffice if using something like ubro red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

wed give them 2 months always,
    if we get dates wrong and they are under they never do as well the following year by down bout 15% in milk

Have had a few here over the last few yrs, but this will be the last yr, have three pits of silage, whole crop and maize that need to be fed this yr, and soon as theyre gone It'll be done deal for my present one. It's just another machine that will let u down when u need it the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

do you need one or do you want one? as lads said here before they can be a good tool if your getting feedstuffs at rock bottom prices. other than that, make good silage. wheelbarrow and a bucket will do alot unless you happen to be Larry goodman. if you're stuck for space add a bay to the shed. you'd do alot for ten thousand. won't by much of a diet feeder for it.