TUF 22 - Europe vs USA (McGregor & Faber coaching)**Contains Spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Man some lovely counter bombs from from Artem, the finishing blow was just class. Hands down was so annoying and like Dev said when Conor tells you hands up, then you know it's bad. Lol at Gunni and Conor traipsing in and Conor giving out they wouldn't wait for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Conor giving out that they wouldn't wait for him is an absolute joke; who was sermonising only a few episodes ago about the lads "taking care of their own business". Its his responsibility to be on time and blaming others is a sign of immaturity. Complaining they wouldn't wait for him is straight up rude after being over 30 minutes late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Great stuff from Artem. Low hands was silly but the confidence was flowing. Landed some beautiful shots and the finish was perfect. He completely dominated. Didn't expect a performance like that. I like Artem, there's something very innocent about him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

moneyman wrote: »
    Great stuff from Artem. Low hands was silly but the confidence was flowing. Landed some beautiful shots and the finish was perfect. He completely dominated. Didn't expect a performance like that. I like Artem, there's something very innocent about him.

Your man Jenkins in his blog seems to talk highly of Artem as a good guy to be around and says this doesn't come across on the tele

Yeah really recommend reading jenkins blog. Mad to hear 1st hand experience of TJ being a gowl in training. Also, his account of the double vision and not being able to shake it, man Artem was throwing bombs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Delighted for Artem! :D His hands down style is in no way, shape or form sustainable though. I was screaming at the TV for him to keep his hands up for most of the fight.

If he doesn't progress all the way through I'm sure he'll get a shot on the finale card now against someone who will stand and bang with him as he is certainly entertaining. Thanh Le or a rematch with Mehdi Baghdad perhaps. It'd be cool especially with McGregor and Gunnar being involved that weekend too.

He has a good opportunity to win a contract now, either via the show or via a good performance on his inevitable shot on the finale card if not.

Didn't he say in the blog that Artem fractured his orbital?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

think so yeah as that's why he missed the fight the next day

does anyone know how many days are between fights usually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

Have to say, Artem was really making me not like him the way he came across in the last few episodes so it's nice to see come across well in the last episode as well as getting an entertaining victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

Artem is a lovely fella.

If you look at him he has quite small arms so almost always has a reach disadvantage.

He keeps his hands low to invite the shots and then counters off them. You could see almost all of the shots he landed in the last fight were counters. It is a high risk style but can work well against non elite strikers.

It does also give him defense against takedowns, which is good since I don't think he has much of a ground game (does he?)... but still, I think its more that he (and Paddy and Cathal) have been watching and training too much with Conor and try to ape his style. The thing with Conor is that he is a *superb* boxer. Technically excellent! He performs text book slips and hooks, has a wide wide range of strikes in his arsenal and has head movement that seems snakelike. His striking off his back foot is very good too meaning he can afford to sting his opponent a few times then step back and catch him with a left hook on the retreat. If you don't have that innate talent then its going to be a difficult task to repeat his results with his approach.

Artem DOES seem to be a good counter puncher and of them all, he seems to understand how Conor pulls this style off but his head movement isn't nearly as good and his punches are bombs rather than snappy lefts, nice if they land but against a well rounded striker? I dunno... I wouldn't like to see Artem against Thanh Le for example, I think he gets a shin to the head and its over pretty quick. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Whelo79

I've been thinking this since I seen the trailer last week, but does it look like McGregor is throwing a fit because one of his lads is being cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Whelo79 wrote: »
    I've been thinking this since I seen the trailer last week, but does it look like McGregor is throwing a fit because one of his lads is being cut?

I’d say Faber is (understandably) making a case for one of the Europeans to be cut and McGregor is having none of it. As we all know he’s not really known to make his points in a relaxed manner.

Unless the last fight is won by the European and is incredibly boring from what I remember I cant see there being much justification for one of the European winners to be dropped. The only factor that may go against them is trying to even out the mix of USA vs European fighters.

Yeah the last euro fighter must grind his way to victory add the Americans have had more boring wins

Yer man who wanted to start a fight last week (dreddlocked looking guy?)... he should be sent home. Boring lay-n-pray artist. Even his team said it lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭xtal191

For anyone recording tonight, make sure to record the programs listed after it too. I got stung last week and my recording was mostly American Football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,138 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

CatFromHue wrote: »
    think so yeah as that's why he missed the fight the next day

does anyone know how many days are between fights usually?

6 weeks, 15 fights,
    Works out a 2 fights a week. With some double fights certain weeks, ie last weeks fights were back to back days. The quarters/semis will probably double up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

I'd say it's between Gritz and Martin the Swedish dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I kinda feel sorry for Faber in some of these exchanges, although they are funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

A lot if filler in that latest episode.
    Handy for any coaches that may want to drop melons from the rafters into the octagon though, (As soon as Dana introduces that as a legal tactic of course.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Hall vs Saul should be a cracker of a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭bur

Pretty embarrassing stuff from McGregor and Faber I thought.
    Great win for Abner, he was getting hurt on the feet there for a bit and i thought he was about to wilt. Please smash that pleb Julian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Hall vs Saul should be a cracker of a fight.

Yeah I think so too, I see Saul being to strong for Ryan though. He will absolutely keep the distance and sprawl like mad anytime Ryan goes anywhere near the mat.

Artem getting a bit of special treatment?

I see an Artem v Saul finale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

absolutely no interest in ever seeing him fight again but at the same time you gotta feel for him...hes probably back in though by the looks of the preview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

These late night college football games are screwing up my recordings of TUF. Yet again this week the first 30 minutes is taken up with the end of a football game. Missing the second half of the show entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

These late night college football games are screwing up my recordings of TUF. Yet again this week the first 30 minutes is taken up with the end of a football game. Missing the second half of the show entirely.

Same here, it's ridiculous stuff. Mine went just to the very end of the fight, didn't get anything after that including the winner being announced, but it was obvious enough.

Could someone post the matchups? Don't feel like watching it all the way through again tonight since I missed only the last part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Lots of filler alright, but it was never going to live up to last weeks episode with two fights so how bad

Interesting match ups - I have Saul as favourite to win but Ryan is very dangerous & could cause an upset, I like Marcin alot thought, would like to see him go far, fingers crossed he will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

martyos121 wrote: »
    Same here, it's ridiculous stuff. Mine went just to the very end of the fight, didn't get anything after that including the winner being announced, but it was obvious enough.

Could someone post the matchups? Don't feel like watching it all the way through again tonight since I missed only the last part.

AFAIR its:

Artem v Svensson

Saul v Hall

Abner v Julian (I think thats his name, tall USA guy that beat Medhi)

Marcin v David (Again I'm not sure of the name here, but he's the european guy that fought last week and beat Johnny Nunes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

John_D80 wrote: »
    AFAIR its:

Artem v Svensson

Saul v Hall

Abner v Julian (I think thats his name, tall USA guy that beat Medhi)

Marcin v David (Again I'm not sure of the name here, but he's the european guy that fought last week and beat Johnny Nunes)

Thanks, look like good fights to me. Not sure how they agreed on fights, but if the ball was in Conor's court, I would've swapped Abner with Svensson to give him the best chance of having four in the semis.

My prediction for the final four is Artem, Saul, Julian and Marcin. Saul vs. Hall is a toss up though, could go either way depending on where the action is.