Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Where do you reckon this will be? (on the plastic on the lights?)

The space for them is definitely there (its just part of the cars design), and I can see a hole where the bulb would be fitted through, but I just can't tell if there's actually a bulb there or not.

Here's my car:

http://s24.postimg.org/muh1ut4l1/IMG_3208_2small.jpg

and here's one on Donedeal with the DRLs turned on:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/citroen-c5-sat-nav/9241396

(incidentally, i test drove that one on donedeal; and it was in great shape, but the mileage is a horrible lie, it's actually about 280km I think? Delighted to see he hasn't been able to sell it!)

It'll be either marked on the lens of the lamp or on top of it. if it's on top you'll be able to see it with the bonnet open. it'll be near a circle with an "E mark" in it. Probably E2

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    It'll be either marked on the lens of the lamp or on top of it. if it's on top you'll be able to see it with the bonnet open. it'll be near a circle with an "E mark" in it. Probably E2

Would those markings not be for the plastic itself rather than any lights contained therein? (ie; to show the plastic isn't poisonous or whatever, and conforms to EU standards?)

I grabbed 2 pics there a second ago of extreme close ups...

1 (right side - think you can see the bulb here? Not sure if it's just a gap for a bulb though, and no actual bulb in it?)

http://s13.postimg.org/enjs2g6k5/IMG_4025_1.jpg

2 (left side, bulb inside the red circle?)

http://s13.postimg.org/i5vryu7g5/IMG_4038_1_2.jpg

For €50 to get them activated it'll solve my curiousity at least, but it's gonna wreck my head mooching around them for the next week now (They said they can't look at the car til next tuesday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Got to take a Saab 93 2.8t for a spin tonight one the lads in work recently bought.

Lovely car to drive sounded great and real nimble on cornering.

I miss petrol and sporty :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Would those markings not be for the plastic itself rather than any lights contained therein? (ie; to show the plastic isn't poisonous or whatever, and conforms to EU standards?)

I grabbed 2 pics there a second ago of extreme close ups...

1 (right side - think you can see the bulb here? Not sure if it's just a gap for a bulb though, and no actual bulb in it?)

http://s13.postimg.org/enjs2g6k5/IMG_4025_1.jpg

2 (left side, bulb inside the red circle?)

http://s13.postimg.org/i5vryu7g5/IMG_4038_1_2.jpg

For €50 to get them activated it'll solve my curiousity at least, but it's gonna wreck my head mooching around them for the next week now (They said they can't look at the car til next tuesday).

Nope, those markings are to show the compliance of the lights with the UNECE regulations regarding lighting :)

Also I made a mistake in my earlier post! That's what you get for trying to do things from memory! 00K is for cornering lights. The marking you're looking for is 00RL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

What happened to Colm? He's no longer a mod? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

GvidoR wrote: »
    What happened to Colm? He's no longer a mod? :eek:

Probably delighted with himself with his Boards.ie Clock.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    00K is for cornering lights. The marking you're looking for is 00RL

Just checked, and both of those are there. Does that mean I'm all set? :D

(how do you know that stuff by the way? Seems like fairly technical info?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Just checked, and both of those are there. Does that mean I'm all set? :D

(how do you know that stuff by the way? Seems like fairly technical info?)

Ah he's just a strange individual...! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    What happened to Colm? He's no longer a mod?

If he's stepped down who could blame him. Dealing with all the stupid shyte that goes on here would only sicken one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Probably delighted with himself with his Boards.ie Clock.

It must have been time for him to step down :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

I can only imagine, how hard it would be to mod in the motor section.. Anyway he done a brilliant job while he was. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Still waiting on the boards.ie clock radio..
    Yeah, just decided ages ago to step back from modding but never actually did it. Amazing how much time it can take up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

job seeker wrote: »
    I can only imagine, how hard it would be to mod in the motor section.. Anyway he done a brilliant job while he was. :)

Its a lot more civilised nowadays, I remember the bad old days, threads on pulling into the hard shoulder to let others pass, slow drivers, roundabouts, even a massive argument on whether to let an ambulance past and a few individuals I won't name that only came here to soapbox and spout their anti car agenda.
    At times it used to be worse than AH here. Seems to be better these days.

OSI wrote: »
    ONE OF US! ONE OF US!

gooble gobble

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Still waiting on the boards.ie clock radio..
    Yeah, just decided ages ago to step back from modding but never actually did it. Amazing how much time it can take up.

I've been coasting around the motors forum for about 3 years now, and you've consistently been one of the most helpful people in all the time I've been here, going above and beyond to give out info and such (even finding old brochures etc, when I had the Rav4).

That said, not sure why you'd ever want to mod on boards. I know it's a grand little community, etc. etc. but it seems far too time consuming and you get dragged into every nonsense argument that appears. Fair play to you for doing it in the first place, but I could understand why you'd step away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Always thought of Colm as a young internet uncle. Funny guy to have the craic with but if you act the dick banhammer to the face !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I always thought it would be funny to hear what perceptions have been built up for each user over the last few years :)

"I tink ur sound. Dont evr chnge!"

SG - Fulltime mad bastard making stupid posts :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

gooble gobble

Is it thanksgiving already? :P

I recreated a scene from Reality Bites last night at home:

22673201907_56678d7138_k.jpg

All proceeds went to "Sopporting Homeless" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Found the cause of my puncture, a screw in the centre of the tire. Should be easily pluggable. Woohoo. Any harm to leaving the car sitting on a flat for a few days? Pumping it up by hand will get me 24 hours or so... don't know if im bothered putting it on a jack either...

GvidoR wrote: »
    Is it thanksgiving already? :P

No, not gobble gobble, it's gooble gobble, from the movie Freaks:

One of the most messed up movies of the 20th century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Found the cause of my puncture, a screw in the centre of the tire. Should be easily pluggable. Woohoo. Any harm to leaving the car sitting on a flat for a few days? Pumping it up by hand will get me 24 hours or so... don't know if im bothered putting it on a jack either...

I would jack it really, easier on the sidewalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

New car got yesterday and a set of alloys picked up this evening for them - happy days :)

Anyone here from New Ross direction? Was coming from Waterford and was stuck in traffic for half an hour until I got over the bridge! Didnt seem to be any crashes around and nothing was said on the AA website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

New car got yesterday and a set of alloys picked up this evening for them - happy days

Photos!!!!!!

Car home. Happy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Photos!!!!!!

I'll wait until the weekend, it could do with a polish and I might be adding one or two other bits to it before then :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

So apparently my car has DRLs fitted, wired up, etc. but as they're not mandatory in Ireland they're sold as an optional extra.

I rang Citroen about getting them activated, expecting a nonsense price, and instead was told that 'it should be a straight-forward activation' and would cost, at most, about €50, but perhaps less if it's as quick and easy as they think it'll be (yer man said he hadn't done it before, but googled around and read up on it before ringing me back about it).

My only issue is.. I can't tell if my DRLs have bulbs fitted or not :confused: It's a bit tough to see through the glass!? and apparently they're a whole unit, so it they activate them, but there's no bulbs.. i'm either after throwing cash down the drain, or im in for a much heftier bill to get the DLR units changed?

Did you thoroughly scroll through all the options on the computer ie vehicle settings. My Megane has them with the option to turn them on and off from the computer. They are called something like automatic headlights I doubt you will see them called drl's in the menu on a French car. Just worth a look would be terrible to pay the garage to do it if you can. But maybe you need diagnostics in not sure of the set up on your car.
    New car got yesterday and a set of alloys picked up this evening for them - happy days :)

Anyone here from New Ross direction? Was coming from Waterford and was stuck in traffic for half an hour until I got over the bridge! Didnt seem to be any crashes around and nothing was said on the AA website.

Well wear on the new car :)

I'm in New Ross a reasonable amount for all my sins :pac: for business rather than pleasure as its not exactly a place you'd go for a day out. But anyway I'd normally be coming from Kilkenny the back way but have had to go to Waterford from Ross before and it's a nice enough drive when quite but when busy the bridge is just a disaster so I'm not suprised by your delays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I'll wait until the weekend, it could do with a polish and I might be adding one or two other bits to it before then :p

But sure we need before pictures to see what it is like before you make any changes :D