Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Only watching the video now, fairly obvious the garda lost the head and lashed out. The look on his face after suggests he knew he'd ballsed up after. Very stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

But he is not finished interfering, he is still trying to push forward towards the arrested person.

He was standing sideways talking with the Garda when he was shoved by him. He was not trying to push forwards at all. Sure the man could quite easily have walked past the Garda and interfered with the arrest if that is what he wanted to do. Why wait until he was shoved and attempting to regain his balance to attempt to do that? What you are saying is illogical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

He was standing sideways talking with the Garda when he was shoved by him. He was not trying to push forwards at all. Sure he could easily have walked past the Garda and interfered if that is what he wanted to do. Why wait until he was shoved and attempting to regain his balance to do that. What you are saying is illogical.

Photos 7,8 and 9 of the album you linked clearly show the older fella trying to push past and the Garda using his left arm to hold him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭johann johannson

So saying the Gardaí were outnumbered is not bull**** because it is actually the case. Let me ask you this, how many Gardaí do you think are operational in that county at any one time? I can tell that the protesters would still outnumber them if every car was called. And that's putting aside your nonsense logic that the Gardaí are at fault for not having enough members to intimidate the other side into not being violent.

Here listen , I well believe the gardai are doing a great job. Really I do. And it's a shame there has been cuts. But unfortunately the mentality on here is 'Gardai v protesters'.

That is not my view. My view is that the man who lashed out is not fit to wear the uniform, and how you can't stand by and justify his actions is beyond me. Do you actually work with him or something?
    And that's putting aside your nonsense logic that the Gardaí are at fault for not having enough members to intimidate the other side into not being violent.

Unfortunately, my nonsense logic is in response to 3 gardai v 100 protesters, which was not case. Some people seem intent on pointing that out.

And here again, putting words in my mouth. I never once suggested the gardai bring more men to intimidate the other side into not being violent. I'd love to know what your definition of violent is, if you observe speaking to / at / down to as being violent and lashing out with a baton 3 times is not. How's your nonsense logic faring these days?

Photos 7,8 and 9 of the album you linked clearly show the older fella trying to push past and the Garda using his left arm to hold him back.

He's not trying to push past anyone. Give it over. He's trying to stand bloody well up. The girl who suddenly appears in Photo 7 has just been on the floor and the only reason she has managed to get back up is because she was hanging onto the man's arm. You people are unbelievable. Talk about seeing things which didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

later ( pic 14-ish in that ) seems he's pushing away sneakily - not "looking at the floor"

http://s22.postimg.org/nvrq4uuu9/image.jpg

http://s22.postimg.org/ag4pfemch/image.jpg

http://s22.postimg.org/6l1bcu36p/image.jpg

Clearly from those images he is attempting to moonwalk around the other side of the Garda.

https://twitter.com/MrNachoBusiness/status/666305464167174144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Danger Fourpence

Oh well, that's it then. You could also present that still image and say he's trying to take a dump on the Garda.

Your agenda is well exposed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Why does a person, claiming to be the son of the protester, need to consult the video to determine how many times the guy was hit? Surely he could post the pictures of what I imagine is a nasty bruise to the leg and neck, if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

When did I claim he was 70? Quote me please.

I initially said twice, and recently, having watched the video closely and intensely, I changed that to 3 times. .

why did you have to watch the video again , i thought your father told you exactly what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Just like all other gardai this particular garda was trained as to handle such incidents but he failed in his duty here. He could have killed that man from such a hard hitting whack to the neck. The last thing we need is an out of control garda, especially one that seems to have forgot his training to handle situations like this. He'll be in trouble of this one that's a given.

he did exactly what he is trained to do , defended himself while making an arrest in difficult circumstances . The last thing we need is more gob****e protester going around with the intention of causing trouble and then crying oh god help me im the victim

Why does a person, claiming to be the son of the protester, need to consult the video to determine how many times the guy was hit? Surely he could post the pictures of what I imagine is a nasty bruise to the leg and neck, if needs be.
    why did you have to watch the video again , i thought your father told you exactly what happened

If one of you were almost 60 years of age and suddenly attacked with a baton about the body and head, the last blow of which knocks you to the floor, you might wish to consult a video recording of it afterwards to see just how many times you had been hit.

If one of you were suddenly attacked with a baton about the body and head, which knocks you to the floor, you might wish to consult a video recording of it afterwards to see just how many times you had been hit.
    if i was trying to prevent a guard doing his duty id expect a clatter , anyhow like i asked , if his father told him what happened why does he need to consult the video

Here listen , I well believe the gardai are doing a great job. Really I do. And it's a shame there has been cuts. But unfortunately the mentality on here is 'Gardai v protesters'.

That is not my view. My view is that the man who lashed out is not fit to wear the uniform, and how you can't stand by and justify his actions is beyond me. Do you actually work with him or something?

No. unlike yourself i have no personal stake in this matter. This was indeed a case of Gardaí v protesters although, Gardaí v mob would be more accurate. A mob who physical tried to prevent the Garda making an arrest and continued to try and interfere once the arrest was made. And your father was one of that mob. You say he lashed out and lost his cool. He appeared completely calm. his actions were very deliberate. If he did hit your father on the neck or head than that is something that will have to be addressed but other than that I have no problem with his actions. I think he was very restrained despite the aggression levelled at him from all sides, from the same mob your father was a part of.
    Unfortunately, my nonsense logic is in response to 3 gardai v 100 protesters, which was not case. Some people seem intent on pointing that out.

And here again, putting words in my mouth. I never once suggested the gardai bring more men to intimidate the other side into not being violent. I'd love to know what your definition of violent is, if you observe speaking to / at / down to as being violent and lashing out with a baton 3 times is not. How's your nonsense logic faring these days?

If that was nto what you meant then perhaps you could clarify why you think the Gardaí should have brought more numbers. Why should they have brought more numbers?
    He's not trying to push past anyone. Give it over. He's trying to stand bloody well up.

On that we disagree.

What does the training say for a situation like this?

And I'm sure even you have the sense to know, regardless of what I post here,that is all my opinion, that showing actual photos that are not already available, could be detrimental to the investigation by GSOC. An independent one I may add.

I consulted the video to make my own mind about it, although trying to get me to question the credibility of what he says is not the clever thing to do here. I wanted to see for myself what happened. AM I not allowed to watch the video, as everyone else has? Am I not allowed to have an opinion on it, as everyone else has? Am I not allowed to post my opinion on here, like everyone else has?
    he did exactly what he is trained to do , defended himself while making an arrest in difficult circumstances . The last thing we need is more gob****e protester going around with the intention of causing trouble and then crying oh god help me im the victim

May I point out, that this particualr 'gobsh*te was down defending the wexford people. wexandproud my arse. Wait, you're not a garda are you?

He appeared completely calm. his actions were very deliberate. If he did hit your father on the neck or head than that is something that will have to be addressed but other than that I have no problem with his actions.

So you admit there is a problem with what was done?
    If that was nto what you meant then perhaps you could clarify why you think the Gardaí should have brought more numbers. Why should they have brought more numbers?

My point was that people here were stating that this is typical actions from protesters. If that is typical action, that pushing, shouting, screaming, robbing notebooks is typical action, then the gardai should expect that. But it's not. Hence my point why they didn't bring more numbers.

I find it quite hilarious that I am the one having to explain my actions on here, yet you don't seem to find something at fault with what the garda done.

he did exactly what he is trained to do..

They don't train recruits to behave like mindless thugs. The few that do act like that, do it of their own volition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

You don't seem to have a clue what you are talking about.

My sentiments exactly.

They don't train recruits to behave like mindless thugs. The few that do act like that, do it of their own volition.

plenty of thugs allright but not in uniforms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

If one of you were almost 60 years of age and suddenly attacked with a baton about the body and head, the last blow of which knocks you to the floor, you might wish to consult a video recording of it afterwards to see just how many times you had been hit.

Id be consulting the injuries to my body. I'd know how many times I'd been hit when I had trouble getting out of bed the next morning at that age.

A whack like that would leave a nice bruise, I'd say. Should be handy enough to for the poster to get conclusive proof.

My sentiments exactly.

i think sentiments are the problem allright .. you're letting them cloud you judgement

Id be consulting the injuries to my body. I'd know how many times I'd been hit when I had trouble getting out of bed the next morning at that age.

Wait, what? I haven't been injured, I can get out of bed just fine. I consulted the video not any apparent injuries to my body.
    A whack like that would leave a nice bruise, I'd say. Should be handy enough to for the poster to get conclusive proof.

Should be, and is. But unfortunately, it's not up to me. Again, I'm sure you do understand that posting pictures would be detrimental to any investigation. They will reveal themselves in time.

i think sentiments are the problem allright .. you're letting them cloud you judgement

If I let them cloud my judgement, I wouldn't be on boards.ie defending my father by using words.

But then again, I'm not the one lacking a cool head in the video.

So you admit there is a problem with what was done?

If he hit him in the neck then that's something that needs to be addressed. Looked to me like he hit his shoulder but the video quality is too poor to tell. I'm sure there will be a medical report of some kind to clarify.
    My point was that people here were stating that this is typical actions from protesters. If that is typical action, that pushing, shouting, screaming, robbing notebooks is typical action, then the gardai should expect that. But it's not. Hence my point why they didn't bring more numbers.

And what would be the point of bringing more numbers? You seem to be suggesting that either the Gardaí should have had more people to deal with the violence or that they should have had more people to prevent it. In either case you are blaming the Gardaí for the actions of the mob.
    I find it quite hilarious that I am the one having to explain my actions on here, yet you don't seem to find something at fault with what the garda done.

Other than what I mentioned above, no I don't see any issue with using a baton on a person who is part of a mob trying to interfere with an arrest.

If he hit him in the neck then that's something that needs to be addressed. Looked to me like he hit his shoulder but the video quality is too poor to tell. I'm sure there will be a medical report of some kind to clarify.

Thank you. A bit of sense finally.
    And what would be the point of bringing more numbers? You seem to be suggesting that either the Gardaí should have had more people to deal with the violence or that they should have had more people to prevent it. In either case you are blaming the Gardaí for the actions of the mob.

That, unfortunately, is not my point. It's a retort to people suggesting the gardai should know to expect this sort of behaviour from protesters, which I tried to point out that it's not typical behaviour. If it was normal expected behaviour, as described by yourself and others, I'm pretty sure the garda would have arrived in riot gear.
    Other than what I mentioned above, no I don't see any issue with using a baton on a person who is part of a mob trying to interfere with an arrest.

So, if a person were to approach to seek clarity on a situation( hypothetically speaking of course, we daren't approach the gardai for clarity) your response would be to smash them with a baton?

.. i asked , if his father told him what happened why does he need to consult the video

Whoosh. Reread my answer to that. The penny might drop eventually.
    On that we disagree.

Oh quit being so cowardly and address the points I put to you.

If that man wanted to get past the Garda why did he not just walk past him? Why engage him in conversation and wait until he and another girl were pushed over and she was hanging off his arm before apparently attempting to push past the Garda? Do you have any idea how illogical what you're suggesting is?

An interesting video taken earlier that day. A lovely bit of Brit bashing. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBE0tqqOOIQ

Lovely. I fail to see the relevance to the title of this thread however?

Are you failing to acknowledge the number of strikes you were so adamant was a grand total of one?

Or are you only capable of responding via youtube links?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

In your opinion, why didn't the garda have a crack at the large gentleman who shoved him back after lashing at the auld lad? After all, he had ample opportunity, and was being manhandled.