Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Curiosity is all.

So curious you had to post twice about it....you were given an answer....move on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

1) He appears to have taken part in the arrest at the 3m15s mark.
    2) He tackles the Garda and stops any further beating of the man at the 3m48s mark.

from that you decide he is a plainclothes garda?

in a room full of people interfering with an arrest some one is near the arrest ?

and some one in a room full of people attacking gardai attack a garda ?

best go back an look again . because im afraid you are wrong my friend

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The right to protest is a legitimate right under the constitution.
    Doing your best to obstruct the gardai is not protesting, despite what the likes of Paul Murphy tell you. Walking up O'Connell street with a placard saying "Down with this sort of thing" is a form of protest.

Doing your best to redefine what a protest is by acting in an intimidating manner whilst shouting peaceful protest is not actually protesting.
    Secondly, where is this right enshrined to protest within the constitution? Given that the word protest isn't actually mentioned within the constitution, you may find this difficult. Under Article 40.6.1 ii, there is the right to assemble:
    The right of the citizens to assemble peaceably and without arms.
    Provision may be made by law to prevent or control meetings which are determined in accordance with law to be calculated to cause a breach of the peace or to be a danger or nuisance to the general public and to prevent or control meetings in the vicinity of either House of the Oireachtas.
    https://www.constitution.ie/Documents/Bhunreacht_na_hEireann_web.pdf

So, just in case I'm missing something, can you please tell me where the right to protest is under our constitution? Can you please also define your idea of protest?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

So curious you had to post twice about it....you were given an answer....move on

I wasn't given an answer?

I was accused of trolling.

Cienciano wrote: »
    I wonder if people are watching the same video? How anyone can say the guy deserved it is beyond me. Garda has obviously lost control, doesn't know what to do and decides to lash out at the nearest person. Would make me ask the question, has this guy done it before, can he handle pressure situations?
    It's a tough job being a garda, but it's not an excuse. Lots of tough jobs out there. All gardai hitting people for no reason do is make people lose respect for the badge.

There's a picture doing the rounds on Facebook of a teenager with a scuffed up face who claims the same garda did it to him for seemingly nothing....these types of garda usually have a track record.

yes there wrote: »
    Do you think the assault was justifies based on the the events as you understand them?

go and read the garda use of force policy document online , its easy to find

There's a picture doing the rounds on Facebook of a teenager with a scuffed up face who claims the same garda did it to him for seemingly nothing....these types of garda usually have a track record.

YES !!!!! finally proof . now all we need is the written orders from Denis o Brien to take his cans too

1) He appears to have taken part in the arrest at the 3m15s mark.
    2) He tackles the Garda and stops any further beating of the man at the 3m48s mark.
    I provided you with a link to show that the man's hands were both held up, they were not hidden from view is the point. You suggested he could have been up to something and I am asking you what (given those circumstances) could that have been.

Sorry, I thought you meant as in an "I surrender" pose. They are visible for most up until just before the Garda drew his baton. His behaviour up till then did him no favours. He was constantly barracking the Garda and this led to the Garda drawing his baton and striking the man once.

yes theres comment shows the calibre of the mans defenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Oh great a teenager on Facebook puts up a pic and says the gard did it.

Oh he did it for nothing of course.

Jesus Christ what are we dealing with here.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    YES !!!!! finally proof . now all we need is the written orders from Denis o Brien to take his cans too

Just because they have a uniform and a badge doesn't mean they are always in the right ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Why are people still talking about protesting?
    The minute the person masquerading as a Garda assaults the old man makes the reason they were there in the first place inconsequential.

go and read the garda use of force policy document online , its easy to find

Simple yes or no answer would have sufficed backed up with your reasoning.
    Don't think I could have made that any clearer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I'd have to know more of the details to that in fairness. Just as there are guards who shouldn't be guards, there are people who are just self entitled arseholes pretending the world is out to get them, when they're actually just incapable of taking responsibility for themselves.
    That lad could be for real though - just saying it could be either scenario.

Just because they have a uniform and a badge doesn't mean they are always in the right ;)

True but dont you agree that having a uniform on makes them a target too ? for ridiculous allegations form publicity seekers and ae grinders.

If you are of the mind that gardai are there to serve the people. how do thy serve the motel managet that wa allegedly assaulted. when they went to investigate this rabble and professional protester wasters obstruct and abuse the garda. So who is getting served ? the ones who shout loudest and are most obnoxious ?

remember where this all started after all

Sorry, I thought you meant as in an "I surrender" pose. They are visible for most up until just before the Garda drew his baton. His behaviour up till then did him no favours. He was constantly barracking the Garda and this led to the Garda drawing his baton and striking the man once.

yes theres comment shows the calibre of the mans defenders.

Apologies where are my manners, I forgot I was in AH and not the upper echelons of politics forum.

Even if that were true, such a generalization to make.
    And what is the difference in your post and mine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

from that you decide he is a plainclothes garda?

I "decided" nothing of the sort. Sure you even quoted me yourself where I said:
    .. the other man / garda...

The reason, I and others, have speculated that he might be is because if he is not, then he was seemingly allowed to infer with an arrest and also tackle a Garda wielding a baton. Had he not though, that man most likely would have got another few slaps and we could be looking at a far worse incident that we currently are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

I won't beholding my breath though.
    Christ don't do that, your brain is suffering from lack of oxygen as it is :rolleyes:

The video is clear evidence that he was involved in a non peaceful protest and was interfering with an arrest along with the rest of the gobsh1tes.

yes there wrote: »
    Simple yes or no answer would have sufficed backed up with your reasoning.
    Don't think I could have made that any clearer.

you seem not to understand that sometimes actions have consequences. most people figure that out , some people of course never do ............

Azalea wrote: »
    I'd have to know more of the details to that in fairness. Just as there are guards who shouldn't be guards, there are people who are just self entitled arseholes pretending the world is out to get them, when they're actually just incapable of taking responsibility for themselves.
    That lad could be for real though - just saying it could be either scenario.

He might bring it gsoc,I've seen enough garda go through were I live down the years,most are decent but there is that type among them who have that reputation for being heavy handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭benneca1

The cops showed remarkable restraint. Shower of skobies provoking them. Hope whoever is reviewing this sees it for what it is. Mob behaviour by total skobies against our Gardai

I "decided" nothing of the sort. Sure you even quoted me yourself where I said:

The reason, I and others, have speculated that he might be is because if he is not, then he was seemingly allowed to infer with an arrest and also tackle a Garda wielding a baton. Had he not though, that man most likely would have got another few slaps and we could be looking at a far worse incident that we currently are.

sure he might have been a lot of things in that crowd but to be fair you just made that up to make to story sound better . seems to me that he is part of the protest im sure that mans "alleged " son could put a name on him if he tried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

The post from the person claiming to be his son is weird, according to the eirgi Facebook page (who were at the protest) the man in question is from Carlow and was "shaken but fine" no mention of him being knocked out? I can't see them leaving something like that out tbh.

True but dont you agree that having a uniform on makes them a target too ? for ridiculous allegations form publicity seekers and ae grinders.

If you are of the mind that gardai are there to serve the people. how do thy serve the motel managet that wa allegedly assaulted. when they went to investigate this rabble and professional protester wasters obstruct and abuse the garda. So who is getting served ? the ones who shout loudest and are most obnoxious ?

remember where this all started after all

To be honest the gardai are being used to protect other interests,its not fair on them and I don't think a part of the population will ever look at them the same again.

you seem not to understand that sometimes actions have consequences. most people figure that out , some people of course never do ............

I'm well aware of Newtons third law. I would draw your attention to the EQUAL word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

sure he might have been a lot of things in that crowd but to be fair you just made that up to make to story sound better . seems to me that he is part of the protest im sure that mans "alleged " son could put a name on him if he tried

If he's not a plain clothes garda, why didn't the garda take a crack at him too when he shoved him back?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

To be honest the gardai are being used to protect other interests,its not fair on them and I don't think a part of the population will ever look at them the same again.
    Oh go on, do please tell us what interests our garda force are being used to protect?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

kbannon wrote: »
    Oh go on, do please tell us what interests our garda force are being used to protect?

Well for a start standing like centurions over water meters

erigi is
    > that way pal same way as the rest of the summers

erigi is
    > that way pal same way as the rest of the summers

You'll have a hard time trying to put a label on me.....jeff

pablo128 wrote: »
    If he's not a plain clothes garda, why didn't the garda take a crack at him too when he shoved him back?

did he try to steal a note book out of a gardas hand ?