Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Terrorize? How the hell have I tried to terrorize the family? I have looked for justice for what happened. I did not, will not or would not request harm to anyone. And as far as I am concerned, the only way justice will be done is through the courts.

I hope all of you would climb down from your high horses and try have some perspective from my and my family's point of view. Our father was assaulted. Irregardless of the situation, he was assaulted. If any of you bother to examine both videos, still by still, you can clearly see there was 3 strikes of the baton. How can anyone say that is justified?

You all make assumptions, 'he was taking his notepad', 'he was interfering with him' etc etc all that because the majority of the crowd were shouting and jostling. I could very easily say the same that all gardai are like this, They are not. It was one individual who struck out at my father, not the force.

wexandproud, I fail to see how am I blaming the wrong person? From what I see, Garda WX152 turned around, cool and calm, and struck my father 3 times with the baton, after putting the magical stolen notepad (that exchanged hands 17 times was it? ) into his top pocket. He didn't even warn that the baton was going to be used. This was after shoving and pushing him around. Where else can blame be attributed here? For him standing up for his beliefs? For him protesting against NAMA? For protesting against the quick fire, cheap sale of Wexford homes?

Little CuChulainn, don't put words in my mouth. I watched the videos, numerous times, still by still, analysed them and then provided my feedback, of which I'm allowed to do, I haven't admitted anything.

And, to add further, just because I know person involved, doesn't mean I don't have a right to have an opinion on the matter. In my opinion, that man is a thug for what he done, which is far less worse than what some of you on here have called my father.

Again, if anyone was there, please make contact with me.

fine lets see if you feel like answering questions

what was your father doing there , was his house being repossessed? is he from wexford ? gorey ?
    why di he repeatedly put his hands on a garda in a situation where a crowd was being aggressive.
    did he try to take the mans note book as he clearly seems to do ?
    has he had previous problems with gardai that would be relevant?

his your dad allegedly do fire away im real interested

Good for you. I never once requested the man's address. I never requested harm be done to him. And I certainly never requested his family be brought into this.

I don't condone violence or threats in any way, shape or form.

So please, don't associate me with what other people have posted.Only I can speak for myself.

you sure about that , i didnt mean here bytw

Facebook a different place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

WX152, Ronan, I hope you're on this, and I hope you read my words. My words cannot justify the anger, sadness and deep overwhelming rage I feel everytime I see a replay of what you done to my father. I only hope GSOC does the honorable and right thing and expels you from the force. You are a thug, a bully and a coward, an embarrassment to your family and an garda siochana. I hope you're proud.

Em.

Who is Ronan ? Is that the Garda ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭johann johannson

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Thought you said 3 hours ago you wouldn't be posting here again?

Unfortunately, I'm not immune to obvious attempts at trolling, such as the above.

MynameisJeff, this is not an AMA, go to reddit for that ****. Watch the videos, open your eyes and come back with a valid argument.

And yes, I'm sure. I never once threatened anyone nor requested anyone's address, be it here or on Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Unfortunately, I'm not immune to obvious attempts at trolling, such as the above.

MynameisJeff, this is not an AMA, go to reddit for that ****. Watch the videos, open your eyes and come back with a valid argument.

And yes, I'm sure. I never once threatened anyone nor requested anyone's address, be it here or on Facebook.

But you did say you wouldn't be commenting anymore 6 hours ago.

Just wondering why you have changed your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

I could watch that video all day.

A group of malcontents disrupting a business going about its lawful business.

Peaceful protest mehole, yer man got his come-upponce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Terrorize? How the hell have I tried to terrorize the family? I have looked for justice for what happened. I did not, will not or would not request harm to anyone. And as far as I am concerned, the only way justice will be done is through the courts.

I hope all of you would climb down from your high horses and try have some perspective from my and my family's point of view. Our father was assaulted. Irregardless of the situation, he was assaulted. If any of you bother to examine both videos, still by still, you can clearly see there was 3 strikes of the baton. How can anyone say that is justified?

You all make assumptions, 'he was taking his notepad', 'he was interfering with him' etc etc all that because the majority of the crowd were shouting and jostling. I could very easily say the same that all gardai are like this, They are not. It was one individual who struck out at my father, not the force.

wexandproud, I fail to see how am I blaming the wrong person? From what I see, Garda WX152 turned around, cool and calm, and struck my father 3 times with the baton, after putting the magical stolen notepad (that exchanged hands 17 times was it? ) into his top pocket. He didn't even warn that the baton was going to be used. This was after shoving and pushing him around. Where else can blame be attributed here? For him standing up for his beliefs? For him protesting against NAMA? For protesting against the quick fire, cheap sale of Wexford homes?

Little CuChulainn, don't put words in my mouth. I watched the videos, numerous times, still by still, analysed them and then provided my feedback, of which I'm allowed to do, I haven't admitted anything.

And, to add further, just because I know person involved, doesn't mean I don't have a right to have an opinion on the matter. In my opinion, that man is a thug for what he done, which is far less worse than what some of you on here have called my father.

Again, if anyone was there, please make contact with me.

Well done to all of you for your actions the other day. I hope your Dad is going to be okay as it looked like a desperate uncalled for assault from a member of our police force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Peaceful protest mehole, yer man got his come-upponce.

Comeuppance for what exactly? Do you even know what you're talking about? Or are you just barstooling?

Do you realise that the arrested man had been led away before this happened? Do you realise that the old man was just standing at the Garda's side attempting to speak with him when he shoved causing him (and the girl beside him) to fall?

Can you explain why you feel the Garda was justified in beating a man with a baton that was of no threat to him or anyone else present?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Comeuppance for what exactly? Do you even know what you're talking about? Or are you just barstooling?

Do you realise that the arrested man had been led away before this happened? Do you realise that the old man was just standing at the Garda's side attempting to speak with him when he shoved causing him (and the girl beside him) to fall?

Can you explain why you feel the Garda was justified in beating a man with a baton that was of no threat to him or anyone else present?

Get up out of that with that logic it has no place on boards. The old man was at a protest so deserved a beat down apparently don't you know.

If we could see what, if anything, the man was up to behind the Garda, it might show a different picture. A poster claiming to be the mans son, suggested there is a second video, but hasn't provided a link to it.

i have watched the vids . i guess it all comes down to perspective

if you were on of 4 gardai being abused threatened and shoved around by forty experienced professional protesters how would you feel ?

ignore my questions much ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

Comeuppance for what exactly?
    For associating with muppets.

The gard was well within his rights to give a few slaps to that rabble if he felt threatened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

A lot of time those protestors are dicks, and stuff on this thread like "One missed mortgage payment = eviction notice" is bollocks - also I think the guards have a hard job - but this seems like blatant thuggery, with well made points supporting same, so I hope that guard is dealt with appropriately.
    Sorry to read about your dad, Johann - hope he is doing ok. Some guards are assholes.

For associating with muppets.

The gard was well within his rights to give a few slaps to that rabble if he felt threatened.

Ah, barstooling. Just as I thought. Come back when you have a rational reason for your 'opinions'. I won't beholding my breath though.
    If we could see what, if anything, the man was up to behind the Garda, it might show a different picture. A poster claiming to be the mans son, suggested there is a second video, but hasn't provided a link to it.

What could he possibly be up to after just being shoved three times and barely getting to his feet? What could he possibly be up to that would result in the other man / garda having his hand on his shoulder, looking concerned for him and then being fixated on the ground? What could he possibly be up to while still yet having his hands in the air?

I'd like to see the video too mind, but I just don't think it's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭johann johannson

Apologies, I am having trouble downloading it from Facebook, it is there which leads me to....
    MynameJeff appears to know what I post on Facebook, he would have zero problems linking to the video.

And, I already told you, this is not an AMA on reddit. I don't have to answer any questions here.

Ah, barstooling. Just as I thought. Come back when you have a rational reason for your 'opinions'. I won't beholding my breath though.

What could he possibly be up to after just being shoved three times and barely getting to his feet? What could he possibly be up to that would result in the other man / garda having his hand on his shoulder, looking concerned for him and then being fixated on the ground? What could he possibly be up to while still yet having his hands in the air?

Again what makes you think that person is a plainclothes garda ?

The poster who said he was the mans son said there were 2 videos. I've only seen one. In it the man was hit ONCE. At no time did the man have his hands in the air. I am not saying that what happened was right. Just looking for fairness and facts.

Apologies, I am having trouble downloading it from Facebook, it is there which leads me to....
    MynameJeff appears to know what I post on Facebook, he would have zero problems linking to the video.

And, I already told you, this is not an AMA on reddit. I don't have to answer any questions here.

true you dont have to provide any proof or evidence what so ever , just make whatever statements you like instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

There is one angle on the first page of this thread, another on page 3 of this thread, are they the angles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

But you did say you wouldn't be commenting anymore 6 hours ago.

Just wondering why you have changed your mind.

Why are you trolling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

GSOC will have access to all videos including the internal security cameras, as a result going by the shocked look on the detective's face due to his colleagues
    violent behavior the old man has nothing to worry about. The right to protest is a legitimate right under the constitution. Going by some posters on this thread, they would like a referendum to change that.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    fine lets see if you feel like answering questions

what was your father doing there , was his house being repossessed? is he from wexford ? gorey ?
    why di he repeatedly put his hands on a garda in a situation where a crowd was being aggressive.
    did he try to take the mans note book as he clearly seems to do ?
    has he had previous problems with gardai that would be relevant?

his your dad allegedly do fire away im real interested

Do you think the assault was justifies based on the the events as you understand them?

eeepaulo wrote: »
    There is one angle on the first page of this thread, another on page 3 of this thread, are they the angles?

Thanks, eeepaulo. I think the Garda will be cleared of any wrongdoing. How the Hell they are expected to carry out their duties with this thuggery going on is beyond belief. As for the poor Hotel manager, really felt sorry for him. The "peaceful" protesters were out for trouble. Nothing more, nothing less.

yes there wrote: »
    Why are you trolling?

How is this trolling?

The poster threw out accusations about this and that and then said they wont be commenting anymore.

Now their back I just want to know why they changed their mind.

I cant understand how this is seen as "trolling"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

How is this trolling?

The poster threw out accusations about this and that and then said they wont be commenting anymore.

Now their back I just want to know why they changed their mind.

I cant understand how this is seen as "trolling"

Jesus what a concern...

Curiosity is all.

The poster who said he was the mans son said there were 2 videos. I've only seen one. In it the man was hit ONCE. At no time did the man have his hands in the air. I am not saying that what happened was right. Just looking for fairness and facts.

No matter what the second video reveals, the man was unfairly viciously assaulted by someone who is supposed to serve us. I don't know why you seem so fixated on the second video.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Again what makes you think that person is a plainclothes garda ?

1) He appears to have taken part in the arrest at the 3m15s mark.
    2) He tackles the Garda and stops any further beating of the man at the 3m48s mark.

I provided you with a link to show that the man's hands were both held up, they were not hidden from view is the point. You suggested he could have been up to something and I am asking you what (given those circumstances) could that have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I wonder if people are watching the same video? How anyone can say the guy deserved it is beyond me. Garda has obviously lost control, doesn't know what to do and decides to lash out at the nearest person. Would make me ask the question, has this guy done it before, can he handle pressure situations?
    It's a tough job being a garda, but it's not an excuse. Lots of tough jobs out there. All gardai hitting people for no reason do is make people lose respect for the badge.

Thanks, eeepaulo. I think the Garda will be cleared of any wrongdoing. How the Hell they are expected to carry out their duties with this thuggery going on is beyond belief. As for the poor Hotel manager, really felt sorry for him. The "peaceful" protesters were out for trouble. Nothing more, nothing less.

The garda was clearly out to exert some authority. Itching to get his baton out he was. Ironically probably because he isn't got it out at home.