Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Currently trawling the Book of Leviticus, which is part of Christian canon, to quote some verses to BoJack. The same verses which resulted in the church's horrific treatment of single mothers, homosexuals, "wayward" children etc.

Anyone who denies that Christian scripture contains just as much evil bullsh!t as Islamic scripture is being deliberately obtuse. It's well known that half of the old testament is full of utterly hateful sh!te, which Christians simply choose to ignore. As a Christian, I'm happy to regard it as non-canon since most of it directly conflicts with Jesus' own words, as BoJack has rightly stated - but this doesn't change the fact that the organisation of the church believes these texts to be canonical, and that they form the basis for all of the evil things Christianity has inflicted on the world, from Magdalene laundries to the Westboro Baptist Church.

I can't honestly believe we're having a genuine debate here about whether or not fundamental Christianity has as much violent, evil sh!t in it as fundamental Islam. Face it, the world 2000 years ago was a barbaric, savage place compared to the modern day, and all religions which stem from that time contain large elements of that savagery in their instructional texts. There is no way of getting around this without twisting or omitting the truth, so why are we even arguing about it?

I agree, the Christian back catalogue is just as much of a horror show as that on which Islam is based. In fact, much of islamic teaching is chapter and verse plagiarism from Jewish and Christian texts. The difference is that it would be foolish to claim that, right now, Islamic teaching is being utilised to perpetrate and justify violence in a way that Christianity hasn't seen in quite a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

leavingirl wrote: »
    We have freedom of speech right? We live in the free world.

What does that have to do with anything? You're saying "question everything" about people being murdered... What in the feck are you questioning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I find it quite alarming how quickly this has turned into a debate about Islam and even ISIS.

Can I just post an actual fact here, which bears repeating:

Nobody has claimed responsibility, the authorities have nothing yet but theories on who might have been involved based on precedent, no suspect has yet been taken alive or identified as belonging to any nationality or religion.

Seriously, how are all of you Muslim bashers going to feel if the scumbags involved in this attack turn out to be more European supremacists like that lunatic from Norway a couple of years ago, or Chechen rebels, or Basque separatists, or any number of other active threats aside from Islamists?

I'm not saying it isn't them, I'm just saying we have no proof. I'm rather alarmed at how easily the world is jumping to conclusions based on absolutely nothing except instinct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I find it quite alarming how quickly this has turned into a debate about Islam and even ISIS.

Nobody has claimed responsibility, the authorities have nothing yet but theories on who might have been involved based on precedent, no suspect has yet been taken alive or identified as belonging to any nationality or religion.

Seriously, how are all of you Muslim bashers going to feel if the scumbags involved in this attack turn out to be more European supremacists like that lunatic from Norway a couple of years ago, or Chechen rebels, or Basque separatists, or any number of other active threats aside from Islamists?

I'm not saying it isn't them, I'm just saying we have no proof. I'm rather alarmed at how easily the world is jumping to conclusions based on absolutely nothing except instinct.

IS have seemingly claimed responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

LOL

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

ISIS have claimed responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

yep thats correct, but you still didn't answer the question

what is it you want to question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

And have envoked the prophet in their statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Saipanne wrote: »
    I think we all should head over to Syria and hug it out.

Or we could all cop ourselves on a wee bit, but there's little hope of that ever happening is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

sunyag wrote: »
    Do you want to take a bet?

I want to bet him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

Slow handclap for all the posters stupid enough or twisted enough to give exactly the kind of response of fear and division that this cowardly murderous scum target.

Proud of ye.

And the alternative? Doing nothing and leaving the borders as easily penetrated as currently is?

Even if these fighters were not foreign to France, we've had reports of Germany and Italy both finding ISIS fighters on their territory. We've had reports of Norway almost taking ISIS fighters in as a refugee group when the UN "vetted" them (the only reason they found them in the first place was because Norway sent their own investigators).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Reported last night that one attacker shot dead in the bataclan told the cops before he was shot I am from Isis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I still cannot find any media showing people with bad injuries. Not nice to see but we need to question everything. I remember after the Boston event, the video of the guy on the wheelchair with no legs being wheeled into shot was replayed over and over again...

So please upload them if anyone can find something. With a warning of course.

Sightly retarded but here you go - just to shut you up:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pN8ulRLHSvo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

They have been reported to have done so recently, in fact. My apologies, my information was several hours out of date.
    Saipanne wrote: »
    LOL

This, ladies and gentlemen, is how you post a reasoned and well executed rebuttal. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

We don't have freedom of speech in ireland or boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭kleefarr

screamer wrote: »
    Reported last night that one attacker shot dead in the bataclan told the cops before he was shot I am from Isis

Did he mention his thanks for opening the borders to them?

First of many I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

yep thats correct, but you still didn't answer the question

what is it you want to question

Well it's early days yet. No investigation.

Do you believe the official 911 report?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,396 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I still cannot find any media showing people with bad injuries. Not nice to see but we need to question everything. I remember after the Boston event, the video of the guy on the wheelchair with no legs being wheeled into shot was replayed over and over again...

So please upload them if anyone can find something. With a warning of course.

The insensitivity and downright stupidity of some people never fails to amaze me. You seriously won't believe that over 120 died last night until you see some blood splattered pictures? I suggest that you go look somewhere else because this probably isn't the site to satisfy your prurient curiosity on.

Wtf has freedom of speech got to do with gore porn? Your request has absolutely nothing to do with freedom of speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

It was ISIS. They just claimed responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

screamer wrote: »

IS reported to be claiming responsibility
    It has been reported that the so-called Islamic State has claimed responsibility for the Paris attacks that have killed 128 people and injured 200 others.
    It is believed 99 of the injured are in a critical condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

your fact even though its written in big black letter ,is in fact wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The ignore feature is there to be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Witnesses said attackers shouted allahu akbar before they opened fire on the bar..sounds like white supremacists to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

France only recently carried out operations in central Africa/Mali. You think France's budgetary requirements will stop them using weapons they've already bought and paid for? I'm quite sure the French military would be only too glad to massacre Daesh for free after this attack.

People like to think all of Europe is somehow militarily emasculated, but France (and Britain) are still world powers with tremendous power projection capability. France is currently engaged in carrying out airstrikes against ISIS, and they're re-deploying the CdG to the Gulf. No doubt they're going to be a little more intense in their air campaign this time.

I think we should let the Israelis and Russians sort this 1 out. The EU countries aren't up for a war, well maybe they are.... a pc fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Zaph wrote: »
    The insensitivity and downright stupidity of some people never fails to amaze me. You seriously won't believe that over 120 died last night until you see some blood splattered pictures? I suggest that you go look somewhere else because this probably isn't the site to satisfy your prurient curiosity on.

Wtf has freedom of speech got to do with gore porn? Your request has absolutely nothing to do with freedom of speech.

You have a lot of posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭LincolnsBeard

This, ladies and gentlemen, is how you post a reasoned and well executed rebuttal. :rolleyes:

'Ladies and gentlemen'? How dare you presume to know the gender identities of people on this forum? When you have surveyed every user in this thread and found out what they self-identify as, then you can use terms such as 'ladies and gentlemen' if applicable. Until then, hold your horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

Do you have a link to this USMC deployment to Syria?
    I doubt it,the ghoul doesnt seem to know to use a search engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

You have a lot of posts.
    You talk a lot of shite...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Sariah

Sky News seem to be reporting that Isis have taken responsibility for the attack