Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

leavingirl wrote: »
    I still cannot find any media showing people with bad injuries. Not nice to see but we need to question everything. I remember after the Boston event, the video of the guy on the wheelchair with no legs being wheeled into shot was replayed over and over again...

So please upload them if anyone can find something. With a warning of course.

Right. Do you need any lubricants to go with your request?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

More research.... less emoticons... t'would be a more fruitful use of your time.

As I said, if you want to vent on christianity, read up on what the big JC had to say himself.
    Give his followers that much respect at least.

Sorry, but Christians see the bible as the word of god,
    You can't claim old testament isn't relevant when Christians use the creation story in it along with other content as part of their belief system.

Stop trying to make excuses for a religion that has just as much hatred and death as the Islamic faith does.

kleefarr wrote: »
    Um, a man with grenade at Gatwick I hear.

North terminal evacuated. Grenade and handgun found in luggage. All unconfirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

Nonsense. Of course "local" issues effect us more. That's true of everyone, completely natural.

well people should analyse their thoughts more, instead of spewing out stuff they'll come to regret. How many contributors to this thread already regret what they have said in a knee-kerk reaction?, quite a good number I'd say.

we can't allow ourselves to get into a mindset that places a greater weight or value on French/European/Christian lives than those of other faiths or nationalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Amirani wrote: »
    The US hasn't invaded Syria. Saddam invaded Kuwait and Iran pre the US invasion of Iraq. He also gassed and bombed the **** out of the Kurds. Assad has bombed the **** out of various groups in Syria.

Not trying to validate American actions, but to paint the Arab world as some garden of peace where nobody "invades or threatens" anyone else is just wrong.

Tell that to someone living in Syria. A 20 yr old marine in full combat gear and his buddies knocks down your door and roughs you up in your homeland. To the Syrian person what would they call that? A visit? Cop yourself on. You call yourself a moderator in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I still cannot find any media showing people with bad injuries. Not nice to see but we need to question everything. I remember after the Boston event, the video of the guy on the wheelchair with no legs being wheeled into shot was replayed over and over again...

People coming out the back of the Bataclan (warning, not pleasant viewing)

http://www.lemonde.fr/attaques-a-paris/article/2015/11/14/daniel-psenny-journaliste-au-monde-j-ai-senti-comme-un-petard-qui-explosait-dans-mon-bras_4809665_4809495.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Tell that to someone living in Syria. A 20 yr old marine in full combat gear and his buddies knocks down your door and roughs you up in your homeland. To the Syrian person what would they call that? A visit? Cop yourself on. You call yourself a moderator in here.

Do you have a link to this USMC deployment to Syria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

are you for real

what is it you want to question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Cabaal wrote: »
    You can't claim old testament isn't relevant when Christians use the creation story in it along with other content as part of their belief system.

Stop trying to make excuses for a religion that has just as much hatred and death as the Islamic faith does.
    I suppose the biggest difference in the main protagonists....

Jesus was a poor preacher who espoused love and charity.

Mohammed was a warlord who espoused conquest.

Edit: just to say, both propositions are absolute bollox from beginning to end.

Mesrine65 wrote: »

1988!

And the invasion was in 2003. Right

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What marines are there in Syria? You don't seem to have a clue what you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I think France are going to go postal in the middle east,it's too much now.
    I think Tora bora is going to be Disney land compared to France's reaction to this.

Okay, the French blew up a Greenpeace ship before, but lets be realistic here. The French aren't up for a fight I'm afraid, they are all but bankrupt. Their day has come and gone. The terrorists know this, easy pickings to be had. There is a war on and the French don't want to be in it, therefore this can only go 1 way....expect more success for the ISIS & co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

While I am a huge fan of looking behind the curtain to see who pulls the strings I find the kneejerk response among alt-media types to see ''false flags'' everywhere is repulsive. It gives investigative journalism and any purported intellectual rigour the non-mainstream media suggests it has a bad name. It does not make people look smart or canny, just idiotic. Innocent people were massacred in Paris last night. By cowardly despicable terrorist extremists who feel they are justified in an asymmetrial war. That is just a fact. It does not need to be questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,613 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

North terminal evacuated. Grenade and handgun found in luggage. All unconfirmed.

Confirmed on the Gatwick official twitter account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

ISIL are claiming responsibility according to Al Jazeera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

are you for real

She thinks this is all made up by the CIA and Mossad. Read back over her posts on this thread and you can see her mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

kleefarr wrote: »
    Um, a man with grenade at Gatwick I hear.
    Nothing major being reported, North Terminal evacuated due to an "incident", but none of the big stations are making a big deal of it. No confirmation that any actual live weapons are there.

There's a similar pattern in the wake of incidents like this where there's a tendency to overreact or over-report on seemingly minor incidents. It doesn't help that it also tends to attract the attention-seeking crazies who decide now is the best time to hold a bomb hoax in an airport.

London for weeks after the tube bombings had "major" security incidents at tube stations practically every day which turned out to be nothing more than people freaking out about abandoned shopping bags. And it's this kind of hair-trigger paranoia which led to the death of Jean Charles de Menezes.

Do you have a link to this USMC deployment to Syria?

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct/30/syria-us-deployment-troops-obama-special-operations

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-30847689

Traning the 'rebels' since January! The rebels?!They are bad lads but not bad bad lads like ISIS.

Fcuk sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

_Brian wrote: »
    Im interested in hearing from those who blame every Muslim and feel every person who associates with Islam is a threat and problem. How would you proceed??

Close all European borders for a start dont take in any refugees.

Would USA have taken in refugees from in such numbers from Vietnam when that war was ongoing with no questions asked?

The USA, Russia, China would never allow thousands of people flow from an area of extreme terrorist activity and arrogantly assume all they let in will be sound and wont want to launch any attack or spread terrorist idealogy.

Europe is unique in this regard. We are just that tick.

I know the argument people will say to the above. That extremists are the problem but the brutal reality is you cant tell the difference so if you going to continue such a policy then we should just budget for deaths by terrorism and accept as a permanent issue. The same way some places in the world are more prone to tornados, Tsunamis, Europe is more prone to terrorism as this how choose it to be.

If 1000,000 muslim refugees enter Europe and only 1% have extremist views and likely to commit an attack, that is 10000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Cabaal wrote: »

Currently trawling the Book of Leviticus, which is part of Christian canon, to quote some verses to BoJack. The same verses which resulted in the church's horrific treatment of single mothers, homosexuals, "wayward" children etc.

Anyone who denies that Christian scripture contains just as much evil bullsh!t as Islamic scripture is being deliberately obtuse. It's well known that half of the old testament is full of utterly hateful sh!te, which Christians simply choose to ignore. As a Christian, I'm happy to regard it as non-canon since most of it directly conflicts with Jesus' own words, as BoJack has rightly stated - but this doesn't change the fact that the organisation of the church believes these texts to be canonical, and that they form the basis for all of the evil things Christianity has inflicted on the world, from Magdalene laundries to the Westboro Baptist Church.

I can't honestly believe we're having a genuine debate here about whether or not fundamental Christianity has as much violent, evil sh!t in it as fundamental Islam. Face it, the world 2000 years ago was a barbaric, savage place compared to the modern day, and all religions which stem from that time contain large elements of that savagery in their instructional texts. There is no way of getting around this without twisting or omitting the truth, so why are we even arguing about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭thomasj

Isis claiming responsibility
    From guardian
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2015/nov/14/paris-terror-attacks-attackers-dead-mass-killing-live-updates
    Eight brothers carrying explosive belts and guns targeted areas in the heart of the French capital that were specifically chosen in advance: the Stade de France during a match against Germany which that imbecile François Hollande was attending; the Bataclan where hundreds of idolaters were together in a party of perversity as well as other targets in the 10th, 11th and 18th arrondissement

France and those who follow its path must know that they remain the principle targets of the Islamic State.
    ..having dared insult our Prophet, having bragged about fighting Islam in France and striking Muslims in the Caliphate with their planes which have not helped them in any way in the ill-smelling streets of Paris.

This attack is just the start of a storm and a warning for those who wish to draw lessons.

While I am a huge fan of looking behind the curtain to see who pulls the strings I find the kneejerk response among alt-media types to see ''false flags'' everywhere is repulsive. It gives investigative journalism and any purported intellectual rigour the non-mainstream media suggests it has a bad name. It does not make people look smart or canny, just idiotic. Innocent people were massacred in Paris last night. By cowardly despicable terrorist extremists who feel they are justified in an asymmetrial war. That is just a fact. It does not need to be questioned.

Knee-jerk reactions. Now that's funny.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Confirmed on the Gatwick official twitter account.

From what I can see, they're just confirming that there was an incident, but not anything specific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Slow handclap for all the posters stupid enough or twisted enough to give exactly the kind of response of fear and division that this cowardly murderous scum target.

Proud of ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

seamus wrote: »
    Nothing major being reported, North Terminal evacuated due to an "incident", but none of the big stations are making a big deal of it. No confirmation that any actual live weapons are there.

There's a similar pattern in the wake of incidents like this where there's a tendency to overreact or over-report on seemingly minor incidents. It doesn't help that it also tends to attract the attention-seeking crazies who decide now is the best time to hold a bomb hoax in an airport.

London for weeks after the tube bombings had "major" security incidents at tube stations practically every day which turned out to be nothing more than people freaking out about abandoned shopping bags. And it's this kind of hair-trigger paranoia which led to the death of Jean Charles de Menezes.

Entire week of 9/11 involved the mainstream media repeatedly carrying stories of suspicious planes, suspiciously parked cars, ominous unconfirmed threats, suspected lone gunmen, etc. It's part and parcel of this type of incident at this stage.

are you for real

We have freedom of speech right? We live in the free world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Slow handclap for all the posters stupid enough or twisted enough to give exactly the kind of response of fear and division that this cowardly murderous scum target.

Proud of ye.

I think we all should head over to Syria and hug it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Just seen that clip on Sky,apparently the reporter shooting the video got shot at as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

Rightwing wrote: »
    Okay, the French blew up a Greenpeace ship before, but lets be realistic here. The French aren't up for a fight I'm afraid, they are all but bankrupt. Their day has come and gone. The terrorists know this, easy pickings to be had. There is a war on and the French don't want to be in it, therefore this can only go 1 way....expect more success for the ISIS & co.

France only recently carried out operations in central Africa/Mali. You think France's budgetary requirements will stop them using weapons they've already bought and paid for? I'm quite sure the French military would be only too glad to massacre Daesh for free after this attack.

People like to think all of Europe is somehow militarily emasculated, but France (and Britain) are still world powers with tremendous power projection capability. France is currently engaged in carrying out airstrikes against ISIS, and they're re-deploying the CdG to the Gulf. No doubt they're going to be a little more intense in their air campaign this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

She thinks this is all made up by the CIA and Mossad. Read back over her posts on this thread and you can see her mentality.

If you were watching the news late last night you'd know that the objective of these terrorists was to kill. And they did. There were some poor f*ckers being dragged out screaming in pain by their arms and legs by the firemen who had run out of stretchers. The only dignity afforded them a space blanket. You'd have seen the paramedics wiping down the stretchers between uses and you'd know that the majority of those badly injured died in the buildings. I think there is far too much of this show me the evidence crap going on. Those are real people who have been brutalized and should be allowed dignity rather than have images if them in tragic states beamed around the world so some gob****es can say ah now I believe it. Pathetic.