Oppressed? Rrrrrrrreally?????

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Medusa22 wrote: »
    This reminds me, I had my first taste of waffles at the weekend when I was in my friend's house. I tried them with bacon and maple syrup and I was very hesitant, I always thought the Americans were mad with their waffles and bacon and maple syrup. It turns out I was wrong, oh how I was wrong! Somehow this bizarre combination is a little piece of heaven, and I will never criticise the Americans for their wonderful waffle concoctions again.

I don't get why people can't wrap their head around it. Meat plus sweet is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Old Jakey wrote: »
    Soon Brits will need to ask the local iman for permission to drink a pint of ale and eat a pork pie.

The hilarious thing is the liberal types love to hear about these areas even though gays and women have no rights. Can't make this **** up.

Gays and women have exactly the same rights as they would in an area that wasn't populated by a high number of Muslims. Your rights don't magically disappear due to the ethnic make-up of a particular area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Soon Brits will need to ask the local iman for permission to drink a pint of ale and eat a pork pie.

The hilarious thing is the liberal types love to hear about these areas even though gays and women have no rights. Can't make this **** up.

Lived in Britain for 8 years, 4 of the last in a predominantly Muslim area. My local shop sells beer and bacon. We'll be grand.

Have fun wearing your burka.

I look fabulous in black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Yeah cos there isn't millions of muslims invading Europe right this second. Have fun wearing your burka.

And the 2015 Joseph Goebbels award; for innovation in propaganda, hysteria and fear mongering goes to the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

kylith wrote: »
    Pubs shut in an area where a lot of people don't drink? Pork products difficult to come by in an area where the majority don't eat pork? Colour me fckin' astounded.

It's hard to find Murphy's outside Cork, you know.

First they came for the Cha and 'Miah VHS casettes, and I said nothing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

But you are making this up!

Mmm. Maybe I've defriended all the wrong people and don't read the right papers but WTF is the "Starbucks hysteria"?

Star Bucks usually put Holly and reìndeer and snow flakes on their coffee cups at Christmas. This year they have gone minimalist with plain red and white cups. Muricas Christians have reacted against this attack on Christmas because ummmmmm Jesus = Snow flakes ....... or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

kneemos wrote: »
    It's the internet.Not only does everyone have an asshole,but every asshole has a voice.

Can we get this epic quote automatically inserted into every web browser's code, so that it appears right before a "post comment" button on any website one visits?

I overheard an animated tinfoil hat type going into one about the influx of refugees is being allowed into Europe. He reckons it's to cause massive disruption "violent disruption, at that" to quote him, so that governments can clamp down with more control.

He then proceeded to talk about wearing a tinfoil hat. No word of a lie.

Some people are just a bit mental, and some of them realise it too, which is quite disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Yeah cos there isn't millions of muslims invading Europe right this second. Have fun wearing your burka.

If we go with the part highlighted in bold you are correct.

Otherwise you are a raving lunatic.

It's only a few words, the difference. Plenty of scope for becoming sane. Don't give up hope.

Star Bucks usually put Holly and reìndeer and snow flakes on their coffee cups at Christmas. This year they have gone minimalist with plain red and white cups. Muricas Christians have reacted against this attack on Christmas because ummmmmm Jesus = Snow flakes ....... or something.

Get with the programme, starbucks hate baby jesus and have banned ham and cheese sandwiches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

I havent read the whole thing ie the 7 PhD of stuff. But that OP made no sense. All I got is apparently us irish love a drink (stereotype) and bacon sandwiches. Sorry.

trixychic wrote: »
    I havent read the whole thing ie the 7 PhD of stuff. But that OP made no sense. All I got is apparently us irish love a drink (stereotype) and bacon sandwiches. Sorry.
    And the Longford and Cotehill ISIS cells are out to stop us.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I don't get why people can't wrap their head around it. Meat plus sweet is lovely.

I keep telling my wife that, but there's no fooling her.

And the Longford and Cotehill ISIS cells are out to stop us.

If you are nipping out to do your Xmas shopping, wear the burka, just in case.

The Taliban have been spotted patrolling Grafton st.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Just in case we need more humor in this thread http://www.sickipedia.org/search?q=Isis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Yes, the less than 5% of the UK that is muslim is due to take over any day now. Maybe they'll give us the north back when they do because it's such a vanguard of Christianity.

Considering the muslim population was close to 0% not that long ago it is a lot more shocking than the joke you're making it out to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

wakka12 wrote: »
    Considering the muslim population was close to 0% not that long ago it is a lot more shocking than the joke you're making it out to be

Yes, it was closer to 0% before went back to a couple of the old colonies that they'd plundered and said "here lads, will yiz come over to Britain? You can settle and work there for a much better life than you'd get here." A few hundred thousand of them said yes and the rest is history. You'd swear they multiplied in a petri dish the way some people talk about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Get with the programme, starbucks hate baby jesus and have banned ham and cheese sandwiches.

What? They've banned cheeses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Pherekydes wrote: »
    What? They've banned cheeses?

Just the baby cheeses, you know the little ones like babybel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Candie wrote: »
    I look fabulous in black.

That's good. The way things are looking you might actually be wearing one soon.

Where are you looking from?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Where are you looking from?

The progressive, tolerant United Caliphate of Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Candie wrote: »
    What's the justification for the snide reply to that poster?

Because its true, if somebody considers themselves strongly secular and with the belief that women and LGBT people have the right to act and dress and behave in the whatever way that most pleases them without judgement they wouldn't have liked the area that I lived in.

I moved out and stayed in an ethnically mixed area of South London and loved it (as I said to LDN_Irish I only lived there for a short time, if had just lived in South,North or West London I would never have felt this way about the city), I'm not Islamaphobic as I said in my first post more secular and integrated areas with people of an Islamic background (Turkish) I would have liked to live in and I found the local Muslim community deeply respectful and law-abiding, to coin a terminology I dislike, I'm a straight Cis male though.
    I hope I wouldn't be called anti-Christian for not wanting to live in the US bible belt.

Ironically when I was searching for what the place that used to be a cinema I found this ,its the place that I was talking about and has rather changed my opinion of it

Its a very positive thing but when a religious institution feels its a necessary to invite Police and hold regular anti radicalization seminars its a sign that there is issues in the local area. Just google terms relating to these issue and Newham (borough) and you will get loads of results.

edit: to be hammer the point home (I mentioned it in a previous post), I don't think this would be an issue in Ireland because for all our faults we have seemed to avoided the creation of racial and ethnic ghetto's (class based ghetto's we do like though :( ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I moved out and stayed in an ethnically mixed area of South London and loved it (as I said to LDN_Irish I only lived there for a short time, if had just lived in South,North or West London I would never have felt this way about the city), I'm not Islamaphobic as I said in my first post more secular and integrated areas with people of an Islamic background (Turkish) I would have liked to live in and I found the local Muslim community deeply respectful and law-abiding, to coin a terminology I dislike, I'm a straight Cis male though.
    I hope I wouldn't be called anti-Christian for not wanting to live in the US bible belt.

Ironically when I was searching for what the place that used to be a cinema I found this ,its the place that I was talking about and has rather changed my opinion of it

*SNIP*

edit: to be hammer the point home (I mentioned it in a previous post), I don't think this would be an issue in Ireland because for all our faults we have seemed to avoided the creation of racial and ethnic ghetto's (class based ghetto's we do like though :( ).

Sorry, I didn't reply to you because I thought a red card meant you couldn't post on the thread again.

Coincidentally, I've lived in Forest Gate and erm, well, you've got a point. I mean, you can definitely get rashers there (British rashers are ****e though so you may not want to!) I also prefer South London. What I think contributes to the issue is that a lot of the anti-islam contributors to the topic are just motivated by prejudice. A lot of the pro-islam (to simplify the term a bit too much) are just motivated by complete naivety of what the Quran teaches and an opposition to perceived prejudice/phobia on the other side. The middle ground contributors like myself get lost in what's basically become another proxy war between the left and right like so many other issues like drugs, welfare, taxation etc etc. Like I'm left wing, I've plenty of friends of different races and religions, so I probably fit the profile for what often gets labeled an SJW on here but I've actually read the Quran and it's horrific. I hate it. But I've never actually met a muslim who lives by the worst verses in it. I don't know any who support killing gay people or support suicide bombing etc. They contextualise the bat**** stuff in there the same way the vast majority of western Christians due for the worse parts of the testaments. But then often muslims won't even admit that there are any verses that are completely incompatible with modern life and accuse others of taking the verses out of context, I suppose because it's meant to be the literal word of god its quite hard to admit that large swathes of it are ****ing ludicrous.

It's a tough issue. It's not helped by the incorrigible positions of people on either side.

Edit: you're bang on about Ireland having done a much better job of not ghettoizing the place. It's a very different situation here though. Ireland didn't colonise places and then invite hundreds of thousands of labourers to a hostile environment with a huge far right movement that hated the newcomers. It makes a huge difference. I think we can avoid that entire issue of racial tension that's had such a lasting effect on Britain that has its roots in the 60's and 70's. This is another thing that people in Ireland don't really understand unless they've spent a lot of time in Britain and understand the history. It's not as simple as ethnic minorities = victims of white people who only have legitimate grievances or white people = victims of problems with ethnic minorities that the current generation of white people had nothing to do with.

The truth is blurred and sways between the middle of those positions and to be honest, I find it quote embarrassing watching a lot of Irish people pontificating on the subject because it's very obvious to anyone who has spent time in Britain that they're just picking either the Guardian or the Daily Mail and running with their party lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

jimgoose wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Candie View Post
    That's not happening in London or anywhere else in the UK, nor is it happening anytime 'soon'...
    You know, I have a notion that what is happening here-and-there is that many Muslim women, particularly the younger ones, are getting on with education and careers, integrating nicely with Western society, and telling the bearded, shrieking Imam types to shunt off. Just as well - you haven't tasted lamb unless it's served by a Tuareg. We need a few more Bedouin Arabs knocking about, those guys are cool.

That sounds good but is it true? Talking about the UK isn't the actual evidence both yes and no?
    We generally expect younger generations to be more secular than the older.
    Just using the Guardian as a source (there is plenty of Telegraph or Mail links that could be used but those would be rejected as unworthy sources whereas the Guardian is definitely on the social Left).

Despite an overall willingness to engage with the mainstream, the poll identified a potentially divisive generation gap. On a range of issues from integration to identity, young Muslims had a closer affinity with their faith than their parents' generation. Forty-one per cent of Muslims under 34 said they defined themselves first and foremost as Muslim, compared with 30% of over-35s. The young were also more likely to say that their community was too integrated.

In the survey of 1,003 Muslims by the polling company Populus through internet and telephone questionnaires, nearly 60% said they would prefer to live under British law, while 37% of 16 to 24-year-olds said they would prefer sharia law, against 17% of those over 55. Eighty-six per cent said their religion was the most important thing in their lives.

Nearly a third of 16 to 24-year-olds believed that those converting to another religion should be executed

In a poll conducted for the Channel 4 documentary, only half the British Muslims questioned said they thought of Britain as "my country", whereas nearly a quarter said they thought of it as "their country" - meaning someone else's. The younger respondents were, the greater the alienation. Shockingly, one in three British Muslims aged between 18 and 24 said they would rather live under Sharia law than under British law. In a Pew poll of Muslims worldwide, a gob-smacking 81% of British Muslims said they thought of themselves as a Muslim first and a citizen of their country only second. This is a higher proportion than in Jordan, Egypt or Turkey, and exceeded only by that in Pakistan (87%). By contrast, only 46% of French Muslims said they were Muslims first, compared with 42% who felt themselves first and foremost citizen

2005 - General opinion piece about the generational divide

Positive pieces

83% of Muslims are proud to be a British citizen, compared to 79% of the general public

Whereas the lives of many first- and second-generation Muslims centre on the family and the local mosque, younger Muslims revealed themselves to be better disposed to contribute directly to British society and culture

The difference of views between younger and older British Muslims regarding the role of men and women in society is stark, according to new findings shared with the Guardian from the thinktank Demos, with more than half of 16- to 24-year-olds disagreeing with the statement: “A husband’s job is to earn money, a wife’s job is to look after the home and family.” Fewer than 24% agreed. In contrast, 50% of those respondents aged 55 or older agreed with the statement, while less than 17% disagreed

This is in no way a coherent examination of the issues, just me spending 15 minutes doing a quick search on the Guardian, but even that shows there is a much more complex picture.
    To me I think there is a Cultural clash waiting to happen between those in the wider left who incorporate their religious identity is part of their political system and those people who are anti-Theist/strongly pro-Secular.
    The research found young Muslims view restrictions on the expression of their religious identity, such as wearing the hijab, as an abuse of human rights rather than as obstructing a wider, political Islamic cause.
    There is plenty of poster on here who view the idea of any religious bodies being involved in education even if the core syllabus is covered and non-religious parents have options for appropriate schools of their choice. Personally I can see the wider Islamic community in Britain moving towards the Conservatives as the Hindu community does (if the Conservative play their cards right), A future leader (Borris Johnson) ancestors were Turkish Bey's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

kneemos wrote: »
    No.
    It was our own homegrown zealots.
    Well it was probably both.
    LDN_Irish wrote:
    The truth is blurred and sways between the middle of those positions and to be honest, I find it quote embarrassing watching a lot of Irish people pontificating on the subject because it's very obvious to anyone who has spent time in Britain that they're just picking either the Guardian or the Daily Mail and running with their party lines.
    Well said. Some of the black and white stuff circulating the internet at the moment from both the right AND the left is just head-brickwall stuff. It makes those somewhere in the middle just not bother.
    It is obviously unfair to tar all muslims with the fundamentalist brush (and Irish people were experiencing the same in the UK less than 40 years ago) including clearly suffering refugees.
    But there's nothing wrong with being concerned about islamic fundamentalism either - sometimes people are being a bit too right-on and not wanting to acknowledge it at all.

And yeah, if an islamic fundamentalist (or anyone) is living in another country and bitching and moaning about that country, then they CAN fuq off home tbh.