Nice and not so nice famous people that you have either met or heard stories about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

I've met Michael Van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Dave Chisnall, Steve Beaton, Peter Wright, Robert Thornton, Ian White, Michael Smith etc. etc. and have had drinks with them and lots of other darts players. Almost all great craic

do darts players qualify as famous
    to darts fans maybe
    but they're not exactly celebrities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

colm_mcm wrote: »
    He's not really Bob either. his name is Robert.

Split the difference? Bobert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Charlie Haughey, on holidays, several times over a few days.
    Very social, charming and inclusive. Butter wouldn't melt in his mouth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭huey1975

lukesmom wrote: »
    Martin kemp from Spandau ballet an absolute gentleman of the highest degree. Met him in Dublin and he stopped and chatted to me for about 190 minutes, was really open and lovely.

Niamh kavanagh ex Eurovision winner met her around the time she won, I was just a kid and in awe of her and she was so good to me.

Ray darcy - met him when I was a kid. Queued up in supermacs and got his autograph he was sound and really friendly to everybody.

Edit meant to say 10 minutes not 190!

My wife brings Ray Darcy into the living room every Saturday evening and I think he is a stuttering mumbling condescending pontificating prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I Saw Pauline McLynn when she was performing in The Taming of the Shrew in Glor in Ennis a few years ago, and I got her autograph afterwards. She was very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Did you? (Buy it)

nope

had it already on download :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Frankie Dettori is an absolute ignorant ...fella!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭buyer95

Pat Short, absolute gent, a lovely man. Knocked across him a few times over the years, always up for the chat and craic.

Met the boys from the band Hudson Taylor after a gig of theirs I went to when they happened to be playing s gig in Berlin the weekend I was there. We were the only Irish there, they came out and had a drink after the gig, had a good chat with them, very down to earth guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

Have seen a few famous people over the years but never approached them.

They're just people for feck sake. I'd feel like a right eejit goung over to someone I don't know personally and just bothering them for the sake of it.

I reckon Daft Punk have the right idea. Those helmets are genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

NothingMan wrote: »
    Met a few Irish celebs over the years and couldn't say I ever found anything unpleasant. Had to set up some IT equipment for Evelyn Cusack a few times and as the last person said, she's lovely and asks all about how you are and "what do you do" etc...

Most famous person I met was Hugh Jackman when I was in Bondi. Saw him walk to a coffee shop and we decided we could go for a coffee. Said hello and he gladly took a pic with us, I went around the other side to squeeze in and he leaned over in front of me, very conspicuous picture. After that just asked him about the new Wolverine film as he was beefed up and had the beard so was obvious he was in the middle of it. Told me he was heading back to Japan shortly to finish off. Shook his hand and went on our way. Never thought I'd be star struck but it was feckin Wolverine!

Pics or GTFO? Guess which one I am?

You gave the answer away when you mentioned his beard, other than that....... very similar build

lanos wrote: »
    do darts players qualify as famous
    to darts fans maybe
    but they're not exactly celebrities

2 other posters have listed the darts players they met.

I would imagine a lot more famous than Ray Darcy, Niamh Kavanagh and others named here...but I can't say for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I fúckin hate Mrs Brown, but Brendan O'Carroll in my experience is as sound as they come - still a Finglas boy at heart.

I also worked in a couple of the better hotels in Dublin during the late 80s early 90s and my memories of the sound celebs include:
    • Richard Harris - was after the Field wrap party, and drank tea all night and chatted for hours with me.
    • Paul McGrath - utter gentleman, great sense of humour
    • Larry Mullen - great lad, no airs or graces
    • Nicole Kidman - lovely, unlike Tom Cruise (they were filming Far and Away at the time) who was very stand-offish, and a bit of a pr1ck
    • Frank Sinatra - told one of his 'entourage' to apologise to me for being a dick, then insisted on buying a drink for me and me drinking it with him!

In my experience, the tossers tended to be the z-list Irish celebs who thought they were the real deal because they'd presented some crappy show tucked away on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

lanos wrote: »
    Gerry Ryan: stuck-up ****

I'm with you on that. I met him years ago and he was an ignorant P***k!

Also met David 'Del Boy' Jason. Absolute and utter gentleman. You couldn't meet nicer. A friend of mine met him a few years later and said the exact same thing.

Probably the most unfriendly person I met was that fella, Matt Lauer, of American TV fame. He's a bit of a gobsheen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

huey1975 wrote: »
    My wife brings Ray Darcy into the living room every Saturday evening and I think he is a stuttering mumbling condescending pontificating prick.

As I said I was a kid about 10 years old and he was lovely to us.

Nicest would be -

Yer man Fran from Love/Hate. Absolute gent.
    Terry Pratchett (despite his worsening condition, he was more than happy to sign a few books)
    Brendan & Domhnail Gleeson
    Bret the Hitman Hart
    Max Brooks (he's a bit up his own arse, but very funny)
    The cyclist Sean Kelly.

.. I'm sure there's more, but can't think of em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Bono - sound guy, chatted to me for a bit about the new Pop album which was about to come out.

Lars and James from Metallica - were recording in Ringsend and were standing outside when I was driving by. Stopped for a chat. Nice guys, Lars was very friendly, James more sarcastic.

JK from Jamiroquai with Denise Van Outen - both a good laugh, chatted with them on the street for a bit.

Evan Dando - backstage in the Village. Cool guy, very polite (he stood up to shake hands)

Elle MacPherson - signing posters at a lingerie launch. She was nice enough.

Terry Christian - from the Word. Drunk in a pub. I asked him where the jacks were. He was nice though!

Mike McCready - guitarist of Pearl Jam. Walking down Grafton Street. Chatted for a bit, he introduced me to his wife! Just a normal guy really, really nice and off he went pushing a buggy.

A B'Witched sister - bit standoffish, even though we were in mutual company.

The Cranberries - met the lads after a flight to San Fran, they were waiting for luggage, meanwhile Dolores had f**ked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Jackie Onassis.....absolute buttery darling of a woman.

Danny Glover...dildo

Sheryl Crow....sweet and cool and all round nice person and babe.

:confused: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Lars and James from Metallica - were recording in Ringsend and were standing outside when I was driving by. Stopped for a chat. Nice guys, Lars was very friendly, James more sarcastic.
    I found the opposite to be the case...

Maybe Lars was having a bad day.

Bryan Adams was on the Late Late last night, seems like a pretty sound bloke, there was a couple of women in the audience completely freaking out over him and one went and sat with him while he was singing, she was younger than me I'd say and she was absolutely going nuts for him and all over him.

I don't honestly get it, I don't get this adulation of celebs as a grown up adult person. I get that people get inspired and it's class to meet your inspiration. But to completely lose your life over another human being just being there I don't get it. I'd much rather sit and have a pint and a chat with someone I admire or who inspires me, than get their autograph and squeal in their company and want to touch them as if they're a god like creature. Kinda weirds me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I was sat next to Eugene TerreBlanche on a flight before & despite his politics, he seemed like an affable, intelligent man.

I imagine it would have been a different outcome if I was a person of colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Cabaal wrote: »
    Met Penn & Teller back in 2009, both very nice. They did a 2hr show and then stood outside and did photos and signings with anyone coming out. Pretty good going!

Did the wee small one (teller I think) actually speak. That act reminds me of laurel and hardy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Jawgap wrote: »
    I fúckin hate Mrs Brown, but Brendan O'Carroll in my experience is as sound as they come - still a Finglas boy at heart.

I also worked in a couple of the better hotels in Dublin during the late 80s early 90s and my memories of the sound celebs include:
    • Richard Harris - was after the Field wrap party, and drank tea all night and chatted for hours with me.
    • Paul McGrath - utter gentleman, great sense of humour
    • Larry Mullen - great lad, no airs or graces
    • Nicole Kidman - lovely, unlike Tom Cruise (they were filming Far and Away at the time) who was very stand-offish, and a bit of a pr1ck
    • Frank Sinatra - told one of his 'entourage' to apologise to me for being a dick, then insisted on buying a drink for me and me drinking it with him!

In my experience, the tossers tended to be the z-list Irish celebs who thought they were the real deal because they'd presented some crappy show tucked away on RTE.
    Woah,that is the definition of a star and pretty cool of the chairman to get him to apologise to you and I imagine he done it pretty sharpish when Frank requested it,was this the time they got Brendan Grace to perform for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Cabaal wrote: »
    Met Penn & Teller back in 2009, both very nice. They did a 2hr show and then stood outside and did photos and signings with anyone coming out. Pretty good going!

Was on stage with them once and Teller wouldn't even speak to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭vagazzled

Graham Linehan, met him one day in the Blanchardstown centre. We were on the same aisle in M&S looking at potato croquettes.
    He was so pleasant and modest. A real gentleman. Made my sons day meeting him too.

Edit- Morrissey, back in 1991, he was lovely too, gave me an interview for our college 'zine. Just bumped into him outside the Shelbourne.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Daniel O'Donnell.
    Genuinely kind man - witnessed him help a woman out in an airport once. No drama. She, I'm sure, had no idea who he was.

Spent a night drinking with Fiona Spence once (who older viewers will remember as 'Vinegar Tits' in 'Prisoner Cell Block H' and Celia from 'Home and Away') really nice, friendly woman. We had a laugh about her many visits to Ireland - not a bit like her on screen persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,426 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Joe Duffy used to swim in St Paul's in Raheny. This was before the liveline was open. But he used to be surrounded by auld fellas in the changing room throwing questions at him about politics and the world in general. I was very young at the time and did not see what the fuss was about.
    In fairness to Joe Duffy he seems like a reluctant celebrity. I am not sure he counts as one, but if if he is he still manages to be an ordinary celebrity.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Peter Stringer was a cocky sarcastic little prick.

Colin Farrell was sound, we were on the same pi$$ timer, felt like a stalker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

A B'Witched sister - bit standoffish, even though we were in mutual company.

When they were at the height of their fame they once sent a member of their "entourage" to ask me to close my shop so that they could shop in privacy - an offer that I quickly declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,426 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Gyalist wrote: »
    When they were at the height of their fame they once sent a member of their "entourage" to ask me to close my shop so that they could shop in privacy - an offer that I quickly declined.

"what are they like" :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.