Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice and not so nice famous people that you have either met or heard stories about

• 13-11-2015 1:28am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 654 ✭✭✭

The not so nice: Bruce Willis. This guy's wankerism in Hollywood is legendary.

Ronnie O'Sullivan. Very rude to my nephew when he asked for an autograph.

The nice.

Sir Alex Fergusson. A gentleman.

Dermot O'Leary. Ditto.

I realise everyone can have their good and bad days but which celebritites deserve the pigeonholing the most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Nick Faldo, met the egotistical prick a few times over the years

just the way he treated people makes my blood boil

the good

Robert Plant, met him in Freebird records in Dublin, I was looking at a Muddy Waters album and heard a whisper behind me "buy it"

Spoke to him for a good 20 mins, sound lad and very welcoming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

I met Rolf Harris when I was a kid and asked him for an autograph and he was incredibly rude and dismissive. Hearing the stories out about him now I realise I got off pretty lightly :(

I met Michael Stipe from REM and he was very obliging. Will Smith was very smooth and charming.

Not sure if Irish 'celebs' actually count as famous but Marty Whelan is a total legend and Glen Hansard doesn't deserve the shtick he gets IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

George Hook is lovely, never met him mind, but the prank that was played on him by the taxi driver PJ Gallagher showed he's a very patient man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I saw Sir Bob Geldof and Gabriel Byrne on Grafton Street, on separate occasions. I didn't interact with them in any way.

So eh, yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Val Kilmer - complete bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Met Clint Eastwood.

Made my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Don Conroy.

Drew me a class picture of a seal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Jackie Onassis.....absolute buttery darling of a woman.

Danny Glover...dildo

Sheryl Crow....sweet and cool and all round nice person and babe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I don't think I have actually met anybody "famous, well not compared to the previous comments. Considering they are all Irish, but one (and he is Irish descendant I believe)

Walking down Grafton Street, my friend and I noticed Gabriel Byrne, I said something along the lines of "Hey, there's Gaybriel Byrne" to my friend, not very loud or anything, but he heard me and just glared at us. Not sure if he is nice or not, but he was wearing a very nice coat.

Played football with Damien Duff when we were all kids (He lived in Moyville in Ballyboden). He was a couple of years older than me so he was considered a "large fry", he was very good and also very humble I thought, a quiet lad. A couple of the older lads gave him shít because he had all the gear (irish kit) and most of use barely had a pair of boots, some lucky sod would have shin guards :P Nice bloke.

Met Gay Byrne on the Dart one evening after work. Nobody really bothered him but he did pose for what was supposedly a stealth photo by another commuter. There were some smiles exchanged regarding that incident :P Seemed incredibly nice, talking to the wife about normal every day stuff.

Marty Whelan lived up the road from us too (in Ballyboden). Mad as a hatter that lad. Said hi to everybody, even when he was "famous". Imagine that... :P

Met Mark Coyle a couple of times. Producer of Oasis and involved with Super Furry Animals I believe. The nicest bloke you'll ever meet. A very normal, down to earth, everyday guy. Incredibly humble.

Met Rosanna Davidson through a friend at a birthday bash. She's a very nice person, from reading threads here (when she popped up) I thought she was going to be a battle axe, but not at all. She an absolute stunner in the flesh too. Wow...

Gerry Rio wrote: »

Heard the opposite.

And from ruining careers just because players didn't employ his son as agent to suing over a gift to writing self serving books in which he shows complete disloyalty to those who served him, think he seems consistently unpleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

At the Chinese circus in the Rds back in 1994 ,I met Bono his wife and children, all very nice and very happy talking away with everyone around them, still have the autograph :-) met the dubliners, fury brothers, Wolfe tones and lots of that type years ago on many occasions, it all seemed simpler then, and yes they were celebrities in them days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Also met a very drunk finbarr fury in Portugal a few years back,he was giving out about everyone around him and as I from the same area he from and as drunk I joined in with him, ha two complete drunken pricks.

Both of us clean and sober now :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

kingtiger wrote: »
    Nick Faldo, met the egotistical prick a few times over the years

just the way he treated people makes my blood boil

the good

Robert Plant, met him in Freebird records in Dublin, I was looking at a Muddy Waters album and heard a whisper behind me "buy it"

Spoke to him for a good 20 mins, sound lad and very welcoming

Did you? (Buy it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Jimmy Rabbitte Snr

ShiftStorm wrote: »
    I met Rolf Harris when I was a kid and asked him for an autograph and he was incredibly rude and dismissive. Hearing the stories out about him now I realise I got off pretty lightly :(

I met Michael Stipe from REM and he was very obliging. Will Smith was very smooth and charming.

Not sure if Irish 'celebs' actually count as famous but Marty Whelan is a total legend and Glen Hansard doesn't deserve the shtick he gets IMO.

You must not have been a particularly good looking child! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I met a few, most were lovely.

Matt Willis was so nice both times I met him. He was rushing off to lunch after his performance in Wicked but he saw me waiting for him and came over for a chat. I love him!

James McAvoy was lovely and had a little chat with us.

Julie Walters was the same. Chatted away to myself and my friends.

I was so disappointed with Maggie Smith. She just stood in the room and ignored everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

KungPao wrote: »
    I saw Sir Bob Geldof and Gabriel Byrne on Grafton Street, on separate occasions. I didn't interact with them in any way.

So eh, yeah.

He's not Sir Bob .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

murpho999 wrote: »
    He's not Sir Bob .

He's not really Bob either. his name is Robert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Met Marky Ramone after a gig a few years ago. He was a really nice, cool guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Oh and one of my friends met David Gilmour from Pink Floyd in Carlow this year and said he was an absolute gent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

KatW4 wrote: »
    I was so disappointed with Maggie Smith. She just stood in the room and ignored everyone.

Maybe she's shy? Sometimes we think famous people are superhuman, with an inability to feel a bit socially awkward at times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Gerry Rio wrote: »
    The not so nice: Bruce Willis. This guy's wankerism in Hollywood is legendary.

Ronnie O'Sullivan. Very rude to my nephew when he asked for an autograph.

The nice.

Dermot O'Leary. Ditto.

I realise everyone can have their good and bad days but which celebritites deserve the pigeonholing the most?
    I meet moderately famous irish folk daily.
    Evelyn Cusack the meteorologist is the soundest funniest person Ive met. I have a genuine crush on her after meeting her!
    Stephen Rae manages to be a prick and sound in equal measures. When surrounded by other actors hes a screaming prima donna for whom nothing is right. Then i spend half and hour in a small room with him photo copying scripts and he was lovely.
    Paul Mc Grath- Sound
    Paul Brady- Cold, joyless, inoffensive.
    Gemma Hayes- Lovely in every possible way.
    Lisa Hannigan - As above

Neil Tobin- Makes Hitler seem like a labrador puppy.

Damien Dempsy - An utter gent and a hugger. When a man that big spontaneously decides to hug you it a potential laundry incident in the making!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I met Sean Ryder, an absolute horror of a man. Rude and obnoxious to me when I didn't recognise him. Gave me the "do you know who i am?" comment and I still didn't. Arrogance personified. His sidekick the dancer wasn't much better. Mr Ryder came back a few months later and apologised to me but only because he was told to.
    I met Phil Lynott when I was 9 and he was just so so nice. He was dining with Doish Nagle who, to put it politely, wasn't so nice.
    Roy Keane, a nice pleasant person, Bryan McClair ditto, as was Eric Cantona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

ShiftStorm wrote: »
    .. Glen Hansard doesn't deserve the shtick he gets IMO.

Not even 1% of it..

Met / drank with him many times down the years, from the early 90s and on, and he has to be one of the nicest chaps I have ever met, but yet, there's this absolute nonsense going around that he's a royal dickhead. I've heard it said of him more even than I've heard it said of Bono. It's almost like an urban myth at this stage. Some guy actually stopped a gig in Vicar St last year to hurl abuse at him. It was a quiet enough song and so there was no ignoring him. The band stopped and Glen said let him speak. Well the guy just starting ranting and roaring about how Hansard was a boring bastard and few other things. He got fcuked out eventually but around 90 minutes later, well past midnight (unheard of length of an encore for Vicar St) Glen suddenly goes really quiet and starts saying that he feels bad for the the guy that got thrown out cause he was only saying what he thought. That's what he's like. Even though that this arse hat was a thundering cnut, who thought nothing of ruining a show for everyone just so he could have his drunken say, Glen was still yet bothered by it.

The whole of The Frames are sound actually. They do a lot of charity work and also a lot of stuff for people that you wouldn't really hear too much about unless you knew the people personally, helping fans of theirs with medical costs through illnesses etc.

Bless and lucky enough to have shaken hands with Al Pacino a few years back. Was recorded but I wiped the damn memory card. Brendan Gleeson is sound. Briefly met him to do with work and witnessed him being approached by many many people and he was sound to them all. Cracking jokes and engaging with all of them. Martin Sheen, Emilo Estevez same. Tbh any I have met or witnessed engaging with strangers have been sound.. bar one or two. Tarnatino was a bit off but that's to be expected. He sound in that he gives groups of people his undivided attention, but otherwise he can be harsh with people. Seen a few ask for autographs at a screening and he never answered them, but on the other hand he skipped the Late Late Show so he could stay and watch the screening with the crowd.

Biggest twatish behavior I've witnessed was a certain boxer from Dublin (Dunne) that had his 15 mins awhile back and right around that time was openly rude to people right in front of them. Talking about them as if they weren't there. When he left in a limo people around were all laughing at what a knob he was. Maybe he was just having off day. Happens I guess.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Met Anastacia one night and got a kiss off her.

Met Eamon Dunphy one night and gave him a kiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How pissed off would you get if every time you stuck your head out the door you got strangers pestering you for photos and autographs,and then rediculed for not being nice.
    They're not public property and have every right to be a cnut if the mood takes them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I met Buzz Aldrin. He was very pleasant given he walked in the moon and was now talking to eight year olds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Caught Linda Martin jealously eyeing up my booty back when I was hot. Colm Murray bought me and my sister a drink. Got ignored by Tommy Tiernan who sneered at me on the street( had friends in common when I lived in Galway)
    Think I said I cooked for more celebs but didn't actually meet them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

I was late into work in London one morning and my office was close to the southbank near borough market. I saw Roy Keane walking along with his wife and family and he noticed me recognize him (it was quiet). He just glared at me for a moment so I nodded my head and then he smiled at me. He just didnt want to be disturbed while with his family and I totally understand that so kept on walking.

My missus also spent some time with Paul Walker about ten years ago. She was living in Osaka for a couple of years and she was hanging out in a starbucks with some friends. Paul came in and seemed a bit lost and confused (japan isnt the easiest place to get around if you dont speak the language). He noticed my missus and her friends were mostly Europeans/Americans so he asked if he could join them. He hung out with them for an hour or so just chatting and she said he couldnt have been nicer. She had a soft spot for him for years after. Such a shame the way he died :(

jooksavage wrote: »
    Oh and one of my friends met David Gilmour from Pink Floyd in Carlow this year and said he was an absolute gent.

Most of those rock dinosaurs are supposed to be sound, Gilmour, Plant, Daltrey, Gillan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

eternal wrote: »
    Caught Linda Martin jealously eyeing up my booty back when I was hot. Colm Murray bought me and my sister a drink. Got ignored by Tommy Tiernan who sneered at me on the street( had friends in common when I lived in Galway)
    Must be more to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

eternal wrote: »
    tipptom wrote: »
    Must be more to this

Galway, was probably raining and Tommys head was wet making it look like he was sneering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Will Ferrel, his dad and brother made a fairly legendary trip to Longford a few years back tracing their family roots. The Farrels family seat is Longford.
    They went on a bender in farrels pub, bought rounds, accepted rounds and just chilled. They were invited to a house party which they, totally unexpectedly turned up to with a dozen pizzas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

I knew Laura Whitmore back in college. She shot me down a couple of times. But was really nice about it :)

Oh, and not me, but my friend was in shanahan's and saw Bono..... Mr. Springsteen..... etc. Honestly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Did security for Metallica & Slipknot the last time they were in Dublin.

All of them were sound lads except for Lars out of Metallica who was an arrogant prick & Clown from Slipknot who was a complete & utter prick that I wanted to slap the head off.

Went drinking with Patrik Kluivert once when he was with Barca, very random, he was staying with his gf in Kerry, out in local disco, think I was the only one who recognised him. Nice fellow.

Was out a few times with Vinnie Jones. Larger than life character. His wife Tanya was lovely though.

Also had a few drinks with some of the Corrie cast about 20 years ago in Lillies Bordello. The fellow who was Steve MacDonald's brother in it was sound.

Also went out one night in Amsterdam to meet my gf who was having a girly night out with her Dutch mates, one of whom is a backing vocalist, called Kelly. I met up with them in the restaurant/bar and started drinking with them. One was called Dominique and I stepped outside to have a smoke with her. A bloke immediately asked her if she was "so and so".....she replied no but that she just resembled her. I shrugged and said "walk on" as your man was down the street. So then me and Dominique start bellowing "You'll Never Walk Alone" at the top of our lungs on the Utrechtsestrasse. Went bar hopping with all the girls that night and was doing my cretinous travolta moves on the dancefloor with Dominique and my g/f. Others seemed to be in awe of her (and me).

Turns out she was a very well known Dutch star:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Do_(singer)

We were locked and she was sound as a pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The only kind off famous person I've ever met is sea sick steve, ran into him in oslo of all places, apparently his wife is Norwegian - who would've thunk it.
    I have to say he was extremely nice, very chatty and friendly, offered to get us a beer and asked did we want to join him, we couldn't cos we were going to the ice bar - which was closed for renovations when we got there.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Went drinking with Patrik Kluivert once when he was with Barca, very random, he was staying with his gf in Kerry, out in local disco, think I was the only one who recognised him. Nice fellow.

Was out a few times with Vinnie Jones. Larger than life character. His wife Tanya was lovely though.

Also had a few drinks with some of the Corrie cast about 20 years ago in Lillies Bordello. The fellow who was Steve MacDonald's brother in it was sound.
    Hope Patrick didn't drive home afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Was walking out of McCullough Piggot's one morning and held the door open for Paul Brady. He stared straight ahead and not as much as a nod let alone thanks... Ignorant prick!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Know a number of people who tried to talk to or get autographs from Liam Neeson back in early 2000's while he was around locally for 3 weeks while a film was being shot. He hardly said hello to anyone and from what I'm aware he never signed anything for anyobne.

One night my dad was an extra in one scene and spent most of the night standing beside him for a scene in the cold. Liam never even said hello to him once.

On the other hand Cillian Murphy said hello to lots of people and even had a bit of craic with some bikers from Waterford during one scene.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Met Penn & Teller back in 2009, both very nice. They did a 2hr show and then stood outside and did photos and signings with anyone coming out. Pretty good going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Back in 1994, Steve Collins, his (then) wife and kids were holidaying near my home place, meet him in the pub one of the nights , couldnt have been nicer, chatted away, posed for pictures and everything. Few days later, myself and my buddy were thumbing along the road, a few locals passed, never stopped. Next thing a wine coloured 93 D reg Renault 19 was passing, we thumbed it, car passed, stopped about 100 yards up the road and reversed back. Twas Stevo with the wife and family. "Ah sorry lads, I didnt recognoise ye there, hop in!" Sound aul skin in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

My step father works in the ration stores of the army and was responsible for feeding the extras on Braveheart. Mel Gibson was a gent. No airs and graces about him. He sat and ate whatever the army lads were having dished up. Got to speak to him very briefly on the second last day of shooting when they allowed relatives and children of the extras to visit. My step father still has at home the shoe horn used by Mel to get his boots on.

My ex's sister went out with Glen Hansard for a few months and got to meet him at a party. Was funny seeing a famous guy being nervous about meeting the in laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

People being rude about autographs - give them the benefit of the doubt. Everyone has crap days and it must get a bit wearing. I think autographs are stupid so if I was a sheleb I'd ask people why they wanted it. Celebs are just human people so I've never got the point of autographs

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Met Dominic West. In tesco. He was sound. His daughter took a picture of us for me! Only felt slightly stalkery after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mrsgiller

I have met Bob geldof, got his autograph years ago. All the furey and Davy Arthur. Would know paddy Reilly well, lives local. Johnny Logan, Brian ormond, Ian Harte (footballer), the girl who plays Rachel in fair city was in my house but I didn't cop it was her until she left. My hubby met Bono outside gaiety panto,. Oh yeah also met jedward. I forgot that I met Ryan tubbridy too, limp cold hand shake and Ricky from east endears (Sid Owen) he was lovely, my daughter got a photo with him and David gest , had more foundation on than me, but did get into a photo with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Going back to near Christmas 2002, I drank with Bono for 2 hours. It was a friend in common of a friend in common kinda thing. I kept calling him Paul just coz Bono is a stoopid thing to call a real-life person. I'm not sure he knew what to make of me, but I thought he was sound.

It was in Cocoon, the bar owned by Eddie Irvine. He was there too. Seemed sound too!
    (I didn't usually drink there - very pretentious place)

Met a good few famous footballers and some were friendlier than others - some were just quiet - but I can't say I found anyone to be a prick.

Kian from Westlife is a dick though. The other lads were sound though. Met them all through the same friend of a friend who herself was famous (for 5 minutes)

mrsgiller wrote: »
    Ian Harte (footballer)

Oh met Ian Harte, and Gary Kelly too...but was thinking of famous people!

Actually met them and Robbie Keane on their way back to Leeds after an Ireland game, all nice fellows.

I've met Michael Van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Dave Chisnall, Steve Beaton, Peter Wright, Robert Thornton, Ian White, Michael Smith etc. etc. and have had drinks with them and lots of other darts players. Almost all great craic, some like Anderson and Beaton particularly sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Met a few Irish celebs over the years and couldn't say I ever found anything unpleasant. Had to set up some IT equipment for Evelyn Cusack a few times and as the last person said, she's lovely and asks all about how you are and "what do you do" etc...

Most famous person I met was Hugh Jackman when I was in Bondi. Saw him walk to a coffee shop and we decided we could go for a coffee. Said hello and he gladly took a pic with us, I went around the other side to squeeze in and he leaned over in front of me, very conspicuous picture. After that just asked him about the new Wolverine film as he was beefed up and had the beard so was obvious he was in the middle of it. Told me he was heading back to Japan shortly to finish off. Shook his hand and went on our way. Never thought I'd be star struck but it was feckin Wolverine!

Pics or GTFO? Guess which one I am?