Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

gctest50 wrote: »
    and and and

try highlighting the whole line

As my phone doesn't seem to allow me to do as you ask can I point out you should have stated he shouldn't have tried to take the notebook. Why would you have brought him being there into it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭sibersha

It's amazing how people can watch the exact same video and see completely different things happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

sibersha wrote: »
    It's amazing how people can watch the exact same video and see completely different things happening.

It really really is.

I guess it depends on several things but surely a few things should be consistent with everyone.

1) The crowd were getting out of hand, pushing a shoving Guards like that is not on.
    2) The Guard looks to have over reacted with the baton.

The rest is just grey area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Guards action was OTT and he will probably end up getting some sort of punishment for this, but Jez I would hate to be a Guard in this country now.

The amount of scumbags who are around at the minute, all knowing their rights, quoting sections of law, chatting 'peaceful protest' under your nose, 'shame on you' etc etc, it is an impossible job.

Would be hard to keep your temper sometimes.
    The initial video with the 2 young lads, maybe I am being presumptious, but they looked a couple of right a$$holes who are out for bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Jayop wrote: »
    and and and..... Didn't I go on to address the rest of your post.

ok i'll try again :

he shouldn't have tried to take a gardas notebook if he had parkinsons or whatever

the garda may not see he has health issues at the time

the garda may presume in the very small window of time that he just has the walking stick for the craic

a good few seem to carry walking sticks for the craic :

http://i.imgur.com/7a9twkG.jpg

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055830604

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

esforum wrote: »
    He has a bump, a bump on the head that we are assuming was caused by the Garda.

Seriousness of the assault, would ya cop on I got worse from my father

What does your abusive / violent father have to do with anything in the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

IMO the Guard probably overacted.

My question is why do people only ever shout "peaceful protest" at the most violent protests and riots?

There were at least 10 people in the initial video that should be arrested and charged with obstructing an arrest. If you put your hands on a guard to prevent him doing his job you are a criminal. Regardless of what the guard did there were a lot of other guilty people in the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

NIMAN wrote: »
    The Guards action was OTT and he will probably end up getting some sort of punishment for this, but Jez I would hate to be a Guard in this country now.

The amount of scumbags who are around at the minute, all knowing their rights, quoting sections of law, chatting 'peaceful protest' under your nose, 'shame on you' etc etc, it is an impossible job.

Would be hard to keep your temper sometimes.
    The initial video with the 2 young lads, maybe I am being presumptious, but they looked a couple of right a$$holes who are out for bother.

Yes "knowing your rights" now makes you a scumbag. The cheek of them they should just go over into a corner and shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

gctest50 wrote: »
    ok i'll try again :

he shouldn't have tried to take a gardas notebook if he had parkinsons or whatever

You are once again bringing in his illness!!! He shouldn't have tried to take the notebook end of. Not cause he has Parkinson's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Jesus these people really have no brains.

Roaring peaceful protest while shoving and provoking gardai.

Really would be making a better contribution to society by volunteering to clean their communities or something.

Refusing to give their names and address thinking their some national hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

I also have the question the most recent video posted. Where the person who posted the video brags about them "successfully preventing a repossession". Surely someone who prevents the sheriff from carrying out a repossession is a criminal? The public shouldn't be getting in the way of the law and not expect repercussions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Jesus these people really have no brains.

Roaring peaceful protest while shoving and provoking gardai.

Really would be making a better contribution to society by volunteering to clean their communities or something.

Refusing to give their names and address thinking their some national hero.

Any thoughts on the assault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Yeah that was anything but a peaceful protest by the time that they started shouting peaceful protest, and again, I'm someone very much in favour of protesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,205 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Peaceful protest my hoop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

STB. wrote: »
    Eh, no you don't. Even under circumstances where you fear for your life!

The idea is that you don't put your colleagues in a situation whereby by a controllable incident doesn't descend into a full scale riot.

I'm not sure where you get your info from but it is incorrect.
    The Guard had time enough, and room enough, to compose himself, put his notebook away and then turn around and face the man and yet still people are suggesting that he was justified in taking out his baton and beating a man about the head and shoulders with it? A man who was not physically threatening him or anyone else? Are you people for real?

Are you aware that there is a handcuffed man at the Gardas feet?
    GarIT wrote: »
    IMO the Guard probably overacted.

My question is why do people only ever shout "peaceful protest" at the most violent protests and riots?

Because people are dumb enough to believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

darced wrote: »

i would say it would be the opposite,
    guy surrounded by very angry and intimidating mob , one of whom tried to rob him so he acted in self defence.
    if that clown that got the shlap is so ill , what the hell was he doing there acting the bollocks and sure maybe the guards should ask for a medical history before they defend themselves from now on

Superhorse wrote: »
    Yes "knowing your rights" now makes you a scumbag. The cheek of them they should just go over into a corner and shut up.

Maybe its just my generation, but when the Guard put his hand on the guys arm, the look of the young guy, saying "get your arm off me".

I would never have spoke like that to a Guard.

And I don't really know my rights either, let alone be able to quote them eloquently to a Guard. I am guessing he didn't learn this stuff at school, as they look like people who maybe weren't the highest achievers, and so many people now seem to know all the in's and out's of the law. Are leaflets handed out among these anti-everything brigade telling them what they can say to Guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Another peaceful protest from the same crowd that would hassle you for your change beside the Luas ticket machines.

I do despair for some sections of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

The law locks up the man or woman

That steals the goose from off the common

But lets the greater felon loose

That steals the common from the goose

(One law for the little people and one for the elite)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

NIMAN wrote: »
    Maybe its just my generation, but when the Guard put his hand on the guys arm, the look of the young guy, saying "get your arm off me".

I would never have spoke like that to a Guard.

Well people off past generations never said a word either when gardai would routinely arrest kids who had run away from workhouses after being abused and raped, and deliver them back to their abusers

Thankfully most people aren't as servile and don't have as much deference for gardai as they used to

What is the Housing Action Collective?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

The law locks up the man or woman

That steals the goose from off the common

But lets the greater felon loose

That steals the common from the goose

(One law for the little people and one for the elite)[/QUOTE

i've watched the video a few times but saw no sign of any goose

Well people off past generations never said a word either when gardai would routinely arrest kids who had run away from workhouses after being abused and raped, and deliver them back to their abusers

Thankfully most people aren't as servile and don't have as much deference for gardai as they used to

Its a fine line between that and having no respect for law and order in your country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Any thoughts on the assault?
    Yes, assaulting a Garda who was attempting to carry out an arrest was a silly thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

1st video or moving image if you like : In my opinion it looked as if the guard was at fault and over reacted.

After watching the 2nd one, I can see why he done it, bunch of idiots at that protest.
    Peaceful me arse. He was well within his right to use the baton
    He was defending himself as well as colleagues, and a baton is a good way to disperse a mob. Which they were, they were a mob looking for a reaction to get headlines, now their playing the sympaty vote because the person who got hit with the baton has an "illness". They deserved it.

Pity the ****ers werent far enough he could of used his spray.

Of course the Guard hitting the guy was wrong, but how would you handle a crowd outnumbering you and pushing you around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Karsini wrote: »
    These videos tend to only show one side of the story and are often uploaded to fuel a specific belief. You don't know what happened before the filming began.

You have to use reasonable force and this video shows their was no immediate attack to condone this attack. The gaurd turned away and instead of walking on or staying in position he lost it and attacked the protestor. Hope the gaurd gets whats coming to him, GSOC are on ti already and Minister for Justice is involved. For the **** pay gaurds get, theirs no other reason for going into the job but Ego at this point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 266 ✭✭Clive Bisquette

I will after work. Pushing still doesn't justify a blow directed towards the head though.

Garda hit the man on the shoulder which is the way they are trained ..I came across a water protest recently and the aggression of the "protestors" was incredible.

A guy with a Nordie Accent was egging them on ..learned later he was a Shinner "activist"

Being honest ..they all looked like they were bored and just out looking for trouble.

Gardai have a lot to put up with.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Maybe they could try getting a job and shutting up.