Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Phaedrus1 wrote: »
    That guard WX152 should be dismissed and prosecuted - he's a liability to the force.

This is the type of lout who gets the Gardaí a bad name and makes good community relations impossible.

Of course Kenny and his poodles in Labour don't help by using willing louts like WX152 to rough people up if they dare not comply with the joke that is Irish Water.

Welcome to boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So what should the gardai have done, did you watch the full video?

"Excuse me sir, would you mind stepping back a little"?
    "Under what legislation should I do that, you need to quote the full thing to me, otherwise it's an illegal request, rabble rabble nonsense nonsense".

He should have said stand back, stand back. I have told you to stand back. Do not have me use force.

Its pretty standard training.

Also you do not extend an asp above your shoulder and strike with your full weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

STB. wrote: »
    He should have said stand back, stand back. I have told you to stand back. Do not have me use force.

Its pretty standard training.

Also you do not extend an asp above your shoulder and strike with your full weight.

Yes you do. You strike as few times as possible with force.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

That guard WX152 should be dismissed and prosecuted - he's a liability to the force.

This is the type of lout who gets the Gardaí a bad name and makes good community relations impossible.

Of course Kenny and his poodles in Labour don't help by using willing louts like WX152 to rough people up if they dare not comply with the joke that is Irish Water.

Or here's a crazy idea,

The matter should be properly investigated and depending on the outcome of the investigation action should be taken.

knee jerk reactions help nobody (except people that just hate the Gardai), you can't just fire somebody without first investigating what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

That was not a peaceful protest.

They were provoking the guards from the beginning.

They were physically interfering with the guards carrying out their duty.

I'm surprised the guards didn't draw batons earlier.

I really believe some of the protesters are happy that their provocation had the desired effect of one of their numbers getting a clatter so they can bawl "Police violence"

I wonder who was the lippy legal advocate at the beginning of the video? A future member of the Law Library no doubt, and a pillar of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Here's a list of freemen successes that makes interesting reading

http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Freeman_on_the_land#Freeman_successes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Provoked or not, he swung wildly and hit a bloke in the head. Hard enough, it could have caused serious damage or even death.
    That's comedy. Find me one example of someone who has been killed by an expandable police baton. These batons hold all their weight in the handle and have a small steel tip. The end result is that you require quite a bit of force for the baton to have any impact and if you're very unlucky the steel tip may break the skin, but will often just cause a bruise, especially when hit through clothing.

Doesn't look like he swung wildly to me either. Good practice is to swing vertically as much as possible. A swing sideways won't work in close quarters (you'll just hit five other people on the way) and a vertical swing gives you more directional control. In close quarters it's next to impossible to hit the legs, so you aim for the upper body instead.

He didn't even hit the guy in the head, he clearly hit him across the upper arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hmmmmmm.....

New account. Tell us? Do you spend much time protesting at auctions in Gorey?

Yes you do. You strike as few times as possible with force.

Eh, no you don't. Even under circumstances where you fear for your life!

The idea is that you don't put your colleagues in a situation whereby by a controllable incident doesn't descend into a full scale riot.

The evidence of what I have seen is that of a large upholder of the law calmly extracting the asp and raising it above his head and lashing out like he was under attack from members of a death squad, without warning.

There are also gardai in that room with no numbers shown whatsoever.

I am no gardai hater or protest lover for that matter, but if my eyes don't deceive me, theres something going around here...... around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Its pretty standard training.....

how many times is he supposed to say it ?

he's a garda not an Expressway bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭endacl

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

The Guard had time enough, and room enough, to compose himself, put his notebook away and then turn around and face the man and yet still people are suggesting that he was justified in taking out his baton and beating a man about the head and shoulders with it? A man who was not physically threatening him or anyone else? Are you people for real?

I can't stand the arsehole crowd involved here by the way, have no time for them, but a lot of people on this thread seem to be unable to separate their understandable disdain for these people and their judgement on what is right and what is wrong and what happened here was unquestionably wrong. It was a violent assault and an unprovoked one at that. His reaction was disproportionate, to say the least. But, but, but.. he tried to take his copy book! Seriously? And since when did such an action warrant a violent baton charge?

Hopefully he'll find himself before the courts.

One can't help but wonder also, if he is willing to lose his cool so easily, in front of members of the public, many of whom are recording proceedings, what would it take for him to snap in the barracks.

gctest50 wrote: »
    how many times is he supposed to say it ?

he's a garda not an Expressway bus

As many times as possible to deflate a situation.

You must only use the baton when under threat.

This guy completely lost it.

Last time. You DO NOT raise an asp that far above your head.

Like the comment above, I hate all the hippy socialist over reactionary type people myself, but no one could condone that behaviour. If you cannot control your temper in those situations, you are in the wrong job.

Ultimately GSOC will call if unreasonable force was used and the penalties.

Over and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The Guard had time enough, and room enough, to compose himself, put his notebook away and then turn around and face the man and yet still people are suggesting that he was justified in taking out his baton and beating a man about the head and shoulders with it? A man who was not physically threatening him or anyone else? Are you people for real?

I can't stand the arsehole crowd involved here by the way, have no time for them, but a lot of people on this thread seem to be unable to separate their understandable disdain for these people and their judgement on what is right and what is wrong and what happened here was unquestionably wrong. It was a violent assault and an unprovoked one at that. His reaction was disproportionate, to say the least. But, but, but.. he tried to take his copy book! Seriously? And since when did such an action warrant a violent baton charge?

One can't help but wonder also, if he is willing to lose his cool so easily, in front of members of the public, many of whom are recording proceedings, what would it take for him to snap in the barracks.

All apart from the fact that he was impeded initially while trying to arrest an individual allegedly for assaulting someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

There was an arrested man on the ground when the Garda was pushed by the crowd behind him. They were trying to prevent the arrest. That's when he turned and struck the man. Looks to me like a shoulder strike but I'm sure we'll see pictures of the injury soon enough to confirm.

Can you tell us what is the procedure/training in the use of a baton? As in should the Garda draw his baton and then issue a verbal warning? Or is using it without warning permitted in certain circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

As many times as possible to deflate a situation.

You must only use the baton when under threat.

This guy completely lost it.

Last time. You DO NOT raise an asp that far above your head.

Like the comment above, I hate all the hippy socialist over reactionary type people myself, but no one could condone that behaviour. If you cannot control your temper in those situations, you are in the wrong job.

Ultimately GSOC will call if unreasonable force was used and the penalties.

Over and out.

forum for dat

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

The old man he hit had Parkinson's disease and seemed to be just picking himself off the ground after being knocked down. Shameful to hear anyone defend the action of that particular Garda as he is a terrible example of the fantastic work done by our police force nationwide. If the roles where reversed the old man would be in shackles right now facing court this evening I see no reason why this particular Garda should be above the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Linking to rationalwiki is like linking to conservapedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

If I physically interfered with a Garda in the middle of making an arrest, with >20 other people shouting in his face, I'd fully expect a few smacks.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,827 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Superhorse wrote: »
    The old man he hit had Parkinson's disease and seemed to be just picking himself off the ground after being knocked down. Shameful to hear anyone defend the action of that particular Garda as he is a terrible example of the fantastic work done by our police force nationwide. If the roles where reversed the old man would be in shackles right now facing court this evening I see no reason why this particular Garda should be above the law.
    If his Parkinson's is so bad why was he pushing against the garda? Was the garda to have assumed that the dick standing beside him pushing and shoving and seemingly trying to take his notebook had a long term illness and treated him differently to any other thug that pushes/shoves/steals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I'm torn on this one. Whilst I sympathise with the Guard for losing his rag in the face of such verbal and physical provocation whilst trying to go about his job, he also looks to have stepped way over the limit with that lash with the baton. Whatever was going on before the situation had calmed until he ragged the old buck over the neck like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

If I physically interfered with a Garda in the middle of making an arrest, with >20 other people shouting in his face, I'd fully expect a few smacks.

If this was in America there'd have been people killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

kbannon wrote: »
    If his Parkinson's is so bad why was he pushing against the garda? Was the garda to have assumed that the dick standing beside him pushing and shoving and seemingly trying to take his notebook had a long term illness and treated him differently to any other thug that pushes/shoves/steals?

IF and it's a big if the old man was shoving and stealing the Garda's notebook he should have simply been arrested, end of. No civil society should except that a member of it's police force should hit someone over the head with a metal bar because they are unable to do their job. They are trained how to deal with those situations and get paid to do a job not act like thugs. Again if the roles where reversed the old man would rightfully be sitting in a cell right now facing court and possible jail time for assault. This Garda or no member of the Gardaí is above the law and we as a society should never except or expect them to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Jeebus. All I can say is that as a country, we have a lot to bother us if we're whining about a Garda knocking lumps out of a clearly belligerent crowd. People seem to think that opposition to the Gardai is the norm, from the simple flashing of lights for checkpoints (and then wondering why car thieves aren't caught or drunk drivers still mow people down - you just helped them evade the goddamn checkpoint) to thinking that acting like boisterous, disobedient schoolkids quoting bullsh1t legal advice and shouting "peaceful protest" whilst surrounding around an officer of the law is OK.

I think there are some very stupid laws out there, however I obey them as they apply to everyone. As a nation, we seem to think it's OK to flout any law if we don't agree with it. If you don't like or agree with a law, contact law reform or petition your local TD. Don't act like a bloody spoiled child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 colly4211

He got what he was looking for so sick of listening to peaceful protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

IF and it's a big if the old man was shoving and stealing the Garda's notebook he should have simply been arrested, end of.

The Garda was trying to do that with another member of the crowd when the rest of them started to interfere. If he could have easily arrested him he obviously would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The old man he hit had Parkinson's disease and seemed to be just picking himself off the ground after being knocked down.
    Where are you getting that nonsense from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 quarefarmers

The guards name and address is doing the rounds on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Bad form, that.

I don't agree with the Garda's actions, but what possible good can come of that sort of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Such a scummy thing to do (to anyone).