Superhorse wrote: » I'd say given the evidence the loss of job is a given. He'd be doing well to avoid prison given the seriousness of the assault.
Superhorse wrote: » Bad form on the address. Nobody can assault a sick old person like that and expect to remain unnamed though.
Mr.S wrote: » Says it all about the "protestors" tbh. Disgraceful.
darced wrote: » This post has been deleted.
quarefarmers wrote: » The guards name and address is doing the rounds on social media.
STB. wrote: » He should have said stand back, stand back. I have told you to stand back. Do not have me use force. Its pretty standard training. Also you do not extend an asp above your shoulder and strike with your full weight.
hots wrote: » Such a scummy thing to do (to anyone).
coolemon wrote: » Whatever happened to dealing with things peacefully? Lashing out in violence is never acceptable.
Superhorse wrote: » The old man he hit had Parkinson's disease and seemed to be just picking himself off the ground after being knocked down.
Superhorse wrote: » IF and it's a big if the old man was shoving and stealing the Garda's notebook he should have simply been arrested, end of.
kbannon wrote: » If his Parkinson's is so bad why was he pushing against the garda? Was the garda to have assumed that the dick standing beside him pushing and shoving and seemingly trying to take his notebook had a long term illness and treated him differently to any other thug that pushes/shoves/steals?
Darkglasses wrote: » If I physically interfered with a Garda in the middle of making an arrest, with >20 other people shouting in his face, I'd fully expect a few smacks.
Superhorse wrote: » The old man he hit had Parkinson's disease and seemed to be just picking himself off the ground after being knocked down. Shameful to hear anyone defend the action of that particular Garda as he is a terrible example of the fantastic work done by our police force nationwide. If the roles where reversed the old man would be in shackles right now facing court this evening I see no reason why this particular Garda should be above the law.
The Backwards Man wrote: » Here's a list of freemen successes that makes interesting readinghttp://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Freeman_on_the_land#Freeman_successes
NachoBusiness wrote: » The Guard had time enough, and room enough, to compose himself, put his notebook away and then turn around and face the man and yet still people are suggesting that he was justified in taking out his baton and beating a man about the head and shoulders with it? A man who was not physically threatening him or anyone else? Are you people for real? I can't stand the arsehole crowd involved here by the way, have no time for them, but a lot of people on this thread seem to be unable to separate their understandable disdain for these people and their judgement on what is right and what is wrong and what happened here was unquestionably wrong. It was a violent assault and an unprovoked one at that. His reaction was disproportionate, to say the least. But, but, but.. he tried to take his copy book! Seriously? And since when did such an action warrant a violent baton charge? Hopefully he'll find himself before the courts. One can't help but wonder also, if he is willing to lose his cool so easily, in front of members of the public, many of whom are recording proceedings, what would it take for him to snap in the barracks.
STB. wrote: » As many times as possible to deflate a situation. You must only use the baton when under threat. This guy completely lost it. Last time. You DO NOT raise an asp that far above your head. Like the comment above, I hate all the hippy socialist over reactionary type people myself, but no one could condone that behaviour. If you cannot control your temper in those situations, you are in the wrong job. Ultimately GSOC will call if unreasonable force was used and the penalties.Over and out.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » There was an arrested man on the ground when the Garda was pushed by the crowd behind him. They were trying to prevent the arrest. That's when he turned and struck the man. Looks to me like a shoulder strike but I'm sure we'll see pictures of the injury soon enough to confirm.
gctest50 wrote: » how many times is he supposed to say it ? he's a garda not an Expressway bus