Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Provoked or not, he swung wildly and hit a bloke in the head. Hard enough, it could have caused serious damage or even death. If he cant control his emotions, he shouldn't be on the force

Also, the people backing him because they dislike the free-men group can jump in a lake. It doesn't matter who the group is, it shouldn't influence the coppers actions.

Nail on the head. Funny if the roles where reversed the outrage and rightfully so. It was assault simple as that I couldn't give a hoot about what the protest was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

this has serious joe duffy potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Does a Garda not have to be in full uniform, hat included, to arrest you, or is that a load of nonsense ?

digzy wrote: »
    this has serious joe duffy potential

Just mentioned it but is trying to verify the video !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Shouting "peaceful protest" while crowding around someone and pushing them has become the dub skanger version of "Stop hitting yourself"

Here we go on lahvhline

vicwatson wrote: »
    Just mentioned it but is trying to verify the video !

Lol verifying the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The thumps at the end ? You're just guessing , trying to anticipate something .
    It could've have anything and nothing.

You're right, its just a guess but it sounded like thumps to me. Which makes me think that's why the video might have cut off at that point- did some of the crowd then start thumping the Garda is what I'm wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Superhorse wrote: »
    Nail on the head. Funny if the roles where reversed the outrage and rightfully so. It was assault simple as that I couldn't give a hoot about what the protest was about.
    the only one being assaulted in this video was the guard , that clown was trying to get something from his pocket and the guard done right to defend himself.
    I wonder are these freeman clowns are as quick to withold their details when they are in the dole office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭endacl

x43r0 wrote: »
    Shouting "peaceful protest" while crowding around someone and pushing them has become the dub skanger version of "Stop hitting yourself"

I'm going to give it a try. I fancy a new telly. Off now to Curry's, where I plan to just pick one up and walk out, shouting 'I paid for this. I paid for this'.

I'll report back later to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'm telling ya, after watching that video, I'm thankful I'm not faced with those clowns because it's far more than a slap of a batten I'd be giving out. I don't know is it mental illness, scumbaggery, or a mix of both, but they rub me up something savage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Whatever happened to dealing with things peacefully?

Lashing out in violence is never acceptable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Provoked or not, he swung wildly and hit a bloke in the head. Hard enough, it could have caused serious damage or even death. If he cant control his emotions, he shouldn't be on the force

Also, the people backing him because they dislike the free-men group can jump in a lake. It doesn't matter who the group is, it shouldn't influence the coppers actions.

SO it doesn't matter that the garda was assaulted and the bloke tried to rob his notebook ?
    how did he swing wildly ? seems like he hit exactly what he swung at.

the only thing wrong there is that the lad who got hit should have been arrested for assault and attempted theft .

same old group of freeman dole monkeys who go to every possible protest in an effort to get on youtube.

look at some more of the IW vids or free Palestine or anti austerity or erigi protests , same faces ame actions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

all the too cool for protesting "freeman" haters here would want to sit down and have a serious chat with themselves. looks like our government has started a civil war. people who want to bend over and take it vs people who want to change the country for the better.

the only one being assaulted in this video was the guard , that clown was trying to get something from his pocket and the guard done right to defend himself.
    I wonder are these freeman clowns are as quick to withold their details when they are in the dole office

You don't seem to understand the meaning of the word assault so i'll just leave you to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭endacl

all the too cool for protesting "freeman" haters here would want to sit down and have a serious chat with themselves. looks like our government has started a civil war. people who want to bend over and take it vs people who want to change the country for the better.

And the Oscar for melodrama goes to...

Edit. Apologies. I see you're in Calgary. What's Trudeau been up to?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

endacl wrote: »

And the Oscar for melodrama goes to...

Edit. Apologies. I see you're in Calgary. What's Trudeau been up to?!?

smokin weed erryday like a big freeman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

mynamejeff wrote: »
    SO it doesn't matter that the garda was assaulted and the bloke tried to rob his notebook ?
    how did he swing wildly ? seems like he hit exactly what he swung at.

the only thing wrong there is that the lad who got hit should have been arrested for assault and attempted theft .

same old group of freeman dole monkeys who go to every possible protest in an effort to get on youtube.

look at some more of the IW vids or free Palestine or anti austerity or erigi protests , same faces ame actions

Well thought out point there, about as well thought out as the all coppers are bastards argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Civil war ? I think there's a few threads knockīn' about on Syria and the Middle East , they might be more suited for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

There was an arrested man on the ground when the Garda was pushed by the crowd behind him. They were trying to prevent the arrest. That's when he turned and struck the man. Looks to me like a shoulder strike but I'm sure we'll see pictures of the injury soon enough to confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

What do people think the guy should have done? In an enclosed space with people pushing and pulling at him and his equipment, it's not like it was one guy that he could turn around and reason with/raise a baton to and calm down? It's also not like he deliberately tried to strike the guy in the head/neck/shoulder/other to cause him extra harm, your man was crouched at his waist height.

In an enclosed room with no space to move and not enough support I'm not entirely sure what else he could have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Lot of alt accounts in this thread, are people too afraid to post on their main account?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

sparrowcar wrote: »
    You're at a protest and trying to stop an arrest by members of AGS.. What do you expect?

They expect to be treated with kid gloves,
    If this was in France this would be the norm, french police don't take **** from people who are trying to stop an arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

"Freeman" must be the new buzzword on boards.... Let's get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,450 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You seem like an intelligent chap. You have changed my mind.

Not really though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 shanboghted

the guard didn't hit the **** hard enough IMO , these "protesters" really are scum..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

More hilarity. Civil war, people talking to themselves, anal rape?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Phaedrus1

That guard WX152 should be dismissed and prosecuted - he's a liability to the force.

This is the type of lout who gets the Gardaí a bad name and makes good community relations impossible.

Of course Kenny and his poodles in Labour don't help by using willing louts like WX152 to rough people up if they dare not comply with the joke that is Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

the guard didn't hit the **** hard enough IMO , these "protesters" really are scum..

some are "genuine" protesters - scum just latch on to make money or have a go

see here - scum want to call around to that gardas house :

http://imgur.com/68rgZMH

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

. looks like our government has started a civil war.

Serously, just stop typing, you're showing yourself up.

You're insulting any country and people actually involved in a civil war right now, Ireland is not in a civil war right now. Nor will it be.

If you think Ireland is currently in a civil war or you think it will be 12 months down the line then you are making a fool of yourself,