Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

I dunno, I've only watched the gif, but even Stevie wonder can see that's not a leg being batoned.

Few lads on here need to go to specsavers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Hes not defending a post office against a tiger gang with sawn offs you lunatic!

So what should the gardai have done, did you watch the full video?

"Excuse me sir, would you mind stepping back a little"?
    "Under what legislation should I do that, you need to quote the full thing to me, otherwise it's an illegal request, rabble rabble nonsense nonsense".

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So what should the gardai have done, did you watch the full video?

"Excuse me sir, would you mind stepping back a little"?
    "Under what legislation should I do that, you need to quote the full thing to me, otherwise it's an illegal request, rabble rabble nonsense nonsense".

I would have 100% taken the swinging wildly with the biggest thing i could find approach, starting with the women and the elderly, but then again im not a guard ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Etnies wrote: »
    http://giphy.com/gifs/garda-batons-man-at-nama-protest-wexford-ireland-xTiTnoXOnTe2KSz9As

I'm not a protestor but turning around and smashing a middle age behind the ear with a baton, he needs to be prosecuted.

There is also a longer video.

Nice to see the Gardai finally asserting themselves against these time wasting bill dodging muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I would have 100% taken the swinging wildly with the biggest thing i could find approach, starting with the women and the elderly, but then again im not a guard ;)

Very sensational

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The actual moment of the garda delivering the blow does not look good, considerable force used and it appears to land on his ear area which could have been serious. Looks like the garda lost control for a second. That said I have no sympathy for these freeman tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

my friend wrote: »
    Nice to see the Gardai finally asserting themselves against these time wasting bill dodging muppets

Mad O'Duffy would've loved it. Bate an' leather 'em, bah. Bate some sense into 'em if'n it kills 'em. :pac:

Gatling wrote: »
    Very sensational

Trying to insert a bit of lightheartedness into an otherwise negative thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Gulliver wrote: »
    Also, is it true about having to quote the entire section of the law as a Garda is arresting/cautioning someone? That seems needlessly complicated and designed for a loophole.

Don't know about the Irish police force but for us in the US it's a bit of common misconception based on what is shown on tv. People think that they need to have the nature of their arrest and crime stated to them and also Miranda rights read at time of arrest. But this is not true. Before being arraigned and once brought in they'll be painted the whole picture. Also the Miranda rights don't have to be read constitutionally. But a lawyer could push to discount anything the suspect says if they weren't read. So it's good practice. Anyways point being, it's probably a misconception in Ireland too. I know it is in Canada also.

As for the video. If I done that I would expect to be in trouble. Guy overreacted and there was no need to blindly draw the baton and strike as turning. If you can't exercise that control you shouldn't be in that situation. Completely unnecessary in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

These people were 100% being idiots and disruptive and the situation needed to be dealt with, but not with that level of over reaction

Its not an over reaction at all, in fact its far less than those muppets deserve.

Nobody should have to stand there and allow a group of adults to hassle and intimidate them like that, I am perfectly happy for the guards to start swinging in situations such as this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

If what the garda did was ok, normal actions given the circumstances, why did the other garda intervene and push him back?

He lost the rag. Scummy behaviour by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You'd think after the whole rape allegations about the Gardaí at Corrib from a conveniently edited clip a few years back that people would have more cop-on to look for the whole story before diving in with "brutal police assault on delicate, Mammy-loving protesters!"

These people just itch for a Garda to make a wrong move and continuously try their best to antagonize them so they can share videos with colourful language like this on FB to gain support.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

In fairness on the garda, he shouldn't have used the baton, but he is having to deal with the same bunch of w!nkers you see at every protest. It's the same faces just looking for trouble. I'd bet not one of them could articulate properly why they are even protesting.

Can you not just condemn the action of the garda without the dig at the protesters whom you obviously loathe?

If this garda took out a gun and just started walking around firing a bullet into people's heads one after another, I would imagine you'd still say "That garda is definitely out of order, but these protesters are upstarts..oh! and they can't read. Just thought I'd throw that in for good measure!"

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Superhorse wrote: »
    From reports the Gardaí is the only one who used violence. You can't just go around bashing people on the head with a baton because they are resisting arrest.
    Which reports?
    I couldnt give a hoot about the water protest tbh. People have a 100% right to protest that's called democracy. Maybe you need to watch the video again the baton hit him in the head.
    There is a difference between protest and intimidation. There are a number of idiots from south west Dublin in court over something similar.
    vicwatson wrote: »
    Part of his job to remain calm unless he feels his life was in danger. Not a garda basher but this guy has gone OTT.
    So you know what he was feeling?
    In my view he did remain clam but obviously felt the need to use force to control the situation as he and his colleagues were outnumbered by the crowd.

The man appears to have been taking the garda's notebook. He also appears to have been pushing/shouldering the garda. The garda used his arm to brush the man away but he came back.

Also, the groups that were there including Wicklow Says No and Independent Resistance claim to have successfully prevented the sherrif repossessing a shop earlier and then the aim was to shut down the NAMA auction. Their intent was never peaceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

I dunno, I've only watched the gif, but even Stevie wonder can see that's not a leg being batoned.

The gif is all you watched? Watch the entire bloody video.

The gif deliberaty cuts the start of the incident, that strike is the second one as the man is leaning down.

at 3.17 on the video you can see the man on video interfering with the arrest. Maybe hes involved earlier, we dont know.

at 3.23 he falls over like Klinnsman looking for a penalty after the smallest of pushes by the arresting Garda. Not even a full arm push, hes nudged to the side and its with such 'force' that he falls over and drags others with him. Oh to be a super human universal Garda!

From that point on until 3.35 you ca see people both in front and behind the Garda push and grab him. Hes on his own remember, surrounded by these people.

at 3.42 the man tries to grab the Gardas notebook both under and over the gardas arm.

at 3.45 the man, clearly so 'injured' by this tiny push is bent over so his head is at the Gardas waist height. Not so injured though that he cant try and pickpocket the Gardas notebook again. At this stage the Garda pulls his baton

At 3.45 the Garda hits the man in the KNEE, in the KNEE people the knee.

At 3.46 the male is once again falling down and gets his in the upper arm / shoulder. Yes its a high hit BUT its still an accepted area and the Garda is aiming for the lower body as he swings to the same area as the first swing.

Watch the video using pause, its obvious enough even in the gif that its not the ear or neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

pablo128 wrote: »
    If what the garda did was ok, normal actions given the circumstances, why did the other garda intervene and push him back?

He lost the rag. Scummy behaviour by him.

Absolute filth indeed. The guy is an embarrassment to the vast majority of Gardaí who do a wonderful job given the circumstances. Hopefully this coward pays with this job and the man who suffered the assault isn't badly hurt.

At 3.46 the male is once again falling down and gets his in the upper arm / shoulder. Yes its a high hit BUT its still an accepted area and the Garda is aiming for the lower body as he swings to the same area as the first swing.

Watch the video using pause, its obvious enough even in the gif that its not the ear or neck.

Think theres a lot of cops over in the states that were firing warning shots that wernt aimed at the black gentleman too..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There's never a drone strike when you need one

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Absolute filth indeed. The guy is an embarrassment to the vast majority of Gardaí who do a wonderful job given the circumstances. Hopefully this coward pays with this job and the man who suffered the assault isn't badly hurt.
    Really? You want to strip a man of his livelihood because he was put in a situation where he felt this was necessary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Yeah, Guards used to give hugs, but since they got telegraph poles for batons, they've changed.:rolleyes:
    Hes not defending a post office against a tiger gang with sawn offs you lunatic!

A baton is more than adequate to defend a post office from sawn offs. Sure I once used a paper clip to hold off an entire gang of 20 guys with machine guns who were robbing my local post office and I'm not even a Guard!

FFS, no wonder the criminals are getting bolder. Gardai should be able to defend themselves and we, the public, should respect them - the same level of respect we should show any other human being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

pablo128 wrote: »

In case he was attacked by the protesters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

That git got what was coming too him.

What the ****!

There ya have it boys and girls, Gardai can only use batons when they have an armed gang shooting at them!

pepper spray and handcuffs only when its a sword.

When its a mob of twenty but they are unarmed , its diluted to harsh language.

When your arresting one person on their own and they are just throwing punches at you I guess even touching them is too much?

But as you didnt quote the full 'Gardai can only use lesser force than that which they are being targeted with Act' so I guess that doesnt count.

Its that kind of bull**** that resulted in 2 Gardai being stabbed in Raheny, 1 on O'Connell Street and sadly 2 shot dead in Co Louth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Under what legislation, you need to quote it in full, including the internet law subsection, otherwise your post is meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

kbannon wrote: »
    Really? You want to strip a man of his livelihood because he was put in a situation where he felt this was necessary?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

The cowards in this video are not wearing uniforms, they are the people ganging up on and intimidating a lone man who is just trying to do his job.

The Garda clearly felt he was danger and reacted as anyone else would have.

Gulliver wrote: »
    Yeah, Guards used to give hugs, but since they got telegraph poles for batons, they've changed.:rolleyes:

A baton is more than adequate to defend a post office from sawn offs. Sure I once used a paper clip to hold off an entire gang of 20 guys with machine guns who were robbing my local post office and I'm not even a Guard!

FFS, no wonder the criminals are getting bolder. Gardai should be able to defend themselves and we, the public, should respect them - the same level of respect we should show any other human being.

Im fairly sure i was one of those gang members, dynamite paperclip work!

Guards are human, guards overreact, this is life, this happens to be caught on camera so gets this response.
    End of the day hes paid to keep the peace and catch criminals, not lost the rag and turn around blindly drawing his baton and lamp some lad out of it cause everyones shouting at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Scumbag...id say he's the type if he and his buddies got you on you're own with no witnesses you'd be left black and blue....and he'd mark it down as resisting arrest.

esforum wrote: »
    What the ****!

There ya have it boys and girls, Gardai can only use batons when they have an armed gang shooting at them!

pepper spray and handcuffs only when its a sword.

When its a mob of twenty but they are unarmed , its diluted to harsh language.

When your arresting one person on their own and they are just throwing punches at you I guess even touching them is too much?

But as you didnt quote the full 'Gardai can only use lesser force than that which they are being targeted with Act' so I guess that doesnt count.

Its that kind of bull**** that resulted in 2 Gardai being stabbed in Raheny, 1 on O'Connell Street and sadly 2 shot dead in Co Louth!

I think you need a time out, over to the naughty step with you until youve calmed down.

Scumbag...id say he's the type if he and his buddies got you on you're own with no witnesses you'd be left black and blue....and he'd mark it down as resisting arrest.

As apposed to the hard bastards posting about him on the net using aliases?