Attitudes to drink driving

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Plenty of people drink drive around my local, in fact I'd venture to between 40-50% of the regulars(generally in the 40-60 bracket) and it's not particularly frowned upon tbh.
    What is frowned upon are the odd time one of them are elephants and insist on motoring home any. When they get home safe and are seen the next day, they're berated about it but that doesn't last long as it's kinda pot kettle black ****.

It's generational more than anything, it was okay back then very hard to get out of that mindset. 2 have been done in the past 7-8 yrs outta probably 12-15 lad's that do it almost daily, min 2 pints.
    One was only after coming back from a 10 yr ban. The other got the minimum ban.
    Say 10 lad's, x 250 days = a very low detection rate.
    It's a very prominent/well known pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

jamesbere wrote: »
    It should be zero limit, if your stupid enough to drink drive you should have your licence taken off you on the spot. This attitude of ah shur I'll chance it needs to be stamped out.

Ah how do you gauge when you've zero alcohol in your system the morning after?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

The phrasing of the original question it's very interesting.

"Driving after two pints...Confident of being under the limit"

I'm more confident of most things after two pints, it doesn't mean I'm right.
    The whole point is that your judgment is diminished after drinking so you're not in a position to make that call.
    2 points would make someone...4 times the limit is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The whole "oh I won't even smell a drink if I'm driving" is sensationalist nonsense.

What are you yammering on about here?

Because I won't get behind the wheel if I've had a drink it's "sensationalist nonsense?" What does that even mean?

It's not hard to not drive a car. Or to not take a drink if you are driving. It's not an impossible task or even a crazily difficult task. So how on earth is it "sensationalist nonsense"?

Just because you regularly drive with a couple of pints on you doesn't mean that people who do the more sensible thing and don't do that are somehow lying or exaggerating.

One was only after coming back from a 10 yr ban. .

Imagine the mind-numbing stupidity of someone who gets banned from driving for ten years and then as soon as they're legally allowed back behind the wheel again they go and do the same thing again.

I actually can't get my head around how thick that person must be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭username2013

Tasden wrote: »
    I don't understand the "only one" argument. If its only one and it does absolutely nothing to you/doesn't make you tipsy or whatever then why bother at all? Have a soft drink instead. If it does make you a little bit "relaxed" or however you want to phrase it, then it has altered your brain in some way and you should not drive, regardless of whether it will have "worn off" or not.

Because not everyone is drinking to get drunk. I'd prefer to drink a nice beer instead of coke, sprite etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't understand the "only one" argument. If its only one and it does absolutely nothing to you/doesn't make you tipsy or whatever then why bother at all? Have a soft drink instead. If it does make you a little bit "relaxed" or however you want to phrase it, then it has altered your brain in some way and you should not drive, regardless of whether it will have "worn off" or not.

Well this is an attitude of an alcoholic. I have no problem admitting I will have a glass of wine, one dl, which is about half the small bottle they sell in bars. I don't do it for the kick I do it because it compliments food. The moment I will need it to relax It will be time to stop drinking completely.

So yes I would have a glass, but I am positive I am under the limit. I don't feel guilty, the law wouldn't consider it illegal and that is it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

The problem with drink driving limits is the built-in ambiguity of the limit itself.
    I've known people for whom 2 isn't enough to even function properly - hardened alcos basically* - and I know people who are half drunk after 2.
    Best way is therefore to operate a zero limit policy.

*Obviously people in this group shouldn't be allowed to drive at all. Only brought in to make the point.

Yes, absolutely thick. But in all other spheres is a highly intelligent person.
    Not defending these guy's and the decisions they've made.

Regardless of fines, if people want to drive, they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a bit of a silly question. The only way you can be confident of being under the limit after two pints is to take a test to confirm it.

If you're just winging it and going on "feeling", then you won't be under the limit, simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Because not everyone is drinking to get drunk. I'd prefer to drink a nice beer instead of coke, sprite etc.

I'd prefer beer to coke myself but if i was driving then taste wouldn't be more important than safety. So i still wouldn't prioritise one nice glass of beer over safety. I'd order my favourite soft drink.

No. And my age is no business to you.

Can you think someone who has taken alcohol can be a good judge of their own sobriety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭username2013

I'd prefer beer to coke myself but if i was driving then taste wouldn't be more important than safety. So i still wouldn't prioritise one nice glass of beer over safety. I'd order my favourite soft drink.

Fair enough you're entitled to your opinion, but I would argue that the reason the limit is set to 0.5 rather than 0.0 is because the authorities (in numerous countries) have decreed that it is safe to drive with that amount of alcohol.

I never have/never will drink and drive. Won't get in a car with someone who has had a drink either. A friend of my brothers got a 3 year ban for drink driving which is almost over. I asked him if he would ever drink and drive again and he said "probably" :mad:

The phone thing really does my head in too. I always see people texting/on facebook/taking calls etc when driving. The ones that steer with their knees whilst texting really piss me off. If sending a text is really so important then pull over!

Fair enough you're entitled to your opinion, but I would argue that the reason the limit is set to 0.5 rather than 0.0 is because the authorities (in numerous countries) have decreed that it is safe to drive with that amount of alcohol.

Not saying I'm right.
    Just personally don't see why anybody would take that risk for something that is not necessary in the slightest. Regardless of the law.
    Although I was also the person who didn't stay in the same room as a smoker while pregnant, or near microwaves, or touch a drop of alcohol or coffee. So I'm a bit "all or nothing" about these things, i just don't see why people would risk it when they can just as easily avoid it completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They haven't degree that it is safe, there is no such as a safe limit in any country anywhere in the world. There is a legal limit which is a totally different thing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

But anyway, we don't really have a good way of saying what's "safe". Usually a few countries will try reducing the allowed bac, road deaths fall and we copy them.

My guess is that it will be reduced to 0.0 within 15 years.

meeeeh wrote: »
    So yes I would have a glass, but I am positive I am under the limit. I don't feel guilty, the law wouldn't consider it illegal and that is it for me.

That's alright for some. I myself won't do it but there's a difference between what you're describing and what lots of people do though.

The thread title though is two pints - a good bit more than a small glass and the problem is the people who have one beer and then go - ah sure I'll have one more, I'm grand. And then.... sure one more. And then off they toddle with three pints in them, thinking they're fine because it's two hours later and sure they're "not even tipsy"

I would be surprised if the legal limit would be changed to zero for everyone. Previous limit in Ireland was very high, a lot of others have 0.5 in blood for decades, Ireland just got in line with that few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭RyanDrive

I would never drink and drive even though it would make my life a lot easier (live in the middle of nowhere). The risk of getting caught, let alone causing an accident horrifies me. I thought nearly all my friends thought the same until a girl I know admitted she regularly drives home after a night out because "she's grand once she gets a bit of food in her". I told her if I saw her the next night out getting in a car I'd call the guards. The sad thing is she lives with her parents and they'd rather her do that than stay up and pick her up. I definitely think it's widely frowned upon to anyone under 30 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Drank and drove regulary in my twentys and a lot of the time drunk too. I'm not in any way proud of it. I'm lucky I got away to a point with it and blessed I never caused injury to anyone while drunk driving. I'm 39 now and rarely drink at all if I'm out and driving I'll stick to the soft drinks or water. The thing I have noticed is if I do have a drink at all now before the 2nd pint I notice it having an effect. So maybe the lads who drink 2-3 pints most nights are ok to drive as they can absorb it better an are used to it. Of course it would have to be medically proven but I've witnessed lads pass a Garda breathalyser after 3-4 pints.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

You from healy rae town Bonzo?

NiallBoo wrote: »

It is usually measured as 0.5mg per ml of blood.

How many drinks is thAt depends on body weight and time consumed. Also empty stomach will absorb alcohol quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

You from healy rae town Bonzo?

Country's awash with Healy Rae type towns and villages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Younger people are more tolerant of drink driving?

Sounds like generalised 'damn kids' bullsh!t to me.

Get off my lawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Not a drop here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I am in two minds about it. I see the need for zero tolerance because allowing some measure of alcohol means people will be more inclined to over indulge and go over the limit whereas if there is zero tolerance then people would be more inclined not to drink at all BUT because of all the other sh!te we have to put up with from this and previous governments I'm against them introducing a zero limit purely because they have restricted things enough. I know that's not a good enough reason but there you go.

What I do think is an absolute disgrace in this country is the legal profession's incessant attack on the drink driving laws. Getting someone who was 2 or 3 times over the limit off on a drink driving charge because the Garda didn't give him the breathalyser results in irish when the person barely spoke English is just downright wrong no matter what way you look at it. The person themselves didn't drive that appeal as they would have been clueless as to what's what, the solicitor picked on the most ridiculous technacakity he could find and pushed it. I sincerely hope someone dear to him suffers at the hands of a drunk driver so that he sees exactly what his actions are responsible for.

I sincerely hope someone dear to him suffers at the hands of a drunk driver so that he sees exactly what his actions are responsible for.

I wouldn't wish that on anybody tbh.

Drank and drove regulary in my twentys and a lot of the time drunk too. I'm not in any way proud of it. I'm lucky I got away to a point with it and blessed I never caused injury to anyone while drunk driving. I'm 39 now and rarely drink at all if I'm out and driving I'll stick to the soft drinks or water. The thing I have noticed is if I do have a drink at all now before the 2nd pint I notice it having an effect. So maybe the lads who drink 2-3 pints most nights are ok to drive as they can absorb it better an are used to it. Of course it would have to be medically proven but I've witnessed lads pass a Garda breathalyser after 3-4 pints.

Have seen this myself, boss at the time, we had three quick lagers(45-55 mins max) he left about five minutes after, got pulled by an unmarked and bagged.

Just about passed, gard knew ****in well he had a few and told him in no uncertain terms if he came across him again he'd be nicked for a whiff of drink.

Tolerance of alcohol is a major factor in this discussion, anyone who thinks it isn't is wrong. Imo and experience.

(we were drinking pretty heavy then, 3 in less than an hour was mild, to say the least)

The law on bac is cut and dried. Individual tolerance and levels is different.