Where are cops trained to do this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Funny thing is, my neighbours in a semi-D were plagued by partying people in the house attached to theirs, and the garda response was always "It's a civil matter, sort it out yourselves."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

inc21 wrote: »
    Moral of the story: don't be a cnut and you won't get arrested.

Ah, I see, so you don't think people should be arrested for committing crimes, you think they should be arrested if the cop doesn't like them, right?

When do you sit the bar exam, Matlock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You'll never in your life question the abuse of power will you?
    You'll always search for an excuse to acquiesce.

a police officer asking you to turn the noise down after receiving a noise complaint from neighbours is not abusing his power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

conorhal wrote: »
    Victim blaming? Nice.
    Victim claiming? Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

And if it was your daughter in her first year in college and got her teeth smashed in by some narcissistic thug cop coming the heavy at a house party you'd tell your swollen and toothless little girl to always respect cops no matter what they say or do, right? She should NEVER question authority, act like a young person or stand up for herself.

And if your daughter was picked up by air force one and welded to a cross before being thrown into a blender and then used to make sausages what would you do, huh? Huh? Strange how some people want to create little stories about M60's and smashed teeth, I guess the narrative needs stronger images if the proper level of outrage is to be achieved.

If my daughter was a blight on the community and had no respect for her neighbours I wouldn't spend much time supporting her on the internet no matter the consequences.

conorhal wrote: »
    Yeah, I used thave a bunch of student neighbours that went out 'Thursday student night drinking' every week and then threw an after-party once the clubs closed in their appartment, which typically went on from about 1am till 6am. My sporadic pleas that they at least keep the party indoors and off the balcony where they would roar and hollar half the night were typically ignored with a look of 'shut up you working square;.
    If the Guards had ever shown up and pumped 10,000 volts into a couple of those bastards it would have made my year!

I'm going to apply the logic of the lazy-minded victim blamers here:

Moral of your story.....want to get a good night's sleep? Don't move in next to students. It's all YOUR fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

And if your daughter was picked up by air force one and welded to a cross before being thrown into a blender and then used to make sausages what would you do, huh? Huh? Strange how some people want to create little stories about M60's and smashed teeth, I guess the narrative needs stronger images if the proper level of outrage is to be achieved.

If my daughter was a blight on the community and had no respect for her neighbours I wouldn't spend much time supporting her on the internet no matter the consequences.

Have you never been to a loud party? Yep, the neighbours have every right to be pissed off. But a lone student at one is hardly a "blight on the community".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Issuing a written warning is not 'doing nothing'. Issuing a summons is not 'doing nothing'. Threatening the student/occupier with college expulsion is not 'doing nothing'.

Ease off on the Steven Segal movies lads.

It is doing nothing for the people who complained about the noise on the night. They still have to put up with it because the police issuing a written warning is not resolving the sitation that night.

This has nothing to do with Segal movies as I do not believe it is fun or entertaining for the police to engage in violence and I do believe this cop crossed the line but it was initiated and escalated by the frat. The frat made the noise in the first place and they refused to obey the officer.

If I have the pedestrian light to cross the road and I can see a car is breaking the law by speeding through I am not going to step in front of that car. It does not matter that legally I am allowed cross and they will have broken the law, for all my legal right I do not want to be smashed by a car. If a cop ask me to do something as reasonable as turn down music or step outside to talk to them regardless of whether I have the right I am going to comply with them and if I feel they broke their own laws I can complain later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Nothing wrong with arresting people who refuse to comply with a sensible, polite order that's for the good of everyone. But the American practice seems to have generated into occasional police riots, rather than "Come down to the station with us if you won't turn it down, lads."

Maguined wrote: »
    I fully believe the cops could of handled the situation better but so could the frat, if the cop told them there was a noise complaint and they turned down the music I believe the situation would of been resolved.

Seems to me like the student(s) weren't given the opportunity to handle the situation better. Seems to me like Robocop threw down the gauntlet and they resisted his abuse of power. Saying they should have just rolled over and allowed themselves to be bullied is chickening out of your responsibilities to exercise your rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

I'd need to see what happened before the actual recording started but to me it seems like the cop was completely in the wrong. He had no right stepping foot through that door in the first place and the aggression was uncalled for. This is the problem in America, minor matters are dealt with in force. When back-up arrived to further 'control' the situation, they made it 10 times worse especially the way they tasered and beat that student.

Absolutely ridiculous scene and I'm struggling to see how people are actually defending the cops actions. How does it take 10+ cops to sort out a civil matter? Pffft if that was here in Ireland there would be absolute uproar.

Seems to me like the student(s) weren't given the opportunity to handle the situation better. Seems to me like Robocop threw down the gauntlet and they resisted his abuse of power. Saying they should have just rolled over and allowed themselves to be bullied is chickening out of your responsibilities to exercise your rights.

Exercising your rights to play music so loud that neighbhours phoned the police to make a noise complaint?

Exactly how much opportunity do you think students need? Do you honestly believe this incident did not start with the cop telling them there was a noise complaint and that they should turn the music down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

a police officer asking you to turn the noise down after receiving a noise complaint from neighbours is not abusing his power.

I think when the tazers and headache sticks were used was when the abuse started.

RustyNut wrote: »
    I think when the tazers and headache sticks were used was when the abuse started.

So a cop showed up to a noise complaint, the residents refuse to leave to talk to the police and refuse to let the police enter. How do you propose the officer resolve the situation?

Do you think that's what happened there?

This is a frat house people. They are going to be loud. Maybe there's some confusion here as to what a fraternity is?

what you are basing that on? the recording is incomplete.

Liam O wrote: »
    Do you think that's what happened there?

This is a frat house people. They are going to be loud. Maybe there's some confusion here as to what a fraternity is?

what do you think happened here?

So a cop showed up to a noise complaint, the residents refuse to leave to talk to the police and refuse to let the police enter. How do you propose the officer resolve the situation?

Legally.

What legal obligation do the residents have to talk to the police, leave or let the police in. Are american citizens not supposed to be protected from this very behavior on behalf of the state by their constitution.

what do you think happened here?
    The fact that the cop is in the house in the first place is a gross abuse of power. What right did he have to be there? Why did so many officers show up for a noise complaint? What danger was the police officer in? Why did he manufacture an act of aggression to escalate the situation into violence?

We don't have the full context obviously but these are questions that must be considered.

OK, for the sake of the people saying that the kids deserved all they got (although I remember there were a good few that said the same about the Berkeley kids too, so some people will never be convinced!).

The policeman put himself entirely into the wrong once he escalated the situation further. He's supposed to be trained to -de-escalate, not make matters worse. Now, I don't know the particular laws, but say there was nothing he could do, he cites them and walks off. The students reckon they've won, lol, yay (except a few nervy ones that reckon there's going to be Trouble later and leave, of which I would be one!)

Tomorrow they get slapped with a heavy fine and suddenly realise that there were indeed consequences to their actions and now they're in the soup. If they'd acted reasonably the previous night, they'd have in all probability gotten away with it. Breaking the rules has consequences.

What happened here? Police brutality, police putting themselves utterly in the wrong by not obeying their own training. And all the kids have learned from it is "obey the cops or get a beating", and, being kids, that's more likely to just make them resent the police more. Which is a huge problem in the US and a problem that the police there keep attempting to solve with more violence.

Legally.

What was and was not legal about this incident?
    What legal obligation do the residents have to talk to the police, leave or let the police in. Are american citizens not supposed to be protected from this very behavior on behalf of the state by their constitution.

I could be wrong but to my knowledge the US police are allowed enter any residence without a warrant if they believe a crime is being committed within. A noise complaint is a crime so it is possible it was legal for the cop to enter and if he was being denied they were obstructing him doing his job. I don't know for sure if this is the case, just saying it is a possibility rather than everyone assuming he cannot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Legally.

Ohhh someone got owned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I could be wrong but to my knowledge the US police are allowed enter any residence without a warrant if they believe a crime is being committed within. A noise complaint is a crime so it is possible it was legal for the cop to enter and if he was being denied they were obstructing him doing his job. I don't know for sure if this is the case, just saying it is a possibility rather than everyone assuming he cannot.

You are wrong 100%, stop while you are not ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Can't believe the number of policemen who went to that apartment.
    Here you would be lucky to see one or two at most.
    A bit of an overreaction by the cops but it must be frustrating to have so many noisy students shout at you all at once and refuse to listen.

it is NOT a crime, it is a civil nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    Pffft if that was here in Ireland there would be absolute uproar.

If the guards were to forcefully break up these sort of scumbag parties here in Ireland I would happily vote to give them a pay raise.

That sort of anti-social behaviour has zero consequences in this country and far too many law abiding people suffer because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The sooner the entire police service is privatised and robots can take over the better, eh lads?

You have 20 seconds to turn down the music....

You now have 15 seconds to comply...

Liam O wrote: »
    The fact that the cop is in the house in the first place is a gross abuse of power. What right did he have to be there? Why did so many officers show up for a noise complaint? What danger was the police officer in? Why did he manufacture an act of aggression to escalate the situation into violence?

We don't have the full context obviously but these are questions that must be considered.

all excellent questions. None of which are answered by the video in question.

listermint wrote: »
    You are wrong 100%, stop while you are not ahead.

I am perfectly willing to admit I am wrong if you provide evidence to prove I am wrong rather than a childish dismissal?