Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

YbFocus wrote: »
    5 hours buying a car from a dealership with whom your dad was friends with?
    Did you not get a warranty cip?

I would have ran you, I've bought two cars for people from dealerships and a half hour will tell you everything.
    5 hours, like what did you do?

Not being smart, just astonished at what you could have been doing.

I'd say if I combined the viewing time on every car I've bought or was involved in the purchase of both private and from a dealer (20-30 cars overall from myself, family and friends) it would be no more than 3 hours. Some of which were not even viewed. Doesn't take me long to decide if I want the car or want to walk away. Although I've walked away from some yokes that were probably fine and bought or was involved in the purchase of some heaps. Buying cars is fun. Selling them is zero craic.
    GvidoR wrote: »
    It will go up tomorrow. I haven't filled the tank fully so the numbers are not accurate.

I don't even know how that fuelly thing works tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'd say if I combined the viewing time on every car I've bought or was involved in the purchase of both private and from a dealer (20-30 cars overall from myself, family and friends) it would be no more than 3 hours. Some of which were not even viewed. Doesn't take me long to decide if I want the car or want to walk away. Although I've walked away from some yokes that were probably fine and bought or was involved in the purchase of some heaps. Buying cars is fun. Selling them is zero craic.

Same with myself, never more than 30-40mins.
    My first impression of a car goes a long way to me making the purchase, like when I was looking for e36's, I knew I wanted that one when I seen it.
    Once I took a look at the common problem areas, ghosted a light over the paint I was ready to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Real men are in and out with the deed done in 5 minutes :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I agree, I was saying to the misses while he was gawking at it that I usually know I'm say max an hour that its the one for me. Complete ocd person he was, even had the cash all facing the same direction :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

bear1 wrote: »
    I agree, I was saying to the misses while he was gawking at it that I usually know I'm say max an hour that its the one for me. Complete ocd person he was, even had the cash all facing the same direction :)

I suppose it's sold anyway that the main thing :) have you decided what your replacing it with ? when is he collecting it ?

I hate when you sell one car and are stuck for a car when trying to buy the new one that's annoying. I shouldn't be too bad in the future as I can just use the parents car as a temp as that gets little use these days.

CIP4 wrote: »
    I suppose it's sold anyway that the main thing :) have you decided what your replacing it with ? when is he collecting it ?

I hate when you sell one car and are stuck for a car when trying to buy the new one that's annoying. I shouldn't be too bad in the future as I can just use the parents car as a temp as that gets little use these days.

He collected it already. Haven't heard from him since so id say he made it :D
    It will be replaced by a Passat 170 station wagon.
    Just looking for the right spec and then get the loan in order.
    Ah ill use the bus for now anyway so ill save something at least in regards to diesel costs

He collected it already. Haven't heard from him since so id say he made it :D
    It will be replaced by a Passat 170 station wagon.
    Just looking for the right spec and then get the loan in order.
    Ah ill use the bus for now anyway so ill save something at least in regards to diesel costs

Should be a nice comfortable car. Nice to have a bit of power too. I wouldn't imagine there's many 170 bhp version here in Ireland not that I've ever looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Yeah, an hour usually has the deal done for me. Half an hour seeing if everything works, engine, service history etc, and teat drive. Then another 10 mins or so gawking at it and wondering if it's the right one. Last 20 mins or so on the nitty gritty with the dealer in the office, warranty, price, add ins etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

4.5 hours?? What kind of car was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Autosport wrote: »

Bear had an accord, cip bought a megane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

You'd be forgiven for thinking that he was looking at 20 meganes or a few trucks or something, wouldn't ya?! :D

Test drive 20mins, haggling with the dealer 1 hour and that's me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭jprboy

Yeah, an hour usually has the deal done for me. Half an hour seeing if everything works, engine, service history etc, and teat drive. Then another 10 mins or so gawking at it and wondering if it's the right one. Last 20 mins or so on the nitty gritty with the dealer in the office, warranty, price, add ins etc.

:eek::eek::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

jprboy wrote:

Not my fault most of the dealers I've dealt with were women with savage knockers! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I think I spent 5 hours checking the Megane after the focus I'm gone extremely cautious too much so. The dealer was in shock of how long I spent granted it was 3 meganes I was trying to pick the one I wanted but at the same time the vast majority of the time was spent on the one I bought. I drove one of them twice, one of them 3 times and the one I bought 4 times. It was great to be able to compare them as one only had 30k km and drove like new so it was nice to be able to compare the higher mileage ones to that one.

Worth nothing I know most of the lads including the owner of the garage so they just gave me all the keys and let me work away. Not sure you'd get away with it in other garages. But consideringbit was only one car bear was selling and not huge money I would not spend 4.5 hours looking at it 2 should be more than enough.

Good grief! 5 hours I'm still astonished reading that! I tend to see a car and normally if I bother going to view it I have already decided I'm buying it, it's just a case of what price in going to pay.

Tbh if I liked the car and it was from a dealer id be spending 30 minutes giving it s look over and trusting the dealership that it was a good car! I'd nearly spend more time on a cheaper car as the chances of getting a lemon are higher.

Maybe just me but I'd get bored after an hour, I can think of better ways to spend the 5 hours, could be that you had to fill it with diesel and test out the brakes and spin the tyres that it took so long!

Not my fault most of the dealers I've dealt with were women with savage knockers! :pac:

The dealers I've dealt with have been men but I'm not buying them it's the car I want ;):D

166man wrote: »
    Good grief! 5 hours I'm still astonished reading that! I tend to see a car and normally if I bother going to view it I have already decided I'm buying it, it's just a case of what price in going to pay.

Tbh if I liked the car and it was from a dealer id be spending 30 minutes giving it s look over and trusting the dealership that it was a good car! I'd nearly spend more time on a cheaper car as the chances of getting a lemon are higher.

Maybe just me but I'd get bored after an hour, I can think of better ways to spend the 5 hours, could be that you had to fill it with diesel and test out the brakes and spin the tyres that it took so long!

Ah I definitely wouldn't ever spend that long looking at a car again. It would have been sub 2 hours all in if there had only been one to look at and do the deal on. I mean I would traditionally spend between 30 mins to an hour with previous stuff I bought privately. Plus it was a sunny day and I was off work so wasn't in much of a rush and probably chatted to some of the lads there a bit excessively since I would kind of know them. Sure I made a day out of it :pac: as I said I would plan on sticking to the 30 mins to an hour in the future that was just a one of case.

The funny part is after all that when I showed up to collect it just over a week later they had lost the keys although they had warned me and gave me a temporary car infairness so I couldn't complain. Then they ordered a key from Renault France as they couldn't get in to code the key of any things then the lost keys showed up. I'd say I'm the only Megane owner the has 3 Renault key cards considering the price of them.

The dealers I've dealt with have been men but I'm not buying them it's the car I want ;):D

You could have me for free, i'd hide in the boot :p

/Surprise :eek:

:pac::pac::pac:

You could have me for free, i'd hide in the boot :p

/Surprise :eek:

:pac::pac::pac:

What are you hoping to replace the st with or have you decided something starting with b and ending with w is early talks are anything to go by :)

Kind of in love with this atm

https://www.gumtree.com/p/bmw/2001-bmw-540i-sport-individual-velvet-blue-/1141390560

Speaking of the ST an absolutely gorgeous one passed me today, it was an orange colour and the sound of it "swoon" :D

SG you don't have to hide ;)

Looks like a serious car. I really like the colour too. From the photos the condition seems unbelievable especially inside. It's a strong price tag but I suppose you have to consider items a rare car and it's not too often you'd get one in that condition.

Air/road/ferry trip!

Indeed.

-Bus from Tuam to shannon at 645
    -Fly from Shannon to Heathrow
    -Land in London, get phonecall to say car is sold, go on murder rampage :p
    -Alternatively buy car, go through london many many motorways
    -Get to Holyhead maccy d's off the A55 buy a quarter pounder meal
    -Nom
    -Get on ferry
    -Billow through dublin port tunnel on way to M50
    -Onwards to Galway via M6
    -Sleep for 24h

If only yer man could see what his long viewing of the car has caused on Boards :D
    Anyway for me it's a saga which has finally ended, in a way I'm also slightly, albeit very slightly sad that it's gone as it hasn't actually ever left me at the side of the road.
    Just left me with suicidal bills :D
    Last thing about the seller, he would be my contender for the worst buyer I've seen ever. He wasted my entire day and forced me to leave to wife and baby alone for the majority of the day. So that did piss me off.
    Cash will be used as a deposit now but when I think of the loss I've suffered financially with the car my heart starts to ache.
    Lesson learnt and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Indeed.

-Bus from Tuam to shannon at 645
    -Fly from Shannon to Heathrow
    -Land in London, get phonecall to say car is sold, go on murder rampage :p
    -Alternatively buy car, go through london many many motorways
    -Get to Holyhead maccy d's off the A55 buy a quarter pounder meal
    -Nom
    -Get on ferry
    -Billow through dublin port tunnel on way to M50
    -Onwards to Galway via M6
    -Sleep for 24h

Big Tasty meal!

That is nom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Last thing about the seller, he would be my contender for the worst buyer I've seen ever.

Bear, you're drunk...go home :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Genuine question bear1, was he eastern european?

Dont mean it in a "dem forigners" kind of way, but any time i've sold a car, no matter how cheap, to an eastern european, they tend to be painfully thorough, looking for non oem screws and stuff.