Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

davycc wrote: »
    yea thanks for the vid , id heard of xcars but never seen the show, hard to believe that show is from 97 looks well older..

if I was going undercover 90s vauxhall it would be ?Carlton/Senator 3.0 24v or a cav turbo :D

GMP were never a force that really lacked in high performance cars. Dunno what they use these days, probably 3/530d's but a few years ago they were using WRX's, T5's and 3.2 A3's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

GMP were never a force that really lacked in high performance cars. Dunno what they use these days, probably 3/530d's but a few years ago they were using WRX's, T5's and 3.2 A3's

yea seen them on road wars and traffic wars ?
    in a recent show they were using unmarked 2012 models Focus STs, Octavia VRS, bmw X5s , 330D, 530D ,

seen the essex interceptors using evos and stis alright .

im going to be up all night watching every epidode of xcars now hope your happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

This is not something that I usually post about but it's something that I've experienced all too well with friends of mine, this was written by a friend of mine from Primary School and I had no idea about anything that had happened.

Well worth a read and a share if possible on Facebook, if it helps even one person it'll be worth it :)

http://finnsmentalhealth.blog.com/2015/11/08/my-mental-health-story/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

OSI wrote: »
    I remember years ago living in the UK we were on our way to my cousins in Birmingham from London. We were just off the motorway and there was a flash of lights behind. Dad pulls in, thinking he'd got done for speeding. Cop pulls up and has a nose around. Eventually comes up to the window and starts having a conversation with my Dad about the car. The cop was driving a 850 T5, and saw my Dads 850 R and wanted to know what it was like cause he loved his service car and wanted to get an R for himself :D

That's a deadly story :)

Spent the evening welding yesterday, almost ready to get one bucket seat in.
    It's only a test fit, they won't be in the car until like the day before the track day each time.

This is not something that I usually post about but it's something that I've experienced all too well with friends of mine, this was written by a friend of mine from Primary School and I had no idea about anything that had happened.

Well worth a read and a share if possible on Facebook, if it helps even one person it'll be worth it :)

http://finnsmentalhealth.blog.com/2015/11/08/my-mental-health-story/

Quite harrowing.
    I find "real" peoples accounts so much more moving than the likes of Bressie with his experience, the cynic in me perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

So I went in this morning to try and resolve my wheel catching problem. They put it on the lift, couldn't find anything wrong. One trackrod was a tad shorter than the other, but they said it shouldn't make such a drastic difference. So they put the tracking equipment on, and one wheel was a hairs breath out from the other. 0.2 of a mm out. They adjusted them both to be bang on 00, and it sorted the problem. They were so dumbfounded how .2 of a mm could have such a drastic effect. It's a strange one, but it's sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Just avoid every minor imperfection in the road suface now and you'l be grand :pac:

I hate getting tracking done as i'm paranoid over every, hump, dip, crack and ridge in the road for the next 6 months. "Does that feel like it did or is it pulling left now"... "better hit a bump on the right now to even that out"... "shut up brain"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Just avoid every minor imperfection in the road suface now and you'l be grand :pac:
    The only way to avoid all of these is to get yerself a helicopter. :D
    I hate getting tracking done as i'm paranoid over every, hump, dip, crack and ridge in the road for the next 6 months. [...]

I just do tracking every 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I went to get my tracking done last week, first place told me that there was no point as one of the tyres was too badly worn on the outside and that both front needed to be replaced asap. Also said the rears were close to the legal limit. Kindly offered to sell me 2/4 new tyres. I departed, to mull over their offer.

Then went elsewhere, car tracked in 20 minutes, said tyres aren't great but no need to replace them just yet (I'm changing them in the next couple of weeks anyway as they are cheap ditchfinders that were new on it when I bought the car).

NCT was booked for 9:45 this morning, arrived at 9:20, out at 9:40, passed no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Anyone know where I can order 3M double-sided foam tape online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anyone know where I can order 3M double-sided foam tape online?

Ye Bay of Gee?

http://www.ebay.ie/sch/i.html?_sop=1&_nkw=3m+double+sided+foam+tape&_frs=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I just bought from ebay after posting that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Hal1 wrote: »
    Fair fks to the driver.

HPcX966.gif

Dat Lada Priora doe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So the guy came and after a 4.5 hour check of the car, test drive and check up at the mechanic he took it after haggling like a right bastard. He got a serious discount on the price considering what I've repaired on it but the check up revealed things I hadn't known about. I.e. Seems to have been sideswiped at some point and repainted badly.
    Anyway its gone now and I'm on the final stage of getting the replacement.
    Hope it won't be a lemon.

bear1 wrote: »
    So the guy came and after a 4.5 hour check of the car, test drive and check up at the mechanic he took it after haggling like a right bastard. He got a serious discount on the price considering what I've repaired on it but the check up revealed things I hadn't known about. I.e. Seems to have been sideswiped at some point and repainted badly.
    Anyway its gone now and I'm on the final stage of getting the replacement.
    Hope it won't be a lemon.

4.5 hours! :eek: Did he dismantle it and put it back together or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just a quick one about autobrite having a sale atm. All discounted detailing products. It might make sense for some items like D/A's or rotaries and using parcel motel for delivery.

http://www.autobritedirect.co.uk/index.php/sale-items.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Don't ask. He asked question after question after question. To the point I was thinking of cancelling the sale.
    Then 90min spent at the check up, 20min test drive, and then shining lights left right and center. Id understand if I said it was mint and asked for 10k but it was a sub 2k car but whatever its gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Don't ask. He asked question after question after question. To the point I was thinking of cancelling the sale.
    Then 90min spent at the check up, 20min test drive, and then shining lights left right and center. Id understand if I said it was mint and asked for 10k but it was a sub 2k car but whatever its gone.

Why do I get the feeling this probably isn't the last you'll hear of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Deposit taken on ST.

What ****e weather to sell a car in :(

An end of an era :( Again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I think I spent 5 hours checking the Megane after the focus I'm gone extremely cautious too much so. The dealer was in shock of how long I spent granted it was 3 meganes I was trying to pick the one I wanted but at the same time the vast majority of the time was spent on the one I bought. I drove one of them twice, one of them 3 times and the one I bought 4 times. It was great to be able to compare them as one only had 30k km and drove like new so it was nice to be able to compare the higher mileage ones to that one.

Worth nothing I know most of the lads including the owner of the garage so they just gave me all the keys and let me work away. Not sure you'd get away with it in other garages. But consideringbit was only one car bear was selling and not huge money I would not spend 4.5 hours looking at it 2 should be more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Deposit taken on ST.

What ****e weather to sell a car in :(

That was quicker than you expected dude.

When's he picking it up?

Fcuk that. I'd have sent him packing. People buy houses in less time :p

Will be going through the whole cheap car selling process myself this week. I am not looking forward to it one bit.
    GvidoR wrote: »
    An end of an era :( Again :pac:

Care to explain the 16.3mpg from the Punto? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

CIP4 wrote: »
    I think I spent 5 hours checking the Megane after the focus I'm gone extremely cautious too much so. The dealer was in shock of how long I spent granted it was 3 meganes I was trying to pick the one I wanted but at the same time the vast majority of the time was spent on the one I bought. I drove one of them twice, one of them 3 times and the one I bought 4 times. It was great to be able to compare them as one only had 30k km and drove like new so it was nice to be able to compare the higher mileage ones to that one.

Worth nothing I know most of the lads including the owner of the garage so they just gave me all the keys and let me work away. Not sure you'd get away with it in other garages. But consideringbit was only one car bear was selling and not huge money I would not spend 4.5 hours looking at it 2 should be more than enough.

horses for courses, you might think 4.5 hours is excessive to inspect a car at "not huge money"

others would think similar spending 5 hours over a megane tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CIP4 wrote: »
    I think I spent 5 hours checking the Megane after the focus I'm gone extremely cautious too much so.

5 hours buying a car from a dealership with whom your dad was friends with?
    Did you not get a warranty cip?

I would have ran you, I've bought two cars for people from dealerships and a half hour will tell you everything.
    5 hours, like what did you do?

Not being smart, just astonished at what you could have been doing.

Care to explain the 16.3mpg from the Punto? :pac:

It will go up tomorrow. I haven't filled the tank fully so the numbers are not accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

when I look at a car it usually involves 20 minutes looking at the car. 10-15 minutes driving it. 20 minutes looking at it and humming and hawing.

Could be doing it wrong though when I look at how awesome my cars are :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

YbFocus wrote: »
    5 hours buying a car from a dealership with whom your dad was friends with?
    Did you not get a warranty cip?

I would have ran you, I've bought two cars for people from dealerships and a half hour will tell you everything.
    5 hours, like what did you do?

Not being smart, just astonished at what you could have been doing.

I got a warranty alright. I suppose ultimately if it had been one Megane I wouldn't have spent that long at all. It came down to two and I couldn't really decide hence why I ended up driving them muliple times. As for checks sure what did I not check. Obviously all the usual stuff. They didn't ultimately care wasn't exactly a queue to buy them. I probably spent an hour of that doing the deal walking through the car telling them what I wasn't happy with and then most things they agreed to replace the odd thing they didn't. It probably came down to ultimately making sure I was happy with the car and making sure it wasn't crashed as everything I seem to buy seems to have had paint at some stage although it's more serious damage would be the issue.

It didn't really come down to oh they might be selling me a dodgy car as they wouldn't more I didn't want to buy one and then a week later think oh I should have bought the other one. Hence why I said I would spend no where near that time looking at a single car. Also I obviously wouldn't rock up to some random garage or private sale and expect them to entertain me for 5 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

id just bring a mechanic and give him 50e to do the work for me. Would know withing 30 mins if it was worth buying or not. Add in myself taking it for a spin and 45 mins and jobs a goodun

if it took me around 5hours, I would know this is not the car for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

don't think i've ever spent more than 15 minutes buying a car.

it's kind of like a woman, you know after 10 seconds of a first impression if it's for you or not, then a few quick questions and we're good to go :)