The Wesht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Pedro K wrote: »
    I did a little googling, albeit not very much, and can't seem to find an answer to this.

Why do many people in the west of Ireland put a 'h' into words containing S? 'Shtop', 'Shlab' etc.

Does anybody know why it is? Are you from the wesht? Do you use the h?

Yes and yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I'd rather listen to shtuff in the Wesht than youzzzzzz in the East.

It's YOU, ****in YOU. Ye stupid c**ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Canadel wrote: »
    I'd rather listen to shtuff in the Wesht than youzzzzzz in the East.

It's YOU, ****in YOU. Ye stupid c**ts.

Or "ye" if you're in the Whest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Or "ye" if you're in the Whest...
    Old English..

ye
    pronoun archaic dialect
    plural form of thou.
    "gather ye rosebuds, while ye may"

Canadel wrote: »
    Old English..

ye
    pronoun archaic dialect
    plural form of thou.
    "gather ye rosebuds, while ye may"

And?

The Whest accent sounds put on in jest sometimes it's that bad.

It gives off a real whiff of clueless gombeen who touches oneself sexually whilst thinking about ones blood relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

"What's this? People with an accent which doesn't correspond to what's considered 'normal' or 'correct'.
    They must be mocked and degraded endlessly until they conform!"

I really loathe humans sometimes. Herd-minded gobshytes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I know myself I talk this way naturally, but I can easily say "west" aswell. Just if I was to not think about it and just say the word I'd nearly always say it as "wesht".

I just put it down to having picked it up from the way friends, relatives etc talk and because of that it's naturally the way I talk too even though I can easily pronounce the words correctly as well.

So I suppose that means I do actually put it on but I just naturally do it at this stage. I'm sure if I was to move somewhere else I'd probably drop those h's fairly quickly.

Either way it's hardly a big deal anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

We can't all speak flawless cut glass English like myself or Michael D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I started doing it ironically/jokingly...and now I cant stop :(

Don't you mean you can't shtop? :p

Are you from the west of Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Don't you mean you can't shtop? :p

Are you from the west of Ireland?

From my experience, for people from Galway Mayo (short-hand being Gayyo), it's at the end of certain words, like wesht, pasht. Whereas the "sh" sound at the front of the word, like shtop, would be from rural Kerry/West Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

It gives off a real whiff of clueless gombeen who touches oneself sexually whilst thinking about ones blood relatives.

Says the poster called 'Sheep Lover' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Possibly because of bad teeth, the sound comes out stranger.

Yeah, immaculate choppers on the lads in Dublin. Well the ones that haven't been kicked out or lost due to the junk. Hmm, maybe that explains the accent over there? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I like hearing different Irish accents. A real thick accent would have a 'c' as well as a 'h'. As in, 'ara schtop,' . Or, 'would ya look at the feckin schtate 'a tha yoke.'

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Might have something to do with speaking Irish for a few generations longer than the city folk.

Irish has broad and slender consonants, depending on the vowels around them.
    S often becomes "sh" after the letter "i" or a combination of a, e, i, o, u + i.
    T can sound like "tch".
    D can sound like "dj".
    etc

/Buzz Killington

Whatever about people in the West sticking an 's' where it shouldn't be I find we are at least able to pronounce 'th' which cannot be said for most of the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I always thought it came from the shavu or whatever you call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

The same reason people in Dublin pronounce Th as D. Being from Dublin, you might explain dat for us and why you drop the g in words ending in ing.

Accents.

Unfortunately the inability to pronounce th is endemic to Ireland and not just confined to Dublin. I die a little inside when I hear someone talking about 'dat fillum I seen on TV tree'
    I don't think it's as simple as accent though. My girlfriend is from the west and every now and again comes out with the h. But in the very next breath she'll go back to regular pronunciation.

I think, for many, it's a conscious decision.

I agree. Everyone has an accent but a lot of poor pronunciation is heavily stylised/affected. I have an acquaintance from Mayo and he does exactly the same thing as your girlfriend, particularly in the pub when he wants to give off a kind of laddish vibe/image.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I always thought it came from the shavu or whatever you call it.

The séimhiú is another kettle of fish! It usually works something like this, depending on dialect.

B -> bh -> v or w
    C -> ch -> khh
    D -> dh -> g or y
    F -> fh -> (silent)
    G -> gh -> ghh
    M -> mh -> mh or w
    P -> ph -> f
    S -> sh -> h
    T -> th -> h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

pablo128 wrote: »
    I like hearing different Irish accents. A real thick accent would have a 'c' as well as a 'h'. As in, 'ara schtop,' . Or, 'would ya look at the feckin schtate 'a tha yoke.'

I always thought 'ara' was more of a Kerry thing? My Dad is from Kerry and it's something I only ever heard him and his side of the family use.

Houl on a secan', why de le norners spik de way ley do?

I always thought 'ara' was more of a Kerry thing? My Dad is from Kerry and it's something I only ever heard him and his side of the family use.

'Yarra' is from Kerry....'Arra' is more Mayo/Galway.

Never really heard them used anywhere else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Howya shhhhhcan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Because it's better than talking with a sort of melted American accent like South Dubliners or a constipated rat like North Dubliners.

See, isn't making sweeping generalizations fun?
    "What's this? People with an accent which doesn't correspond to what's considered 'normal' or 'correct'.
    They must be mocked and degraded endlessly until they conform!"

I really loathe humans sometimes. Herd-minded gobshytes :D
    They only asked about it - there were no sweeping generalisations. It's just a question about a local way of speaking - people do it all the time, no biggie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

First of all, people don't out a h "into words containing s". For example, where a is followed by a vowel, or indeed a consonant most of the time, you only hear it from Ronan Keating

"The shmile on your face letsh me know that you're near me"
    "Shorry, words don't come eashily"

People in Kerry don't talk about Shishter Shledge, or say "shenshational, shuperb".

Where a word has an s before a t at the end, you can hear it. Sometimes. Like Chrisht, whisht, wesht etc. I like it, I don't hear it enough, it's usually amongst older people and has been kinda mocked, so younger people are less likely to use it here IMO.

It's an affectation - not original - started in the 1980s.