Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Wesht

• 07-11-2015 2:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭

I did a little googling, albeit not very much, and can't seem to find an answer to this.

Why do many people in the west of Ireland put a 'h' into words containing S? 'Shtop', 'Shlab' etc.

Does anybody know why it is? Are you from the wesht? Do you use the h?

It's called an accent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Its because they are close bred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Will ya whisht! (not from the west)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I ****ing hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Its in the wrist action and the shake of the leg like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Becauseshh

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Pedro K wrote: »
    7up-free-dialect-dictionary-the-wesht-of-ireland

I did a little googling, albeit not very much, and can't seem to find an answer to this.

Why do many people in the west of Ireland put a 'h' into words containing S? 'Shtop', 'Shlab' etc.

First of all, people don't out a h "into words containing s". For example, where a is followed by a vowel, or indeed a consonant most of the time, you only hear it from Ronan Keating

"The shmile on your face letsh me know that you're near me"
    "Shorry, words don't come eashily"

People in Kerry don't talk about Shishter Shledge, or say "shenshational, shuperb".

Where a word has an s before a t at the end, you can hear it. Sometimes. Like Chrisht, whisht, wesht etc. I like it, I don't hear it enough, it's usually amongst older people and has been kinda mocked, so younger people are less likely to use it here IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Why do people from outside the glorious wesht keep overthinking this?

The truth is everyone here worships Sean Connery like a god, and speaking like him is how we express it.

Now I'm off to shleep shcans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Once we discover the answer to this, can we start working on why some folk think that it goes "one, two, tree"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

NIMAN wrote: »
    Once we discover the answer to this, can we start working on why some folk think that it goes "one, two, tree"?

Or us is uz and a house is a howz

Anybody else want to punch Ray Darcy from the old water safety ad? Water Safe ah Tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Arra shtop, it's very common in Mayo and Galway.

Nothing wrong with it at all!!

As they say around here 'Up the Wesht and f**k the resht!!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

If only we all spoke the same way with the same accent...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

Why do people in Dublin say 'me' instead of 'my' - 'me ma' 'me mickey money' etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Its because they are close bred.

You mean inbred?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Schum away, schum away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Probably all the incesht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The same reason people in Dublin pronounce Th as D. Being from Dublin, you might explain dat for us and why you drop the g in words ending in ing.

Accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

I don't think it's as simple as accent though. My girlfriend is from the west and every now and again comes out with the h. But in the very next breath she'll go back to regular pronunciation.

I think, for many, it's a conscious decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I don't think it's as simple as accent though. My girlfriend is from the west and every now and again comes out with the h. But in the very next breath she'll go back to regular pronunciation.

I call bull on that. An accent slips in and out when someone is not in their native area. You are also making to sound as though everybody in the west speaks this way, when they patently do not.

Why not just ask the girlfriend why she does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

what about the 'yes on an in-breath'.. is that a solely West/North of Ireland phenomena? It is common in Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

What accent do you have OP. Because whatever it is I would like to complain about your pronunciation.

Also do you know what I hate. Those foreigners. None of them sound like they are from the east of Ireland. Not on.

I call bull on that. An accent slips in and out when someone is not in their native area. You are also making to sound as though everybody in the west speaks this way, when they patently do not.

Why not just ask the girlfriend why she does it?

I did. She said it was just on ST and couldn't explain the origins of it.

Bio Mech wrote: »
    What accent do you have OP. Because whatever it is I would like to complain about your pronunciation.

Also do you know what I hate. Those foreigners. None of them sound like they are from the east of Ireland. Not on.

I never complained. I asked a question.

A few of you guys seem to have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It dates back to 1798 and the arrival of General Humbert to the shores of Mayo.
    Somewhere along their march to Castlebar, the Mayo lads realised that their French brothers in arms ad an abit of dropping le H.... arra fhuck that the Mayo lads thought.... we need to put a shtop to this...but alas, they failed in their attempt of getting the French bhucks to start pronouncing the H, so out out pure thickness, it is now added into every word possible.

Because it's better than talking with a sort of melted American accent like South Dubliners or a constipated rat like North Dubliners.

See, isn't making sweeping generalizations fun?

Because it's better than talking with a sort of melted American accent like South Dubliners or a constipated rat like North Dubliners.

See, isn't making sweeping generalizations fun?

Jesus. There must be a sale on high horses this weekend.

Is it not true that many people from the west of Ireland do use the h? It is in my experience.

I didn't insult it. I asked does anyone know why it is? Maybe I could have worded the question a bit better and asked does anyone know the origins of it. You're the one that brought insults into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's as if they learned English from someone with a speech impediment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Jesus. There must be a sale on high horses this weekend.

Is it not true that many people from the west of Ireland do use the h? It is in my experience.

I didn't insult it. I asked does anyone know why it is? Maybe I could have worded the question a bit better and asked does anyone know the origins of it. You're the one that brought insults into it.

You sort of did, especially when you said you thought people put it on and don't really talk like this. "It's a conscious decision."

I've relatives in Clifden in Galway who speak like this, and I just accept that it's the way they speak. A lad who worked with me a few years ago also spoke like this. He was in his early 20s and was from Leitrim.

People speak differently, whether it because of their accent, dialect, education, or their voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Possibly because of bad teeth, the sound comes out stranger.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yes and yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I'd rather listen to shtuff in the Wesht than youzzzzzz in the East.

It's YOU, ****in YOU. Ye stupid c**ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Canadel wrote: »
    I'd rather listen to shtuff in the Wesht than youzzzzzz in the East.

It's YOU, ****in YOU. Ye stupid c**ts.

Or "ye" if you're in the Whest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Or "ye" if you're in the Whest...
    Old English..

ye
    pronoun archaic dialect
    plural form of thou.
    "gather ye rosebuds, while ye may"

Canadel wrote: »
    Old English..

ye
    pronoun archaic dialect
    plural form of thou.
    "gather ye rosebuds, while ye may"

And?

The Whest accent sounds put on in jest sometimes it's that bad.

It gives off a real whiff of clueless gombeen who touches oneself sexually whilst thinking about ones blood relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

"What's this? People with an accent which doesn't correspond to what's considered 'normal' or 'correct'.
    They must be mocked and degraded endlessly until they conform!"

I really loathe humans sometimes. Herd-minded gobshytes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I know myself I talk this way naturally, but I can easily say "west" aswell. Just if I was to not think about it and just say the word I'd nearly always say it as "wesht".

I just put it down to having picked it up from the way friends, relatives etc talk and because of that it's naturally the way I talk too even though I can easily pronounce the words correctly as well.

So I suppose that means I do actually put it on but I just naturally do it at this stage. I'm sure if I was to move somewhere else I'd probably drop those h's fairly quickly.

Either way it's hardly a big deal anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

We can't all speak flawless cut glass English like myself or Michael D

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I started doing it ironically/jokingly...and now I cant stop :(

Don't you mean you can't shtop? :p

Are you from the west of Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Don't you mean you can't shtop? :p

Are you from the west of Ireland?

From my experience, for people from Galway Mayo (short-hand being Gayyo), it's at the end of certain words, like wesht, pasht. Whereas the "sh" sound at the front of the word, like shtop, would be from rural Kerry/West Cork

It gives off a real whiff of clueless gombeen who touches oneself sexually whilst thinking about ones blood relatives.

Says the poster called 'Sheep Lover' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Possibly because of bad teeth, the sound comes out stranger.

Yeah, immaculate choppers on the lads in Dublin. Well the ones that haven't been kicked out or lost due to the junk. Hmm, maybe that explains the accent over there? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I like hearing different Irish accents. A real thick accent would have a 'c' as well as a 'h'. As in, 'ara schtop,' . Or, 'would ya look at the feckin schtate 'a tha yoke.'

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Might have something to do with speaking Irish for a few generations longer than the city folk.

Irish has broad and slender consonants, depending on the vowels around them.
    S often becomes "sh" after the letter "i" or a combination of a, e, i, o, u + i.
    T can sound like "tch".
    D can sound like "dj".
    etc

/Buzz Killington

Whatever about people in the West sticking an 's' where it shouldn't be I find we are at least able to pronounce 'th' which cannot be said for most of the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I always thought it came from the shavu or whatever you call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

The same reason people in Dublin pronounce Th as D. Being from Dublin, you might explain dat for us and why you drop the g in words ending in ing.

Accents.

Unfortunately the inability to pronounce th is endemic to Ireland and not just confined to Dublin. I die a little inside when I hear someone talking about 'dat fillum I seen on TV tree'

I agree. Everyone has an accent but a lot of poor pronunciation is heavily stylised/affected. I have an acquaintance from Mayo and he does exactly the same thing as your girlfriend, particularly in the pub when he wants to give off a kind of laddish vibe/image.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I always thought it came from the shavu or whatever you call it.

The séimhiú is another kettle of fish! It usually works something like this, depending on dialect.

B -> bh -> v or w
    C -> ch -> khh
    D -> dh -> g or y
    F -> fh -> (silent)
    G -> gh -> ghh
    M -> mh -> mh or w
    P -> ph -> f
    S -> sh -> h
    T -> th -> h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

pablo128 wrote: »
    I like hearing different Irish accents. A real thick accent would have a 'c' as well as a 'h'. As in, 'ara schtop,' . Or, 'would ya look at the feckin schtate 'a tha yoke.'

I always thought 'ara' was more of a Kerry thing? My Dad is from Kerry and it's something I only ever heard him and his side of the family use.