Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Why? Gonna take off the wing mirrors too? :p

Ha ha ha to be fair i never feel safe with just them :)
    We'll anchor it to the bucket seat for the next day it'll be more in line and will surely work properly!

Yeah that's a good one but i also wanted to kind of see what i was doing too.
    Even though i had control i can see sometimes my hands weren't correct.
    Need to clean it up for the next day!

Continuous improvement :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Great vid Yb, looks like it was savage craic! Did the e36 hold up okay?

Not a bother, it needs a 50 grade oil as it got a bit ticky on the 0w40 when it got hot.
    Other than that tyres are fecked!

But yeah, all day basically flat out, 20 mins out and 20 in the pits, no problems to report!

OSI wrote: »
    Yeah if I went again, I'd pop the camera in a few different places I think. Would be nice to have a couple at once. One on the front, one inside watching you. The go again then with one on the side watching the front wheel, and one pointing rearward so you could catch the rears clipping the kerbs.

Exactly, I'd love that too, but the cost is a big thing :)
    We might move it about a bit more though!
    I might see about getting one more, it was like 50 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Nice vid, Yb. That was one fast Ka. :)

GvidoR wrote: »
    Nice vid, Yb. That was one fast Ka. :)

I only caught it on the straights, maybe a little in the corners. Used to take a long time to reel it in.
    Not that we were racing :)

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Your short shifting nearly all the time. You just taking it easy on your car? I also cant see anything apart from the RPM needle and your face in the rear view mirror :pac:

It's my daily :) it got more and more abused as the day wore on :)
    It was doing 95-100mph on the back straight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hah, this is mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Them feels when putting your car on donedeal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Them feels when putting your car on donedeal
    Them feels when you put it on the weighbridge and walk away to get the COD!

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Ah sure thats fair enough! I feel like the next one I may saunter down with the TT and do a lap or two.

Oh yeah just to make a show of the rest of us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

For the second time in 2 weeks I've passed a rhd 152 reg Hyundai Genesis in Ranelagh. Cab anyone find any info on it anywhere or know anything about it? It looks class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    Nice early one for you, got one video from Autoheroes last night if you want a look :)
    Sorry about the exposure, we had to darken it just to see the track!

Did I hear you calling my Alfa slow?! :D

Unfortunately the GTV couldn't keep up with the superior car and obviously superior driver but it didn't embarrass itself..!

Tyres on the front of mine took some beating though, thankfully I left the country the next day!

166man wrote: »

Unfortunately the GTV couldn't keep up with the superior car and obviously superior driver but it didn't embarrass itself..!

Tyres on the front of mine took some beating though, thankfully I left the country the next day!

List of excuses for 166man, see above :D

No I refered to it as a rolling roadblock I think :D

I'm no superior driver at all, the Alfa was just held back tyre wise, the Autogrips weren't the amazing tyre you thought after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

166man wrote: »

Passed by your new gaff today dude. Well there was three Alfas outside so I presume it was you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Passed by your new gaff today dude. Well there was three Alfas outside so I presume it was you. ;)

A new scrapyard obviously ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Is it me, or vw superb is a proper Sunday driver car? :pac:
    Last Sunday I was driving to limerick from cork. When i was on motorway, there was a superb in second lane doing 100. I was driving behind him and waiting to move with no luck. Then I flashed once and still no luck.
    I went in to first lane and just sat there behind him and not undertaking. He still drove nicely 100 I'm second lane.
    Another car bumped on his arse amd started flashing after a while. Still solid 100. A few more cars started to built behind.
    At that point I just undertook him and gone off. All the cars behind him did same thing. Fecking muppet.
    Then got in to town amd there was another superb in front. Cross roads amd he os bombing straight, I need right turn.
    He then with no warning or indicator sharply turns right too, completely cutting my turning arch. I was in pure wtf mode.

Some people should not be allowed to drive, point blank. And then I get dirty looks for just driving my car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mancity1

Hi Guys I have been having a garage clearout of sorts recently and have put some unused stuff up on adverts. However I have a few bottles of cleaning stuff that were opened but rarely used .I know its a long shot buts it free to any member here to use on their own cars if they be in Sligo area could be handy stuff to use if starting out car cleaning and stuff. Pic attached http://i66.tinypic.com/2reto2v.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I just spat out my tea....3 alfas, must be 166mans so :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

What's with the M50 being a car park? Is it that people just can't drive

I hate making car ad's i really do

Focus ST for sale ***L@@K***

Braaap bang braaap bang

Bang bang braaap

First to see will buy

Focus ST for sale ***L@@K***

Braaap bang braaap bang

Bang bang braaap

First to see will buy

I went for the.

Blind them with spec route :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/focus-st/10803359

Fantastic ad SG, that's a lot of car for the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

I went for the.

Blind them with spec route :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/focus-st/10803359

Best of luck with the sale. From the picture it looks like it has no front heated screen surly it does though 1.4 poverty spec mk2 have them. I know it's not exactly key based on the car and what it's capable of just seems a bit mad that an st wouldnt have a way higher spec a standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

List of excuses for 166man, see above :D

No I refered to it as a rolling roadblock I think :D

I'm no superior driver at all, the Alfa was just held back tyre wise, the Autogrips weren't the amazing tyre you thought after all :)

I'll schtick a big dohrty turbo on mine for next one so!

Rolling roadblock though I got a good laugh out that :D Autogrips worked quite well in the dry, it was my brakes that saved the day!

Rathgar/Rathmines area? Trying to think of any of neighbors that have any Alfas..!

Funny thing is the driveway should have the 156 and 166 in it too! It's positively empty lol :pac:

CIP4 wrote: »
    Best of luck with the sale. From the picture it looks like it has no front heated screen surly it does though 1.4 poverty spec mk2 have them. I know it's not exactly key based on the car and what it's capable of just seems a bit mad that an st wouldnt have a way higher spec a standard.

No quick clear screen, i agree this is madness.

Head unit it came with was hilariously crap too, something you would find in a 15 year old transit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,765 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Any boring sensible parents have an opinion on a Verso (the one with the glass roof)