Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

efb wrote: »
    Aaron Ramsey is certainly underrated on boards

Why is this been bought up?

Did we loose yesterday because Ramsey was missing or give away silly goals on our right side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Why is this been bought up?

Did we loose yesterday because Ramsey was missing or give away silly goals on our right side?

because Ramsey is being discussed thats why

Yeah in the context that Campbell was poor and we missed Ramsey which is bs.

The team were poor yesterday for large periods, santi Sanchez even ozil. People making out it was due to Ramsey missing.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

gosplan wrote: »
    Probably true, and I'm a big Rambo fan. Think he gets way too much stick for a guy playing out of position.

But again, we could be guilty of reading too much into yesterday.

Wenger said he gave the team time off from training during the week and it took them a while to get back up to speed - probably explains Sanchez's poor game too.

At the least Campbell has shown us that he starts vrs Bayern and on the weekend too. A big positive.

Let's just give him the starts and see what he can make of it.

I don't really see how his performance can be viewed as anything but positive though. Ideas do moving Bellerin or Gibbs into midfield are definitely gone for now.

At no point did I say he shouldnt start the next few games
    And I think he done a job yesterday and his workrate will come in handy during the week

What i said was he needs to improve to stay in the team

Yeah in the context that Campbell was poor and we missed Ramsey which is bs.

The team were poor yesterday for large periods, santi Sanchez even ozil. People making out it was due to Ramsey missing.

Ridiculous.

Who said the team were poor yesterday because Ramsey wasn't there?

And also is saying Campbell will need to improve to stay in the team really critising him?

Your posts are pretty ridiculous

Who said the team were poor yesterday because Ramsey wasn't there?

And also is saying Campbell will need to improve to stay in the team really critising him?

Your posts are pretty ridiculous

Sorry you said Santi and coq were poor yesterday because Ramsey wasn't there to help them.

My point is the whole team were poor for large periods.

You also said Campbell was poor yesterday in a post. Nothing about having to improve. Just he was poor yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

At no point did I say he shouldnt start the next few games
    And I think he done a job yesterday and his workrate will come in handy during the week

What i said was he needs to improve to stay in the team

Yeah, grand. I'm not disagreeing tbh.

We should all try and avoid rows this morning maybe.

Sorry you said Santi and coq were poor yesterday because Ramsey wasn't there to help them.

My point is the whole team were poor for large periods.

You also said Campbell was poor yesterday in a post. Nothing about having to improve. Just he was poor yesterday.

If any game showed how the two boys missed Ramsey it was yesterday

I thought Campbell was poor on the ball and was hoping he would have been taking off

His workrate was good though and at 22 he can hopefully improve and that was my original point

He will have to improve to stay in the team

I thought Campbell was poor on the ball and was hoping he would have been taking off

His workrate was good though and at 22 he can hopefully improve and that was my original point

Fair enough I do agree he doesn't look like first 11 material.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Soups123 wrote: »
    In fairness the Gomid chance it was Kos who played him on he was too left and too deep

True.

I was thinking in general terms, that Mert isn't in a position to catch anyone in such situations.
    I feel that Gabriel/Kos are suited better in that system.

On the other hand, you have Hector who was like half a pitch back and he managed to cover all this distance. And the save on the line (although it wouldn't count anyway). Makings of a legend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

I seen Bellerin making up some amount of ground to win the ball back of Gomis but I hadnt seen him clear off the line and crash into the post

https://streamable.com/de84?t=0.0

He is some player already. Love his determination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

With so many injuries, as long as he keeps the work rate up, supports his full back and maintains possession he will keep his place. If he can come up with the odd goal so much the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Jaysus lads, Campbell has only played around 200 minutes of first team football this season, give the lad at least another few games before passing judgement on him, 1 start in the league and he has 1 goal, Oxlade Chamberlain has played 16 times this season and only scored once. I think this lad has huge potential if he can get a run of games under his belt and grow in confidence.

Even when we win we fight!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

What I really don't understand is how some Arsenal fans are posting on the chelsea super thread saying they were unlucky.

They are up their with Spurs. How you could have an ounce of sympathy for that lot as an Arsenal fan I'll never understand.

Let's hope they don't sack the miserable one as I really really don't want Pep there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Even when we win we fight!!!!

We fight when we win

We fight when we wi-iii-iin

Arsenal boardies, we fight when we win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, Campbell has only played around 200 minutes of first team football this season, give the lad at least another few games before passing judgement on him, 1 start in the league and he has 1 goal, Oxlade Chamberlain has played 16 times this season and only scored once. I think this lad has huge potential if he can get a run of games under his belt and grow in confidence.

Tbh I'm finding it hard to follow the discussion on Campbell.

The lad showed very positive signs yesterday and for someone who has had feck all games the past 18mths that's fair play.

The MOTD lads did a piece on his game that night that was very good, his use of the ball will improve when he plays more with the team

emmetlego wrote: »
    We fight when we win

We fight when we wi-iii-iin

Arsenal boardies, we fight when we win!

thats so bad its the right level for a soccer chant! :pac::D;)

Pudders wrote: »
    What I really don't understand is how some Arsenal fans are posting on the chelsea super thread saying they were unlucky.

They are up their with Spurs. How you could have an ounce of sympathy for that lot as an Arsenal fan I'll never understand.

Let's hope they don't sack the miserable one as I really really don't want Pep there.

Maybe they don't live in London??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Ex Gunner Remi Garde confirmed as AV gaffer tonight! Best wishes to him!

Maybe they don't live in London??

Yeah maybe they live in a cave with no Internet or tv access. Vile club, vile manager, vile owner, vile fans, vile players but other than that they are great fun!

Let's hope they don't sack the miserable one as I really really don't want Pep there

I dont think Pep would touch that basket case of a club. Great to see their little tower of sand blowing away in the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

Yeah maybe they live in a cave with no Internet or tv access. Vile club, vile manager, vile owner, vile fans, vile players but other than that they are great fun!

Spot on! Who gives a fiddlers about them, they are a shambles and its bloody great. Hope Maureen gets the sack and we never see him again. Horrible, bitter old fart.

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    Spot on! Who gives a fiddlers about them, they are a shambles and its bloody great. Hope Maureen gets the sack and we never see him again. Horrible, bitter old fart.

True. Much as id like to see his smug face become a distant memory though the longer he stays on the ****tier they are so its not all bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

As an Irish Arsenal fan, why do you hate Spurs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I'll be honest here and say that personally I never have and at times I quite enjoy how they play their football. If they were constantly beating Arsenal, always finishing ahead of them, or if I lived in London I'd imagine that would be quite different.

I live in London, have done for 25 years. I actually don't hate Spurs but I do hate chelsea. I see the carnage after the North London derbies. But chelsea fans are worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

But chelsea fans are worse.

What have you seen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭G1032

Arsenal's rivalry with Spurs goes back well over 100 years. It didn't start with today's generation so living in London today isn't and shouldn't be a criteria that needs to be met in order to hate Spurs. It's every Arsenal fans prerogative to hate Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Gringo180 wrote: »

I'm surprised he's getting knocked for his performance vs Swansea, I thought he gave a very solid performance. I thought his tracking back was excellent compared to OX and he took his goal very well, he was one of the better players in a dreadful first half. As you said Gringo, we have to give the guy a few games before we start knocking him. We are a very fickle lot when it comes to our players.

Anyway great result on Saturday, we were riding our luck in the first half but in the 2nd thanks to Ozil stepping it up, we ran out comfortable winners. It's great to see that we can squeeze out results like this.