Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It's a day on patrol for me waiting for the first bunch of **** to walk through my heavily pregnant ewes with their dogs while chasing pheasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

There was a time I'd be all excited waiting for the 1st.
    I'd say it's near 20 year since I've shot on the opening day. I still sorta miss it. I keep telling myself... Next year!
    Heavy fog has stalled the show here at the moment. Hopefully it burns off soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Reggie. wrote: »
    What ya wanna know?

Ah just what crowds are doing um and where there operating out off. Have an ford 46 with a 4610 engine just sitting in the yard gathering dust and rust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had to relight the aga there- lad doing up kitchen turned it off yesterday- took about 30 matches to get it lit:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    Heavy fog has stalled the show here at the moment. Hopefully it burns off soon.
    Is there many hunts on this weather too?
    Was in Longford yesterday & came across 1 crossing the road, some amount of dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

It's a day on patrol for me waiting for the first bunch of **** to walk through my heavily pregnant ewes with their dogs while chasing pheasant.

these 2 guys are almost part of the family , any body that fires on them will have a problem renewing their gun license. I'll make sure of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Fecking pheasants. I was scarred for life when Mrs Pheasant was shot on Animals of Farthing Wood. Then Mr Pheasant was shot while he cried over her roast carcass in the kitchen window :pac::o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Walking through a field one day.... field was divided by a wire fence running along the top of a 2' step in ground level. I was on the lower level . There were grass clumps at the base of the posts holding the wire. Just as I was passing one a cock pheasant hidden by the grass took flight with a loud cackle and flapping wings...... scared the blue blazes out of me.

The cock pheasant that cleaned up the spilt grains from the out wintered horses troughs was always a welcome addition to any nice frosty morning. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Suckler Cow lost a calf here during the night. What are our options with the cow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Feckthis wrote: »
    Suckler Cow lost a calf here during the night. What are our options with the cow?

Do you mean for the BDGP scheme? You can buy a suck calf to put on her, any non- continental female off the dairy herd would more than likely be 4/5 star.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

orm0nd wrote: »
    these 2 guys are almost part of the family , any body that fires on them will have a problem renewing their gun license. I'll make sure of that

Re-post in the shooting forum:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

We'd have a lot of pheasants around here as well, was out this nothing and three cock pheasants flew up out of the stubble grass in front of me...
    One lad got hit by a car, and damaged his tail feathers last year, so is very recognisable. It's nice to see him around :)

Don't think, or at least I hope we won't have anyone shooting, would prefer if we didn't...

In fairness to shooters, the local lads have learned to stay away, especially since I confronted a few of them with a slashhook and walked them up the farm roads and out onto the main road.

The slashhook was for the hedge afterwards to close up the holes they made pushing through.

It's mostly lads from town or outside the area and they give off a fair amount of guff about their rights to shoot where they want:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ah just what crowds are doing um and where there operating out off. Have an ford 46 with a 4610 engine just sitting in the yard gathering dust and rust.

Did ya think of a local auction or the Cambridge one in england

Cnuts drove the weanlings into the in calf heifers. Chaos on heavy ground.

Rang a neighbour and he was bringing in calves they had driven out onto the road. But he spotted a jeep he didn't recognise parked in a tillage field so he is going to investigate.

I fcuking hate November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Cnuts drove the weanlings into the in calf heifers. Chaos on heavy ground.

Rang a neighbour and he was bringing in calves they had driven out onto the road. But he spotted a jeep he didn't recognise parked in a tillage field so he is going to investigate.

I fcuking hate November.

One or two holes in the tyres would sort them out

naughto wrote: »
    One or two holes in the tyres would sort them out

I hope he does.

They weren't long crossing the river so they know they don't have permission to shoot here.

Doctors appointment and sheep scanning in the morning so it will be late tomorrow before I can separate the two lots and repair the fence.

I prefer last November 1st, a delightful monsoon so they were too soft to shoot.

Fuming now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We used to have a lot if ***** coming in breaking fences. Dad was wroud one day and dogs were chasing heifers and that brought it all to an end.

I intentionally was about all day today doing stuff but no signs of any action. Could hear a fed pheasants about. We have a few in the back garden all winter and love to see them about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Anyone have any knowledge or experience of kids quads. I have an 8 yo who is mad to get one. He has even managed to save money to put towards it!!!! I've no experience of Quads of any sort and if thruthful probably not gone on them. However the boss has asked me (make that told me) to ask on boards :D any help or advice appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Total for the day was 2 and both shot by OH. I was not able to keep up with the dog due to the cough so I took my time and enjoyed watching her working from afar. I did get a shot at one but he was dropping down off a hill away from me.
    Pleasant weather to be out in and a most enjoyable day.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Anyone have any knowledge or experience of kids quads. I have an 8 yo who is mad to get one. He has even managed to save money to put towards it!!!! I've no experience of Quads of any sort and if thruthful probably not gone on them. However the boss has asked me (make that told me) to ask on boards :D any help or advice appreciated
    Youngest got one when he was 12yo. I cannot remember the name of it but it was yellow and automatic. I got the ex to adjust the throttle to reduce the power until he got used to it. Also bought him a full helmet (scrambler bike type), knee and elbow pads. He knocked a good few years out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I saw a young fell near me nearly get killed on one, one day. He was driving out on a quiet road in front of me when a car came against him. I think he just panicked and hit the accelerator instead of the brake. He got a speed wobble and lost control, hitting the right ditch and then the left. Lucky he didn't get seriously injured.
    Funny thing the old man coming the other way got out and started giving out to me, thinking I was his mother - same coloured jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I think 8 is way too young, unless they are being properly supervised, would be my worst nightmare if something happened to one of them off one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    I think 8 is way too young, unless they are being properly supervised, would be my worst nightmare if something happened to one of them off one

can't remember what age i started driving the quad here but I couldn't reach to change the gears so set off in 1st gear and kept goin at that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

whelan2 wrote: »

Whelan, that's what we are thinking aswell. Not really gone on them. Thanks for the replies.

ganmo wrote: »
    can't remember what age i started driving the quad here but I couldn't reach to change the gears so set off in 1st gear and kept goin at that :o

How long before first gear was burnt out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Reggie. wrote: »
    How long before first gear was burnt out

never, I didn't over rev it, driveshaft was the thing that went wallop...after i learnt to get into top gear

ganmo wrote: »
    never, I didn't over rev it, driveshaft was the thing that went wallop...after i learnt to get into top gear

Ya bauld whaore :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Suzuki LT50 or 80 would be the best. Yamaha breeze 125 would be a bit too big. Stay away from Chinese brands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Farrell wrote: »
    Is there many hunts on this weather too?
    Was in Longford yesterday & came across 1 crossing the road, some amount of dogs

hunt was here today. wasnt hunting :(