Gay couple humiliated after being asked to leave Dublin restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Joey I'll freely admit that yes, it is my problem that I find PDA in certain circumstances cringeworthy. I wouldn't complain to management though if it was just two people holding hands or something like is being reported in that letter. It would take quite a bit more than that before I'd say "ahh here, I'm trying to enjoy my dinner here ffs!". I think most people wouldn't have an issue with people holding hands or whatever, and it would take a lot more than that before someone would claim someone was being completely inappropriate and spoiling their enjoyment of their dinner, something they are entitled to do. If someone felt I was being inappropriate in a restaurant, then I would expect they should be able to make a complaint too.

I'm far from a prude, we just have different standards for what we consider socially appropriate behaviour in public is all.

But what has that to do with this story, which is about two men holding hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Kev W wrote: »
    But what has that to do with this story, which is about two men holding hands?

It was in response to Joey's post, the one I quoted and replied to -

That's your problem really. I mean I actually do think that you do have a problem if you can't tolerate 2 people nearby you holding hands.

And I saw your question before where you questioned whether I had a problem with two men holding hands. I had already said in the thread I have a problem with PDAs regardless of the age, gender, sex or sexual orientation of the persons involved.

Why do you ask would I have a problem with a straight couple doing PDA as though the fact that they're a gay couple is the actual problem? It may seem obvious to you that I would have a problem with the couple in this situation because they are a gay couple, but that would be your own prejudices talking. I wouldn't care if they were a bunch of aliens just landed from Mars, I don't regard them any more exceptional than I would anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

There are three possible scenarios.

1) Two guys were asked to leave a restaurant for holding hands - completely unacceptable.

2) Two guys were asked to leave a restaurant for pawing and slobbering over each other - acceptable.

3) The whole story is made-up clickbait - Most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yup, this is the point I made last night...

It's not enough that SSM is legal (and rightly so I might add!), but everyone needs to be vocal about their support for it - because otherwise you're just homophobic (apparently!)
    So if a waitress was uncomfortable serving a black man, she should ask another waiter/ess to serve them and her employer should let her at it?

I otherwise agree with the rest of your post, but just not the point you're responding to, "She shouldn't have been sacked for holding an opinion that her employer disagrees with."

Utimately it comes back to the whole, "If your opinions interfere with your job, then you shouldn't be in that job" scenario, like yer wan in the US who wouldn't issue marriage licences.

If I owned a restaurant and I had waiting staff who refused to serve a specific type of customer, then yes I would fire them.

It was in response to Joey's post, the one I quoted and replied to -

And I saw your question before where you questioned whether I had a problem with two men holding hands. I had already said in the thread I have a problem with PDAs regardless of the age, gender, sex or sexual orientation of the persons involved.

Why do you ask would I have a problem with a straight couple doing PDA as though the fact that they're a gay couple is the actual problem? It may seem obvious to you that I would have a problem with the couple in this situation because they are a gay couple, but that would be your own prejudices talking. I wouldn't care if they were a bunch of aliens just landed from Mars, I don't regard them any more exceptional than I would anyone else.

Do you mean the question I deleted? I deleted it because you'd already answered while I was typing it up. But you saw it in time to get offended and huffy, which is nice for you.

You're making presumptions again. I'm not offended at all, and I couldn't have known you deleted it because I answered it before. You couldn't see before either the context in which I had answered Joey's question, so I was giving you the benefit of the doubt that maybe you missed my earlier post too rather than assuming you were just being an ass.

I'm neither offended nor huffy, just like PDAs, it would take a lot more than holding hands before I'd become offended or huffy.

Is that being nice enough to you for making assumptions about me?

I couldn't have known you deleted it because I answered it before.

You could have assumed. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought Ronald McDonald was a liberal kinda guy obviously not

Where are you getting your information from? The OP says it was just holding hands.

Kev I have to ask - do you honestly, genuinely now... in fact, does anyone here, genuinely believe that the management of a restaurant in Dublin city centre, would ask a couple to leave the restaurant, for just holding hands?

Seriously now, think about that - a couple asked to leave a restaurant, because a complaint was made to management that they were holding hands, in a restaurant in Dublin city centre?

I'd say there's more likelihood of aliens landing tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Anonymous couple write anonymous letter to a magazine alleging discrimination in an anonymous restaurant.
    And the editor of The Independent deems the story newsworthy
    And adults are happy to swallow this hogwash and be outraged etc. about it
    Well the best of luck to the Indo, there's still enough gob****es around to keep them operational for another few years!

Anonymous couple write anonymous letter to a magazine alleging discrimination in an anonymous restaurant.
    Well the best of luck to the Indo, there's still enough gob****es around to keep them operational for another few years!

In fairness I don't think anyone has said "This is definitely true" (except one person who seems to think that not only is it true, they were definitely kissing and that's just AWFUL).

The reactions seem to be a mix of "this probably didn't happen" and "If it did happen, it shouldn't have".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Kev I have to ask - do you honestly, genuinely now... in fact, does anyone here, genuinely believe that the management of a restaurant in Dublin city centre, would ask a couple to leave the restaurant, for just holding hands?

Seriously now, think about that - a couple asked to leave a restaurant, because a complaint was made to management that they were holding hands, in a restaurant in Dublin city centre?

Yep. Either the story is a complete fabrication, or the couple got into a row with restaurant over something else but instead decided to claim they were discriminated against.

There was an interesting thread on reddit yesterday where a guy claimed he was treated shoddily by a business when he returned something he had ordered in error.

Turned out that he basically abused the company in question, accusing them of sending him the wrong thing and made all sorts of shouty demands and threats about shaming the company online, when they were nothing but decent and polite about it.

I suspect something similar happened here and the couple in question had been a pair of pricks that got into an argument with the staff about something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

He was probably pulling the plum off him under the table:)

You little muck bird��

I never said they weren't doing more than holding hands. I asked where the information that they were "definitely kissing" came from.

You wouldn't just assume I meant that, would you?

In fairness I don't think anyone has said "This is definitely true" (except one person who seems to think that not only is it true, they were definitely kissing and that's just AWFUL).

The reactions seem to be a mix of "this probably didn't happen" and "If it did happen, it shouldn't have".

Well I see a few "name and shame" demands on this thread and on the Independents own site
    Why are people so quick to accept totally uncorroborated allegations?
    Some people seem to get out of bed in the morning demanding to be outraged by something
    The likes of the Indo know this so can fill the paper with this kind of rubbishy
    As I said, good luck to them, I suppose there's no harm done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

I've noticed that more and more over the last couple of months. Really nothing stories with minimal information that are really just filling in space.

If the restaurant really did this then name them. Otherwise this is just a story that should be in the Journal or Daily Mail.

Well I see a few "name and shame" demands on this thread and on the Independents own site
    Some people seem to get out of bed in the morning demanding to be outraged by something
    The likes of the Indo know this so can fill the paper with this kind of rubbishy
    As I said, good luck to them, I suppose there's no harm done

I'd agree that there's gob****ery afoot with the "name and shame" types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,075 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If this story is true, and I was the couple I would have told the waiter to feck off and I wouldn't be leaving.

End of story.

seamus wrote: »
    Yep. Either the story is a complete fabrication, or the couple got into a row with restaurant over something else but instead decided to claim they were discriminated against.

There was an interesting thread on reddit yesterday where a guy claimed he was treated shoddily by a business when he returned something he had ordered in error.

Turned out that he basically abused the company in question, accusing them of sending him the wrong thing and made all sorts of shouty demands and threats about shaming the company online, when they were nothing but decent and polite about it.

I suspect something similar happened here and the couple in question had been a pair of pricks that got into an argument with the staff about something.

A woman rang Joe Duffy yesterday over a row she had with Aer Lingus. She threatened them with Joe Duffy unless they reimbursed her.
    They refunded her, but she still rang Liveline!

I never said they weren't doing more than holding hands. I asked where the information that they were "definitely kissing" came from.

You wouldn't just assume I meant that, would you?

No, I wouldn't, which is why I asked :D

I asked because I wondered do you honestly, genuinely believe that the management of the restaurant asked this couple to leave the restaurant because they were holding hands?

Does that seem any way improbable to you at all given the circumstances as they are actually being laid out in that letter, and the writers reaction to being asked to leave the restaurant, as though Irish society actually is this hotbed of hidden homophobia, where in a Dublin city centre restaurant, a couple are asked by management to leave the restaurant because the writer assumes it's because they are gay?

I'd suggest it was far more likely they were asked to leave the restaurant for some other reason other than merely the fact they were a gay couple holding hands and gazing in each others eyes or whatever. I don't know why they were actually asked to leave, but the letter writers explanation seems incredibly unlikely.

What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

NIMAN wrote: »
    If this story is true, and I was the couple I would have told the waiter to feck off and I wouldn't be leaving.

End of story.

What if he picked up a chair and smashed it over your head WWE-style though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

There's an air of psychometric test about the whole thing. Was it: True, False or Cannot Say.

No, I wouldn't, which is why I asked :D

I asked because I wondered do you honestly, genuinely believe that the management of the restaurant asked this couple to leave the restaurant because they were holding hands?

Does that seem any way improbable to you at all given the circumstances as they are actually being laid out in that letter, and the writers reaction to being asked to leave the restaurant, as though Irish society actually is this hotbed of hidden homophobia, where in a Dublin city centre restaurant, a couple are asked by management to leave the restaurant because the writer assumes it's because they are gay?

I'd suggest it was far more likely they were asked to leave the restaurant for some other reason other than merely the fact they were a gay couple holding hands and gazing in each others eyes or whatever. I don't know why they were actually asked to leave, but the letter writers explanation seems incredibly unlikely.

What do you think?

It's certainly conceivable, though the story is so vague there are dozens of ways it could have gone.

Maybe they were being loud and disruptive and asked to leave and downplayed their behaviour, going so far as to invent the "disgusting" comment.

Maybe they were being loud and disruptive and asked to leave and some homophobic coward snuck in the "disgusting" comment as they were leaving, knowing they would not be able to respond.

Maybe it happened exactly as in the story.

Maybe it's a complete fiction.

Since we don't know (and maybe never will) to me right now the most interesting thing is seeing how people react to the story.

Which, if it is fictional, maybe was the point?

Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,075 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The way the media now reports on the slightest story, how do we even know these newspapers editors and staff aren't having morning meetings where they invent stories that never happened to print as fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

That's it let's find out where this Restaurant is burn it to the ground, find out who the waiter is and stone him to death, while we are at it we can stone his family too.......

I sometimes wonder do people try being this contrived or do they actually believe they are being genuine?

An allegation was made, let's name and shame a restaurant without any real facts the war cry of the SJW and the intellectually stunted.

Just to make a comparison, I was once in a spar getting some snacks milk etc.. Was pretty late at night maybe 11:30, in walks two guys who had been clearly out on the sauce. One of them was so drunk he was bumping into things on the isle (I knew him from school).
    The security guard watched them for a while seeing they had a little too much to drink and after they just appeared to be walking around eventually had to ask them "Hey lads are you buying anything" as they just kind of stopped and where talking nonsense. They said yes and carried on wandering around. Eventually the security guard said, look lads if you are not buying anything I am going to have to ask you to leave. Two lads steaming said “Yeah yeah we are …” and refused to leave. Literally 30 seconds later in walks a Gardi, security guard lets him know what is going on, Gardi goes over asked the two guys to leave when one of them decides to go nuts… Starts shouting “You are discriminating against me because I am homosexual”, Gardi tries to calm him down but he refused so he ends up getting arrested…

I remember about a month later someone talking about it, saying how the security guard in the spar put this guy out for being gay.

That's it let's find out where this Restaurant is burn it to the ground, find out who the waiter is and stone him to death, while we are at it we can stone his family too.......

I sometimes wonder do people try being this contrived or do they actually believe they are being genuine?

An allegation was made, let's name and shame a restaurant without any real facts the war cry of the SJW and the intellectually stunted.

Just to make a comparison, I was once in a spar getting some snacks milk etc.. Was pretty late at night maybe 11:30, in walks two guys who had been clearly out on the sauce. One of them was so drunk he was bumping into things on the isle (I knew him from school).
    The security guard watched them for a while seeing they had a little too much to drink and after they just appeared to be walking around eventually had to ask them "Hey lads are you buying anything" as they just kind of stopped and where talking nonsense. They said yes and carried on wandering around. Eventually the security guard said, look lads if you are not buying anything I am going to have to ask you to leave. Two lads steaming said “Yeah yeah we are …” and refused to leave. Literally 30 seconds later in walks a Gardi, security guard lets him know what is going on, Gardi goes over asked the two guys to leave when one of them decides to go nuts… Starts shouting “You are discriminating against me because I am homosexual”, Gardi tries to calm him down but he refused so he ends up getting arrested…

I remember about a month later someone talking about it, saying how the security guard in the spar put this guy out for being gay.

This reminds me of a story I overheard in a clothes shop in Temple Bar, the woman working there was telling her friend about catching a shoplifter stuffing a dress into her bag. She got the dress back and after a lot of verbal abuse the thief finally left, but just before leaving screamed at the shop worker that she was only kicking her out because she, the shop worker,was a racist. And I guarantee that's how the thief told the story to whoever would listen later on.

Both the thief and the shop worker were white Irish women.

It's certainly conceivable

You genuinely, honestly believe it's conceivable that a gay couple were asked, by management, to leave a restaurant in Dublin city centre, because they were two men holding hands at their table?

In some KFC joint in Kentucky, perhaps, maybe then I'd consider it conceivable, perhaps even highly likely, but in a proper restaurant in Dublin city centre?

Pigs flying comes to mind.

though the story is so vague there are dozens of ways it could have gone.

Maybe they were being loud and disruptive and asked to leave and downplayed their behaviour, going so far as to invent the "disgusting" comment.

Maybe they were being loud and disruptive and asked to leave and some homophobic coward snuck in the "disgusting" comment as they were leaving, knowing they would not be able to respond.

Maybe it happened exactly as in the story.

Maybe it's a complete fiction.

Since we don't know (and maybe never will) to me right now the most interesting thing is seeing how people react to the story.

Which, if it is fictional, maybe was the point?

Who knows?

I think that's exactly the point of GCN magazine publishing this "letter" from an anonymous writer, about an anonymous restaurant. I think they embellished it too much by wedging in the nonsense about the marriage equality referendum, but I genuinely think their intention was to insinuate that Irish society really is this hotbed of "hidden homophobia" where people who are gay are still asked to leave a restaurant, because they are gay and are holding hands in public.

GCN, who published that letter, and whoever wrote that letter in the first place, clearly don't think a lot of Irish society that they would try and stir up shìt like that in an attempt to try and get a rise out of people.

They paint a terrible impression of the people they are advocating for as some type of hysterical drama queens, when most adults in Irish society are aware that that particular stereotype is an utter nonsense. I think it's an attempt to highlight and fester an issue that simply isn't all that prevalent in Irish society at all.

It simply appears to me that now that Irish people's attention seemed to be focussed on addressing other social issues, GCN had to pull something out of the bag in order to stay relevant. They succeeded in getting some attention for themselves, and putting people who are LGBT back in the spotlight, but they went the wrong way about it IMO.

Instead of having attention focused on them for all the positive things people who are LGBT contribute to society, we get this same whiney Panto Bliss "Irish people are all homophobes" effort, based upon what I would suggest is an utterly ridiculous made up story that does people who are LGBT no favours. Any people I know who are LGBT don't particularly care to make an issue of it, they just get on with their lives and are treated the same as anyone else who is just going about their daily lives.

You genuinely, honestly believe it's conceivable that a gay couple were asked, by management, to leave a restaurant in Dublin city centre, because they were two men holding hands at their table?

In some KFC joint in Kentucky, perhaps, maybe then I'd consider it conceivable, perhaps even highly likely, but in a proper restaurant in Dublin city centre?

Pigs flying comes to mind.

Can homophobes not own/run/work at "proper" restaurants?

I think that's exactly the point of GCN magazine publishing this "letter" from an anonymous writer, about an anonymous restaurant. I think they embellished it too much by wedging in the nonsense about the marriage equality referendum, but I genuinely think their intention was to insinuate that Irish society really is this hotbed of "hidden homophobia" where people who are gay are still asked to leave a restaurant, because they are gay and are holding hands in public.

GCN, who published that letter, and whoever wrote that letter in the first place, clearly don't think a lot of Irish society that they would try and stir up shìt like that in an attempt to try and get a rise out of people.

They paint a terrible impression of the people they are advocating for as some type of hysterical drama queens, when most adults in Irish society are aware that that particular stereotype is an utter nonsense. I think it's an attempt to highlight and fester an issue that simply isn't all that prevalent in Irish society at all.

It simply appears to me that now that Irish people's attention seemed to be focussed on addressing other social issues, GCN had to pull something out of the bag in order to stay relevant. They succeeded in getting some attention for themselves, and putting people who are LGBT back in the spotlight, but they went the wrong way about it IMO.

Instead of having attention focused on them for all the positive things people who are LGBT contribute to society, we get this same whiney Panto Bliss "Irish people are all homophobes" effort, based upon what I would suggest is an utterly ridiculous made up story that does people who are LGBT no favours.

Instead of? Have the positive things people who are LGBT contribute to society been made secret by this letter? And where does the letter say all Irish people are homophobes? It's a story featuring at least one homophobe and perhaps as many as two or three.
    Any people I know who are LGBT don't particularly care to make an issue of it, they just get on with their lives and are treated the same as anyone else who is just going about their daily lives.

Good for them, sincerely. Homophobia still exists, though. And their experience of being treated well doesn't mean they represent all LGBT people anymore than the homophobic people in story at hand, true or not, represent all of heterosexual Ireland.

It's common courtesy; people don't go out to restaurants to watch two men eating the face off each other.

Given there is nothing here to suggest anything of the sort was happening - it is entirely unclear why you bring it up?

But yes - I would agree with one thing that you just wrote clearly here. It IS common courtesy that you do not go out to restaurants to watch what other people are doing. So perhaps the people who allegedly complained in this particular case could be reminded of that??
    markc2951 wrote: »
    Right to refuse admission? Me personally I would leave an establishment if I saw two gay men mauling each other

And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that whatsoever. It says a lot about you and the kind of person you are - but there is nothing wrong with it. You have not impinged on the rights of others with your attitudes - and you conduct yourself in the right fashion by realising the issue is yours - not theirs - and acting accordingly. Well done you. Bigotry is one thing - but how you apply it to reality is another - and there is nothing wrong with how you are applying yours.
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I think the point is that in a setting like a restaurant, the customer's sexuality (or indeed that of the staff or other patrons) shouldn't EVER be a concern..

Exactly - and that is why hand holding is irrelevant. Because it has nothing to do with sexuality. People do it all the time - without being sexually involved. Singlings do it. Family do it. I do it with my kids in restaurants and other places. It is a display of AFFECTION not a display of SEXUALITY. That is why it is called a PDA not a PDS. But people are responding to it like it is PDS not PDA.

You say there "has" to be more to this story (assuming it happened at all) but I would only go so far as to say there "could" be more to it. I do not think there "has" to be. Because people make the leap from PDA to PDS and sexualise anything. Go into the average thread on this forum about Public Breast Feeding and see how quickly people sexualise it and then respond to it in THAT context instead of the real one.
    And yes it was kissing not just holding hands.

Can you direct us towards the source of information from which you obtained this please? I only have the OP and the copy paste of the original letter to go on - and it claims the exact opposite to you.
    3) The whole story is made-up clickbait - Most likely.

I note however you did not end this one with "acceptable" or "not acceptable" :) Can we assume the latter? :)

We do it all the time when we read reviews of a movie - a restaurant - or a holiday resort - that we plan to go to. We have no idea if the reviews are accurate - or made up to slander the company - or written by the owner of the company to make the location look better than it actually is (Amazon recently looking to prosecute people who do this after all).

Yet despite having no idea at the validity of the claims in any review - many people still put enough stock in them to bother to read them and evaluate their decision to go there. So why should this be any different? If a customer was treated shoddily by a venue like this - then I want to know so I can include that in my evaluation of the establishment as a whole.

I think the people in the OP did it wrong. Writing to the news paper? Nah. There are sites _specifically for_ reviewing your restaurant experience. They should have gone _there_ and written their review of both the food and the service. So if I ever end up heading towards that restaurants and I log onto the sites storing reviews of it - I can include their experience - along with all the others - in my final decision on whether to attend.

Given no one on the thread is demanding the things you describe - one wonders if YOU are being contrived in your hyperbole or actually believe you are being genuine?

The vast majority of people who want to know the name of the establishment likely want to do so they can either 1) Not go there themselves ever or 2) Do what the breast feeders there and go there en-masse - behave perfectly well - pay well - tip well - but hold each others hands a lot.

I think you will find the numbers wishing to perform attacks on property or person are very small indeed.
    An allegation was made, let's name and shame a restaurant without any real facts

So just like ANY bad review of ANY restaurant then?
    Just to make a comparison

Hardly a fair comparison is it?

In your anecdote they genuinely were causing a disturbance AND were not appearing to be using the establishment for the purpose it was therefore AT ALL. They then brought their sexuality into it as a defence when confronted. And they caused a greater disturbance when asked to leave.

In the OPs anecdote they are causing no disturbance at all AND were using the establishment for its correct purpose. And it was not them that brought sexuality into it at all. And they left peacefully when asked.

So I am unclear where you feel the points of comparison lie here? They seem to be entirely different in EVERY way except the people involved happen to be gay. Is there another point of comparison I am missing here?

it won't kill anyone to avoid being touchy feely or hand holding or generally making other patrons uncomfortable.

If said patrons are uncomfortable that someone somewhere in the room might be allowing their HANDS to meet - then said patrons are the ones with the issue here. No one else. And they should question the wisdom of the choice to eat in a public restaurant at all if the mild and non-intrusive actions of others bothers them that much. It is up there with the people who get all in a twist over public breast feeding.

In fact not only are the actions of such people non-intrusive - I find I can not even think of a single restaurant visit I have ever made where anyone would even be in my line of sight for me to even notice something as mild as the meeting of hands. So it is likely one would not only have to be massively over sensitive to the incredibly mild actions of others - but would have to have been actively looking around for it - or have had it called to their attention - then actively continuing to observe it to become bothered by it.

You talk of restaurants with a "standard of behaviour". Can you name some that maintain a standard of behaviour that has anything whatsoever to do with hands meeting? Could you maybe lay out these "standards" in words - and how these "standards" are communicated to the customer in some form - which they must do if the customer is - as you claim - "paying for a certain standard". They must know what it is - if they are specifically paying for it.
    I would have a massive problem if I were dining out in an establishment which meant I was paying for a certain standard of decorum that didn't include bearing witness to adults engaged in any sort of PDAs, regardless of their age, gender, sex or sexual orientation.

Again - can you lay out a short list of such establishments that are offering this? Clearly you can do so given you are expressly indicating an ability to go there and expressly pay for that standard of decorum. So somehow - somewhere - the restaurant must not only be maintaining such "standards" but communicating them in such a way that you can find your way to specifically paying for them.
    I don't give a damn what two people get up to in their own time, but I don't have to tolerate PDA of any sort if I don't want to, sweetheart.

No you do not! I agree. You have the option to get up and leave. Much like I would not have to sit in a beer garden and tolerate the sight of a disgustingly obese person poured into overly tight lycra cycling outfits coming in dripping in sweat after their cycle and eating a basket of chips.

Because IF that was an issue for me - I could get up - and leave - or turn around and look away. And I would do so knowing the problem lies with ME not with them - and I would be either fine with that - or would seek at some later time to address that issue in myself. And while I may moan that I have the right to complain about it - I certainly should not expect to do so with any expectation of having my complaint pandered to or entertained.
    I don't know where it is, nobody knows where it is, because the author of the letter has chosen to remain anonymous

I would not like to put words in the mouth of another user - but I suspect they - like me - were not asking you where the restaurant in the OP is - but where the restaurants you describe that maintain the standards you describe are.

Names and general area of a few would do - we do not need specific addresses, phone numbers and websites here.
    Where did I say my right to comfort and a pleasant dining experience should supercede theirs?

Your right to both has nothing to do with the non-intrusive and mild placement of hands of other people. Up to and including their placement of those hands in each other. It has simply nothing to do with your rights at all - or the service you are imagining the establishment is providing you.
    I simply said that I have a right to make a complaint to management, and I trust that they will endeavour to accommodate both parties.

And in the case of the particular complaint that the OP and thread is discussing - the only accommodation they should be expected to offer you is information on the nearest exits which you can use at your leisure. What other accommodations you feel you should be afforded in that context is entirely unclear at this point. You have a right to complain and to have your complaint _heard_. That's pretty much about it in this context however - expecting an accommodation for it - not so much.
    Well I don't imagine they have signs up saying "don't fcuk on the tables, and wipe your chair if you're wearing assless chaps", up about the place either

So in order to manufacture a point you now have to make an analogy between a non-intrusive and highly common action which occurs all over our society in public - with actions that blatantly contravene societal norms about sex - and basic hygiene.

It is an entirely crass and false analogy. You would not expect people to be engaging in sex anywhere in society publicly - parks, buses, the street and so on - so you would not expect it in a restaurant either. But you DO see hand holding in just about every area of public society - yet you are here not only telling us that Restaurants are magically to be made exempt - but that some unnamed as yet restaurants not only maintain that standard but people specifically can go in and wilfully pay for it.
    Joey I'll freely admit that yes, it is my problem that I find PDA in certain circumstances cringeworthy. I wouldn't complain to management though if it was just two people holding hands or something like is being reported in that letter.

All I will say here is do not be at all surprised IF some people view this as a back pedal. Because you opened your membership of the thread with comments about people refraining from "being touchy feely or hand holding or generally making other patrons uncomfortable." and going against some "standards" - and then went on at length to talk about your rights to complain when people breach the standards you perceive to be there (but have not actually shown are there).

So whether you realise it or not everything you have written up to this point very much does come across as hand holding being something you feel worthy of complaint - (whether you would have the gall to do so yourself or merely vicariously and inwardly applaud someone else who does) - which you are now back pedalling from - whether you intended it to or not.

Not unlikely at all. Some people genuinely do not know how to deal with such complaints and will simply make the wrong decision in the moment. I have worked enough with the public to know that quite often your first reaction is to appease the person actually complaining - without thinking through the consequences of doing so.

Further no one knows how important a customer it was. It may be the couple in question were their for the first time and they were eating nothing but cheap salads to maintain their fabulous figures and complexions :) - while the people complaining were a couple - or even a large group - stuffing themselves with the house steak and wine on a weekly basis while tipping highly - that is one of the restaurant owners regular and large sources of income.

The issue of course is we simply do not know. We have no details here - and as we see from people like Highwayman people are happy to invent their own as they go along too.

I - like many - am strongly erring on the side of simply dismissing the whole story as entirely made up. I have no evidence it happened - so I do not believe it happened. But I see nothing at all to declare the scenario unlikely.