Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    I'm always the same for that last mp session! Best of luck man - enjoy the trip.

Thank Bulmers. Will do. Looking forward to it. Great city.

Wednesday 07/10/15

5.00 - 45.08 -(9.01) Recovery & Strides

Very tired this morning after late night in work. First mile was a real drag. A few strides in the last mile to loosen out the legs a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Best of luck for Sunday PDCAT!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Best of luck for Sunday PDCAT!

Thanks Ososlo.

Tuesday 08/10/15

4.00 - 36.32 -(9.07) Recovery

My last run before Sunday. Travelling early tomorrow morning. Will do a bit of walking/stretching over the next couple of days.
    For this marathon, i havent been quite sure what my final target would be.
    My PB from London is 3.17. All my training has been based on a sub 3.10 with my main target to get a Boston Qualifying time.
    I thought sub 3.15 would be enough but going on BQ times for 2016, it looks like id require a sub 3.12 to get in for 2017.
    Gold Prize = sub 3.12
    Silver Prize = sub 3.15
    Bronze Prize = PB

If i dont get the PB, i'd be slightly disappointed. However, my main target at the beginning of this year was a sub 3.20 and to complete two major marathons (London & Chicago).These have been achieved.
    So trying not to put too much pressure on myself. If the weather is suitable for good marathon running, i'll give it a bash and all going well i wont be too far off my target times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Bez Bing

Best of luck PDCAT, have enjoyed reading your log and I think you've been very honest and put in some great sessions.

Go forth and conquer!

Bez Bing wrote: »
    Best of luck PDCAT, have enjoyed reading your log and I think you've been very honest and put in some great sessions.

Go forth and conquer!

Thanks Bez Bing. Will do my best. Looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

Hi PDCAT, Good luck in Chicago. I hope you really enjoy it. All going well you will do a great time. You have made fantastic progress. It wasn't so long ago you were looking to break 3.30. I look forward to reading your report on the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Best of luck PDCAT. Your a fierce man for the traveling !!
    Look forward to see how you much you can squeeze out of this one !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Congratulations on the gold prize!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Routing for you PDCAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Great going,gold with seconds to spare--looking forward to the report!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Congratulations on the gold prize!!:D

Just checked that up, Great going Paul, massive improvement on London in such a short period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

+1 to all of the above. Delighted for you.

Thanks guys for all the good wishes over the past few days.
    Just back to work today after a few nice days off.
    3.11.50 for me and really happy with that.

When i get a few minutes today/tomorrow, will stick up some type of report on how it went.

Chicago Marathon

Backround

When i booked this, i wasn't sure what my plan was. Just run and enjoy it or because it's Chicago and flat, give it a go and see if i could get a decent PB.
    This was my 7th marathon. Previous attempts were:
    Dublin 2011 (4.13), Florence 2012 (3.43), Amsterdam 2013 (3.36), Connemara 2014 (3.51 - not racing), Berlin 2014 (3.26), London 2015 (3.17).

In the first 3 marathon's i had trained using the Hal Hidgon intermediate plan. After a kind of disappointing run in Amsterdam, i changed to the P&D 55 mile plan for Berlin having seen from boards the success some were having with this.
    Was very happy with the performance in Berlin, so decided to stick with it for London which also went well. This time i decided to reduce the plan to 12 weeks (incorporating 8 weeks of speed work prior to commencing this).

The 12 training plan went well. Completed nearly all sessions and met all of the training paces.
    As time came close, i stuttered on picking a goal time. My training was targeting a sub 3.10 time, but didn't feel that would happen. I thought sub 3.12 might get me a Boston Qualifying time and still look like a sufficient improvement on London.
    I'd thought i'd made some improvement since London but wasn't sure whether it was enough.

Positive's
    - 8 weeks of faster stuff had resulted in improving my 5K & 10K PB's. Hopefully this could be translated into the longer distance.

- All my training was targeting a sub 3.10 including running 2 x 10 milers & 1 half marathon at sub 3.10 pace (found them tough, but had hit the paces).

- Had lost 7lbs in weight since London. This followed on from another 7lbs lost in the previous 6 months. This might also help me.

Negatives
    - All my previous marathons were 18 week plans. Had never completed a 12 week plan which including a three week taper.

- My Long runs of MP+20 & MP+10 had been a key run for me in Berlin & London and in both of these plan's i had incorporated approx 8/9 of these runs. Due to the short nature of this plan, had only managed 3 of these run's this time.

- Disaster of a run in Ferns Half Marathon had knocked the confidence a little.

Pre Race

Arrived in Chicago on Friday. Initial plans to go to the expo were shelved as i was absolutely shattered from the long day travelling and the flight.
    Staying in an apartment (AirBNB), about 45 minutes from the centre, we went down to the local shops to get food for breakfast and went to local Italian for food. Food was rotten and took some effort to get it down.
    Early too bed on Friday night, meant that i was up and awake, bright as a button at 5am. Couldn't sleep so up and showered, breakfast and down at the convention centre in Chicago for the expo, one hour early.

Expo started at 9am, i stayed there for two hours. Expo itself was ok, nothing too special about it. However, their was a little more space in the centre compared to Berlin & London so a not as packed. For the rest of the day, trying to eat the right stuff, drink enough water and not spend too much time on my feet. Had another Italian meal on Saturday evening, better than previous night but still nothing to write home about. Saturday night went to the Chicago Blackhawks - New York Islanders Ice Hockey game. Packed arena as Chicago are the current Stanley Cup champions (3 times in the last 5 years). Great night, they really know how to put on a show. Left the match early as wanted to get to bed early due to the early start in the morning.
    Another poor night's sleep on Saturday night - total four and a half hours. No problem getting up at 4.30am as had been awake for two hours previous. Knocked the breakfast into me and got bus down to the start.
    My biggest concerns were the weather (forecast had been giving a high of somewhere between 26 - 28 degrees on race day. Also, lack of sleep the last four nights (averaging about 5 hours a night).
    I was hoping due to the early start (7.30am), that i'd be near the finish before the really high temperatures.

Race

Miles 1 - 5

Lined up in Corral B, between 3.10 - 3.15 groups. After a rendition of the Stars & Stripes, we were off. My plan was to keep the average pace on the garmin to between 7.10 - 7.12 minutes per mile. Normally my actual average pace would be 7/8 seconds per mile slower than this due to distance on my garmin being slightly off. Thought by keeping at 7.10 - 7.12, i'd be running about 3.12 pace.
    One of the biggest issues i had was in the very first mile. We ran through a fairly long tunnel. I noticed that my average pace was about 6.11. This was way too fast, i certainly didn't feel i was running that fast, but i slowed slightly to bring the average pace back a little.
    i passed mile 1 on the garmin with an average pace of 6.25, but there was no sign of the mile 1 marker on the course. I turned a corner and could see it in the distance. By the time i reached the 1 mile marker, my garmin was showing 1.20 miles, my average pace was 6.35 but my actual pace was 7.24.

I decided then that i might as well forget about running with average pace as my guide as it was too far off. Basically for the first 10/11 miles, i just used my manual calculations to calculate my average pace at each mile marker. i increased the pace slightly at miles 2/3 to bring my pace back towards 7.15 minute per mile (3.10 pace).
    Went though first 5k in 22.30. Was happy enough at this stage, concerned with the weather conditions that were to come later on. It was already 15 degrees at seven thirty in the morning to start the race. I started to take two cups of water at each station, drinking the first one and pouring the second one over my head. I knew it was early for this craic but i felt i needed it.

Miles 5 - 10

Took my first Gel at 5 mile marker. Went through Lincoln Park around mile 6 and this was the time to duck under the nearest tree to go to the toilet. Lost about 40 seconds here and when i came back on the course my pace had slipped to (7.19). Second 5k was 22.43, slightly slower due to my pitstop. Over the next couple of miles, I gained back these seconds slowly and passed out a fair few runners. At mile 9 i was back at 7.15 pace. Third 5K was 22.20 (fastest split of the race). Went though 10 mile mark at 1.12.28.

Miles 10 - 15

Average pace at miles 10 & 11 was about 7.15 (3.10 pace). At mile 11 the manual calculations got too difficult for me. My concentration levels weren't the best at this stage and my 11+ time tables are'nt the best. I took my second gel here, passed the missus at mile 12 and gave her a high five. She said i was looking good at this stage. Can't say i felt it. Fourth 5k was 22.22 so fairly consistent splits so far. I was content that my pace was consistent so i waited until half way point to see how i was fixed. Passed half way at 1.34.54 (3.09.47 pace). Was'nt totally comfortable at this stage though.
    From here, i started using my average pace on my garmin again. It was incorrect and way off my actual pace, but it gave me a guide. If it started to drift out, i knew i was slowing, if it stayed the same, i knew i was holding pace. i went through fifth 5k in 22.34.

Miles 15 - 20

Took third gel at mile 15, still taking on lots of water and pouring a lot over my head as well. Wasn't feeling the heat so far. Continued to pass some runners. Got running with a group of 8 of us here, three Costa Rican's, 2 from Hong Kong, 1 Columbian & 1 Argentinian Girl and a pasty white irishman in the middle of them. This group didnt last too long together with some dropping off and some pushing on.
    Sixth 5k was 22.44, so still holding pace, but working harder than before. Another Gel at mile 18. It was about mile 19 where i noticed it getting significantly more difficult. I had been holding my average pace till now. Over the next two miles 19/20, average pace dropped by 2 seconds for the first time, knew that my pace was slipping slightly.
    What i was happy about was that even when i was finding it difficult, my thought process was telling me 'Only 7 miles remaining, that's nothing really' as opposed to thinking negatively about the distance left.
    Passed my missus at mile 20, was feeling it tough here. I knew she was at this point, but i was too tired to look up, just kept my head looking down straight ahead, concentrating on maintaining pace.
    She told me afterwards, i looked in pretty tired shape here.

Miles 20 - Finish

The last few miles were very similar. Head down, concentrating on keeping pace. At mile 22 had lost another 2 seconds from avg pace, more time lost. Forgot to take gel at mile 21, so took it at 22 mile marker. Seventh 5k split was 23.06, slowest one so far. Could feel my left toe sore at this point. Had new runners on, which i thought i'd broken in over the last three weeks. Just put it to the back of my mind and kept plugging away. Looks like the toenail is f**ked. This is the second time i've lost this toenail (Amsterdam 2013 was last time).
    Surprisingly the heat was not affecting me. Was taking on sufficient water and that was helping, was still passing a fair number of runners. Whilst my pace had slowed slightly at mile 19, i was still holding it fairly well.
    Turned onto Michigan Ave at mile 24, only two miles left, legs suffering now. Pace was still holding, decided not to take any more gels, just keep taking on water. Lots of people walking here.
    At this stage, i'm just counting down every mile marker i see. Through 40k mark, last 5k split 23.26, slowest of the race.
    At this stage, i was sure that 3.12/3.13 was my current target time. I didnt' fancy a 3.13 so i kept pace as best i could go get under it.
    Sign for 800 meters, nearly there. This went on for ever, i'm sure this was mismeasured, knew there would be a 400 meter sign but this seemed to go on for ever. Finally 400 meter sign, surely it can't be as long as the last 400 meters. Turned up the steep ramp/hill near the finish, knew it would be short so pushed on.
    Looked at the watch with about 50 meters to go to the finish line, surprised/shocked to see 3.11.40 so sprinted as best i could to get the sub 3.12, crossed the line in 3.11.50 (6 minute PB). Happy out.

Crossed the finish line wrecked, legs/body stiff and sore. Felt much worse than Berlin & London. Met the wife after the finish line and she had a look of disbelief at my time after seeing the state of me at mile 20. Bit emotional here, relief i didn't fcuk it up. Job done, a time that i can be happy with.
    Still stiff all week, taking the week off from running. Then 3 weeks of recovery running.

Sunday night in Chicago was good craic. Had rubbish food in Bubba Gump's in Navy Pier. When to Buddy Guy's Legend's (Blues Club) in South Wasbash Street.
    Had been here in 2007 and the great man himself got up to sing a few tunes. Then last Sunday night, i was sitting at the bar with the wife and who should sit in the barstool beside me, only the one and only Buddy Guy. He shook hands with me, had a couple of words and signed a poster for me. He sat beside me for about 2 hours not saying much. Then he got up on stage and sang a couple of tunes. Brilliant.....

After this down the town for more drinks which went on till the very.. late/early hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Excellent!
    Brilliant report and massive congrats on your race. It's very interesting to see your progress with the marathon distance through the last few years. Long may it continue.
    Sounds like you had a blast in Chicago in the aftermath. One to remember for sure.
    What's up for you next?

Ososlo wrote: »
    Excellent!
    Brilliant report and massive congrats on your race. It's very interesting to see your progress with the marathon distance through the last few years. Long may it continue.
    Sounds like you had a blast in Chicago in the aftermath. One to remember for sure.
    What's up for you next?

Thanks Ososlo.
    At the moment took this week off, followed by 3 weeks recovery.
    Then 4 weeks speed/faster stuff, finishing maybe with Waterford Half Marathon.
    Then start 18 week plan for Connemara Ultra in April (booked in to Donedea 50k aswell). No Marathon racing next year, would like to do NY Marathon next year but will be taking it handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Bez Bing

Well done PDCAT, thats some running and a great report!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Great running and report. A few people seemed to have that problem with the Garmin there from what I've seen, you kept it cool anyway. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

PDCAT wrote: »
    Buddy Guy's Legend's (Blues Club) in South Wasbash Street.
    Had been here in 2007 and the great man himself got up to sing a few tunes. Then last Sunday night, i was sitting at the bar with the wife and who should sit in the barstool beside me, only the one and only Buddy Guy. He shook hands with me, had a couple of words and signed a poster for me. He sat beside me for about 2 hours not saying much. Then he got up on stage and sang a couple of tunes. Brilliant.....

After this down the town for more drinks which went on till the very.. late/early hours.

One of my favourite memories from Chicago two years ago was a similar evening in 'Legends'. Then things went on a bit too long and the memories faded with the excessive alcohol...I blame Yaboya1 and Duke_of_Dromada!!

Well done on a great run!

belcarra wrote: »
    One of my favourite memories from Chicago two years ago was a similar evening in 'Legends'. Then things went on a bit too long and the memories faded with the excessive alcohol...I blame Yaboya1 and Duke_of_Dromada!!

Well done on a great run!

Cheers Belcarra. Yeah, night went on too long last Sunday as well. About 5am, i got to bed. Got a loan of some homeless guys bicycle at about 4.30am and proceeded to cycle around a fairly wide street with three coppers sitting in their car looking on. Luckily they never came near me.:D

Wednesday 21/10/15

5.00 - 45.52 - (9.10) Recovery

Took 10 days off from running post chicago. Back on the road today, with a very slow 5 miler. Legs a little stiff, but very glad to be back at it. Puts a bit more routine in my days.

Thursday 22/10/15

5.00 - 45.46 - (9.09) Recovery

Legs pretty sluggish for this one again. Not sure if it's post marathon tiredness or the fact that i'm on evening shift. Another 7 mile planned for tomorrow again at recovery pace.

Friday 23/10/15

7.00 - 1.04.09 - (9.09) Recovery

A few aches and pains this week on the first week back running. Don't ever remember getting these before after completing a marathon. Hopefully a few easy weeks will help the body recover.

Sunday 25/10/15

9.00 - 1.22.07 - (9.07) Recovery

Continuing the recovery run's for the next few days.

Monday 26/10/15

7.00 - 1.03.41 - (9.06) Recovery

Spent yesterday morning tracking DCM runners, babysitting most of the day, so only got out to do this yesterday evening at 4.30pm. Pretty dark out there for the last few miles, but glad i got it out of the way.

Wednesday 28/10/15

5.00 - 43.54 - (9.07) Recovery

Back on the ring road last night after work. First night running here since last March. Have to run in here when the darker nights arrive. Dislike it as it adds a few minutes extra to my journey home from work. Also, by the time i arrive home after the run, the two little one's are gone to bed. Nothing much to report here, legs fine, miserable evening.

Friday 30/10/15

8.00 - 1.09.47 - (8.43) General Aerobic

Struggled abit with this run. First time i've shifted the pace up a bit since the marathon. Legs didn't seem to want to go at this pace. Supposed to do strides at the end of this run, but didn't bother as i've picked up an abductor muscle injury post Berlin & London doing these during recovery period.

Sunday 01/11/15

10.00 - 1.26.39 - (8.39) General Aerobic

Really enjoyed this run. Legs felt good, lovely morning for it. Out on Sat night for dinner and i packed away a fair amount of food, so thought i'd struggle with this. If only all run's felt this good.

Monday 02/11/15

7.00 - 1.00.53 - (8.42) General Aerobic

Legs felt sluggish for this, probably a little tired after the run yesterday. Have a busy weekend ahead and have to move all my run's forward a couple of days to fit them all in.

Tuesday 03/11/15

5.00 - 45.17 - (9.03) Recovery

Sluggish this morning for this run. Went off a little fast and tried to pull back over the last mile or so to slow down.