Anyone sick of Tom Meagher and Jenny Stanley?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

brooke 2 wrote: »
    I remember Tom Meagher's almost stunned shock as he expressed how he felt when he heard his wife's rapist speak for the first time. Tom could not get over how ordinary this guy sounded as he seemingly was expecting him to be some kind of monster. This is the point he is trying to make when he says anybody could be a potential rapist - the man who raped and murdered his wife was quite good looking, nothing out of the ordinary about his appearance.

But there were clear warning signs that Adrian Bayley was not just an 'average joe' who might happen to rape you should the situation present himself. He was on bail at the time of the murder, despite the sitting judge warning that society needed protection from Bayley.
    He had also racked up a string of sexual convictions:

Age 19: Raped two teenagers in separate attacks
    1991: Served 22 months of a five-year sentence for sexual assault
    September 2000-February 2001: Repeatedly raped five sex workers who he trapped his his vehicle in St Kilda
    February 2012: Punched a man unconscious outside a Geelong café

He has since been convicted of 3 more rapes since the conviction for rape and murder of Jill Meagher. I'm going to stick my neck out and say that people like me, and 99.999% of society at large, are nothing like Adrian Bayley. And Tom Meagher should stop giving interviews. I understand that rapists come in all shapes and sizes (including women), but this message is warped because of the agenda.

http://www.thejournal.ie/adrian-bayley-was-on-parole-when-he-raped-and-killed-jill-meagher-945583-Jun2013/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

But there were clear warning signs that Adrian Bayley was not just an 'average joe' who might happen to rape you should the situation present himself. He was on bail at the time of the murder,

QUOTE]

The point is that you couldn't possibly know all this by looking at him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

The point is that you couldn't possibly know all this by looking at him though.

Tom Meagher has said a lot things which are a complete load of nonsense. One of them is about the 'monster myth', where ordinary men label people like Adrian Bayley as monsters rather than accept what Tom Meagher will say.

To quote from an article by Tom Meagher which was previously discussed in the Ladies Lounge:
    The monster myth allows us to see public infractions on women’s sovereignty as minor, because the man committing the infraction is not a monster like Bayley. We see instances of this occur in bars when men become furious and verbally abusive to, or about, women who decline their attention. We see it on the street as groups of men shout comments, grab, grope and intimidate women with friends either ignoring or getting involved in the activity. We see it in male peer groups where rape-jokes and disrespectful attitudes towards women go uncontested. The monster myth creates the illusion that this is simply banter, and sexist horseplay. While most of us would never abide racist comments among a male peer-group, the trivialisation of men’s violence against women often remains a staple, invidious, and rather boring subject of mirth. We can either examine this by setting our standards against the monster-rapist, or by accepting that this behaviour intrinsically contributes to a culture in which rape and violence are allowed to exist.

This is a load of man-hating tripe.

Tom Meagher said that Adrian Bayley looked normal. So what if he looked normal? He isn't normal. He was a prolific serial rapist ever before the murder of Jill Meagher.

Link.
    Bayley, 41, was previously found guilty of 20 rapes over a 23-year period, 11 years of which he spent in jail. His history of repeated attacks on women have raised questions over Victoria’s parole regime, with the state premier, Denis Napthine, saying the system “failed Jill Meagher" and would be reviewed.
    At the time of Meagher’s murder Bayley was on parole for raping five women in the bayside suburb of Elwood in 2002.

It really is ridiculous to attempt to say that we are somehow fooling ourselves if we regard Adrian Bayley as a monster but don't take responsibility for the actions of extreme criminals like him.

Tom Meagher's views are distorted out of all proportion to reality.

I posted in this thread when it first appeared. Upon reflection I will say that sometimes my feelings get in the way of logic.

Jill and I had some friends in common. We met for the first time a few nights before herself and Tom flew to Australia to begin their lives there. She was lovely and chatty. Reading through this thread that's what I'm reminded of.

However, I do agree with many of you that Tom is very very misguided in his campaign and it would be a good idea if someone who cares about him asks him to slow down, that perhaps this is not the way to go about working through his grief and anger.

I remember watching an interview on the Late Late some years ago. It was with Colm Keane, a journalist who had lost his son to cancer. Along with Colm were a number of women claiming to have had near death experiences. Colm was on to talk about this and the book he had written on the subject. Grief was all over him. Here was an intelligent man who believed such an event was possible.

Isn't it easy to manage loss if we believe that there is something greater than ourselves looking out for us? That Colm's son is in a wonderful place. Tom Meagher is managing his loss in a similar way. Holding onto something. Throwing himself into a cause. Desiring to save all women because he couldn't save poor Jill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Bollix

His point is spot on.

If you believe all men haven't acted a bit of a dick on a night out at least once in their lives, then keep your head in the sand.
    Bit of a disservice to men.

I disagree with Tom's take though, but no doubt it's shaped by grief. However, well intentioned as it may be, it demonises men in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

More man shaming. Not remotely surprised. Sickened that we as a society are continuing to tolerate this kind of sh!t, but in all honesty I'm not going to wade into this particular debate because it's just too god-damn depressing. All I'll say is I'm a man, I'm a good person, and I should never feel the need to prove or justify that to anyone. Nor should anyone else unfortunate enough to be born male in the era of "men = usually bad / usually wrong".

That is all.