DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ginger runner

Anybody doing a few easy miles tomorrow?Might do 2 in the morning to keep the auld legs ticking over before hopping on the train to Dublin

Heading in to my 4th DCM in a row but to be honest it feels like my first one. Excitement is unreal

Best of luck everyone, especially the novices. Ye will smash it out of the park. Tis an unforgettable experience

A Man Utd win tomorrow will set the weekend up beautifully :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

I'm registered in wave 1 but I've just copped that the 3.50 pacers are the top of wave 2. I initially thought that the 3.50's would be in wave 1. B----x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭engol

Anybody doing a few easy miles tomorrow?Might do 2 in the morning to keep the auld legs ticking over before hopping on the train to Dublin

Heading in to my 4th DCM in a row but to be honest it feels like my first one. Excitement is unreal

Best of luck everyone, especially the novices. Ye will smash it out of the park. Tis an unforgettable experience

A Man Utd win tomorrow will set the weekend up beautifully :-)

I was advised to go out tomorrow for a short and easy run just to wake up the legs. Looking forward to it actually, might run off some of these nerves!

I feel like a total fool but will someone tell me what a pacing band is and why I have to get one? I don't remember anything about the registering process I for sure would have entered 4.15+ though. I would love to come in under 4.30 but main ambition is to finish with a smile (or a grimace even, whatever, just finish!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

I'm registered in wave 1 but I've just copped that the 3.50 pacers are the top of wave 2. I initially thought that the 3.50's would be in wave 1. B----x

Going back a wave no problem, only going forward is problem, so u can start
    In wave 2😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

engol wrote: »
    I was advised to go out tomorrow for a short and easy run just to wake up the legs. Looking forward to it actually, might run off some of these nerves!

I feel like a total fool but will someone tell me what a pacing band is and why I have to get one? I don't remember anything about the registering process I for sure would have entered 4.15+ though. I would love to come in under 4.30 but main ambition is to finish with a smile (or a grimace even, whatever, just finish!)

If I go to Asics stand at expo they will do one up, or one of
    Posters put one up earlier in week u can make up ur self.
    Or if u go off between 4.20 and 4.30 pacers u can see how
    U feel about pushing on or holding back.
    Pps band tells u time at point in race eg. Mile 3 20 mins and
    U can check against time on watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,839 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Just wanted to come and wish everyone the best of luck on Monday. I hope you get the times you want but mostly that you enjoy it. Take the time to appreciate the atmosphere.

A big bualadh bos to Dubgal for taking everyone through getting themselves physically and mentally in shape for D-Day.

And a bow to everyone who has stayed the course and who will complete the course on Monday. You've already won. Don't forget that.

I hope to be there cheering you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

You'll be grand runnerholic, moving back a wave is not a problem, only moving up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭mel.b

I've been reading this thread and all of you novices are amazing - i've learnt so much from you all and Dubgal's' fantastic mentorship. I hope you all have a fantastic race on Monday and that it is everything you hope it to be. I'm looking forward to reading your race reports and hopefully in a few years i'll be writing my own :eek:

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    If I go to Asics stand at expo they will do one up, or one of
    Posters put one up earlier in week u can make up ur self.
    Or if u go off between 4.20 and 4.30 pacers u can see how
    U feel about pushing on or holding back.
    Pps band tells u time at point in race eg. Mile 3 20 mins and
    U can check against time on watch.

Hi engol, Kennyg has outlined their purpose perfectly, thanks G. How were you going to pace yourself? Gps watch or stopwatch and mile markers will do a good job (latter more reliable btw). A pace band does the maths for you when the going gets tough physically and mentally. And it will!
    Don't rely on a pacing group, as for one reason and 100 others, you might find yourself in between pacing groups....

If you're going to the expo tomorrow pick up a few ex 4:10, 4:20 and 4:30, the asics stand can do them in 5 min increments too. Alternatively, there are lots of sites online that provide a template for a home made one.

How many gels is too many for a 42k run? I've never run beyond 28k so I never got to practice that little extra few kms...

For the last lsr (18k/15 miles) I did I only took one gel but I had buckets of energy that day (hoping to replicate!)

I was thinking one at 8/16/24/32 but that seems like an awful lot!

Maybe instead swap out a gel stop for a banana???

Advice?

mel.b wrote: »
    I've been reading this thread and all of you novices are amazing - i've learnt so much from you all and Dubgal's' fantastic mentorship. I hope you all have a fantastic race on Monday and that it is everything you hope it to be. I'm looking forward to reading your race reports and hopefully in a few years i'll be writing my own :eek:

Ah mel.b thanks! No doubt but that you will do it! These novices have kept me busy but I enjoy reading your log. Thanks again and the very best of luck to you when you get around to 'doing it' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Chilli Con Kearney

Thanks memo for your time and advice today - appreciate it a lot.

Fair play to you dubgal for putting all the time and effort into the thread. It's a big undertaking and has been great for everyone who has read and/or posted!

How many gels is too many for a 42k run? I've never run beyond 28k so I never got to practice that little extra few kms...

For the last lsr (18k/15 miles) I did I only took one gel but I had buckets of energy that day (hoping to replicate!)

Advice?

Hi engol, have you had a banana in training? Usual advice is not to try anything new on race day but as risks go, a banana would strike me as low-risk. That's only personal opinion though!

Four gels is not really a lot, every 8k/5 miles is pretty standard. Meno would even recommend that you take one before starting.

Meno, you turn to jump in here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Advice?

4 gels is not an awful lot. What did you have on your 28k run? Others on here would know better than I, but if you haven't eaten a banana mid-run before I sure as hell wouldn't be trying it on race day. Solid food just doesn't work for some people.

Personally, i'm fine with it and will be bringing a snickers with me on the day, but i've tried it multiple times in training. Last thing you want is to cramp up, or worse, need a toilet stop on the day!

Right me novices, tonight is the crucial night for sleep. I know ye're big and bold enough (and yeah, some of you are very bold :p You know who you are ;) ) to call your own shots but I am putting this thread to bed in 15 minutes.

Nothing that can't wait til tomorrow....

Oiche mhaith agus codladh sámh, Novices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Hi all

Apologies I haven't been on here for weeks for numerous reasons, but hey we all made it woohoo

Big thanks to dubgal for everything. I will be back on tomorrow with an update on where I am in regards to perpetration but could some please stick me down for 3:45:00 my pb was last years 3:58:20 and I'm wearing Asics kayano, my race number is 11213

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Engol, I'm working on one every half hour, plus two to spare. So for a 4:30, that's nine gels plus the spare two. (That sounds like a hell of a lot now that I think of it).
    Also an energy drink pre-race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Right me novices, tonight is the crucial night for sleep. I know ye're big and bold enough (and yeah, some of you are very bold :p You know who you are ;) ) to call your own shots but I am putting this thread to bed in 15 minutes.

Nothing that can't wait til tomorrow....

Oiche mhaith agus codladh sámh, Novices

But Match of the Day........

Sorry Betty, don't think anyone is brave enough to post tonight :D:D

Great to hear from you and look forward to the update.....tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I've no idea how you did that, but as I was reading your post, Spotify managed to freeze on my steep. Is that some sort of "lights out" hint?

^^^ :cool:

Just a quick thanks - from mo leaba!

Oiche mhaith

(Jeez apple really doesn't like Irish!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

Sorry Betty, don't think anyone is brave enough to post tonight :D:D

Great to hear from you and look forward to the update.....tomorrow ;)

Ah ok I see:)

Right I'm off to my leaba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Adding Betty

Bib No.| Username | Target Time
    8651|nop98|3:59:59
    860| neilthefunkeone|4:09:59
    12757|Toulouse|4:29:59
    14302|Stevo1983|3:50:00
    12726|PJD|4:29:59
    13337|duffer247|4:30:59
    698|FeenaM|3:39:59
    13042|Chops|4:29:59
    8704|diego_b|4:05:00
    414|TheBazman|3:59:00
    14013|TFGR|:cool:
    6418|Singer|3:33:33
    764|Healy1835|3:30:00
    13087|BIRDCAGE1|4:39:59
    14306|Peter D61|4:45:00
    2055|jake1970|3:19:59
    1085|JMSE|4:00:00
    14354|Mrs Mc|4:29:xx
    8336|Gillo|4:29:59
    8301|denisb|3:55:00
    8002|Unaaine|4:09:13
    7555|Smashiner|4:09:00
    11213|betty swollox|3:45:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Okay, this is gonna be a tough post. Earlier this week, my father-in-law was admitted to hospital and his condition has since deteriorated. So even though I've won half the battle by arriving at the metaphorical start line in one piece, there's a good chance I won't be able to actually toe the line on Monday morning. Any disappointment on my part would pale into insignificance against my wife's devastation should she lose her father in the coming days. So for now, we're just waiting to see how things go over the next 24 hours.

So to my fellow novices, go out there and enjoy the day and be safe. A massive thanks to DG and the wise elders.... you've done such an amazing job and I'd just reiterate what has previously been said... this crew of novices have been so lucky to have had your advice, guidance, motivation, counselling, your patience, your wisdom, but mostly, so much of your valuable time! It's greatly, greatly appreciated!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ginger runner

I was actually afraid to ask that question. Never even heard of a pacing band until i started following this thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You don't 'have' to get a pacing band.

It's just a band with a guide for what time you should be hitting each mile at to hit whatever your goal time is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Still at the wedding.
    Have restricted myself to 2 beers and a glass of wine since 4pm this afternoon - an absolute reckoning by my previous wedding standards!!!

Unfortunately I've picked up a bit of the Del Trotters in the last 2 days... Hopefully will be gone by Monday!!! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

So sorry to hear that Conor :(

Can't believe I've woken up at this time! If I needed to, do you think I'd be able? Not going to miss this waking up hungry lark, going to get something to eat and back to bed for me. Flip it.