Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Can anyone let me know how to upload photos onto boards using an iPhone with the boards app?? Thanks in advance

When you are posting you should see in blue below, Attach files, hit that, then hit choose existing, pick your photo then ok. It won't post unless you type a few letters into the usuall spot also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Every so often though the 'Attach files' link goes AWOL. I just close the browser and try again in about five minutes and it has usually reappeared.

Having a bit of a brain fart, what's the name of the AI company that bring new maternal beef bulls to AI every year for €5 a straw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Having a bit of a brain fart, what's the name of the AI company that bring new maternal beef bulls to AI every year for €5 a straw?

Gene Ireland??

Cheers LC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Doing the usual Bank Holiday civic duty.. Bringing out the Caravan to keep the traffic speeds down :eek::eek::eek:

Plenty of wet gear packed !!

Would a copper injection have any effect on a TB test? Have a heifer gone very pale and unthrifty in herself, bit of scour too and she was well fluke dosed a month ago. I've a feeling she was avoiding the mineral lick all summer.

Inject the opp side just to be sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭White Clover

Kovu wrote: »
    Would a copper injection have any effect on a TB test? Have a heifer gone very pale and unthrifty in herself, bit of scour too and she was well fluke dosed a month ago. I've a feeling she was avoiding the mineral lick all summer.

Inject the opp side just to be sure?

Straight down from the top Kovu. Use a long needle

Grand stuff! Never had to give it before and was just told as deep in the neck as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,433 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

_Brian wrote: »
    Doing the usual Bank Holiday civic duty.. Bringing out the Caravan to keep the traffic speeds down :eek::eek::eek:

Plenty of wet gear packed !!
    where are you heading? took eldest lad 1 hour 45 minutes to get to the zoo earlier, traffic in dublin was crazy, would normally get there in an hour max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Grand stuff! Never had to give it before and was just told as deep in the neck as possible.
    Pull the skin to one side first. It won't swell up then. It shows it on the instructions.

I got no instructions....I got 4.5ml in a syringe with a needle and I got a grun off dad as he handed it to me. Grunted at the heifer but that did nothing :p

Ah it was a bit arseways, she was geno-tagged yesterday so wouldn't put her head in the gate, so haltered and tied her to the end of the crush, went to put it in the opposite side to the TB test and she knocked it out after 2ml as I was awkward bent over her neck, so put the remainder in the other side. Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Was dosing yearling heifers there awhile ago and moving them to different grass . There were 2 for dehorning Monday so I kept them in the shed but when I was loading the last of them one of the black horned heifers bolted past the father , out the door over a gate and up to the main road . She covered about 2 miles as quick as I could get in the car and follow her . I got out to turn her down a boreen back towards home but she spiked the sleeve of my jacket and threw me out of the way ,ripping the sleeve off my jacket and just grazing my neck when she was at it .
    Back in the car and followed her another mile until she turned and started going for the car , I had to bull her with the front of the car through a wall . As luck would have it yer man had quiet cows and a good pen so I left her with them to quiten down and in the pen with her and home again .
    I wouldn't mind but I was only after injecting her for copper and giving her a dose of levafas without having to even hold her in the crush and now she is back in the crush to quiten down and you could rub her back without a bother !
    Have to pick up the few stones now and get a price an the fathers bumper and light !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Was dosing yearling heifers there awhile ago and moving them to different grass . There were 2 for dehorning Monday so I kept them in the shed but when I was loading the last of them one of the black horned heifers bolted past the father , out the door over a gate and up to the main road . She covered about 2 miles as quick as I could get in the car and follow her . I got out to turn her down a boreen back towards home but she spiked the sleeve of my jacket and threw me out of the way ,ripping the sleeve off my jacket and just grazing my neck when she was at it .
    Back in the car and followed her another mile until she turned and started going for the car , I had to bull her with the front of the car through a wall . As luck would have it yer man had quiet cows and a good pen so I left her with them to quiten down and in the pen with her and home again .
    I wouldn't mind but I was only after injecting her for copper and giving her a dose of levafas without having to even hold her in the crush and now she is back in the crush to quiten down and you could rub her back without a bother !
    Have to pick up the few stones now and get a price an the fathers bumper and light !

All I can say is "Jaysus"

Reggie. wrote: »
    All I can say is "Jaysus"

It was about an hour of a brown trouser moment. I was afraid someone was going to get out of their car to help and she to go for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

It was about an hour of a brown trouser moment. I was afraid someone was going to get out of their car to help and she to go for them

Ya can never trust them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Can't trust them. I was herding there last week and the girlfriend came back from work and came walking down the field to me, have a right quiet cow that I can rub and I was doing so as she was walking down. When she was about 20 feet away the cow started groaning like a bull and put the head down to her like you would see them doing when you let them in with a different bunch and go sorting out the pecking order. Strange behaviour, she got a belt of the plant and went away alright but the girlfriend got a fair fright. Even the quietest of them can act up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I see Reggie and his other sharpshooting colleagues did us proud -
    http://www.newstalk.com/Irish-Special-Forces-take-historic-win-at-sniper-competition

Jaysus Bullocks, mind yourself! Good job you were in the car.
    I'd often see a few of ours act that way as you mention there Limestone, drop the head and turn it a bit sideways with a rolling eye and mouth open with a deep rough boooo like a bull. I just ignore them, if you approach them head on when they do that you're liable to get a thump from them though.

Maybe your cow was jealous of the girlfriend :D:D

Base price wrote: »
    I see Reggie and his other sharpshooting colleagues did us proud -
    http://www.newstalk.com/Irish-Special-Forces-take-historic-win-at-sniper-competition

Yeah the ranger wing have won many years in a row now over the likes of the SEALS and RANGERS/DELTA forces. as usual a little known fact in this country that rarely knows how good its defence forces are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Yeah the ranger wing have won many years in a row now over the likes of the SEALS and RANGERS/DELTA forces. as usual a little known fact in this country that rarely knows how good its defence forces are

Is that shot with the Steyr, Reggie, or a dedicated sniper rifle?

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Is that shot with the Steyr, Reggie, or a dedicated sniper rifle?

Accuracy international is the mainstay sniper rifle of the DF but the Rangers have lots of exotic rifles which would include the .50 Barrett. Stop a train that thing

Jaysus Bullocks, mind yourself! Good job you were in the car.
    I'd often see a few of ours act that way as you mention there Limestone, drop the head and turn it a bit sideways with a rolling eye and mouth open with a deep rough boooo like a bull. I just ignore them, if you approach them head on when they do that you're liable to get a thump from them though.

Maybe your cow was jealous of the girlfriend :D:D

I was out of it trying to turn her when she got the horn up my sleeve and out along my neck the rap .
    Twud be an awful loss to the forum if anything happened me alright !

I was out of it trying to turn her when she got the horn up my sleeve and out along my neck the rap .
    Twud be an awful loss to the forum if anything happened me alright !

Tis not often I hear that sentence beginning with 'She' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,433 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Time is changing tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    Time is changing tonight

Whey hey , theres all sorts walking the streets here in Galway now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Strapadicktomy.

Oh an extra hour in bed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Oh an extra hour in bed :D
    Ha, you've jinxed it now;)