Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

All it takes is a 535d to be faster than 95% of irish traffic anyway, they don't really need M5's.

Why don't the guards just buy nice high spec performance cars, wait 3 years and then sell them to the public.

They're buying them ex vat and no vrt. So after 3 years they would have depreciated by enough that they would be selling them to us at the price they paid originally

free 3 years use for them, with the trade-off of loss of tax because the cars will never have paid vrt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They need to reopen rural Garda stations as opposed to buying cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Would it not be right to say that all 2008 cars are automatically given the cheaper rate of tax or was that just for cars registered in Ireland in 2008?

I do know someone who imported a 2008 Mazda RX8 R3 in 2011 and it was put on the old tax system which was a lot cheaper.

I have read both from various places online, every thread people seem to have a different opinion!! I had thought pre July cars would have been cc and post July would be co2. I guess an email to the motortax office is my only way to get a definite answer, I wonder how many emails it'll take before I hear back? :rolleyes:

If it's on the co2 system then forget it, 2350 to tax a car FFS I'd tax a space shuttle for that!! Anyone know any MY08 STi's in the country? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

All it takes is a 535d to be faster than 95% of irish traffic anyway, they don't really need M5's.

Why don't the guards just buy nice high spec performance cars, wait 3 years and then sell them to the public.

They're buying them ex vat and no vrt. So after 3 years they would have depreciated by enough that they would be selling them to us at the price they paid originally

free 3 years use for them, with the trade-off of loss of tax because the cars will never have paid vrt.

You would want to have your head examined if you were thinking of buying a high performance ex garda car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I always saw seat as a potential Alfa Romeo type brand for VW
    So did VAG until Seat made the first generation Leon, a car that showed the Golf up for the over priced car it is. They seem to have lost direction or had it taken from them ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Garda cars rack up a lot of mileage very quickly, don't think they'd be worth buying after 3 years.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    So did VAG until Seat made the first generation Leon, a car that showed the Golf up for the over priced car it is. They seem to have lost direction or had it taken from them ever since.

Meh, it's easy to sell a cheaper car when you haven't done any of the R&D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

True. A local one here is also open less hours than before. Seen some petitions to get that changed but I don't know if they'll have any impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

GvidoR wrote: »
    True. A local one here is also open less hours than before. Seen some petitions to get that changed but I don't know if they'll have any impact.

Here's the notice on the local station since Nov 2013, and its not even a rural station... its in the town.
    With reference to the above the opening hours @ garda station are listed below starting tuesday the 26th November 2013.

Every Tuesday 12.30pm to 2.30pm
    Every Friday 8pm to 10pm

If the station is unmanned for any reason, contact the following for assistance or alternatively press the metal button on the centre of the blue panel.

What makes it worse is the traffic corps are constantly in the station with about 7 vehicles outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Garda cars rack up a lot of mileage very quickly, don't think they'd be worth buying after 3 years.

The mileage would be a massive factor but not the only one. A high performance car which will constantly be driven hard whether it be high speed chases or just everyday stuff from gards given a high performance car with free fuel.

Along with it will more than likely have taken plenty of knocks.

It would just never ever be worth touching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Ah here now, the rural Garza stations were a joke. All it contained was paddy there for a few hours a week stamping some forms.
    They hark back to the time when the guards went around on bicycles.

What they need is more patrol cars to cover the rural areas, not a rubber stamped eating cookies and drinking tea waiting for bridie to come in and get her passport application stamped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Ah here now, the rural Garza stations were a joke. All it contained was paddy there for a few hours a week stamping some forms.

What they need is more patrol cars to cover the rural areas, not a rubber stamped eating cookies and drinking tea waiting for bridie to come in and get her passport application stamped

What an ignorant and insulting post.

If you knew anything about policing, (which I suspect you don't ) , you would realise that one of the most important deterrents to crime is a Garda presence in a locality, where they are easily contactable by locals, giving them a sense of safe being and security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Valetta wrote: »
    What an ignorant and insulting post.

If you knew anything about policing, (which I suspect you don't ) , you would realise that one of the most important deterrents to crime is a Garda presence in a locality, where they are easily contactable by locals, giving them a sense of safe being and security.

Nope lads, can't break into Mrs Murphy's today, the station is open for two hours
    That was the reality with a lot of Garda stations, heating on all day, but guard rarely there.
    If they're going to rob, they'll rob anyway, whether the guard is in the station stamping forms or not.
    More cars with cops in them driving around
    Is what's needed.
    Again nearly every house has a landline, most have mobile phones, they're more contactable than ever

Where I'm originally from, if there was someone breaking into the garage and stealing tools, welder, etc etc, I call the guards and they won't be there for over an hour. If at all.
    15 years ago there was a guard locally full time, and backup available from the neighbouring town. Locals have shotguns and the only way they can defend their farms from visitors that lost their dog in the tool shed is by threatening to shoot them the next time they see them around. It wasn't always like this.

At least now they have some Q7s 40 miles away to somehow chase them along the motorway .Yippee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭h3000

Anyone watching Building Cars Live on BBC Two? It's fairly interesting so far.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Going on ebay when you buy a new car is a bad idea kids mmmkay :p

h3000 wrote: »
    Anyone watching Building Cars Live on BBC Two? It's fairly interesting so far.

Yeah, I'm about 10 mins behind, great stuff. Way better than topgear

Pretty dull job I'd say, for most people working there, imagine fitting 1500 dashboards a week...

Meh, it's easy to sell a cheaper car when you haven't done any of the R&D.

I think VAG have been spreading development costs across models for years now.

I'm just on about the mk1 Leon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ken *sigh* Blocks new whip.

3vRDc1F.jpg

I'm just on about the mk1 Leon
    Even at that stage, most stuff was developed with the intention of being used across multiple models so development costs were spread out. Maybe I'm wrong. The Leon to be fair was a parts bin special but they made a good car out of it. With the Leon/Toledo VAG were positioning the company as an Alfa alternative, then they weren't all MPV for some reason. We have a MK2 Leon outside, I do like it but that dash isn't nice to look at. I think the current model in a nice spec looks great mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

ba_barabus wrote: »

They do represent good value for money but there is just something about the Leon I don't like the only seat I like at the moment is the exeo which is basically an old model a4.

All this seat talk reminds me of over the summer in work there was a lad in work and we were working same shift pattern and on Tuesday he was saying how he was sick of pumping money into his 15 year old Almera which was his first car had it 8 years. So he was saying on his two days off he'd go looking at cars in his local seat garage. I thought grand you know the way lads always go on about looking fast forward to Friday morning we were both back after two days off I said to him did you go looking then he says a Ye I got a yoke points out to the car park brand new 152 Leon fr.

I just thought it was mad he literally showed up to the first garage and bought it within an hour. Almost as if he had went out to buy a jumper instead of a 30k car. I suppose some lads don't see it as being a big thing at all and he really liked it and all. Where as for most of us the build up and getting a new car is a big deal.

Halloween is just around the corner. :)

1948243_897904560296352_2123735924418767398_n.jpg?oh=a28cd5c1ade1435e908754410ac765eb&oe=56BCFAF8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

Car im gonna keep for 6-9 months until i decide what i want next after selling ST.

Would like an E39 M5/E60 540/550I/645I/650I or maybe E55 AMG next or the like.

Abit of a mini project of sorts.

55AMG. Now you are talking! Am looking for a CLK example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

GvidoR wrote: »
    Halloween is just around the corner. :)

You may get another bora your obsessed with them :pac: the front of that one looks cool alright :)

*Kol* wrote: »
    55AMG. Now you are talking! Am looking for a CLK example.

I also have a Friend looking for a CLS version.

Im leaning more towards an E39 540i atm though if i can find a nice example after christmas.

CIP4 wrote: »
    You may get another bora your obsessed with them :pac: the front of that one looks cool alright :)

Well, I've already had two. They're nice cars, but I think I'll stick to hatchbacks or estates for now. They can be just as (if not more) awesome than sedans, but are far more practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

I also have a Friend looking for a CLS version.

Im leaning more towards an E39 540i atm though if i can find a nice example after christmas.

There's a cls amg on donedeal for 20k

Silver is a no go :(

Plastidip it. :P